You are here: HomeNews2016 10 07Article 475615

Pupils exchange sex for sanitary pads - GES reveals

Read Comments Comments (91)

• .... 7 years ago

both citizens and leaders are sick to the core! Ghana is a sad case!

• Amen 7 years ago

when mahama shares sanitary pads people say misplaced priority... anyway..our mothers did not have pads but they found ways to manage it..these girls can sort themselves out if they want to. they can manage the situation.

• bombay 7 years ago

No amount of free pads will eradicate the root cause of their poverty. Homes are broken and social interventions are going no where. Country is too lacking with thinkers to uproot poverty

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

poverty is man made so blaming the victims is paramount to stupidity. It is said religion and science must go together for the welfare of mankind and i say simple plain common sense , justice and science must always walk hand ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

Parents would do everything to ensure their kids have most of the essentials, food, sanitary pads etc.

When Ghana was Ghana, mothers would do everything including selling themselves to protect their kids.

Today the kids ...

• Aziz 7 years ago

And Mahama is sharing money

• Aziz 7 years ago

And Mahama is sharing money

• Diasporan 7 years ago

I agree with you on 2 points:

1. The home or parenthood is the starting line. It is always difficult to run a good race, let alone win, without proper parental push at the starting line. The modern parents have lost con ...

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

Honesty, What did Akuffo Addo had to to with this. What about Mahama going around impregnating women himself without any agenda to deal with poverty and poor education which is the root cause if all of these.

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

GES is very wrong. it's the lack of proper sex education that has brought about the teenage pregnancies. it's not exchange for any sanitary pad!

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

President John Dramani Mahama receive $148 million world bank sponsor sanitary pads for girls to stay in class and because of president John Dramani Mahama greedy love for money to become billion maniac stole sanitary pads mo ...

• Willie 7 years ago

Mahama is incompetent and useless

• MAD COBRA 7 years ago

And NDC say they are doing the best for Ghana.

• KOGYAM58 7 years ago

WE ARE SICK TO THE CORE INDEED!

• GBC1 7 years ago

What else is new, bigmen de chop, teachers de chop, hmm, Ghana

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

JM 'toaso' for you

JM is the only President who ever thought about free sanitary pads for female students. Don't forget you ridiculed, insulted and called him pampers President. Wake up and stop the dirty politics.

• Robert 7 years ago

This is just a reason to justify distribution of free sanitary pads. At what point do these poor girls engage in the exchange. Is it before their period or after. The root cause is poverty and lack of sex education. God have ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

He stole the money given to him and his action is the result of 414 teenage pregnancy.

• zaku 7 years ago

Dan where is da pads. Mas

• James 7 years ago

Where is the donated money for the pads?

• Laryea 7 years ago

Mahama has to go but quick. He is just a disgrace to Northerners

• nagus nagasty 7 years ago

pls u ar vry wrong
    we dont need sex education to solve dis problem in fact that even worsens the case in our school
    pls rethink about this ok

Well for those who didn't see the need for free sanitary pads and ridiculed the proposal by Gov't, they should be awake now. South Africa is a good example to learn from. Let's leave politics out of some of these sensitive bu ...

• John,Tema 7 years ago

How much is the cost of sanitary pad?Kwame assuming the economy was in good shape,would the govt be asked to dish out free pads?SA is doing that bcos of the inequality in income distribution,we don't need to copy blindly.

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Parliament approve $148 million to buy sanitary pads for girls to stay in class and the president John Dramani Mahama stole the money and his greedy stealing is the result of 414 teenage pregnancy.President John Dramani Maham ...

When we introduced Health Insurance, it did not mean patients could not pay their medical bills; when we introduced school feeding, it did not mean parents could not afford spending money for their kids. There are many other ...

• Abu 7 years ago

Even the rich nations practice state interventions in some areas towards the disfavoured segments of their population.

• Paa Nii 7 years ago

It nauseates me! Ghana has all these serious predicaments yet our president “claims” we are progressing as a nation. I’m sorry Sir John Ford Mahama, this is the thickest pile of shit I’ve ever heard. We as a nation re ...

• zakk 7 years ago

OH, PAA NII YPU ARE ALWAYS HITTING THE NAIL ON THE HEAD ......DIRECT!

GHANA MOANS THE LEADERSHIP VOID! OH GOD, WHERE ART THOU?!

• Bro Sammy 7 years ago

THESE IS WHAT ARE LEADERS SHOULD THINK OF AND SOLVE THEM, RATHER THAN SHARING MONEY DURING ELECTION TIME

• hJoe Jalal(from)Tamale 7 years ago

Free SHS you say no free matanity you no free feeding program you say no.so how you this were crying? You will cry even more on less this Dramani vote out in office.

