You are here: HomeNews2016 08 24Article 464781

ECG staff threaten nationwide blackout over concession moves

Read Comments Comments (64)

• ATSU, HO 7 years ago

If govt had been transparent and truthful with this transactio and other things this sabotage would not have been possible

• Prince Awuah David 7 years ago

Ghanaians must stand and speak up against and criminals in Government. Where are the Intellectuals and people of God? The nation seems to be seriously divided filled with some of kind of communism and human right abuses. It i ...

• Observer 7 years ago

ECG staff: Please be sure that you give the public plenty of notice of the blackout, so that we will know why the lights are out. It is vitally important that we can tell the difference between dumsor dumsor, load shedding, a ...

• DR T AFFUM, ACCRA 7 years ago

I SUPPORT THE PRIVATIZATION BECAUSE RIGHT NOW ALL PROFITS GO INTO THE WORKERS POCKETS. WORKERS ARE SELLING METERS AT EXORBITANT PRICES AT BLACK MARKET. WORKERS ARE BEING CORRUPT WITH ELECTRICITY SALES CULMINATING INTO ABYSMAL ...

Author:- CHE .....
    If one looks at how close the 2012 presidential elections were even against the backdrop of the sympathy vote for JDM and the NDC due to the passing of Prof. Mills, then the 2016 elections will certainly ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Folks,Join ECG to demonstrate and warn those private participate in ECG.Folks the reason why America is want to buy ECG is because of the wonderful things Apostle Safo is doing and his technological advancement and they it as ...

• Nurudeen 7 years ago

sack them all if they dare.. you fools are now crying for us ghanaians to come to your side.. after all those poor services you delivered over the years. you are on your own now. ghanaians are fed up with you.

• Ritewing 7 years ago

It is even difficult for what we currently are required to pay. A monopoly service provider will fleece us. Only persons with extra incomes most probably, stolen from government sources, will be able to pay their bills. What ...

• Prince Awuah David 7 years ago

I love you for being proactive.

May God protect Ghana against ILLUMINATI communism and slavery as well as the use of covert military-style weapons driven by satellite to destroy health, brains and nervous systems. The weap ...

• Oku 7 years ago

Go ahead, we know you are behind some of the outages.

• KWaku Gbloenawo 7 years ago

This is how low discipline has deteriorated in our society. Any fool can get up and threaten the state because he/she is not satisfied with a decision of government? Who then controls the affairs of the state.
    I suggest the ...

• Komfo kesi3 7 years ago

...call it lawlessness!...and that's what the senseless president is spearheading by negating a legal ruling on the montie3 criminals!
    Oh, my beloved country Ghana! ..destroyed by NDC!

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 7 years ago

Mahama would love to see that happenso he labels you as saboteurs. He wants a single excuse to save his waned image

• Sure 7 years ago

President Mahama wife's Company is the one importing the ECG house hold meters. The President, his wife and brother are cheating Ghanaians and he should be voted out in 2016 election.

• Obroni 7 years ago

Where were ECG workers when we needed them? Cashing in their corrupt practices. That S why you were sold for 25 years,vand trust me 1 by 1 you will all be replaced and surplus staff getting rid of
    Check Vodafone example, th ...

• PEEVED 7 years ago

PRIVATIZE THE ECG. These incompetent and inept bunch of goons should be shown the door if they hold the country at ransom by their veiled threat. ECG is our problem, not privatization.

• NANA ADDO. 7 years ago

Why do you need national support while doing wrong things. It is laughable to seek the support from the people you are cheating collecting huge money before issuing meters. Taking bribes before issuing meters . Cost of me ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

He doesn't know what he is talking about,he is expecting the public to speak,the public wants that company privatized, it is long over due,it is based on these kind of comments and threats in addition with the corruption that ...

• Nii Nortey(New York) 7 years ago

Let this idiot Stephen Norvixoxo and his bunch of fools go ahead with the threat to the nation, and show them where power lies.
    Enough with this foolishness. Who do they think they are?

• Honesty-the best policy! 7 years ago

Pure blackmail! They think they are bigger than the state because they handle an essential service. Even doctors who handle lives have been on strikes several times. Besides we are used to dumsor so whats the deal? Mahama sh ...

