You are here: HomeNews2016 08 30Article 466079

Thugs beat up police officer

Read Comments Comments (99)

• JOHN 7 years ago

THE POLICE MUST CATCH THESE CULPRITS AND THEY MUST FACE THE FIRING SQUAD OR BE HANGED. WE NEED AN INTERIOR MINISTER WHO IS RUTHLESS

• CORNEY 7 years ago

I keep saying we have missed the revolution,in the revolution days who dare you to do such a thing to to a police officer,Ghana has become a lawless country as a result of this so called democracy.
    Those people should be jai ...

• ok 7 years ago

we dont fear anybody. we have article 72. the law is on our side. be ndc voter and you qualify to rape, kill, beat, burn people´s property etc etc all for free. what a YES president.

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

why bother respecting the rule of law or those like judges police or other officials when the president doesn't . Now its about survival of the fittest and we encourage all to beat or kill any policeman or soldier in their vi ...

• Gyan 7 years ago

Stupid Africans have been deceived that whatever works for the white man can also work for them hence their rush for the white mans democracy. Stupid fools see the mess in which you are.

• Paul Gati 7 years ago

I bet they are the Land Guards at those areas. Their time is up now. Police should move in and arrest every young person there. Let the President pardon them.

• Asea Ho 7 years ago

Go to Nswaem, Ankaful and Akuse and see how many inmates are there. Article 72 is not for every crime. Do not be deceived by the politicians.

• Asempa 7 years ago

Everyday new police posts are created but forgotten that the number is not enough. The police administration should recruit skilled and competent men who are willing to work not those forced to join because of employment prob ...

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

Nonsense, what revolution are you talking about , the armed robbery insurrection that carried out selective killings and the wanton stealing of property and you call that revolution ? The many acts of lawlessness we see now a ...

• Sofia 7 years ago

Very much so,very sad.

• Odwanfunu 7 years ago

There is so much corruption going on at the passport office and the immigration departments. The president must sit up, the corruption in these depts is too horrible.

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Those who know this policeman will confirm that he looks much nicer in the picture than he really is. It is like cosmetic surgery to make him look handsome, in a way.

But sorry for the pains

Jobless fool you are, Dauglas aka APONKYE.

• Coaches 7 years ago

Your name vividly tells who you are,aponkye indeed,were he your relative,would you have made these idiotic pronouncements???? Learn your ethics well

• FACTUAL 7 years ago

Please trace & arrest this criminal APONKYE goon for a start; he claims he knows the PO. Sometimes don't blame the police for shooting first and asking questions later. His AK47 would have neutralized these criminals in less ...

• Paul Gati 7 years ago

In London, even during the day, Police patrol in a group of not less that two police officers at a time

• United Ghana 7 years ago

But doesn't the report say he had an AK47? Why didn't he use it? Maybe the govt can't afford to supply our police with bullets. Ghana's gone to the dogs.

• Concerned 7 years ago

Two wrongs don't ....but the fact is the police have been illegally beating suspects to make them confess. The law applies to everyone.

• Nii 7 years ago

It has always been illegal, unethical, sad and non Ghanaian behaviour to attack a peace official let alone the police who protects us all.
    Those who committed this heinous crime must be given the longest sentences they deser ...

• Kofi Asante 7 years ago

These cowards must be smoked out wherever they may be hiding. This is really bad and I wonder what he did to be treated this way. Wish you speedy recovery and why didn't people intervene immediately?

• John 7 years ago

If we don't the indiscipline going on the military will take advantage of this and come back.Why has the Ghana Police Service lost so much respect?IGP shd carry some of the blame,Ghana Army rexcently defended themselves again ...

• Prince Awuah David 7 years ago

May God protect the police, restore honesty and truth in the service without any political manipulations that leads to chaos, especially with use of covert military-style weapons driven by satellite to destroy health, brains ...

• ATTIVOR 7 years ago

Amen

• james balogun 7 years ago

AFRICAN DATING AGENCY ORGANIZATION,THE BEST CERTIFIED RELIABLE AGENCY COMPANY IN NIGERIAN/GHANA 2015/2016
    ARE YOU SEEKING FOR A RICH SUGAR MUMMY/DADDY/LESBIANS/GAY/ IN NIGERIA, GHANA, ANYONE INTERESTED SHOULD CONTACT AFRICAN ...

• ATTIVOR 7 years ago

Please where is your Ghana office?

• agyateng Bodomase Meth. JHS 7 years ago

I trust that our police officers will fish these people out. They must face d full cos of d law. God help Ghana!!

• wandi 7 years ago

Beating police officer means a war against the nation. these guys must be smoke out

• kululu 7 years ago

This so bad but, the police do same to innocent people.Their approach is the problem.Talking from experience; the police beat an innocent person brutally because they have been bribed by another guy. They would not let this v ...

• propaganda 7 years ago

Talk with facts not assumptions. There is no way a policeman will brutalized a civilian and the media will remain silence on it. Tell me which year, which region and which town had it happened? I can see u are trying to endo ...