• Nii Kweku Sawadogo 7 years ago

It's really sad for some parents not to be able to provide these basic needs for their wards. I'm lost in words. But the GES must intensify Sex Education to curb this menace

• Afua Sikaba 7 years ago

Help our girls in the southern regions too . Give them free education free education just as the Northerners are enjoying free education. Stop discriminating Southerners we are suffering too. Help southern girls give them fr ...

• JH New York 7 years ago

That was one of the few Sad mistakes made by the First President,Kwame Nkrumah; despite his unequaled achievement to this day in terms of national development.If something is free it must be Free for all Citizens. And I was a ...

• Kwadwo USA 7 years ago

Ours is a joke. What a country?

• Ojah Fire 7 years ago

God have mercy on us.What is happening in Ghana? Are we backwards to that extend? I am heart broken.

• Dave 7 years ago

Ghanas national security is being trethened.

• Manchester 7 years ago

LIARS, Why not poverty. This report can never be true. Who gave these girls the sanitary pads to impregnate them. All they are doing is trying to justify Prez Mahama Sanitary Pads for Schools which is I think is laudable. But ...

• TULA 7 years ago

If this story is true then Jon Mahama and his government should be ashamed of themselves ; where is the grant given to them by the World bank to help these young girls ; the cash has disappeared into the pockets of education ...

• Deadmoon 7 years ago

I will not doubt this news because I am from that part of the country and it is very sad to see young girls patronising the street of their communities at night instead of them sitting by their books learning.the most part of ...

• Ohene 7 years ago

I used to wonder why Blackman is too wicked.Our so called educated are dangerous than arm robbers but they are still looting because they are above the law whiles the poor thieves go to jail.What County do they think they are ...

• William Attidigah 0556840615 7 years ago

We thank God for yesterdays VCTORY
    we hope for the BEST "
    whatsapp or call now .
    make it happen with VISION 300 LOTTERY
    NATIONAL is at the conner

• Afful Ekow Kelly 7 years ago

This's report make nonsense of themselves and the nation as a whole, they provide the list of all the schools these and children, and l will follow up on. They just want to still the state monies with this voodoo statistic, a ...

• Sanitary 7 years ago

Very sick indeed. Square pegs in round holes

• kwame 7 years ago

this is very very sad I feel sorry for my country Ghana that's what I can say

• Tweaa dc 7 years ago

That is better Ghana for you...ndc style..........you just interview Kofi adams. ...he will rather blame Nana ADDO.

• Fataw Shani 7 years ago

Ghana is a country where government can't control poverty. My question is where is the institution mandated for such responsibility,to ensure that girl education is effectively sponsored in order to avoid all this kind of unw ...

• # SACK MAHAMA FROM OFFICE ! 7 years ago

MAHAMA is Driving GHANA to a Special Place in Hell.Mahama is Dangerous and Corrupt than the Organized Crime Industry because he has brought the entire country of Ghana down to its Knees.

• ... 7 years ago

THE SAME PEOPLE WILL VOTE FOR NDC COME ELECTION TIME, LEAVE THEM TO SUFFER

Mahama is Not Qualified to Manage a TRO-TRO Station but he is the President.Mahama is a Fantastic Fraud,con-Man,Fake and Thief.The Interest on MAHAMA LOANS
    a lone is six times the OIL Sales.! -VOTE to Cast Mahama OUT from Of ...

-> NO JOBS,NO HOPE,High Taxes,DUMSOR ,HIPC,WOYOME,Killings and HIGH PRICES.MAHAMA,The Counterfeit President and Lucifer of Corruption is asking for another 4 Years,
    Even Criminals when they finish Stealing try to run away.!

• kobby 7 years ago

Thieves in power.

• kingKong 7 years ago

And so what????

The Job of Government is to Finance Girls Education and provide
    resources for Sanitary hygiene and teach them abstinence and above all
    encourage Girls to learn Science and Math.

• sulley 7 years ago

Am sure Mahama is responsible for this pregnancy he fucked in the night.he can't stay without sex as he always fuck the ndc girls in his office every 30minute.

Mahama has Proven to be the most Shameful Miserable Failed President Since Ghana Existed.! -VOTE OUT MAHAMA from Office and Give Ghana a Clean Break !.

• Adam. 7 years ago

Ooh, Ghana, lovely country.