• The Future Force 7 years ago

If any stupid leader at ECG dares to cause a blackout in Ghana on Friday, they will smell pepper. You guys have manipulated the lights for many years just for someone's political ambition and if you continue with that, many o ...

• Adom 7 years ago

You workers of ECG will not win the public sympathy but rather the public condemnation if you go ahead with your threat. Trust me.

• king SA 7 years ago

Show him de red card ECG. I wish it can continue for a wik

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

What right do these idiots have to plunge the nation into darkness? If ?they want to go home, they should just leave the equipment and go.

• Thy will be done 7 years ago

The Mahama Govt with its cronies have lost it. They dont know what time it is? They cant cut it. Simplicita Time to chase them out of town.

• satanic church 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• james 7 years ago

The corrupt and incompetent ECG, want to hold Ghana for ransom, to prevent their top from getting sacked...

• Kaiser 7 years ago

Yeh punish your salary paying public further
    Try something to keep the public on your side plunge the government and ministry buildings into darkness, target their residence's that's the best way forward not Joe public!

• Ojaay 7 years ago

Sack all who put the nation into darkness

• BEN STONE. HELSINKI 7 years ago

That's a great move by the government to privitize ECG. That will be good for the nation

• aj 7 years ago

govmnt shld go a head because ECG are not putting up their best

• Kojo 7 years ago

Foolish workers. I'd You go on this criminal sabotage, you will be arrested, prosecuted and jailed.

• Karim 7 years ago

Oh Subhanawata Allah, this govenor will finish Ghana hmm upset of Mr mahamma

• Kojo Nkansah 7 years ago

If ECG put the country into darkness then it means they are the cause of the major blackout that the country is experiencing and I think this will enable the government to take action against them especially the top men

• Ghanaba. 7 years ago

Privitize the ECG is the best way to save the cooperation else it will collapsed like the way Ghana Airways did, there is too much coruption in the company, particularly Obuasi.

We are behind all of u, Mahama cannot sell thecountry for a peanut. ghana does not belong to wicked NDC, the nation is for us and future generation as well.

• ASANTE ADDO 7 years ago

GHANAIANS PAY FOR YOUR SERVICES AND YOU WANT TO BLACKOUT, THEY SHOULD BOW THEIR HEAD IN SHAME, GHANAIANS WANT STABLE POWER SUPPLY, SO IF COMPETENT PEOPLE WANT TO DO THE JOB, WHY NOT

• KOOBOY 7 years ago

LOOK AT THINGS UNDER THE GOVERNMENT AND PRIVATE SECTORS. AMERICA IS DEVELOPED BECAUSE IT MAKES ROOM FOR THE PRIVATE SECTOR TO GROW. A GOVERNMENT DOES NOT HAVE TO CREATE JOBS RATHER IT HAS TO MAKE IT EASIER FOR THE PRIVATE SEC ...

• Luze 7 years ago

Go ahead we are not afraid black out any more. Because your corrupt acts would be discovered. Criminals those backing you are your partners in crime, God will punish you one by one. Kwasia tor.

• Loway 7 years ago

Bring in new management and reduce tariffs

• Luze 7 years ago

No wonder Norvixoxo old Criminal leading your gang at ECG robbing poor Ghanaians, shame unto you. Ayigbeni julour.

• King David 7 years ago

Good job Mr Ecg. All the instutions and citizens affected must stand up. Mother Ghana even with oil discovery. look where we heading. Mahama u chop small .u shld kindly
    step down.

• TRUTH 7 years ago

YOU FOOLS SAT ON YOUR DIRTY ASSESS AND ALLOWED THIS THEIF MAHAMAH TO SELL ECG TO HIS BROTHER'S COMPANY AND A FOREIGN COMPANY AND NOW YOU ARE BEHAVING LIKE MONKEYS. YOU WILL ALL SUFFER AND DIE AFTER THE CONCESSION. FOOLS.

• ING. DONALD TUMP 7 years ago

NPP ELEMENTS ARE UNHAPPY DUMSOR IS OVER SO HAVE TO USE ECG & VRA WORKERS TO CAUSE BLACKOUT. GHANA OUR BELOVED COUNTRY BEING DESTROYED BY NPP TRAITORS.

• ab esreso Kumasi 7 years ago

Hahaha..... what are you people afraid off? The President has promise you'll not be sack only that the private man will not allow you people to continue with your corrupt practice. Continental to Golden Tolip Accra, one touch ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

So now ECG you have exposed yrself! PlsMrPresident go ahead and do the needful. They have been holding our balls for too long.

