You are here: HomeNews2016 07 08Article 453879

St. Augustine’s College: Sick student dies after exeat denial

Read Comments Comments (104)

• ============= 7 years ago

WHAT KIND OF NONSENSE IS THIS?

• RUTH 7 years ago

..... Ghanaians are sooooooooooo wickeeeeeeedddd....... It's not surprising at all.... Look at foreign prisons and compare them to Ghanaian prisons...... Ours are packed like sardines..... Why why why why why...... Meanwhile ...

• Billyblasta 7 years ago

The full story is that the boy is a sickler who had rheumatism last Sunday so he was rushed to UCC hospital by his housemaster i.e. St. John's who paid initial bills. On Monday he was quite ok but wasn't discharged. His pare ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 7 years ago

Billyblasta, I hope your version of the story is accurate. The one reported by the radio station is very disturbing. How did you get your information and are you a student of Augusco? Please clarify to put some of us at rest. ...

• Emats 7 years ago

I hope this is not true. Otherwise we would bring Ames's to the school

• eugene 7 years ago

hope truth or you will be out of business...Lawyers in USA get 30% of personal injury so they sue big money!

• kwesi ntate3 7 years ago

All Senior High schools(boarding) in gh. should as a matter of fact employ not less than 2 nurses.it will also help absorb some of our unemployed nurses

• eugene 7 years ago

is the school a Prison??? Should have been no need for permission

• ahisem 7 years ago

Fools ,,,hu call demselves authorities..all da leaders shd be killed ..nonsense

• RUTH 7 years ago

..... Teachers are soooooo mean that even the good ones would like to shield cronies whose actions and inactions lead to loss of innocent life on campuses...... Parents should not spare the school authorities at all.....

• HONESTY 7 years ago

Ghanaian leaders and elders are stupid, simple.
    Someone should dare challenge me.

• Adom 7 years ago

Parents should take serious action on matters of this nature. Why must a sick student be denied exeat for medical attention? What do u gain from keeping students in school when they are not well to learn. Let's reason up. Par ...

• Billyblasta 7 years ago

The story has been twisted The full story is that the boy is a sickler who had rheumatism last Sunday so he was rushed to UCC hospital by his housemaster i.e. St. John's who paid initial bills. On Monday he was quite ok but ...

• SAINT GHFUO, MEDIOCRITY STINKS CUUHH! 7 years ago

BOARDING SCHOOLS SHOULD NOT ADMIT KIDS WITH A HISTROY OF ILLNESSES.THESE SCHOOLS SHOULD ALSO HAVE A MALE AND FEMALE DOCTOR ON CAMPUS TO TREAT SICK STUDENTS AND REFER THEM TO CITY HOSPITALS. WE MUST USE SUCH UNFORTUNATE EXAMPL ...

• adz3n! 7 years ago

If this is the truth abt the story, then ghanaweb is a disappointment for blowing false alarm.

• Abena 7 years ago

I hope the story is not true.

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

The Headmaster, housemaster/mistress of the school and school dispenser should all be dragged to court and sentenced to jail.

• Togbui Delavi 7 years ago

The headmaster should have resigned by now. He can he preside over such inhuman treatment. I feel very sorry for his parents. May God be with them in this traumatic times.

• Togbui Delavi 7 years ago

**How

• Truthman 7 years ago

Two people have died in the school this term. You don't think that is becoming a pattern? That there could be something systemically wrong? Like infections? You people are part of the problem. You always defend nonsense.

• Truthman 7 years ago

Sorry. I agree with you. I wanted to reply to someone else.

• OWV 7 years ago

Resign??? Did you read properly. ???? Bit yours abi

Being very emotional and spewing out thrash.
    Wait for the details before you talk

How can you be so inhuman?What details are you talking about?
    A young person with his whole life ahead of him is dead out of negligent and you're here having a go at people expressing their sympathies and disbeliefs.
    No amo ...

