NCCE boss storms out of meeting over request to speak Twi

Read Comments Comments (134)

• IYX 7 years ago

FUCK THEM ALL

• IYX 7 years ago

THE WILL LEARN NEXT TIME

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

AUTHOR : DR TRUTH --------WAS THE WALL AT THE SMALL GHANA MISSION COMPOUND LIKE 'THE WALL OF JERICHO? WAS IT BUILT WITH GOLD AND ADORN WITH DAIMONDS OR WHAT ? NOT EVEN WALL BUILT FOR UNITED STATES MISSIONS IN GHANA AND BURKIN ...

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Another aimless character called Prince Kwasi adade always off beat. Characters like this cant help our current situation

Author:- Mahama Deadbeat .....
    laugh at your incompetent mahama and his gay dump vice president. None in NDC can compete with Bawumiah. All the lies of NDC are getting to an end. Ghanaians have come to know who these wicked ...

• dauda 7 years ago

what is twi????????

• DI ASEM PA 7 years ago

Your mother

• DI ASEM PA 7 years ago

I think, your mother.

• kweku 7 years ago

This ncce fool mistakenly at post must be sacked by the President immediately.He must go live in england in which language he is fluent in.You conially stupid-what pains me is that this so called half educated who pretencious ...

• N kun 7 years ago

Ass holes is twi the only language in Ghana illiterate go to school kuraasini

• Mark 7 years ago

The problem with some of u is that, I think is rather the other tribes who holds somethings against AKANS. Why do I say this, if u leave in Europe, u would realise the German, French or the Dutch do not want to speak English ...

• BARIMA BA 7 years ago

This is not kuraaasinii matter. As an education department or branch of government, common sense dictates that effective communication is using a language the people understand. If you wanna talk to people in WA, you should t ...

• SBD 7 years ago

This should have used an interpreter. I believe it was rude on his part to leave the podium with all the elders seated. What impudence!!

• KK 7 years ago

How do you expect him to speak a language he is not fluent in when the official language is English. Ghanaians spend years learning English and yet many cant speak.

• Torshie Torto 7 years ago

Can't they find a man or a woman among the New Juaben people to head that department. That way Mr. Larweh can go and work with the Gas or Ada people.

• E. A. ADU GYAMFI 7 years ago

You are right to say that twi is not the only language in Ghana. But you must know that for communication to be effective, one must speak the language understood by majority of the audience. It is obvious that the man was spe ...

• Real Southerner (Niibi Nii) 7 years ago

Nicely said wise man

• Abena 7 years ago

Kweku, know that the working language in Ghana is English not Twi. Ignorance....

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

This matter of forcing Twi down the throats of Ghanaians is why economically, we are not doing well. Can you see why Nigeria music and movie industry is doing well in Ghana? Are you expecting Agya ko and Lil Wayne to sell the ...

• kwaku 7 years ago

look at this fool which Nigerian film or movies is doing better kwasia kumawood movies still sell more than nigerian movies in Ghana what are you talking abou economy kwasia if it wasn't for ntafuo and ayigbefuo ruling us the ...

• Jalil 7 years ago

U are stupid to place some ethnic group above others. Kwaku u are suffering because u are no longer getting free moneys from ghost names n companies. Thieves who have corrupted this country. Ntafou you called us but remember ...

• Ecca Dee. 7 years ago

Kwaku, you better stick to your Twi because your English is pretty poor.

• Wiseman 7 years ago

Kenya do thier movies in English but how many have you bought , slave...

• NDC IS MADE UP OF THIEVES/LIARS 7 years ago

How can you speak English to our good old people with no education background

• Amen 7 years ago

this is a small matter.. they could have gotten an interpretator.

• Watchman 7 years ago

Ghana has several languages. Twi is not the medium of communication in Ghana. This idea of akanization of Ghana is wrong. Nobody should be forced to speak a language in which he/she is not literate in. All the same, the NCCE ...

• True Ghanaian 7 years ago

you got it wrong. The forum was organised on the Eastern Region where I belief the majority speaks twi. Communication is about making people understand what you are saying. We should be proud of our local languages

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Ask yourself if somebody who is not a Twi speaker should be forced to speak Twi,will you be happy if Akan man is being asked to speak Krobo on Krobo soil,is the English not the official language in Ghana,when do we start forc ...

• Boateng 7 years ago

Get an interpreter. You guys should grow up and stop this tribal comments. How do i speak twi to a GA man or Ewe man? This is an education forum and getting to majority of the people is what is important not just the talk. Wh ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Nonsense,how will he speak Twi if he doesn't know or understand Twi,is it not interpreter someone can use if that person cannot speak a language?
    What is your comment about,not tribal comment?

