You are here: HomeNews2016 06 24Article 450295

Theater caves in during surgery; pregnant woman dies

Read Comments Comments (104)

• Kyiri gyimi 7 years ago

This is a non-issue. Things could have been worse. Thanks to Mahama and his incompetent bunch!

• John Ford Mahama 7 years ago

In fact you a a FOOLISH ANIMAL IN CAPITAL LETTERS

• Egya Atta 7 years ago

If this is happening life at the popular city Ta'di, then what goes on in the villages is fantastic.

• King Bright 7 years ago

What on earth would be an issue then, gyimii? Yet some people are just so stupid to defend Mahama 'ford' on just anything. Accept the bribe today and we all live in the shit the rest of our lives. It could be you next time.

• Kanazoe 7 years ago

Did you read what kyiri posted before commenting? Please, take time to read.

• Mahama Now A Toyota Salesman. 7 years ago

Mahama says he prefers to be called Mahama Toyota and not Mahama Ford. So when he received the Ford car "gift" he gave it up to be added to the presidential car fleet. Next time, the Burkinabe should consider giving Mahama ...

• Brian Williams 7 years ago

Plain and simple, Mahama is a curse to the country. He needs to confess his killing of Atta Mills and beg for forgiveness.

• ata 7 years ago

do you think through your anus. Your generations will suffer papapaaaa

• sooo 7 years ago

the theatre did not cave in. some of the roof paneling removed. cave in means collapse.

• Gadafi 7 years ago

gyimii u are the most stupid branch of human being I've ever come across.
    life is at stake and u have the gut to say it's no news
    in fact u are insensitive

• Kanazoe 7 years ago

You probably did not read what kyiri gyimi wrote.

• serwah 7 years ago

Is ther any kind of compensation for d family of d deceased? Really sucks to be ghanaian.

No one cares. Negligence in its highest form

• Akwesi 7 years ago

Rubbish. If anyone have stomachache is Mahama. What are your contribution to the development of Ghana as a Citizen. I will not be surprise if you will want Mahama to come and clean your ass the next you go to the toilet. Smh

• .hahahahaha 7 years ago

fantes should sdtop supporting ndc and support there cusins to rebuild the country

• BSB 7 years ago

this isnt about fante it about innocent mothers which are at stake.
    look takoradi isn't fante's it ahanta's.

• Nana Yaw Barimah 7 years ago

It sound stupid in the ears of civilized citizen of Ghana to say, it is NON ISSUE.If it was your wife or mother l don't think the so called Kyiri gyimi will rubbish the incident. Learn how to talk

• Yellow man 7 years ago

Vision 2020 my black ass.Who want four more years of nepotism,no accountability,no probity and blatant disregard for common sense governance.A whole theatre caving in during surgery and yet government officials leave for outs ...

• H S Fire 7 years ago

Mahama "spent" millions of hard CASH to put his pictures on buses, yet hospitals lack life-saving equipment. This is plain IDIOCY.

Mahama has to go at ALL COST come November, because discerning Ghanaians cannot allow cont ...

• Linda 7 years ago

Omg, that poor woman. The hospital is probably so old and has never had any repairs done to it. No amount of compensation given to the family can ease their pain. This tragedy was more than likely preventable had they fix the ...

• Frafra 7 years ago

Kuffour didn't build or repair on hospital but yet stole solo much money with his gang of 40 thieves..if Ghana. Is not good ,where did Allan cash and co get their money,from cocain?

• dav 7 years ago

oh Ghana n Africa....giving birth has bcom a problem.. God save us

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Stupid unbelievable journalist!!!the woman died for a different reason on her way to another hospital,theatre caving in was a different incident,u make it sound like roof caved in and killed her

• Jane 7 years ago

Thank you peeee, I thought i was the only one who seems confused about this story. They made it sound as if the roof fell on the pregnant woman and killed her. The journalists in Ghana are a joke.

