You are here: HomeNews2016 06 27Article 451044

Mahama promotes Kofi Boakye to Commissioner Of Police (COP)

Read Comments Comments (123)

• kk3 7 years ago

For what is this man promoted?

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Of course for ass and bootlicking!!!!

• GE 7 years ago

KOIF WILL DEAL WITH THEM

• NDC IS SATANIC 7 years ago

You've forgotten Kofi Boakye is a Kumasi boy? and do you trust him to betray Asanteman? Then you living in a fools paradise. John Mahama has rewarded him because of Wontumi, but I tell you if the mp and the other guy hadn't ...

• Alias 7 years ago

H.E Mahama promoted him for his hardwork not because of any return favour. JM's track record is enough to secure his victory.A total of 1,614 out of 2,578 basic school projects have been completed under the Schools Under Tree ...

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 7 years ago

Propaganda is your food, NDC, all you think about is how to navigate through the system without accountability

• Apraku 7 years ago

The same Kofi Boakye was a thorn for the NDC in the region.They had wanted Mahama to transfer him from the region. Now is he being bought by promotion???

When you hear the name NDC you have be worried because they are very ...

• Nurudeen 7 years ago

l have always maintained that this kofi boakye guy is a big politician disguised as a police officer.. he is a hypocrite and always plays a double game..

• Alias 7 years ago

Kofi Boakye has always been fair in the discharge of his duties. Its wrong to say that he is in bed with President Mahama simply because he has been promoted.

• Hebert, Sweden 7 years ago

Nunuden! Many of you do not have any background of Mr. Mr. Kofi Boakye. He is one of the gallant Police officers which Ghana has ever produced. After his ordel in Ashanti Region in the early beginning of 2000, Kofi was trap ...

• Alias 7 years ago

This just calculated attempt to tarnish the image of now COP Kofi Boakye. Have you forgotten the way is fighting crime and protecting lives and properties in the Ashanti Region?

• kukson, tamale. 7 years ago

Because ashanti region is the home of criminal,u 'll not see his effort therefore u'll call him ass n bootlicker. Yentie obiaaaaaaa.npp go sufffer opposition again.otaniba tuasu in 2016.corrupted nana addo shoud acount 4 the ...

• TRUTH 7 years ago

He was promoted bcos he has served his 4 yrs mandatory service and needs to b promoted to the next rank as the laws of the service required. Mr. Boakye even served for more than 4 yrs.
    Every police officer in Ghana is promot ...

• Alias 7 years ago

He was promoted for his selfless dedication to mother Ghana-crime combat

• fest 7 years ago

are you illiterate? pls if u dnt know dnt show ur ignorance.
    This man deserves the promotion

• NOBODY 7 years ago

One does not expect an elephant-riding NPP supporter whose party chose to elect a clueless incompetent monumental failure Serial Loser Akufo-Addo as its flagbearer to understand why the President promoted Kofi Boakye. Anythin ...

• Togoman 7 years ago

Btubing the cops now!

• aikins 7 years ago

Is that the duty of the president to promote police officers ?

• TRUTH 7 years ago

Per the regulations of the Ghana police service, all snr. personnel of the service of the rank of ACP - COP (ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER of POLICE - COMMISSIONER OF POLICE) are promoted by the president.
    They can b promoted afte ...

• aikins 7 years ago

Thanks.

• Kojo 7 years ago

So tell us then Who should promote the very senior police officers in Ghana? Should it be your mother or your father?

• aikins 7 years ago

And should it be president, tell me one developed country that does so ?Odwan ba mee.

• John-Mark 7 years ago

If you don't know something you must ask, dont show your ignorance in public just bcos you hate the president.

• aikins 7 years ago

I was just asking but if it's really the duty of the president to promote police officers then we are in serious trouble as a nation,even appointing the IGP I have a problem. But which develop country does president promote p ...

• Chief Whip 7 years ago

You see your stupidity? You always running your mouth all over Ghanaweb, insulting people here and there but knows next to nothing! You could have made a simple research quietly and educated yourself and don't come here spewi ...

• aikins 7 years ago

Odwan ba mee, is it the best for president to promote police officers? Show me one developed country that the president does that besides if any reasonable incorruptible president I wouldn't have problem but useless mahama's ...

• fest 7 years ago

Look at you, Are you up there or do u want the examination process to be known to the public? dickhead
    Besides kofi boakye's work speaks for itself
    punk ass
    illiterate

• Ogidi 7 years ago

This aikins guy or girl is just a villager. You are a disgrace to your entire tribe. So you know nothing but got the guts to passing comments on everything good that Prez Mahama does. Villager. I don't blame you but your whoe ...

