You are here: HomeNews2016 09 01Article 466711

Speaker dismisses minority's impeachment moves

Read Comments Comments (96)

• FRANK 7 years ago

NPP IS FULL OF CRIMINALS AND EVIL-MINDED PERSONS WHO ARE KEEN ON CAUSING TROUBLE DURING THE ELECTIONS. EVIL PEOPLE WITH NO CAMPAIGN MESSAGE FOR THE GHANAIAN ELECTORATES.
    FAKE PROMISES:
    1-DISTRICT, 1-FACTORY
    1-VILLAGE, 1-D ...

• kingnarrow 7 years ago

well said Frank

• ATSU, HO 7 years ago

Did the president err in all these?Well, ime will tell but toothless buldog CHIRAJ can definitely not do any credible investigation more so when they do not have a substantive commissioner now

• Freda (New York) 7 years ago

If this were truly a bribe President Mahamma accepted personally, he would have use it personally or give it to one of his children, brothers, sisters, cousins or any of his family members.

• Joel 7 years ago

Freda you are right. Or does it mean there's no one in Mahamma's family that needs a car for Mahamma to have donated a so called bribe to the state?

• Sam 7 years ago

Freda, even the car was routed through the Ghana embassy in Burkina Faso, and taxes paid on it. My answer to you is that Ghanaians are not stupid. It is NPP supporters who are stupid and desperate for power.

• New Sherrif in Town 7 years ago

The car was received by Mahama after he made a private person clear the car from Tema harbor? The car was received, for more than one year only for it to be placed in the official car pool after the story came out? Why does a ...

• Moses 7 years ago

One wonders if we are not behaving like the 12th century animals in the jungle. The president has no clue of what he is expected to do, the members of parliament do not even understand the laws they are expected to make and t ...

• Senior citizen BS ,Germany. 7 years ago

Ghanaians must know that Ghana,s Democracy is still in its embryo state, and cannot impeach any sitting president since,majority party in power seeks to demonstrate its support for the president,however official dirty the ma ...

• CJ 7 years ago

Dilma Rousseff Is Ousted as Brazil’s President in Impeachment Vote

The Brazilian Senate on Wednesday impeached Dilma Rousseff, Brazil’s first female president. Ms. Rousseff spoke after the vote to convict her on charge ...

• MR OBJECTIVE 7 years ago

I HAD A DREAM when JDM WALKED NAKED IN FRONT OF INDEPENDENCE SQUARE.What is written is written:THE EVILS OF JDM WILL GET HIM THE MADNESS.JDM cannot escape GODs anger on him.The effects of this curse are complex.

• Asante Emma 7 years ago

How on earth canNPP think NDC with the majority in parliament will support the move for their leader standing for president soon to be removed. Only sick mind think in this direction.

• Tina Uk 7 years ago

In the Mighty Name of Jesus I condemn every tongue that rise against President Dramani Mahama . No weapon formed against will prosper I decree a declare.

• Omanba Pa, lslington - London 7 years ago

Have you asked yourself why speaker said he has dismissed the case because it is already with the commission. NDC know that Attorney General will never ever call this case till thy kingdom come. Civil war is awaiting for Gha ...

• Kweku Ansah 7 years ago

Stupid talk

• Pinta 7 years ago

Mr Speaker you should have awarded some costs against these criminals who want to rule Ghana at all costs irrespective of the costs involved in their moves. This wanton dissipation of the tax payers money by the NPP in recall ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

BECAUSE OF POLITICAL EXPEDIENCY THE SPEAKER SAYS PARLIAMENT HAS NO POWER TO INVESTIGATE. WHY DID THEY INVESTIGATE AND PUT BLACK RASTA ON TRIAL? ISNT THE JUDICIARY THE ONLY BODY MANDATED BY CONSTITUTION TO TRY CITIZENS?

• dotse 7 years ago

U don't know the law more than him. And what kind of comparison is this? Why can't we for once put our party colors aside?

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

IT IS A BIG LIE FOR THE SPEAKER TO SAY ONLY CHRAJ CAN INVESTIGATE PUBLIC OFFICIALS. PRES MILLS SET UP A COMMISION TO INVESTIGATE THE THEN MIN OF SPORTS ALHAJI MUNTAKA WHO WAS A PUBLIC OFFICIAL. BNI AND EOCO ALSO HAVE INVESTIG ...