• Sylvester 7 years ago

What is happening in our country now?How can a Police officer been brutalise in such a manner?The shoot and kill application must applied,if those whom you are protecting can act in such a manner.I wish the officer speedy rec ...

• soldier 7 years ago

A police officer who have seen that ur life is in danger, what r u to do with ur AK riffle? Is a lesson to u.

• kobby 7 years ago

how will the officer fire even when his life is in immediate danger when after firing u r made to write, write and write to justify ur firing...due to this writing to justify, a lot of officers will rather receive that punish ...

• JoyPH 7 years ago

so sorry wish u speedy recovery...and those gangs will never go unpunished

• Nii 7 years ago

They must defend themselves next time around. And that means they must use their guns to protect themselves. Sad but that the only solution

• OnkoNii 7 years ago

What did he do to be licked this way?

• Derrick 7 years ago

But what did he dooooooooooo

• propaganda 7 years ago

What was he using his rifle for? Attacking u at about 2am numbering about fifteen and u allowed them to overpower u? He is not a well trained policeman. U are justified to resort to the use of firearms when ur life is in imme ...

• SAVIOLA ( Offinso ) 7 years ago

Is that what u are saying instead of u to say a word of prayer or condolence?

Hmmmmm it didn't happen to either you or your relative. You would'nt have said this.
    I am very dissapointed

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Good to hear, he should have been killed like how they also rob and kill others.

• propaganda 7 years ago

Am praying so hard that any of ur family member be it immediate or extended family who is in the service be killed. Stupid comment from idiot person. Let police go on strike for just a day and u will feel importance of polic ...

• FACTUAL 7 years ago

A typical primitive-brained Ghanaian. Check the records & read well! Do you know how many times civilians rob & kill than police? OVER THOUSANDS OF TIMES!!! Ghana will be the most peaceful country in the world if we all behav ...

• Michael, Akim Kukurantumi 7 years ago

What for? The perpetrators must be bring to face the law.

• soldier 7 years ago

Their own officer scars them on the use of fire arm so the cawards fear to use the Riffle

• Richman Tamale 7 years ago

this is just the beginning. the bribe taken is too much. do u forget that in one demonstration in ghana hear people's were beaten and some lost their eyes? thus president corruption bribery M ...

• SULLYMAN YAA SALAAM 7 years ago

POLICE SHOULD NOT ARREST THEM BCOS IF THEY DO MR PRESIDENT WILL SET THEM FREE JU

The question is : How many police officers were there around 2am? You don't leave just one officer alone on duty. The inspector he serves under must be charged. If the police personnel are not adequate, then they should recr ...

• Luther King 7 years ago

How did they get to him without him noticing? Was he sleeping on duty? Or drunk on duty? Any alert policeman would've been able to spot the danger early, call for back-up while giving warning shorts etc. Was he taken unawar ...

• Charlie new Jersey USA 7 years ago

This is not right to brutalized a police officer who is there to protect and serve the constitution and the people of the country the. IGP should act now those gang should be arrested immediately and prosecuted right away I w ...

• Paul Gati 7 years ago

What kind of IGP do we have now? How can one Policeman will be there at 2am on his own.

• emman 7 years ago

Ghanaian don't even worry ur self to arrest those people,because even if u do Mahama will say Arctic 72 law of mercy to dismissed them,all police men should be very active,if u involved ur self in such condition kill as much ...

• kwaku-Holland 7 years ago

How in the hell can you do this to a police officer? What has Ghana come to? My prayers are with the officer and hope he makes a speedy recovery. Police, we know you are not perfect but do something this time. Whip dem punks ...

• roland 7 years ago

Thank you. Indeed he should have been killed. Useless people. Wicked, corrupt and criminal police force. God will punish you one by one. He should have been killed!!

• kwaku-Holland 7 years ago

What kind of person are you to promote lawlessness and chaos? Yes the Police is corrupt, but without them our society will cease to function. Hope such lawless thoughts of your is confined to your family alone. Leave us law ...

• Amidini 7 years ago

Hope the police will do due diligent to fish out the perpetrators of this crime

• Isaac sali 7 years ago

The police must be alert at any time and must not hesitate to open fire if the suspect any danger.

• TP 7 years ago

there have done well paa

• atugubah 7 years ago

IGP I give you 10 days to round up or else

• owusu 7 years ago

they don't protect life and property any more, all they does is to collect money from driver as if they are not on pay roll

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Complete the story,why?

• Koff 7 years ago

Lol - i love the bit where the warning of graphic images comes after the whole article! You see the picture before being warned - classic!

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Only if you look at the pictures BEFORE reading the article like a class 1 pupil

• Kessie Hopking 7 years ago

The policemen are suffering and willing to protect d nation and at their time of retirement they are giving small money whiles the money is being vested in d black stars what a misery hmmm .may God protect our police officers

• Nana forbi 7 years ago

oh my God

Nobody is afraid of the president because he endorses corruption and criminality .