• Mirakil 7 years ago

Young girls from dat region self worship penis such dat nothing the government ll do ll curb this situation. They aa beyond repairs. How has taken over their town n yet they share it popcorn.... Tweaa leave Mahama alone!!!

• Ananse 7 years ago

it is only the wicked rule a nation that the people suffer .

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE p33) 7 years ago

Nana addo impregnated 7 pupils this yr it came on joy news last week ,I swear

• Godfred 7 years ago

Please the question is where is Mahama. Sanitary pad, at times i sat down and cry why politice is taking our beloved country into wicked and unthinkable people hand look common pad look at what has hapen to our young sisters ...

• kwaku darko 7 years ago

Where is mahama's sanitary pads for jhs students?or that one too nkonf3m(guinea fowls) come fly them to burkina!

• Kelly Man 7 years ago

Very deceptive heading to start with. Every poor girl does not engage in promiscuity. We cannot blame every societal ill on the government. Proper training at home centering on abstainance should be a start. If that fails, ...

• seth k m 7 years ago

so sad hmmm what's going people cannot even do good without even expecting anything in return , men we got to renew our mind

• Asamco 7 years ago

Lack of proper sex education is the cause of all these problems. Those Ngos must concentrate on educating these young girls the consequences of onprotected sex.

Preaching abstainance wouldn't work given media bombardment o ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

This is what a nation gets when she elects a fool as a president.

• KK 7 years ago

Govt should distribute free sanitry towellls for all 14 yrs if we want to be serious with girl education.

• KK 7 years ago

Distribute sanitary towels to all poverty striken schools in the country.

• Abu 7 years ago

Blame the NPP for this predicaments

• zaku 7 years ago

John bole where is da pads dat u bought for da skull gurls. John lier

• Peniz Chopper 7 years ago

I doubt the story. Who dishes out sanitary pads in Ghana?

• olive 7 years ago

Is very true since most parents have neglected the needs of their children, parents dnt even no wen their children started menstruating to either talk of buying sanitary pads for them, in deed is one most important reason wh ...

• Terror 7 years ago

this country indeed has a long way to go in terms of every facet of development. Gosh!!! can't believe GES is happy reporting about this "so called " survey. 414 teenage girls getting pregnant within 2 yrs is no joke you know ...

• Garnet Birikorang 7 years ago

The parents r asking them if the girls don't get pregnant, how wd they get pupil to teach since their attention is on pupil population rather than content or syllables or knowledge? The communities are saying the minister lac ...

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

Mahama himself is going around impregnating wpmen.

What is new.

• Michael 7 years ago

God help mother Ghana

• K.k 7 years ago

In ancient Israel anytime they have a bad leader God. wrath comes upon the people.This is exactly what we are seeing in Ghana.These girls are saying no money to buy sanitary pads and yet somebody talking about sex education.W ...

Whoever wrote this article must be expelled from journalism. How can you use "pupils exchange sex for sanitary pads - GES" as the heading of this article whilst the reasons given were not exclusive on only sanitary pads. This ...

very true

• Lena 7 years ago

Very political. Why shud u wait till election yr bf u bringing it out? U r doing dis jux to support de idea of sharing sanitary pads to students by de NDC govnt for their selfish gains. No student will sleep with a man for pa ...

• Aprek 7 years ago

Government must make a policy of sanitary pads supply as quickly as possible. Its a pity

• bonus kartel%%$ 7 years ago

Ghana in sad story only jah know s

• Asor Odoom 7 years ago

Hmmmmm God save our nation . Young gals exchanging sex for sanitary pad? Where is the pad Mahama promised to give them?

• Asor Odoom 7 years ago

Mr president provide jobs for yr ppl n they will b able to cater for their children

• munira 7 years ago

of course,no amount of pad will stop these girls from indulging in premarital sex.There is the need for the GES to incorporate sex education into schools' curriculum or better still organise groups to go to various schools n ...

• Soj kudoyor 7 years ago

I am sad

• Ekow Anaman 7 years ago

It's very sad if this story is true. Very very bad. Parents must show concern n be more responsible

• ex-cpl atia Tongo 7 years ago

Why not giving the heading "Pupils exchange sex for books and other basic educational materials. You are being manupulated by condemned ndc sanitry pad exercise. Thus Ghana for U

• sulley 7 years ago

does that mean all the 414 students were lacking sanitary pads? The only way that can stop this is to punish those that have sex without being married by given them 100 lashes each.

• James 7 years ago

For God's sake these "men"must be made to face the law. They must be identified and punished severely. Look at these poor girls. Oh! God save Ghana. Who fights on behalf of the girls