• Exact 7 years ago

You are a villager with no sense , U don`t reason you are more than a useless person what does someone comments to do with Nana Addo? If don`t love him don`t spoil his name

• Alias 7 years ago

The laws of Ghana permits the president to promote a police officer as well as appoint an IGP. He therefore did nothing wrong in that regard.

• AMB 7 years ago

Whose duty is it? Stupid man who only beats political drums

• Deep Thought 7 years ago

We hope you deliver without patiality.We hope you don't behave like the EC boss!

Mahama knows where his bread is well buttered.

• Alias 7 years ago

Its wrong to suggest that president Mahama promoted COP Boakye for favour. JM is already optimistic of winning the upcoming elections per his own track records: He has revived the komenda sugar facory which is providing over ...

• only in corrupt- Ghana 7 years ago

This crook stole 7-parcels of cocaine from Mv- Benjamine

• broni 7 years ago

Kofi Boakye good luck. But......a COP does not command a region. He belongs to HQTRS,

• Kay 7 years ago

@ Broni that was my first thought. This is a crafty way of removing him from Ashanti Region ah has been demanded by Some NDC guys in the region.

• Alias 7 years ago

How long will the NPP continue with their baseless allegations? Kofi Boakye has served for over 4 years and per the laws deserves promotion and JM has done just that.

• Togbega 7 years ago

There he goes again. This promotion is only meant to take Kofi Boakye out of Kumasi abd put him in a cubicle in Accra to do practically nothing. In this way the president will get the opportunity an NDC police sympathizer in ...

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 7 years ago

You're really smart buddy but irrespective of what ndc criminals will do Mahama can't rig coming elections like 2012, ndc criminals are going to be disgrace big time even before the election

• Alias 7 years ago

JM and the NDC has never riged any election- all elections have been wonn fairly. In fact, JM will retire Nana politically this year. Significant progress has been made in the area of education since the coming into office of ...

• Alias 7 years ago

Unlike the NPP, the NDC is not desperate to the extent of harrassing voters to win an election- they have done enough work to be given another mandate. the Kumasi shoe factory is producing free sandals for pupils and the secu ...

• Niii 7 years ago

Dumsor is back. Why?? Mahama should resign immediately

• Alias 7 years ago

Dumsor is not back- its just a technical problem which ECG is working around the clock to resolve. JM has been able to marshal resources to a total of about 800MW to the nation grid hence, the drastic improvement in power sup ...

• lsrael 7 years ago

Mahama is a real arm robber.Though we welcome my brother senior Boakye on this elevation,we won't welcome any transfer due to this promotion.Having acknowledged that he is capable to stopping many of N.D.C gurus in the region ...

Is he capable?

• Alias 7 years ago

the promotion of Boakye is not for any special reason- he deserves the promotion. projects on the grounds attest to the fact that NDC is already a winner in the upcoming general election. dozens of the 200 new SHS have been c ...

• IKmL 7 years ago

We can only say congratulations to this illustrous son of the land .An IGP in the making .I can only wish you well

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

A cop was on his horse in Kumasi waiting to cross the street when a little girl on her new shiny bike stopped beside him. "Nice bike," the cop said "did Santa bring it to you?" "Yep," the little girl said, "he sure did!" The ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

KOFI BOAKYE IS BEEN SOFTENED WITH A BRIBE OF PROMOTION TO THWART THE NPP IN THE ELECTIONS IN THE ASHANTI REGION, WHICH IS THE STRONGHOLD OF THE NPP. VOTE THESE THIEVES AND LIARS OF THE NDC OUT IN 2016, TO SAVE GHANA FROM DOOM ...

• Alias 7 years ago

Its obvious the NPP will never see anything good withanything that president Mahama does- this appointment has got noting to do with votes or rigging of an election. its also erroneous to label the NDC as thieves and liars wh ...

• Nii 7 years ago

The president can promote or demote officers

• IK 7 years ago

A position well deserved by an industrous and illustrous son of ths land. An IGP in the making. I can only wish him well.

• KORS DONYA 7 years ago

ln fact hard works paved the way
    There is dought in my mind this gentle man works hard and l admire him a lot
    Wish him the very best in all his endevours

• Philip Londont 7 years ago

Well done, Nathan

• pablo 7 years ago

Aikins, you don't know a thing. You talk before you think.

• Adwoa B 7 years ago

Let us becareful , the timing of comander 1 dcop Kofi Boakye 's promotion sound a bit suspicious to me. Why its election year and Mahama is looking for someone to deal with npp on Ashanti. Chairman Wontumi, becareful.