• dotse 7 years ago

Educate yourself well wai. He didn't say what u have said. He mentioned conflict of interest issues not just public officials.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

SHUT UP DOTSE. IT WILL HAVE BEEN ONLY CONFLICT OF INTEREST IF MAHAMA OFFERED HIS FRIEND A CONTRACT BUT NO GIFT EXCHANGED. THE GIFT MAKES IT BRIBERY WHICH HAS FRAUDULENT AND CRIMINAL IMPLICATION

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

These NPP idiots are just wasting tax payers money on frivolous things. They set fire to most markets and important buildings, it did not work now they want a lame excuse to disturb our peace. What a bunch of idiots?

• inercycl 7 years ago

Who are the criminals though, looters of state coffers,bribe takers or who? In the history of this country, which president has openly at least received a bribe from a contractor? These are the criminals not those angry about ...

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

It is on record that the only corrupt officials in Ghana are in the NPP and this was confirmed by Dr Agambilla former deputy minister of finance under the Kufuor administration who described the NPP's approach to politics and ...

• Yakubu 7 years ago

The most ugly and stupid speaker in the 4th republic...how can Parliament be subordinated to the authority of CHRAG. He will be ex speaker in few months time..

• kingnarrow 7 years ago

Yakubu you see your life? insult is a diseases in your flesh, get a life man!

• John,Tema 7 years ago

No need for insults,Ghanaians are patiently waiting for Dec 2016 to dismiss John Mahama at the poll.

• kingnarrow 7 years ago

which Ghanaian huh?
    hahahaha

john i assured you that ,the real ghanains,,who are not npp will vote jdm.

• Old major 7 years ago

Ghanaians are certainly going to endorse president MAHAMA come Dececmber 7th 2016 massively and one touch.

• Amidini 7 years ago

Be wise and sense-able when passing comments. You re calling Rt Hon Speaker stupid ?

• propaganda 7 years ago

Pls yakubu, speaker of parliament is not a position people vote to elect. It's the party that has majority mps that present a speaker . How would u now know the party that would get more mps this time round

• Spin 7 years ago

yakubu gyimii.let me see how you look? i know you are a black ugly monkey so stop calling someone ugly

• pablo 7 years ago

No insults.

• TARIM 7 years ago

WE ALL SAW THIS COMING. SUCH NEEDLESS WASTE OF EVERYONES TIME. THIS IS NOT HOW TO ASCEND TO THE HIGHEST OFFICE OF THE LAND. NANA AND NPP MUST WORK HARD AND STOP THESE MACHINATIONS. ITS EITHER DEMONSTRATIONS, SUPREME COURT, IM ...

• George 7 years ago

Why do people see this as bad. The bribe was received and must know the truth.Such a good moved has gone waist.

Whitewash ...what a surprise ...banana republic ...when there is no more money to steal and Ghana hits the rock just remember who YOU trusted WHONyou voted for . International community is aware so you will be on severe hards ...

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

After Jerry Rawlings cleaned up Ghana sir extra snout re-introduced corruption with impunity and thus far we hav come.

• Brownlow 7 years ago

MOTION : SPEAKER SAYS BACK TO SENDER IN THE NAME OF THE CONSTITUTION

• Amidini 7 years ago

The minority is opposition drunk ! I wonder them.

• fine boy... 7 years ago

Whether the speaker reject the motion or not we all know Mahama is corrupt example is the ford car. And with Mahama response it was clear that it even pains him the car was not made in Japan so he could use it as private.

• Albert 7 years ago

Is that the way to win elections? Akufo Addo has damaged the npp beyond repairs.It is going to take many years for the party to appeal to floating voters. What kind of politics is this? Smearing of personalities. What are the ...

• Francis 7 years ago

The speaker should at least allow the minority to move it motion and advance they grounds for the motion and listen to the majority case against the motion before giving the ruling. The speaker is bias papaaa

• ONE LOVE 7 years ago

With this FAMA NYAME attitude and I will cover him because he is in my party system, ghana will never ever progress. Even president Clinton was called for investigation only to kiss a women. Brazil president was impeached jus ...

• Sappey-Agboh -Tsiame-Alagbokope. 7 years ago

The minority leader (Lawrence Addae) signed a petition to recall parliament but turned round to allege that he wasn't privy to the decision of minority to petition parliament. Now it had turned out that Parliament doesn't hav ...