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

They refused to go to school and feel they are superior in everything

• Mohammed 7 years ago

They refused to learn English when they were in school and it is now affecting them. They speak Twi like parrots but cannot express themselves in English. They should not force their Twi on anybody in Ghana.

• Adu Sco 7 years ago

Akanization is wrong. You guys should remember that Nana Akufo Addo went to Teshie, a fishing town in ACCRA,and was speaking TWI to the people - even though he is said to be born in Accra and fluent in the GA language. Let's ...

• Villager 7 years ago

I just read the story of Leicester's AMARTEY who confessed that his poor English was a problm for him. Learn the official language and stop looking for shortcuts

• Truly 7 years ago

Thanks Corney for speaking the truth

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Corney, you are wrong. He was speaking at New Juaben where the local language is Twi. Though you are right nobody should be forced to speak in a language they are not conversant in.

The blame though should be put on the or ...

• Adu Sco 7 years ago

Mr. Sarpong what's your comments on my Brother Nana Addo Dankwa action of speaking Twi to the people of Teshie? Akanization is wrong. For your information that Nana Akufo Addo went to Teshie, a fishing town in ACCRA,and was s ...

• Tower of Joy 7 years ago

only they would not complain about being foced to speak Twi. Ghana is not a Twi country. yes Akan is the majority but do not force your language on people. Twi is not the official language of Ghana so u are not more Ghanaian ...

• Esuo Yaa 7 years ago

We should not let any body bog us down Akan Twi is the language of choice for those of us from eastern region to west to Brong 70% of the land mass that makes Ghana. We need to seceded from this people and form our own countr ...

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

I was about to say that this time you were trying to be sensible but alas, your last sentence betrayed your hatred for NPP. Akanization of the country took a dramatic surge in the 70's , especially at the time Osofo Dadzie dr ...

• Eric Moore 7 years ago

U certainly can't speak dagomba or ewe or ga to two speaking people. He wasn't forced to speak twi

• DI ASEM PA 7 years ago

We understand that Ghana has different languages but, we are talking about new juaben and Twi is their language. We are not taking about Afrao or tamale. We have to show respect to our old citizens who don't understand Englis ...

• Mark 7 years ago

The problem with some of u is that, u see people in authority as gods. These people are meant to serve u not the other way round and that is why they are paid. The people in that community understood that but obviously u clev ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Watchman, you have a point but saying Ghana has several languages is not an excuse. He was speaking at New Juaben and the local language is Twi.

I don't blame the NCCE Director though but those who organized the meeting. G ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Sarpong,you have a point but sometimes we need to consider the strangers among us too,that is why I suggest they use interpreter,the man is the one scheduled to speak and he was present,no need for somebody to deputize for h ...

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

Don't mind them. Those who are crying over wolf are the same people who are ashamed of their mother tongue . When they stop playing Twi songs at their parties, funerals , birthdays etc , then we will take them serious. Here i ...

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

The audience should rather apologize to the NCCE boss for trying illegally enforced their mother tongue on a Ghana government employee who wrote his application letter for employment in English

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

That is another idiotic thing Ghanaians always do. Is Twi a national language? English is the only language of choice in doing business all over the world. Interestingly our politicians, journalists, businessmen, sportsmen et ...

• Omanbabea 7 years ago

Please speak factually and logically. English is not the only language of choice in doing business all over the world. There are several other languages. It is obvious that you have not travelled all over the world.

Eng ...

• Kay 7 years ago

Ocean Nana Kuffour who told you that the people you mentioned cannot speak good Englush that's why they disturb us with Twi. Shame on you. Most of these guys are well educated who can speak and write very well in the English ...

• PEPENI 7 years ago

DURING AND OFFICIAL FUNCTION, IN PARTICULAR, IF THE GUY CAN'T SPEAK TWI, WHY DON'T YOU GET AN INTERPRETER INSTEAD OF FORCING HIM TO SPOIL THE LANGUAGE. PLEASE STOP FORCEING PEOPLE TO SPEAK TWI. IT IS NOT THE OFFICIAL LANGUAGE ...

• Teacher Akwasi 7 years ago

My people think properly and be objective about issues. The man was addressing an Akan community. For effective communication to prevail and ensure that the purpose of the gathering is achieved, why don't u speak a language m ...

• veede 7 years ago

the organizers could have done enough background work and invite a speaker who can speak twi

• Ab 7 years ago

I'm from the North, but if l go to upper east or west l can't speak their language. That is mean if I'm invited to a function there l should be forced to speak the language because that is what majority understand. Simple log ...