• Pappy 7 years ago

Stupid you...If the roof didn't collapse will there be a need for referral .?Dont u guys think at all.?

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Pappy you so stupid,fact remains caving in didn't kill her,wrong headline

• ... 7 years ago

In addition who the hell took those pictures with blood spilled all over? Was it to give credence to stupidity displayed in the headlines? What kind of journalism are we seeing these days in Gh? And like someone has already p ...

• AKUA 7 years ago

Eiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Ghana. So When?

• Amidini 7 years ago

Unfortunate and sad !

• Nana Esi, 7 years ago

Please stop that. Incidents happens anywere. Just last month Ottawa, Canada about a few meters to the Parliament Hill caved and a vehicle fell in. Ghanaians are always blaming the president for any little thing. Pleas you guy ...

• jor 7 years ago

But not as common. The giving set costs less tha 10cedis

• The Great One 7 years ago

If we don't place responsibility where it shd be we will never get anywhere. The hospital has a management who control some resources. This is a weekend and am sure the hospital management will get money for fuel to attend pr ...

• kwesi ntate3 7 years ago

Wise of you Great Man.Even if it was reported the morgue was full,the president would have been blamed.someone divorces his wife,the blame is placed on the president.mean while the hospital has it own management.

• KAKA GH????????MEDIA 7 years ago

Hmmmmm nana Esi, say it again,,that's some Ghanaians for, if even Jesus come comes today, they will blame somebody,

• INDIAN SPRITUALIST IN GHANA 7 years ago

hi there is indian spritualist in the wold call for all spritual problem money charm locket
    and knws that this year is for the lord lucifer a lot will happen in 2016 just calculate
    666+666+666+6+6+6 give the answer is ...

• kwame Amo 7 years ago

This reported maternal death brings to 3 the number of women who have died during labour and delivery in Ghana that I am aware of. Dr Appiah Denkyira (DG of GHS), why are you still at post? Can someone fire this man. Two mate ...

• Kimathi 7 years ago

Let us stop reading politics in everything that happen,what of the technicians employed there to over see the maintenance of the equipment?

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

You people blame the Government for everything.

• Ty 7 years ago

Some Ghanaian journalists are indeed jokers. Why create an impression when that's not what really happened? You are a disgrace to journalism. And why my brothers and sisters we are always quick to blame our President for ever ...

• Clement Wunzoya. 7 years ago

Incompetent janalism this janalist should go back and learn story writing, hmm all what is going on in this country is the cause of some.of our incompetent janalist.
    The woman died for a different reason not as a result of t ...

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Please journalist not janalist,you said it 3 times so its not a mistake,i think you should learn basic English

Yoo english teacher Peee.dont know why we take delight in making others feel bad.we understood her ai.WAEC man.British man.eat and sleep in english..k'sea toliwa

• Pappy 7 years ago

Clement or whoever your head die paaa ...Infact you are very stupid..If the roof didn't collapse ...will there be a need for referral ...Gyimi like that...:Rubbish

Pappy,I wonder whether you have kids at home and the kind of training you give those kids.is President Mahama part of the maintenance team at the hospital?

• Paulp 7 years ago

Has this journalist received soli? Are you saying the woman died owing to the ceiling falling?

• Wilzben 7 years ago

Very sad

• Wilzben 7 years ago

Very sad... Oooo my country Ghana

• hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm 7 years ago

what is the mane of the Hospital. this is when you know Ghanaweb is framing up stories

• James Diplomatic 7 years ago

Poor journalistic work,where is the connection here. Theatre caved in: Woman dies while being transported to a different facility. The story doesn't mach up. We want brilliant stories to drawing the attention of the authoriti ...

• Cute 7 years ago

If your NPP had also made an effort to build and equip a fraction of what the ndc is building, it would hv just been a matter of equipping n expanding.

