You are here: HomeNews2016 07 01Article 452004

Sexual acts involving Catholic priests not worst of sins - Archbishop

Read Comments Comments (103)

• ONIPA 7 years ago

IT IS IF YOU DO NOT PRACTICE WHAT YOU PREACH FOOLS.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

Author:- Naa Dedei..... Why are we soo hypocrites in this country? This woman is showing all indications that she wants to plunge this country into chaos. Is her actions towards supreme court orders not worse than ken's own i ...

• Vinss 7 years ago

BISHOP PETER AKWASI SARPONG HAS VINDECATED MY ICONIC MAN KENNYPON HIS BRAVERY NAME NOW.WHEN WE TALK OF SEX IN THIS ADULTRUS WORLD IS NO SIN NOW.LOOK AT ALL PONORS.,HORSE FUCKING A WOMAN,SOME FUCKING WOMEN ANUS.ALL RUMOURS HAV ...

• Vet 7 years ago

Catholic priests, nuns & bishops are fake.
    Fathers having secret children outside the mission houses, also fucking the nuns.

Nuns causing secret arbortions,

Lesbian nuns,

Catholic priests promoting homosexuality wi ...

• ONIPA 7 years ago

THE MURDEROR IS NOT TELLING PEOPLE NOT TO KILL AND HE/HE SHE GOES OUT THERE TO KILL. HE/SHE KNOWS NO BETTER, BUT FOR YOU A PRIEST, YOU CANNOT TELL PEOPLE NOT TO KILL BUT YOU GO OUT THERE TO KILL. YOU WILL ALL MEET YOU MAKER ...

• Obi Nim 7 years ago

You have exposed yourself now.

Now you must confess openly to entire world how many secret kids & how many women you have outside the mission house.

Catholic priests must stop fucking the asses of their mass-servers.

• the devils advocate 7 years ago

Having known the Bishop and heard lots of innuendoes about his proclivities from the seventies till now,it is a real shame to hear this from him in his retirement.He either has no regard or compunction for the victims nor doe ...

• Coach 7 years ago

May God forgive you.

• ELINAM 7 years ago

To claim no sex at all is hypocritical and have no validity that that makes you guys more holy. Go ahead and have sex with the opposite sex as it is normal in our African tradition, but to hide behind a lie put together by th ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

When did the Anglicans realized that it's no longer a sin to have sex when they moved from the authority of the pope and now under the authority of the queen of England as the church of England and NOT of Rome when in fact al ...

• KOKU AMAGAFIO 7 years ago

ELINAM you are a seme-literate and an IDIOT. If you have no intelligent comment to make then it is far better for you to keep quiet! What has Cardinal Turkson done to you ?

• GBODZROMODO 7 years ago

Excellent! God bless you for telling it as it is.

• Jenny 7 years ago

Cover up peados. Falling on your own sword.

• Chief Priest 7 years ago

A sin is a sin! I have no idea that there are low and high sins! So can the Emeritus Archbishop list the various levels of sin for us to know when we are committing low or high sin?

• Jenny 7 years ago

Nobody forced you to join the priesthood.

• NPP = NANA PROMISES PARTY 7 years ago

Sin is sin and one doesn't need a degree in Theology to know this. Who in his or her right mind classifies sin? I never knew that sin too has taxonomy.

If this is how an Archbishop thinks, then it is not surprising that t ...

• BREAD 7 years ago

When the Vatican chose to include celibacy in the ordination of priest didn't they think about the implications? Well Bishop Akwasi or whatever you call yourself, those of us who live in Kumasi KNOW that you have at least THR ...

• xxx 7 years ago

if he has 3 children so what; if what you are alleging here is the truth, Pope John Paul would have take action against him before he passed away; an idiot like you will sit in front of a keyboard and malign people, odwan lik ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 7 years ago

BUT WHO ASKED YOU PEOPLE TO BE PRETENDING ON THIS PIOUNESS? YOU ARE HUMAN AND GOD WANTS YOU TO REPRODUCE, YOU ARE THE ONES TRYING TO MYSTIFY YOUR SELVES, SO IT IS YOUR BABY.