• Charles 7 years ago

Public institutions are currently too bipartisan to allow for truth in public life and for honest governance of Ghana. I would say that the opposition should work for a change of government come December 7. I hope that a new ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Nothing sensible can be done in this present Ghana with the corrupt, incompetent and thief mahama who pays his way into every fabric of the nation . God is watching.

• K Mensah 7 years ago

NDC Fools, you wait your time will come. There will be wailing and gnashing of teeth.

• GUY 7 years ago

Why the insult, it seems npp is full of such people

• mark 7 years ago

Ghana is going down #help save our children

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Albert, no floating voter will vote for this thieving NDC party. Get this into your thick skull.

• Nii 7 years ago

K Mensah,
    Are you a floating voter or do you know any? You cannot think for every Ghanaian.

• rastaman 7 years ago

why insuling the speaker he is rather directing them into the rightful way pls lets be civic small

• Ben 7 years ago

i cud nt fathom wy ndc cant jux undastand simple Parliamentary procedure. no wonder speaker is treading tins politically to save corrupt mahama God wil speak fr Ghana

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Conflict of interest is not a matter for even the Supreme Court.I'm surprised that with all these big,big,big lawyers and professors,NPP still don't know how to deal with small,small cases.
    Even small guys in CPP do know bet ...

• Steven 7 years ago

All actions taken under NDC fools in Ghana looks like 14th century animalistic thinking and behavior in the jungle. Leadership has gone to the dogs in the jungle. NDC HAS REVERSED THE DEMOCRACY AND GHANA'S DEVELOPMENT.

• Nana Amma 7 years ago

This is not surprising from the speaker of parliament. What did you expect

• Asona Ba Bekoe Atuo - USA 7 years ago

So did the stupid speaker of parliament referred the petition to CHRAG for investigation? If not then he has condoned and connived and of course that is the hallmark of NDC.

• NEUTRINO 7 years ago

STUPID FOOL THE MATTER IS ALREADY IN CRAJ THATS WHY IT WAS DISMISSED.DOE BASED RULING ON SUPREME COURT CASES.IDIOT TRUMP WILL BRING U TO US SOON KWASIAPENI

• GH MILITANT 7 years ago

The idiots has just wasted the hard workers time .they have nothing to do in their cinstituencies

• Ohene Gyamfi 7 years ago

Mr Kyei Mensah you see that your desperate because you are in the losing party you and you know that you cause financial lost to the Ghanians

• A.H 7 years ago

NPP why do you always want to put pressure on the president is it because his a northerner

• Adua 7 years ago

Npp thought they were very smart!! Lure the majority to debate us even though we know we have no case, get our media especially Joy Fm, Daily Guide, etc to publish our lies to make President Mahama very unpopular". Stupid as ...

• Dominic asare 7 years ago

Change is coming ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo NANA ADDO DANKWA IS COMING OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO im speaking on behalf the ghanaians no jm 2016 nana come o ...

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

Yes they have to dismisises it and seal that prosidia which is not nesssary for being disturb at this time of, and yes the paliment must case it out of this gifted to Mr.President and let ghana moveing on for what the or some ...

• Laar Clement 7 years ago

If the speaker claims that is only CHRAJ that can probe into matters of public officers why then did the late prez. Mills setup a committee to investigate JDM when was the vice concerning the purchase of aircrafts. We electo ...

• NEUTRINO 7 years ago

WAS PRES MILLS SPEAKER OR PARLIAMENT? DOE SAID PARLIAMENT CANT RE INVESTIGATE MATTER WHEN A CONST MANDATED BODY IS DOING SO NOT THAT THE PRESIDENT CANNOT U TWIT. SC HAS ALREADY DECIDED THIS BEFORE SO DOE RELIED ON SC CASES

• Yaa 7 years ago

The minority has caused financial loss to the state.

• Yaa 7 years ago

Why all these insults?

• Dessie 7 years ago

Spending time solving problems rather wasting time on non-issues

• merlin 7 years ago

HELLO, ARE YOU INTERESTED IN RUNNING A PERSONAL HOME BASE BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY THAT CAN EARN YOU OVER 200GHC DAILY WITH JUST THE USE OF YOUR MOBILE PHONE OR ANY INTERNET DEVICE AND GET PAID THROUGH MOBILE MONEY NO MATTER WHE ...