• YF 7 years ago

P/Ndc 27 years

Npp 8 years

Compare, you idiot

• """"" 7 years ago

why do some people add PNDC years to NDC but do not add PP years to NPP? By the way, PNDC years were a military regime where things were done differently by decrees and not by constitution.

• Mensah 7 years ago

the ceo of the hospital must be fired IMMEDIATELY

• lsrael 7 years ago

The family of the deceased should in a matter of urgency proceed to court for damage.Authorities are to be charged with negligence and manslaughter .

• the truth 7 years ago

What a disgrace?Is this the Effia-Nwanta REGIONAL Hospital? Ghana has along way to go.

• obi 7 years ago

if its a block just get the contractor to pay compensation u than fun him or her to re-contract and final put him or her in to jail 4 a yr

Mahama must resign he's not fit to be our leader,he must do the right thing to go.

• Jake 7 years ago

Foolishness. Wat has dis incident got to do with mahama?. And u go about blaming journalist for inconsistency. Shud there no long be accidents and disasters?, lets b civilise n responsible citizens.

• jeee 7 years ago

this hospital should not go on free , they could have avoid that ,it should not be an excuss on this.

• Ruthy 7 years ago

Is the pregnant woman the one being operated on? Or its two stories in one. When problen comes we all talk and talk but never act. Let us stop the blame game and play the solution game. And we Ghanaians are too timid we must ...

• eric 7 years ago

Eye nya hunuu hwee nipabonfoo di oman so a oman no si apinii

• Ruthy 7 years ago

Let us grow up. This is two stories in one. And Things happen all the time. Let's stop these cheap politics. Let us grow past that level.

• PEK 7 years ago

people just talk anyhow.

• Apraku 7 years ago

the story here lacks substance. trying to mix two immiscible, carved in & transporting to another facility, which caused the death Mr. so call journalist?

• Eric B 7 years ago

Its sad that at the year 2016 we have to go thru this as a country,do our politicians fear God?Serve the people who elect you,build a better Ghana and dont just say it.Is this the Ghana we are leaving our children and Grandch ...

• BASH 7 years ago

That hospital is indeed an old hospital. It's basically a death trap. Because when you are taken ill to the place it looks like one will die before being discharged. All the 4 presidents who has passed through have not done a ...

• Abdul-Fazaz 7 years ago

the hospital was in existence b4 H.E JDM took leadership mantle. kuffour n nana addo shd rather be blamed for their negligence.

• zak 7 years ago

oh misfortune

• Samuel Kofi 7 years ago

Management of the hospital should explain why this happened

• Serious 7 years ago

People are dying at the hospitals and this idiot John mahama the back door president using the taxpayers money buying unnecessary things given out unnecessary contracts stupid president God will punish you nd your generation

• oye asem ooh 7 years ago

The other woman died cos of the fact that the doctors couldn't operate due to the damaged roof

• kpoliatenukpo 7 years ago

So peeeeee ,likewise we write it's not, not its not. You think you know it better than somebody. IGNORANCE

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Come on!!!do not split hairs here!!!!u mean a missing apostrophe is tantamount to"janalist"??even a kenkey seller doesn't spell that way

• oye asem ooh 7 years ago

Are we talking about grammar and spelling or we are looking at what collapsed Nhis can cause. No payment for the maintenance and drugs.

• Jed 7 years ago

Ah. Our leaders are fools. Where is the tax payers money. U killed an innocent person. Am very angry. We need weapon

• paapa 7 years ago

properly trained personnel is essential in discharging medical care.

• CheapStory 7 years ago

False information.

• Aponkye B33 7 years ago

Akuffo Addo (All-DIE-BE-DIE) has started his ritual killing just to win power at all cost.

• setho 7 years ago

Indeed you are apokye m333 at the same time odwan m333 raised to the power four, for your stupid comment.muuu nantwie

• Ad 7 years ago

Oh my God have mercy on country Ghana

• Abena 7 years ago

I am sad

• sandra 7 years ago

I wonder if people really understand civilization.. now you attach every bad to to mahama and. you begin to insult. how what schools did you go to how can everything be mahama again think a little bit ahead if you want change ...