• Obi Nim 2 7 years ago

AKWASI SARPONG HAVE SPOKEN. BRING THE BISHOP FROM MAMPONG TO TALK. WE ARE WAITING FOR HIS ARSE. VERY SICK, WOOMANSER BISHOP BONSU.

• KOOBOY 7 years ago

SIN IS SIN. THERE IS NO SMALLER OR BIGGER SIN. DO YOU KNOW THE EMMOTIONAL GARBAGE SOME OF YOUR CATHOLIC PRIESTS HAVE METED TO FORMER ALTER BOYS? FROM TIME IMMEMORIAL CATHOLIC PRIESTS HAVE BEEN MOLESTING YOUNG ALTAR BOYS AND N ...

• The Ruler Is Back 7 years ago

Why wont you say so? Is it not your churches that are perpetuating violence against blacks all over the world. Is your church not behind the massacre of many black tribes across the globe? Stop pretending.

• Kojo Bonsu 7 years ago

Bishop so have been having sex on the side?

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

Kojo Bonsu, ask the Archbishop Sarpong what happened to Rev. Sr. Jean Salgot???
    He did wonders in Kumasi. Shame on him with his utterences here.

• a. 7 years ago

Who was Rev. Sr. Jean Salgot?

Ask the Archbishop.

• Osei Abeb 7 years ago

Sin is sin and your own doctrine says priest cannot have sex.If it has become problems for you why not abolish it but rather indulging it under cover of darkness.Please don't try to defend your priests

• ama 7 years ago

Every sin is a sin no matter how big or small it is!

• ANAS 7 years ago

It's Never true. A school boy who steals a $5 and someone who commits abortion is the same? SHAME

• Dr Ankomah 7 years ago

80% of catholic Prest are 419

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

At the Convent, there was one preist in particular that liked to fuck all the new nuns until they screamed to god.

One night he had just got done fucking one of the new nuns when he walked into the kitchen butt naked for a ...

• NPP = NANA PROMISES PARTY 7 years ago

You are a pervert. Where do you get these dirty jokes from? Cracking up!

• Observer 7 years ago

I Thought being gay is the worst sin ever. Sin is sin but however pple are hasty to condemn and judge others. How hypocritical! Judgement is mine saus the Lord! Peace profound????

• Odikro 7 years ago

" ... stealing money, oppressing people especially the poor and committing murder considered as sins of malice are worse than sexual sin which is regarded as sin of weakness". Who gave this man the authority to rank sins acco ...

• C. Grant 7 years ago

This is interesting. "...is regarded as sin of weakness". By whom ?

• Owu Mtensa 7 years ago

Eiiiiiiiii asem aba Archbishop paaa nie. Yewuoo

• Owu Mtensa 7 years ago

Eiiiiiiiii asem aba Archbishop paaa nie. Yewuoo He has a different bible and doctrine so don't u worry about his utterances. .

• k, no problem, a 7 years ago

Where in the Bible did God talk of sin of malice and weakness. Where in the Bible did God grade sin.
    Priests can marry and have sex with their wives and make a family.
    God never said priests sshould not marry.
    But if you v ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

President John Dramani Mahama has already stolen $10 billion of public money and steal not satisfy and continue to steal more.The way and manner EC boss miss Charlotte Osie got her job on a silver platter without vetting is v ...