• Truth 7 years ago

Wat type of journalism is this. Wat happened before the attack? Give details.

• Dickson 7 years ago

But was he on duty alone? Is there no standing order that at least two policemen must be on each patrol? If there is no such order, then it must be instituted at once. Police on patrol should consist of at least two.

• pae mu ka 7 years ago

even if they are they will be pardoned.this is the other of the day.

• obroni 7 years ago

have you heard the way police officers talk to you these days ?
    They are recruited from the same area's as the culprits and if you ask why they are doing some things they are not supposed to do, they shout, insult and lie th ...

• Alhaji Yakubu 7 years ago

Under Mahama NDC administration, Crime is a game if only you are a member of NDC, Mahama in consultation with the useless Council of State sill set you FREE

• Jnr Eric 7 years ago

Ghanaweb - what is the meaning of this statement- "Warning graphic content: The following images may be disturbing to some viewers. Viewers discretion is strongly advised"

if you want to warn you reader about uncomfortable ...

• peeeeee 7 years ago

U read before pictures

• sam 7 years ago

those behind this act must be arrested immediately. The poice must not rest until those behind this barbaric act are arrested and arreign before court. What has Ghana come to. people are being attacked here and there. we mus ...

• Ij 7 years ago

Why was he patrolling alone and what was he doing there alone in the 1st place. Patrolling officers go in groups.

So maybe he went there to show off his AK and was thought a lesson.
    All officers moves in groups remember ...

• Asootowo 7 years ago

In country where the president can be booed and stoned, what do you expect will be done to the police and let lone the population? These are all the results of dead goat and NDC government corruption, lawlessness and clueless ...

The person who has taken it upon himsef to protect the citizens, look how the citizens are treating him.
    God, let your sharp sword start operating against these gangs now.
    What a pity.

I hope these thugs are arrested and justly punished. No individual deserves this treatment.

• johny 7 years ago

Oh mother Ghana where we are going now .we need the mercies of God

God, let your merciless sword start operating against these gangs now.
    The person who has taken it upon himself to protect the citizens, look at his reward.

• hypocrite journalist 7 years ago

B, cos a Police officer was brutalised i didn't hear any journalist talking against this unacceptable incedent buh if it was a Police officer rather brutalised someone lyk this u will hear journalists left, front, back, talki ...

• Kofi Virginia 7 years ago

Our country is becoming more and more lawless. What were 15 young folks doing on the street at that time of the night and why was the police office alone on duty? Maybe he should have shot first and ask questions later, but t ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Bravo to those thugs, they need to be reward with a house and a brand new Toyota corolla.

• Kanawu 7 years ago

If Ghana Police fail to be disciplined, someone need to discipline them.

• Nii 7 years ago

The police have allowed these thugs to have the nerves to even attempt to attack them. HOW? The police must go on the offensive and deal drastically with these rogues before they become useless. What lawless society are we n ...

• EVANS 7 years ago

VERY SAD, GOD HAVE MERCY

• NANA AKRONFO ADDICT 7 years ago

I hope the police get hold of these thugs and teach them a lesson.

Atta Akyea and the NPP are waiting to defend them in court.

• A.M.A 7 years ago

How could he have allowed them to even take over his area of responsibility without him asking them the password. That is why they issue daily password wen you on duty, if you ask the intruder the password and he or she can't ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

https://grantstandblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/29/rio-2016-of-aphrodisiacs-stimulants-depressants-and-good-ol-politics-part-one-1/

• kotoo 7 years ago

Pleas,furnish us with reliable information why he was overpowered and severely beaten

• Adizatu kuburah 7 years ago

I wish him speak recovery, may God punish the perpetrators heavily

• Maxwell 7 years ago

This is bullshit . What kind of country is this . A country of no law. And why should he alone be working on duty . Fuck this government

• you are a fool and i am a fool 7 years ago

HE LOOKS LIKE HIPPOPOTAMUS!!! HEHE

• Agyei Dorcas 7 years ago

police work is becoming scary oh God help them

• AGYIRI DAVID 7 years ago

they mas b killed when dey were catch ,dey need to be jailed dey need to die ,l hope dis people will get lawyer to defend dem

• satanic church 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• CID 7 years ago

Hmmm, about 15 or 15. Was there any eye witness at the of the incident? Except the peace officer alone , if the peace officer is able know the exact number of the people who attacked him, then he shld be able to identify the ...

• Jj 7 years ago

Wow ,
    Why didn't yu fire for self defense . Why are yu holding the weapon .
    We have allowed this democracy thing to take off our spence of reasoning.
    Even to the extent of taking yr weon . C'mon , for what . In this situ ...

• Nanaba 7 years ago

Really sorry Bro.... It's sad this things still happen in Ghana because of Act.72 by NDC Gov,

• AD 7 years ago

If they get them they should line up them and shoot them all no mercy,What has he done to deserve this?just for doing his job.with what is happening in Ghana there should always be two police officers or more if possible at a ...

• AD 7 years ago

correction,they should line them up