• Latt from Kedjebi.August 19 7 years ago

Folks dnt mined workers of ecg becos dey are only struggling to save their fat salaries n allowances at d detriment of the state. Lest support govt to go private for better service.

• Damien Osei 7 years ago

When we talk about this government been incompetent then these NDC ppl will be insulting you now you c what is going on in Ghana

• Oddikro 7 years ago

1 The president's brother was owing Merchant Bank---Govt sold it and in no time the guy 'settled' the debt.
    Interesting!!
    2. Govt is owing the ECG--the way out is to sell ECG---to avoid paying by adding the debt to the valu ...

• wontumi. ( London)m 7 years ago

Nonsense! It's because of people like you in that company, ghana is not progression. Here in europe, majority of companies african man would have thought should be owned by the state,are all controled by individuals. And ever ...

• Benedict Bediako 7 years ago

Hahaaaaa, listen to these bunch of incompetent fools! All along we knew you were just trying to sabotage the government. You want our sympathy, and you are willing to purnish us to get it, right? Idiots and thieves! The leade ...

• Teiko Tagoe 7 years ago

Stupid ECG staffs. We already know this what u get paid for. Ur inefficiency or shall i say ur sabotage is what is killing d corporation. Some staffs conniving with some consumers to dupe ECG of millions of GHC. Go ahead n do ...

• OBINNA 7 years ago

IT IS CRIMINAL FOR WORKERS TO DO WHAT THEY ARE THREATENING. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD IDENTIFY THEIR LEADERS, ARREST THEM AND PUT THEM BEFORE COURT. GOVERNMENTS CAN DO WHAT THEY THINK IS RIGHT FOR THE PEOPLE; THATS THEIR JOB. EMP ...

• Wilberforce Yirenkyi 7 years ago

The concession move is the best option to to salvage the sinking image of ECG. The current manner the company is operating is appalling. No mark of customer service and good sense of management. Government should go ahead wit ...

• Samson 7 years ago

This action planned by the ECG is a criminal act and the leadership of the action should be identified and arrested if they go ahead and turn off the lights. The ECG is not the private property of the employees, it does not b ...

• Kwaku Acpoli 7 years ago

WILL ANYBODY RULE GH FOR THE PRESIDENT? EVERYDAY STRIKE, STRIKE. ARE WE NOT GETTING TIRED? GO ON STRIKE AND KILL GHANA.

• prince , dansoman 7 years ago

AH , ORDINARY WORKERS WANT TO TELL THE GOVERNMENT WHAT TO DO ..THE WORKERS SHOULD DARE GIVE THE BLACKOUT AND THEY WILL SEE THAT THERE ARE CRAZY PEOPLE IN GHANA ... THE HAS BEEN GIVEN THE MANDATE TO TAKE DECISIONS FOR THE ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

ECG management is not capable of running ECG so please spare us this threat. You are only there to enrich yourselves and don't know anything about management. A koko seller can perhaps do a better job than you are doing at ...

• Woman's voice 7 years ago

The ECG staff need to stop their nonsense if they think they can put the whole country into darkness and get away with it they should go ahead. Only shallow minded people don't know it will be a criminal act to intentionally ...

• sulo j 7 years ago

Stupid headless fools. You want public sympathy yet you threaten blackout. Is the blackout going to affect the president or the public whose sympathy you want. Have you forgetting the corrupt practice in ECG in which you peo ...

• Keane 7 years ago

Play your game ...but and it is BUT if e Pugh illiterate people vote then by March 3
    2017 you will have a new boss ....oooops all the thieves will be sad ....... The customers will cry at new high charges and everyone will h ...

• Kambody 7 years ago

ECG Staff are never serious.
    They should go to hell,we need service providers .

• Bibini 7 years ago

Well, blacking out the entire nation is not omly illegal but also a threat to national security. Am damn sure very big heads will roll, and the small ones will fry...

• champ!! 7 years ago

Turning ECG 4rm corporation into a company by Mr. kufour shld av alarmd all of us. wi shld av embarked on nationwide blackout way back. wi shld av cried , wept , raised curses bcuz of dix action bat wat did wi do remained qui ...