Actually, I think yours is even more distasteful. How do you just jump to conclusions when you have heard only one side of the story. Yes, person is dead but that does not mean we should ignore natural wisdom and fairness.

• Adi. Puplampu 7 years ago

HNana u are a big fool waiting for what . a fool

• SAINT GHFUO, MEDIOCRITY STINKS CUUHH! 7 years ago

IF U ARE SICK, CALL UR PARENTS. WHY WASNT HE TREATED BY SCHOOL NURSES? OR SENT TO THE HOSPITAL? IF HE WAS SICK, HE SHOULD HAVE VISITED THE SCHOOL DOCTOR AND BE REFERRED TO A HOSPITAL IN THE CITY. HOW MANY OF THESE BOARDING SC ...

• anonymous 7 years ago

I'm an old student of this school. The dispensary is nothing to write home about. Can you imagine that the doctor comes only once a week on Tuesdays? That means on any other day when you are sick you will be attended by the s ...

• eugene 7 years ago

No child lives at school in USA except those university students that want to and have money! Paying dorm fees are more expensive than school fee..Cheaper to buy transport or cheap car

• Afia 7 years ago

Am even shearin tears. What a hell z wrong wit dis soo called authorities. He shd huv jux run away t d hse buh probly obedient child. hmmmm.Had I knwn z alwys at last. RIPP. God huv mercy on Gh.

Let's see wht dey wil cme o ...

• Mozayke 7 years ago

Its true

• Stephen 7 years ago

this is very sad, about time so called authorities in shs reason up from that old administrative style.

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

THIS IS A BEAUTIUL CASE THAT MUST BE STRETCHED TO ITS FULLEST. THE HOUSEMASTER AND HEADMASTER SHOULD ALL BE CHARGED FOR NEGILIGENCE.

• Kwame Siaw 7 years ago

That is the results of being strict. The Headmaster must be held accountable and must be charged for manslaughter. Not properly trained. IDIOT.

• no need 7 years ago

Foools .....you killers !!!! You killed my only bro ????????....they should arrest that man who calls himself a headmaster and that fucken senior house master

• no need 7 years ago

Foools .....you killers !!!! You killed my only bro ????????....they should arrest that man who calls himself a headmaster and that fucken senior house master

• no need 7 years ago

• Kwesi Mensah 7 years ago

The parents should take drastic measure against the school adminstration especially the senior housemaster. Common exeat that they a supposed to sign they take it as if they are signing a visa for someone to go abroad. That N ...

• lito 7 years ago

This case shouldn't be thoroughly investigated and those found guilty should be punished.plain and simple

• kubed 7 years ago

This is not good

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

I am a past student of augusco and it's true it's not that some of us didn't pay attention to them when we where sick Arh like we would have suffered the same fate......when you go to the dispensary too the nurses will insult ...

• Chief 7 years ago

Hmm....

• Asantewaa 7 years ago

This is so serious. This nonsense has been going on in schools even my recent school, it's as if an exact is a visa. They would want to see you die before giving out the exact.

• lito 7 years ago

Yes. Truly Ghana we living in stone age era. We are primitive but we think we're smart.
    A country where kids crawl on their belly in school what do you expect.
    A fuck up country with fuck up government

• Afia 7 years ago

I rememba one teacher wntd t prevent me sme years back in skul. Tot i wntd t go home bcz of grnds wrk. Ws sayin No n had t insist b4 i left n dat sickness almst a mnth also i cldnt go t skul.

• Sheila 7 years ago

How wicked is the one in charge.who ever is in charge for the exeat should be jailed or a mob action taken against him.the parents should not take it lightly at all.may his soul rest in perfect peace.

• Mc 7 years ago

This is what happens in the various schools the house masters are very wicked.I was a victim when I wrote permission to go to hospital the master was asking me wherether I'm sure of my sickness because I look good.Because of ...