• Lawrence Danny Amenuvor 7 years ago

ONIPA, HOW COULS U USE SUCH A LOOSE STATEMENT OJ A VERY HIGH PROFILE PERSONALITY. SUCH DEROGATORY WORDS SHOULDNT BE COMING OUT FROM CIVILIZED AND CULTURED PEOPLE LIKE U. PLS I TINK U SHLD BE ASHAMED FOR USING DE WORD "FOOLS ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

BOLLOCKS! IF AKWASI SARPONG IS CONFESSING THAT TO HAVING SEXTUAL INTERCOURSE, THAT IS UP TO HIM AND HIS GOD. BUT TO JUSTIFY IT IS THE WORST SIN. IT EXPOSES THE HYPOCRACY OF THE CHURCH. IT EXPOSES PRIESTS AS PROSTITUES - THEY ...

• Efo 7 years ago

Hmmm by their fruits u will no them

• Nii 7 years ago

Can't believed this.so this is what you preach in church to ur members? Pls man of God sin is sin cus ang form of sin can sent u to heal

• atia 7 years ago

i am sure he has been sleeping around with women. why become a catholic priest if you can play by their rules?? what a stupid defense of sin!! only an idiot will rationalize an issue like this. foolish osofo is hell bound. I ...

• Ghana 7 years ago

God forgive you all so called Catholic priest,the end time is near and God will judge us all,lieing to the masses and sleeping around with people's girlfriends and Wives,your time will come

• Gakpezunu 7 years ago

AND THEY CALL THEMSELVES MEN OF GOD!

• maxwell 7 years ago

Hahahaaa... funny indeed! For us sex was created by God to serve its purpose. But if the Roman Catholic church brands it not to be infulged in by its priests, then they have no business indulging in it. And it becomes the wor ...

• amos deoci fudugah 7 years ago

Pls. Let us uphold the principles of our holy. Church.if otherchurhes are failing,the holy catholic church shouldn't fail

• Nana Rasta 7 years ago

Very true. We're all human and are bound to make mistakes or fall when tempted.

We live separate lives, and so will we be judged.

To all condemning The Archbishop, just know you go to church to worship GOD your creato ...

• Martin/PA 7 years ago

Yes, we are all human, We make mistakes. But there are responsibilities to every facet of life. Why do you blame politicians for corruption? why can't you blame the so called men of God also. Remember, the men of God carry a ...

• Nana Rasta 7 years ago

Yeah exactly. I agree with you.
    But the thing is The Bishop is in no way defending Priests who commit that type of sin.
    He says the Church is against it, it's against their vows and they're punished by the Church when caug ...

• amos deoci fudugah 7 years ago

Hold fast to the principles of the holy catholic church

• The Watcher 7 years ago

1 Corinthians 6:18 (KJV) Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.
    1 Timothy 4:2-3 (KJV) Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their con ...

• obi 7 years ago

let them enjoy it ,its good for health

• Truth 7 years ago

Please if you are a christian do not listen to what the Archbishop is saying. If you take his advice that sexual sin is not the worst sin and you engage in it, you will one day find yourself in hell. Sin is Sin and all sin ...

Oh, My God, listen to what this learned ma is saying? Well, I ow him for his acts when he took over the St. Peter's in Kumasi. He is one of them with his Fr. Asare but Fr. Nyame was very honest and quit the priesthood. Shame ...

• Nima Boy 7 years ago

Did you hear this fucking old pedophile run his mouth. But I am not surprise at all because Nothing good comes out of Catholic bishops. Very soon they will start advocating for legalization of sex with minors. FIRE BURN YOUR ...

• Me 7 years ago

Don't know y these fellas in their right mind would wanna starve themselves...

• KB 7 years ago

Of bishop , please don't go there. Don't try to justify sin or absolve priests who have fornicated by polishing it. Some people have memories but won't speak out.

• Atisco 7 years ago

Shocked at the Archbishop's explanation! All sinners will be thrown into hell fire no matter ur sins. There is no differentiation in types of sins. ALL SIN ARE THE SAME AND THE PUNISHMENT IS HELL FIRE. Beware!!!

• Yaonono 7 years ago

All unrighteousness is sin.Does God grade sin?