• LONTO-BOY 7 years ago

I don't think it will take much effort to translate the NCCC boss' speech into Twi for easy understanding. The reality is, not all Ghanaians speak Twi or are very fluent. At such public forum, the organisers could have used a ...

• FOYOOSIS 7 years ago

Inasmuch as we cannot disagree that Twi is widely spoken in Ghana, it's amazing how a particular group of Ghanaians demand the Twi dialect from us the non Twi speaking tribes whilst they are not able to utter any word Ga, Ewe ...

• TKD 5 7 years ago

For those who sell and buy; they would be forced to speak twi.When Pastors, Rev. Fathers, Imams, Politicians and Aid givers, etc visit and speak to us in English; do we hear and understand them? Mr. Larweh was not interviewed ...

• Yengon-Naa 7 years ago

Congratulations, NCCE boss. You have done a yeoman's job.
    1. If the organizers wanted the programme run in the akan language the best this to do was to alert the NCCE either for them to find or ask the organizers to find an ...

• Jorotara 7 years ago

The NCCE boss is right. TWI is not the official language of Ghana.
    To hell with any attempt to do that

• Kojo 7 years ago

For Ghana to be considered as a NATION Three attributes must apply namely, 1) Natilonal Language 2) Common Culture. 3) Common Relig ...

• Azure 7 years ago

My brother all that you said is true but cannot work in Ghana due to the fact that there is no unity among all the tribes in Ghana. We are not united.Some of the tribes feel they are superior to others. Some claim the land be ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Thanks for your comment but it is not true that some tribes consider Ghana as their own. In ghana every tribe largely knows the boundaries of their teritory , they have their chiefs as custodians of these lands.our problem is ...

• Samuel 7 years ago

Force tp speak english in a public forum? Are all the english teachers/masters dead in eastern region? This is a very big shame 2 akans.

• Taabea 7 years ago

I know Mr Laweh very well,he speaks Twi fluently .He intentionally decided to run that popular language down.

• esther 7 years ago

fuck you

• SARPONG 7 years ago

I thought the same. The man did that to spite the locals. He was speaking at New Juaben where the local language is Twi. He was not speaking in London.

The organizers should have told him beforehand what language he should ...

• James Mahmoud Awotwe-Braun 7 years ago

Just curious !!

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Not at all but go to England and when a speech is being delivered in English, tell them there are Indians, Chinese, Japanese, Koreans, Ghanaians, Nigerians, etc so they should not deliver the speech in English.

New Juaben ...

• Villager 7 years ago

Sarpong you are dead wrong here. What is the official language in England? there may be Koreans, Ghanians, Chinese, Indians, Nigerians etc in England who may not understand a word of English but at official functions it is ...

• Alex London 7 years ago

Ei! Ei! Ei! Ghanaians you have more problems than you think. A people that has no priorities, visions. Does twi ga and for that matter other key ethic languages bring food to the table?
    It is time to wake up my people

• Kwasi Eben 7 years ago

It is only fair that the star fm correspondent gives a hearing to the NCCE municipal director before coming out with this ridiculous information only to dint the reputation of the NCCE.
    A lot of misinformation has been repo ...

• As3m 7 years ago

The Eastern Region like G. Accra, has become a conglomerate of several tribes and therefore impossible to speak one language understood by all. What if he decided to speak in krobo. Whether we like it or not English has becom ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

New Juaben is a Twi speaking town, you speak in Twi there. If you are in Somanya, you speak the Knobs language.

The city of London is a conglomerate of several citizens from different countries but you speak the dominant a ...

• Hankorf 7 years ago

go to other African countries n see. English is last language they speak in a gatherings of such. he should apologize or resign for disrespecting his Father who never spoke English.

• dd 7 years ago

Education has reduced to the level where language determines who is educated or not.the notion that if you are fluent in English means you are educated tells how stupid Africans are.We are fools and will continue to be slaves

• JUSTICE 7 years ago

Tell those ignorant they must be civilized to know twi is not the official language, secondly the rest of GHANA also have their languages

• pear 7 years ago

foolish man he wasnt speaking to the rest of GHANA..FOR GOD sake he was in twi speaking gathering.why so much hate

• Willis 7 years ago

communication is very important and one of the factors to consider when communicating is the environment. the man is there to address people not trees. for the purpose of the gather to be Served there must be effective commun ...

• Whiteman 7 years ago

It's interesting that some intellectuals are standing up to the twi saga.

Radio stations that do Twi in your country only appeals to the uneducated and uncivilised ones. Simple

• JB 7 years ago

Whiteman or whatever you call yourself, i think you must be circumspect with your choice of words. The fact that you have access to your computer and internet does not give you the right to insult people simply because some r ...