• garby 7 years ago

Dats why me Garby I don even tink I kolected 1 exeat at Abusco ah why bush road is dare is me Gyameràh SSSS 91-94 HSE 2

• anonymous martha 7 years ago

yy do u people just judge without evidence...i am an old boy.....if u truely deserve d exeact it will be given to u....no one shld insult the skul again....bcus it wasnt their fault

• Ben 7 years ago

Idiot, come back and say that when it happens to your ward! Mtcheeeew

• FOOL 7 years ago

You are very foolish paaaa. God will punish u so much!!! i pray it happens to either ur sin, daughter or a dear brother or sister of urs . kwasiaasem ofui like u

• Benash 7 years ago

This is very sad and this unfortunate incident could have been avoided. They say " A stitch in time saves nine." House masters and mistresses should have a system whereby parents of students are notified in a timely manner wh ...

This is a foolishness behavior by that house master the head master should be remove fm office fools. I mean they are all fools and shame to them.

Ate they Doctors. The teacher's are they Dr s they will end up to lier.

• asem 7 years ago

are school still doing these things?

• Kombonyun Sampson k 7 years ago

the headmaster, senior housemaster and the house master must be sanctioned

• james 7 years ago

which kind of stupid,careless and arrogant behaviour iz this.they have to pay through their anus.the spirit of that poor student will question u one day.foolish murderers

• A teacher 7 years ago

The said student suddely fell ill on Sunday and was rushed to UCC hospital by his housemaster (St. John's). His relatives were called in Sunday and he was fine on Monday but suddenly died later in the day. He was sickle cell ...

• Kojo Morovia 7 years ago

See how Ghanaian journalists and irrational commentators behave. Just rushing to comment without their brains. I bet many of them do not even know what an exeat is. Many also do not know what discipline is and were reared lik ...

• Ruweida 7 years ago

Seriously this nkwasiasem must stop!!

• lewis 7 years ago

nkwasias3n Ben ni

• Kwaku Anum 7 years ago

Lies. Lies. Lies.

• Emmanuel Cudjoe 7 years ago

Why should u be in a rush to post this article whiles u hv indicated the school authorities havnt spoken yet....there's no source that can be vivid than that of the school authorities so u should hv wait till the school autho ...

• Ferguson 7 years ago

The school authorities must be JAIL.

• Sammy 7 years ago

If this doesn't sack the headmaster, then the school is for him

• Kobee 7 years ago

Thank God things like this does not come near our house fools like that will be dead by now. Those motherfucking authorities needs bullet in their mother fucking head. Fools who pay the fees. Don't u have parents numbers. Try ...

• Mawutor Agbenu 7 years ago

ritual leaders. used him as sacrifice. they should be jailed.

• Christian 7 years ago

What is go on in this schools, sick without treatment, why? The authority is too much ''ebeiii"

• abadon kukula 7 years ago

house Master and senior life imprisonment if the story be true.

• San 7 years ago

I don't doubt the story. It happened to me once in augusco, I was sick and when I went for an exeat I was denied by the senior house master.

• Carol 7 years ago

The problem we have in Ghana is sometimes the strict regime in these boarding schools sometimes has to be reformed and managed. I don't know the details of this case. But there should be an independent enquiry as to how the b ...

• Cary 7 years ago

Heads of High Schools are not learning a lesson. Just grant the exeat when the student is sick.
    This is so annoying a and bad news

• Dunamis 7 years ago

Wait a minute, please get your facts right, this is ST.AUGUSTINE 'S COLLEGE you are talking about.

• Cary 7 years ago

Heads of High Schools are not learning. Just grant the exeat when the student is sick. You want him to get out of hands before you grant an exeat which is usually too late.
    This is so annoying and a bad news

• Nii Odartey Obetsebi-Lamptey (Child R 7 years ago

The rights to Life and good health are Child rights. This is unacceptable and the authorities must answer to a court of law... very sad, very barbaric

• himself 7 years ago

It's so sad how Ghanaian media can just publish a story without any investigation. The story has been twisted. They should have at least checked from the hospital when the boy was admitted first b4 carrying on to publish such ...