• Boakye Nkromah 7 years ago

This is so serious,disheartening and pathetic that a whole regional hospital lacks a giving-set? These are some of the things the government needs to provide to the citizens of the country, to avoid preventable deaths. The go ...

• home b 7 years ago

thus what they are doing. they killed a pregnant woman 23january, 2016 through the same process. she was called working with Ankobra beach resort.

• truth teller 7 years ago

Fuck Ghana, our country is fucked up. Why be Ghana God born me

• kojo 7 years ago

I agree

• CONGO SPANNER 7 years ago

THINGS OF SUCH NATURE DO HAPPEN WHEN A NATION IS LED BY A NO VISION AND A CORRUPT LEADER.

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

Sorry condolence to the husband nd the family we have important things to spend money on than to spend them on unnecessary things is about time we hold our leader accountable

• Ali Mahama 7 years ago

Hmmmm! Whilst huge Loans are contracted to put up new hospitals old Structures are neglected kill patients everyday across the country. Nyansa Ben Ni? Mahama Nana Bebe to turn things around

• nurse 7 years ago

Pls why ,don't the pharmacy shops in effia nkwanta sells giving set n how much is a giving set.eii Ghana referral sake of a blood giving set.

• hmmm 7 years ago

Our health system is soo bad, how can u refer a client sake of blood giving set.7cedis I think .so no pharmacy sells some in that area.hmmm GOD help us

• Kyei-Asiamah Madxwell 7 years ago

And Mahama government has money for bus rebranding. Shameless mahama.

• setho 7 years ago

Monies for maintenance and repairs are being used for bus rebranding. Thus the collapse of the theatre. Who is responsible? John Mahama

• Sankofa 7 years ago

this is negligence on the part of the hospital authorities.

Facilities must be properly maintained. If they pose a danger to human life, the facilities must be not be used.

We call on Ministry of Health to set up an ins ...

• Think twice 7 years ago

What a stupid talk that it's non issue one day u may be the victim

• Odikro 7 years ago

This the better Ghana we they dreamt

• osharky 7 years ago

evry tin mahama wat are u doing as a citizen to help ur country? mahama is nt God so we shud pray n stop dat rubbish.

• I.K 7 years ago

THE HUSBAND SHOULD TAKE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND MAHAMAH TO COURT.BECAUSE THEY ARE MAKING NOISE THAT THEY HAVE BUILD MANY HOSPITALS AND FURNISH THEM TO STANDARDS.SO THEY ARE MAKING NOISE ON OUR EARS TO PEOPLE VOTE FOR THEM.
    T ...

• Emmanuel Adu Gyamfi 7 years ago

Please,we should learn how to do maintenance on our facilities because that is where we work.Don't wait for government when it get out of hand

• skippy 7 years ago

This is a lie.No pregnant woman died.Incident happened but its not true the patient died.The surgerywas relocated toanother theater & completed.
    The operation & the pregnant woman issues are 2 different ssues
    Many improveme ...

• skippy 7 years ago

This is a lie.No pregnant woman died.Incident happened but its not true the patient died.The surgerywas relocated toanother theater & completed.
    The operation & the pregnant woman issues are 2 different ssues
    Many improveme ...

• mama mo 7 years ago

I also think same.giving set for for transfusion was the reason the pregnant woman died

• Yaonono 7 years ago

All of you go back to the story the death of the woman has nothing to do with the theatre incident.

• Jeff, UK 7 years ago

U mean the IGF which as usual get shared among senior management couldn't have been used too solve the problem b4 the catastrophe? Even when it comes to surgical needles, govt has to provide. It is poor management

• Lizzy 7 years ago

May God help our country Ghana