• BARAYASU 7 years ago

AH!NPP WANTS TO PASS THROUGH THE BACK DOOR TO COME BACK TO POWER.I THOUGHT THEY WOULD CONVINCE US TO VOTE FOR THEM BUT THIS MOVE WONT WIN THEM POWER

• CHORKOR SCHOO.L BOY 7 years ago

ONCE IN MAJORITY THE NPP SHOULD NOT HAVE DRE AMT TO HAVE THEIR WAY. IT IS CLEAR THE CORRUPT PRESIDENT TOOK THAT CAR AS BRIBE BUT AFRICAN POLITICS. THE TRUTH IS ALWAYS SURPRISED. LOOK AT WHAT HAPPENED IN BRAZIL WOW.........

• Jakes 7 years ago

Mahama must resign because of all these scandals is just water gate scandal which led the president Nixon to end his bid for another term but shameful Mahama doesn't get that

• King 7 years ago

NPP is full of idiots that is why Kennedy Agyapong said they are all fooooools
    God bless our homeland Ghana

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Let's follow Brazil's example and impeach Mahama, exhorted clueless Akufo-Addo to his elephant-riding members of Parliament. The Speaker just laughed and reminded clueless Akufo-Addo' henchmen that Ghana is not Brazil.

• DICTATORS 7 years ago

Ghana is the Republic of Corruption where a President can infringe budget rules, overspend, and accept Ford Expedition gift bribes in exchange for lucrative contracts. That is our Ghana, a country where Democracy is just lip ...

• George paa 7 years ago

Sorry for NDC and your John Mahama opposition is at your door steps come 07/12/2016

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

Ghanaians will never entrust Ghana into the hands of a man who cannot even unite the factions in his party.
    The NDC is still our best option since under JM's watch, the Adobewora Community Day Senior High School and Adugyama ...

• Brima 7 years ago

The decision of the speaker is stupid and waste of money

• Akua serwaah 7 years ago

Yooooo mr speaker no problem time will definately catch you up very soon

• THE HAND OF GOD(ANDY) 7 years ago

So Parliament is a white elephant,wawww.This is dangerous, surbodinating the stand of Parliament to the will of CHRJ is very risky,is there a need for Parliament at all?a bunch of unemployed citizens,who the government of th ...

• sipole 7 years ago

To impeach the Prez you need certain fraction of the No of Parliamentarians which obviously the Minority does not not have. I'm not sure but it is around 3/4. Also it could take about a year to carry the process through. Mean ...

• ONLY OPTION LEFT 7 years ago

Let every well meaning Ghanaian impeach this corrupt leader with the thumb, come December 7.

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

The opposition has no message for Ghanaians and are equally aware Nana Addo will never be president yet his cronies are raising his hopes up!!!
    Well, A vote for JM is a vote for development and currently his good works are ...

• ashitey biko teshie 7 years ago

NDC government must investigate the GNPC drill ship with immediately effect

• STEVE 7 years ago

They are just desperate and using all foul and fraudulent means to come to power, but " GOD NO SLEEP ".

• nana 7 years ago

If you knew CHRAJ is the only mandated institution to probe the matter why did you recall them to come and waste our money, you incompetent like mahama. God dey watch you all, surely your end SHALL come soon.

• Danjuma 7 years ago

The speaker allowing the parlimentarians to convene is a constitution provision that he acted upon and at the same time he has discretion powers to admit the case tabled before him or not and both are constitutional right and ...

• maame 7 years ago

Like this

• KWAAMPONG, TEMA 7 years ago

Whether Mr. Speaker (NDC)allows Parliament to interrogate the issue of Ford 'gift' to the President or not, Ghanaians are not fools to understand the whole episode. No matter what, the President received this gift on the quie ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

Meaningless Minority.

• Ghana must know. 7 years ago

It was obvious that the "ZOMBIES" majority mps will reject the minority's motion move but Ghanaians will impeach the dead goat president Mahama and his incompetent Ndc soon . If John Mahama did nothing wrong, why running away ...

• Freddy 7 years ago

Ndc is not there for the good of Ghana , for their sake All they know is yea yea . Foolishness they don't lack !

• New Sherrif in Town 7 years ago

The NDC MPs, including Doe Adjaho and Alban Bad Bin, stoutly rejected calls to probe Jerry Rawlings' Abacha suitcase of $5 million delivered by Gwarzo. They said the allegation of Abacha sending any money to Rawlings was friv ...

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

The cheap lies you keep churning out will not win the opposition the Presidency.
    Former president Rawlings to the effect has cleared the air and indicated categorically that the money was used in developing the country durin ...