• Naa canada 7 years ago

I went to school at motown and I can imagine what it was like for this Lil boy to be sick and denied permission to go out.pardon my french but some of these teachers are so foolish.the guy is sick and needs to go home. Now u ...

• Isaac 7 years ago

Her family for do all de burial rite so say de ghost go kill de authorities

• Ron 7 years ago

You people should get your facts right before coming out on this issue it is totally untrue.
    Malnourished journalism

• Sodja 7 years ago

Ghana SHS are like glorified cor penitentiary they treat us like prisoners alright you don't have access to even go out for very reasonable situations.

If true the school deserves some serious probing

• BISA GOMA 7 years ago

Suing school authorities will not be a solution to exeat problems. What is needed is constructing a legal framework around exeats in areas of health. What the GES must do is to ensure that every student before admission to ss ...

• ghanain 7 years ago

waat a shit is dat exeat koraaaa? allow de boys to mingle in society and stop cubing them like pets!!!!!!

• snowbills 7 years ago

The present administration at the college needs to taken to court by the deceased parent.

• chief 7 years ago

Big fools who call themselves authorities, stupid fools.

• Ike 7 years ago

Authorities must do well to call parent of sick student to determine whether to allow he or she to come home to avoid such occurrences

• Pokuaa 7 years ago

This exeat issue happens in every school and it's very bad. Very sick students are always denied exeat but favorites of the house masters and mistresses go home anytime they like. It must seriously be investigated into

• Pokuaa 7 years ago

This exeat issue happens in every school and it's very bad. Very sick students are always denied exeat but favorites of the house masters and mistresses go home anytime they like. It must seriously be investigated into

• kwame 7 years ago

Ghana web is disgraceful for publishing one side of the story am disappointed in u.

• Aponkye B33 7 years ago

This is a sabotage by the school authorities to derail the good works of mahama.

sick student

• Ibrahim Abubakr. 7 years ago

School authorities must be flexible at tyms. Too bad a situation anyway condolences to de family.

• Emmanuel 7 years ago

parents shd take care n investigate b4 they take any action maybe he was poisoned by his friends b4 going to dining

• jbky 7 years ago

From my checks the deceased student was a Malian with no relatives in Ghana. So why the exeat? Please always check before spewing falsehood about St Augustine's College.

• D.B 7 years ago

The full story is that the boy is a sickler who had rheumatism last Sunday so he was rushed to UCC hospital by his housemaster i.e. St. John's who paid initial bills. On Monday he was quite ok but wasn't discharged. His pare ...

• OWV 7 years ago

I's the school now a hospital. Who ever denied the boy to go home for proper care should be held responsible. I hope the family do that. Only a few days ago OP got 6 years for killing his girlfriend. The law works for all.

• Decounsellor 7 years ago

The authorities should be punished severely and be jailed as well

• MacCash 7 years ago

Only in Gh. Elsewhere, heads will role. Why must the Student die? Has the school no infirmary, first aid, or councillors? The parents should take the school on. It is time our journalists who come out with this sort of new ta ...

• Mawuena 7 years ago

Oh! what a sad story hmmmm may his soul RIP oh !!!!

• obed 7 years ago

So sad.

• ben 7 years ago

Do we have laws in Ghana? That is extremely painful for the parents

• Dorcas Beesiwa Coleman 7 years ago

Ohh, too bad. May his soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

• Ankorah Richard 7 years ago

The school authority has to be hold responsible for the boys death, because this not the first time this kind of incidents is happening in schools

• Maria 7 years ago

Re: St. Augustine college:

• AUGUSTINE 7 years ago

THE STUDENT PARENTS SHOULD sent the school authorities to supreme court or high court.