• Koliko 7 years ago

Continue ur twi nonsense and keep dis gracing all of us abroad

• Joe'D 7 years ago

I think you're being too kind on this Mr. Larweh person by asking him to only apologies. The country need to name and shame him in the public domain, and ban him from all Ghanaian affairs - how can any person representing the ...

• Pontius Pilate 7 years ago

Excuse me but I think you are an idiot.
    For your information, Ethnologue lists 69 different languages(and not dialects of the same language)in Ghana. How many of them do you speak? And by the way, do you speak Mr. Larweh's l ...

• WISE 7 years ago

foolish boy he was in a gathering of twi speaking people.

• HARDER@'89 7 years ago

But why must he be forced to do so...after all the official language is English and why must we allow these tribal bigots to be coercing n cajoling others to satisfy their parochial biddings at an official programm why...

• Kamal Dauda 7 years ago

Must everyone speak Twi in Ghana ?. Wat sort of nonsense is that. Some people think Twi is the official language hhuh hence expect Twi to be spoken everywhere. Is it not preposterous to ask someone u knew for sure is not w ...

• chigri 7 years ago

They will say I cannot speak twi well so I prefer to speak english and in english they claim to be experts too they fumble. What kind of country is this.

• HARDER@'89 7 years ago

Look at their effrontery too adding insult to injury asking the speaker to apologise...apologise ma foot when English is the established official language...tribal madness..still in their primitive n unevolved elements...

• JOSEPH GANYOBI 7 years ago

IT'S A SHAME TO GHANA.....SCHOOL CHILDREN CAN'T SPEAK ENGLISH NO MORE IT'S A SHAME....IT IS A BIG DISGRACE TO GHANA

• dunaa 7 years ago

It is extremely sad to read this story, but then we are talking about Ghana, where officialdom does not understand than they are the servants of the people! The NCCE official could have taken the time to explain to the people ...

• satanic church 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

WHO DOES THIS LARWEH THINK HE IS? YOU ARE IN ATWI-SPEAKING AREA AND YOU WANT TO EDUCATE THEM BY SPEAKING A LANGUAGE MOST FIND DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND! AND THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE CIVIC EDUCATION!

• Azure 7 years ago

NCCE should have employed the services of an interpreter. Unlike in the North where almost everybody tries to speak English, Ashanti Region is not like that.English Language sounds very awkward in their ears.But time will tel ...

• Paa kwesi Jewell 7 years ago

Whanye 3y33 brofo kasa s3 ghana manye nyinaa y3n kasa 3s3 s3 y3 ka mongyae suatra no ne ahomaso a nfaso nni so

• salifu 7 years ago

Twi radio station must speak GA in
    Accra

• Adam 7 years ago

Thank you my brother well said.

• christian gyan 7 years ago

Oh hes for instance America speak English but yhey force to implement Spanish in schools why because they dominate so. Even music is twee most of them . yes is good for every one to speak twee

• jeje 7 years ago

Does everybody in ghana that speak twi? nonsence or twi speaking was part of that person appointment?

• odeefuor 7 years ago

Arrogance paa nie...so a leader what example you set to your subordinates
    Get this you are there to serve not to be served if the audience cant understand get what you are saying then you are not communicating you should kno ...

• Mensa 7 years ago

So so so disrespectful to the people of Juabeng. How can you educate them if you can't communicate with them in the language they understand best. This fool must go and work in his hometown. Kwaseasem

• James Mahmoud Awotwe-Braun 7 years ago

Where were they when school bells were ringing?

If the youth of that area cannot understand basic Engish in AD 2016, then they have lost so much in their lives!!!

• christian gyan 7 years ago

English is not our language but we learn why not our own language tthat every can understand because is not every one went to school.

• Ricky 7 years ago

Twi in my Ass.those Old ladies and Old men should have go in for interpreter. Foolish people with block headed brain.kwesiaaaaaaaaaa

• kk 7 years ago

it is sad people are now trying hard to tell us that if u are a public officer and you are to address a section of our society you must by all means speak the language the locals can hear. if mr larweh have no grasp of the tw ...

• enough 7 years ago

So what is the difference between this NCCE man and the tweaa DCE? Always storming out of meetings. what positive values are they impacting on the youth and society?

• Truth, 7 years ago

How many of the Akan speaking people speak any other local languages. They are virtually at a disadvantage but their pride and ego clouds their thinking. A few speak broken Ga though.

• Kwasi Ebenezer, Koforidua 7 years ago

For the records, Mr PNK Lawer is the municipal director of NCCE, Koforidua and not the Eastern Regional Director of NCCE.