• Alias 7 years ago

this a allegation that cannot be substantiated. so becos its an election yr which concides with his promotion, he shouldnt be promoted? NDC is busily showcasing its project through the president's nationwide tour- in case you ...

• Akwasi Dias3mpa 7 years ago

Alias or dog you talk too much,piglet.

• NPP = NANA PROMISES PARTY 7 years ago

Kofi Boakye has been an excellent police officer. He deserves the promotion. He is an excellent public servant.

• razak seini 7 years ago

Accept my congratulations commander one.
    Cheerio

• simson 7 years ago

Well deserved! Congratulation, sir.

• Osofia 7 years ago

Happy for you,long overdue.Congratulations!!

Why at this time? Just to help NDC to rig the election.

• Alias 7 years ago

NDC has never rigged an election and not interested in doing so because its unprrecedented achievements are enough for JM to retire Nana Akufo-Addo. Tamale airport, upgrade of Kumasi airport, Ho airport are just few of JM's e ...

This promotion should not influence him in doing his job as a policeman.

• Steven Daddy Offei Adjei 7 years ago

The man deserves even a higher one if there's. This man works with the heart ,it's because he loves his country.

• kaakyireba 7 years ago

how can one promotion takes place from 1st June, 2015. while we r in with June, 2016

• Alex Obeng 7 years ago

congratulation. hope you will continue to do well in your new rank. ayekoo.

• Apostle Peter 7 years ago

Dat is very nice
    All dat we neeed is to promote the kingdom of God and peace.

• Dan 7 years ago

Congrats Kofi Boakye!

• Venosa 7 years ago

Oh Mahama, are you now the IGP to promote police officers? Cheap popularity!!!!

• Alias 7 years ago

you have just expose your ignorance with your hatred for the president- The president has the powers to appoint even an IGP not to talk about promotion of DCOP! permit me to also educate you that JM is the commander-in-chief ...

• Kay 7 years ago

Adu Asare are you for real. Why are you describing Kofi Boakye as a young? Somebody who is about 50 years old is a young man to you?

• DR RED HOT 7 years ago

Kofi Boakye is an IGP material

• adamuaminu 7 years ago

Since Ghana Police ???? take money from drivers and go free with it, the samething goes to Mahama by taken American cars as kickback

• INNO 7 years ago

Salute! Congratulation Kofi u deserve it n is even long over due, bt is better late than never. Tnk U Mr. President

• Quophie 7 years ago

Why not the Police Council or the IGP? Why should the President meddle in this? Is he promoting him only to push him elsewhere so that the NDC's agenda of 1 million votes in the Ashanti Region will materialize?

• Quophie 7 years ago

This is a Trojan horse. In the next few days, we'll hear of his re-assignment to Headquarters.

• Asem beba dabi 7 years ago

Is it de duty of de president or de police council to promote police officers

• nokofiou 7 years ago

What about the other officers who remain in their ranks for so long, Mr President?

• donqika 7 years ago

Every right is right he dervse it kofi congt

• Ad. 7 years ago

Stop promoting and fix real problems

• Sir Bob 7 years ago

This Particular Officer deserve that promotion, he has brought discipline into the Police Force.
    Congrats, name.
    Kofi people rock. If u dont understand go n burn River Pra.....mmmtttchhwwww....

• Abeiku SW 2 7 years ago

Congratulations ..

• AMA 7 years ago

PROMOTION OF KOFI BOAKYE IS LONG OVER-DUE.

• Tabmaali 7 years ago

Ignorance will kill some Ghanaians

• Donavan 7 years ago

congratulations COP Boakye. You indeed deserve it. i salute YOU

• JWADJO GHANABA 7 years ago

COMMISSIONER KOFI BOAKYE YOU ARE COURSE QAULIFY FOR THIS RANJK, ALL KNOWS THAT. KEEP UP THE GOOD JOB , GOD BLESS BRO,

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Why now

• Oko 7 years ago

Eh!

• Wisa 7 years ago

We know this dance too well, promote kofi boakye to enable you try to rig election in the ashanti region , haha , cocaine cop now 'cop' this is shit, big time , don't forget the dead boy whose parents buried him with machet a ...

• Jim 7 years ago

The C in C promote from general and above such as the tank of DCOP and above so skins if you don't know something ask before coming up

• Akwasi Yeboah 7 years ago

You can fool all men but,u can't fool God. JDM can go ahead and promote Kofi to be his vice still he's not going to get his one million votes in Kumasi.This is a way this man want to bribe Kofi.Cheap politics and this man sh ...