• Sammy 7 years ago

1Co 6:18 " Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body."
    Sexual sin should be feared and fleed like we do a deadly snake!!

• AFEVIA 7 years ago

Bishop Sarpong is not condoning sexual acts involving Catholic priests. Think about John 8:1-11 the adulterous woman brought to Jesus. Why did Jesus not condemn her but told her not to sin again? What would have been Jesus' r ...

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

christianity is just a myth institutionalised by rome to dominate and control the world. every priest , sister, pastor and prophet knows that they just practising it as a profession for their pocket and tummy sake. they all k ...

• Abargnah 7 years ago

y de argument's? de Bishop said its against their Church doctrine bt not de Bible, so he has said it all,they preach virtue n practice vice,

• Kofi Baboni 7 years ago

hmmm... please Bishop, kindly tell me where in the Bible, sins were classified as big sins and small sins... #The_Constitution_For_Christians_Is_The_Bible

• C4 7 years ago

"If a Catholic priest met a beautiful lady and have sex with her is not a sin"Are you married to her??? I think seeking your SALVATION is individualistic

• Iddrusu, Nava-pio 7 years ago

The man is defending his weakness. He even has children. All sin bi sin.

• MB 7 years ago

sex is not a sin but natural. let no one misled you.

• Omanba Kwame 7 years ago

You may want to read the Holy Bible again;1st Timothy Chps 1 & 2.Thank you.

• atia 7 years ago

religion is just a scam. this fool puts on a certain kind of gown like a clown and foolish people see him as holy!! he is a fool living a lie!! KWASIA.

• Martin/PA 7 years ago

The politician is a worldly person. His mood is to control and enjoy power in any form as much as possible. Even among politicians, there are moral and amoral ones. But for the priests- they have taken vows of chastity and re ...

• As Cometh, As Doeth (33baa Na 3yc) 7 years ago

HAVE YOU TAKEN BRIBE BEFORE?

1. AS A PRESIDENT

2. AS A PERSON

3. AS A HUMAN BEIGN?

HAVE YOU HAD SEX BEFORE?

1.AS AN ARCHBISHOP

• JESLORD 7 years ago

This man is not genuinely born again or saved.So my advise to him is that he should resign from his position and urgently run to Jesus for salvation bcos God is interested in his salvation than his position .He shld stop mi ...

• constatane 7 years ago

Is that man serious atall?Your priests are practicing illicit sex and that is the least comparison he should make.shame to you

• Martin/PA 7 years ago

I am really disappointed in Archbishop Sarpong. How can he compare the morality of priests and politicians? The only similarity is their names starts with the letter P. Other than that the politician is administering the mund ...

• JESLORD 7 years ago

This man is not saved or born again that is why he is misleading the masses ,it will be of benefit for him to sit down or resign and urgently run to Jesus for salvation bcos God is interested in his salvation than his pries ...

• Jeff 7 years ago

There's this imam in the bronx called Abdallah Sabi. He is a pedophile pervert but no one says anything. If ge is catholic the cops willbeon his assl

• zizzu 7 years ago

Unlike catholic priests, an Imam is under no oath not to have sex

• Pee 7 years ago

Ei, is that how it is? I see .... They have sex, go and confess and go and have it. Ei... I seeeee

• Rationalize 7 years ago

I am disappointed with the comments made by a Catholic Priest.He should kindly reread 1 Corinthians 6:18-19,Eph. 5:3.

• Togagbadza 7 years ago

Now you have exposed yourself.You have secretly been having sex.Shame

• inkoom 7 years ago

this is the poorest speech I have ever heard from a bishop .Jesus said all sins are not affecting the body than the sin sexual immortality, your body is the temple of God.If you know u control your self marry. read your bibl ...

• Saint Ananse 7 years ago

Sex is not sinful between consenting married couples and consenting unmarried adults. Stop the hypocrisy and allow the priests to marry. There is nothing that our Lord Jesus said that forbids priests from marrying! The church ...