Again, he never walked out from the said program organised yesterday. He was there till the program ...

• Kwaku Amankwaa 7 years ago

Most of the arguments here are quite flimsy. The guy is a Ga. He may understand Twi but cannot speak it well. Why compel him to speak it? Just because he is in a Twi speaking area? But he cannot speak it fluently. I am A Bro ...

• Honesty-the best policy! 7 years ago

Did the white missionaries use twi to convert our forefathers? How did they get interpreters?

• Nana Atakora Sikahene 7 years ago

These is common sense, no body needed to tell you this. You holding a program in akan community where majority can't speak English and you trying to educate them using English as a medium of communication. Director you are si ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

And we think the bar can be lowered to our levels.

• FOYOOSIS 7 years ago

My friend, they go to school but some of them cannot learn, yet they go about bragging. There's a working colleague from Ghana who first claimed he attended Legon, having forgotten what he initially told me, 3 days later he ...

• Koo 7 years ago

Watch man ,please stop that hate,twi is the only language majority speak in Ghana than any other language

• Pak 7 years ago

The " English " one speaks in Ghana is always classified in America or Britain as " you have an accent "

• Naa Adjeley 7 years ago

The NCCE boss needs to apologise. When you go to Rome you do what the Romans do. NJ is an Akan speaking Municipality so nothing stops them from speaking twi. Mr Yawheh could have been angry if that happened at the Yilo or M ...

• Nii Adjetey 7 years ago

foolish girl naa adjeley. it is ga people like you who are encouraging twi speakers to speak twi to you even in Accra buulu

• Paul Narh Kwasi Lawer. 7 years ago

Your report indicating that the NCCE boss walked out of the programme organized by the New Juaben Youth Forum yesterday was false and malicious. I stayed throughout the programme. I entreat the media to be truthful in their r ...

• BAAKO 7 years ago

I will have done same if I were the NCCE Boss. This Akanisation is annoying to say the least. The Earlier we check it the better, otherwise it can stoke civil strife.

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

investigate him, he could be holding fake certificates and degrees
    from different country as Alien expatriate

• NII NOI 7 years ago

I THINK THE MAN DID THE RIGHT THING. IF H CAN'T COMMUNICATE WELL IN TWI WHY FORCE HIM.

• JH New York 7 years ago

There you are! A true Ghanaian who was not able to articulate the language of the people, is the Boss. Larweh should follow-up his bluff to do the honourable thing to ask for transfer to where he belong,or resign his position ...

• Nii Okai 7 years ago

You are a real another foolish Ghanaian who never understands that TWI is not a language that twi speaking people should expect others in Ghana to speak hence why the foolishness of these TWI speaking people in Ghana to quest ...

You lack intellect. First of all you don't even have the simple common sense to acknowledge that, Larweh was in a typical Twi speaking area(New Juabeng).And it's well known that majority ofthose from the Twi speaking Communi ...

• Villager 7 years ago

Bawumia campaigns all over the country. Must change "meterband" according to the region/district/area?

The word force in this context does not make Sense to me.Common Sense dictates that,an official billed to address people in a language only himself(official) is aware he cannot articulate to form a simple Sentence should go w ...

• Eddie 7 years ago

That is our are big men in Ghana...they sit on a high horse.

• Eddie 7 years ago

You educate people in their ethic language.
    They are right...it will be useless if they don`t understand what the NCCE boss say...

• poor planning issue 7 years ago

poor planning issue and NCCE boss, learn to speak twi

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Did he tell them not go to school? NPP people are lazy paaaa. Common English, they can't understand. They should enroll at Community SHS. Free SHS dey biiiii

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

This is stupid and senseless then go to where you come from where you kill for even a peakcock.Nonsense ,Jerry sown all these and I pray he never goes free . God w atches I tell you

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

The NCCE as an institution is very useless. This is civics lesson number 101... Communication. The very purpose of NCCE is to communicate civic issues in the languages of the rural folks and educate them.

• peter mensah 7 years ago

The ncce man is right. You can't force him to speak Twi because it is not the only Ghanaian language. Some are forcing that language on us but it WILL NOT succeed

• NANA MENSAH ABOAGYE 7 years ago

it pains me a lot when intellectuals speaks like"f**ls"my first question is,what is communication? Ashantis do like going to skuul,in wat sense,such a moronic thought!!! some of those stupid ones did not even have a universit ...

• Nanakwabio 7 years ago

Akan is spoken almost every part of Ghana, and you
    will be
    surprise to hear people at the border to Burkina speaking it.Is just that some other tribes for their own reasons don't want to speak. The people knew that ma ...