• KAAJII 7 years ago

I DON'T THINK MAHAMA IS GIVING YOU THIS GIFT TO COMPROMISE AND WORK FOR HIM DURING THE ELECTIONS. I HOPE IT IS NOT APPOINTMENT EXPEDITION WORTHS $100000 OR A BUY-OUT AS THE BURKINABE CONTRACTOR BOUGHT MAHAMA OUT TO SECURE LOT ...

• Nyamekye. 7 years ago

NPP members should open their hearts to wisdom. The president is responsible for all senior promotions. Congratulations, bra Nathan.

• pizzaro 7 years ago

Only fools that condemn every good works of the president.judas in Ghana should praise the president for once.

• A good citizen 7 years ago

This is our man. The criminology fraternity salute you. You make us proud.

• KK Kobby 7 years ago

Congrats COP Kofi Boakye. Hope your 'promotion' will not get into your head to do unacceptable things in the 2016 elections in the Ashanti Region. Don't sell your conscience and lick your master's boots. You zombies are very ...

• Nii Eric 7 years ago

Good move Mr President, this officer really deserved it.

• Truth 7 years ago

He is the next IGP. Like him or not the man knows his job.

• Once Govina KojoLee 7 years ago

Absolutely! That Service man can bring a lot of changes in Ghana Police System if he had the chance.

• paakow wllis 7 years ago

he will be transferred before the elections, cos with COP rank, he is above that office of regional Commander . that is what happened to Akuffo Dampare. so is a good but bad news. Kofi Boakye has stood tall devoid of politica ...

• Kramo Seidu 7 years ago

KOFI YOU ARE BEING PROMOTED TO THE COMMISSIONER TO ENABLE THE NDC GOVERNMENT SEND YOU TO THE POLICE HEADQUARTERS SO THAT THEIR FAVORITE POLICE OFFICER WHO CAN BE MANIPULATED OCCUPY YOUR SEAT IN THE ASHANTI REGION. THE ONLY WA ...

• David 7 years ago

I ld woreadership is example and leadership is the keys to success. AHOO ! AHOOWA! David

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

Nathan, get on you no nonsense job and you will be rewarded.

• Deborah Palm 7 years ago

Thanks prez, congratulations to Kofi Boakye, he deserves it. Keep the good work up

• Amidini 7 years ago

Congrats COP Nathan !

• Benny 7 years ago

Mahama is Kwaku Ananse. He performs all function. This is normal. He shouldnt have done that. This is the work of police administration and Kofi Boakye is due.

• Yussif 7 years ago

Kofi Boakye should recieve this as an honor of his hard work,he should thank all who contributed to promoting him but should not fall to the pressures of politicians.Theres a saying that to whom much is given much is expected ...

• Let Truth Be Told 7 years ago

Why is it wrong for the current Prez to promote senior officers in the police service but was not wrong during the time of former Prez J A Kouffour? Let us be serious for once in this country. Those asking questions why the P ...

• nana germany 7 years ago

Yes u have done well kofi i told you before that do not mind them and do your work you see u have been promoted
    I will visit you anytime i come to ghana
    All the best for u

• Kojo 7 years ago

Tweaaa.. Promoted for killing innocent people.. Very soon drug dealer will be dsp of ghana police.. Shame!!!

• Irvine Aryeetey 7 years ago

So the Prez promotes him unilaterally without consulting the Police Council? What kind of nonsense is this?

This serves no purpose. It is just like calling a vulcanizer, CEO. Nothing dey inside. Bigger pay without correspo ...

• Boycott Ecowas 7 years ago

Manama wants Kofi Boakye´s vote

• bogass 7 years ago

KOFI IS AN EXCELLENT PATRIOTIC CITIZEN. HE DESERVES IT.

• Nana Yaw Barimah 7 years ago

Some Ghanaians are not surprise of Kofi Boakye's promotion. Kofi Boakye, despite his hard work was in the good books of NDC. It is those ignorant NDC supports who did not know of this secret. But some of us who stay in Accra ...

• Mohammed Salifu 7 years ago

Kofi Boakye deserves it, this is not politics, some Ghanaians are too primitive.

• KWAME 7 years ago

it is not important

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Well-deserved promotion. Kofi has earned his promotion with his pragmatic leadership within the Police Force.

• Atoklo 7 years ago

KK3 what does an empty barrel like you know about hard work and dedication? Your stupid comment tells me one thing about you. You have an interest in armed robbery, if you are not one. If we all know the hard work is man is d ...

• do 7 years ago

Aikins you no nothing about police promotions hence keep quite

• Bruno 7 years ago

I pray his not promoting him so that it can be easy to transfer him from Kumasi ...kleptocracy people