• Kofi K 7 years ago

Sin is sin. A priest's sin is 70 times punishable than a layman's sin. By the way, how do we define sin? What is a sin to a Moslem may not be a sin to the Christian or Buddhist.

• USELESS ARCBISHOP 7 years ago

USELESS Archbishop, First of all Judas was never a priest anywhere he was one of the disciples and so was he practicing the priesthood and at the same time a disciple of Jesus. SIN IS SIN. The catholic church itself is antich ...

• ANAS 7 years ago

U don't even know. Shut your smelly mouth. Just read Mat. 19:10-15. Hopeless

• Kofi K 7 years ago

Sin is a relative act. Your Inner conscience must accept that an act is against "Your God" before it becomes a sin. If Christians and Moslems consume beef it's not a sin to them but to the Hindi, it's an abomination. Consumin ...

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Bishop trying very hard to trivialize sexual sins..
    That is not good ooh Papa Osofo Bishop!

• ALAKPATO paa thomas. 7 years ago

woooow i think this Archbishop is at lost he doesn't no what he is talking about and of cause he does not read his Bible well.He should read Detertronmy 5;4-21 and Exodus 2;1-17 and tell me where the bible says we have major ...

• Chabba 7 years ago

I don't agree with Bishop Kwasi Sarpong. He should have known better. This gives credence to a long held view that he had fathered many children while he was a Bishop of Kumasi. Do you take a vow you have voluntarily made to ...

• baffuor mrnsah-bonsu 7 years ago

I'm just speechless at what this ignorant, kokosomic kuraseni is saying.What kind of a leader is he?Having sex with minors is a criminal offence and he and his criminal gangsters should all go to jail.Why do Ghanaians accept ...

• ANAS 7 years ago

No wonder u don't know your scriptures becos your greedy bastard pastors only preach prosperity message to u. How many of Jesus 12 men got married apart from Peter? For wisdom sake, read Mat. 19:10-15

• Dav 7 years ago

Allow dem 2 marry period! Sin is sin,no sin is small sin!!

• Opiah 7 years ago

The bible say refrain from sexual in morality if you want to have sex why don't you marry? Do what you preach and stop misleading us

• SALVATION DELIGHTs. 7 years ago

To the Scriptures from the inspired message. The word of God contain history of idol gods like baal worshippers, which have been predicted by the holy bible. If the Savior Mesiah is the true word of God, not just the bible as ...

His Will was Salvation, which embodies The Savior's type of love, faith, hope and grace/mercy which His followers call disciples learn from His cognitive act when understood for obedience.

ABOUT WILL.
    The Will of man o ...

Before the second coming of the Savior creeps on you in surprises. Once, you are still breathing. That breathe get cut of permanently, you might loose your eternity forever. Being in Salvation does not stop you from coochie c ...

You (we) search the scriptures, with the hope of finding eternity (immortality), but all that the scriptures (word by some churches) is saying is about the Savior of Salvation, yet, they ( pharasees of Israelites) did not wan ...

What did Essau did to be hated by Grace and merciful Creator God? I cannot find that answer in scriptures, just that, the creator, being absolute power unlike our governments, have the authority to do what He wishes to promot ...

Dies of gun. And this factual truth. Isis use guns to kill and get killed. Jacon deceive his brother Essau to be deceived by his uncle Naaman in Iran. Marrying three sisters. Which is not a joke in morden times. Guys might th ...

• Chabba 7 years ago

Come on Bishop Sarpong, you are giving a scandal by your relativistic approach to sexual sins and infidelity. It is really sad that something of this nature is coming from a person of your stature. You are great disappointmen ...

• Patti 7 years ago

This man is quite mad, and needs to be kicked out of the priesthood,defrocked and, watched, for someone with that attitude, God alone knows what he gets up to with children,he is downright dangerous!