You are here: HomeNews2016 05 27Article 442418

Three pregnant students barred from writing exams

Read Comments Comments (68)

• fgg 7 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH PREGNANT NURSING STUDENTS?

• william 7 years ago

Pregnancy is a crime in the effort to get educational qualification? According to whose law?

• Sinclear 7 years ago

discrimination FOR BEING PREGNANT IS UNACCEPTED

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

Stupid and backward mentality of this training school decision. Those who took this decision, was it not through pregnancy of their mothers that they came into this world?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Some of these decisions by some so called educationists defy common sense. I have taught some students who are not even married but became pregnant and were not dismissed. Why can't we change? Are Nursing colleges not now ter ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Ghana is still a primitive country no matter how long we have been independent. What is the sense in preventing students from writing their examination just because of pregnancy?

Can these educated fools making such decisi ...

• Agbee@Agbee 7 years ago

Ask again. This' gross discrimination against women. Will they equally prevent male students who impregnate their wives, from registering for their exams?

• Lyodd 7 years ago

LAWYER WILL YOU PAY THEIR MATERNITY LEAVE WHEN THEY HAVE NOT WORKED FOR EVEN ONE DAY? WHY COULDN'T THEY EXERCISE STRAIN TO THEIR WAIST?

• Kakra 7 years ago

Lyodd do you have family? I'm sure you did not pop out of a tree but some precious woman gave birth to an insensitive person like you. Woman carrying a baby like you 9mons before delivery deserves more than your shallow-minde ...

• Obaa sima 7 years ago

Senseless point, even if they are paid to be on maternity leave its not more justifiable than these politicians stealing our money? Reason up and wise up

• Kay 7 years ago

What maternity leave are you talking about. Apart from being stupid you are also ignorant. Even JHS pupils who are pregnant are allowed to write their exam and here we are talking about tertiary students. What about the numer ...

• James Awotwe-Braun 7 years ago

If they have not worked a day, how can they take maternity leave?

Aparently they would not be employed before they give birth so how can they apply for maternity leave?

In Europe for instance, the husband could take the ...

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Lyodd from your utterances I can deduce you are a footsoldier of a party l don't want name. You are stupid, ignorant and insensitive. Have a nice day!!

• Agbee@Agbee 7 years ago

It appears you are ignorant of our constitution.
    Even pregnant JHS girls are allowed to be in school with their pregnancy, let alone Nurses Training College, Tertiary institution

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

I want to be courteous to you but cannot. You are reasoning from your anus. What in the MOE statutes prevents a married pregnant woman from having a baby? Is giving birth not better than having an abortion? It is such bastard ...

• Baby Sitter 7 years ago

Sir, take it easy. I think he has regretted now following wise comments made by others. His thinking was as shallow as those who took it.

• Sasa 7 years ago

What sort of English grammar is this? You clearly didn't pass your English exams and have little or no logic too.

• Baby Sitter 7 years ago

You could control yours but some others may not be able and to such people society or the nation must come to their support. I wonder the kind of thinking that went into this decision but I suspect it is religious and not psy ...

• JM 7 years ago

Why they have the rights. They are not small kids.

• STEVO 7 years ago

Ghana education must stop this nonsense things.

• STEVO 7 years ago

They have to call them back immediately.

• Obaa sima 7 years ago

Forget about oye, she is busy chopping money to be more chofun chofun

• Odinglor 7 years ago

Time for the backward ànd senile heads to roll.

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

useless oye lithur and women lawyers and women pastors, and women whatever. why bar a 35 yr old woman from writting a professional exams bcus of pregnancy.

a man fucking another man anus and a woman using toys to fuck ano ...

• Fox 7 years ago

As usual, the primitiveness in Ghana continues. The country is in a total mess.

• OBTT 7 years ago

WHY WORRY, THE HEAD OF THE SCHOOL IS AN EDUCATED ILLITERATE. A FOOL WHO DOES NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT THE WORLD IS ABOUT AT THE MOMENT. SUE WHOEVER THAT IDIOT IS

• Paa Solo 7 years ago

Why should a married woman be barred from writing her examination? This a foolish policy.

• Kwetteh 7 years ago

Even if she was not married, it's nobody's business!

• BSR 7 years ago

Women against themselves. The council is made up of mostly women and to show the act and implement such a policy is mind boggles...."Where are the Women Groups"...Koku Anyidoho.

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Why should they not be allowed to partake in the exams? Is it a crime to become pregnant before taking one's exam? How does being pregnant pose a burden to the conducting of the examinations? More important of all, how does p ...

• Jato 7 years ago

The nursing students should seek help from law firms/institutions to sue the crazy bastards whose aim is just to boss over people without seeking their farewell.

• EK 7 years ago

OMG!!! Is this my country Ghana?

• My Opinion 7 years ago

If these ladies are allowed to get married,they must be allowed to get pregnant and be able to participate in any educational programs just like everyone. What kind of retarded policy is that? Get rid of these primitive poli ...

• James Awotwe-Braun 7 years ago

Why ban a 35 year old married women from writing exams because she is pregnant?

Are we practising a different democracy from the standard one or what?

• Asquare...osino 7 years ago

Why deneid a tertiary pregnant student to write final exams whiles BECE students being pregnant are eligible to write perhaps some give birth during the examination week. Or are their unborn babies will give them ap) ?..... I ...

• Solomon Nanedo 7 years ago

Is it for the benefit of the students, or for the benefit of nursing. Who is making that decision? On whose behalf? Please, let commonsense prevail.

• FUMILAYO ASAMADE 7 years ago

This is very nonsence what is the citeria of saying this to our able nurse are they not supposed to be married let the minister of health quickly intervene to let thi poor people to go and write their board.

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Too many illiterates in positions of interest. Who is that moron prevented them from taking the exams?

• BARIMA BA 7 years ago

Somebody should get me connected to these students and I will assist them sue the school, the uneducated/illiterate principal/headmistress and the Ghana education service. I would advice the lawyers to sue them first. Just S ...

• a doctor 7 years ago

These principals of training college including teacher training seem to always shows primitive old fashioned attitudes. The still insists on exe at to go out of campus. The insist on suspending your course if pregnant.

• kwasi oduro 7 years ago

So what? If they're pregnant? Are they in a convent? Why can't you write your test if you're pregnant? This 18th century twisted moral nonsense must stop. Why can't you continue with your education when you're pregnant? There ...

• Abena Dufie Adu Yirenkyi. US 7 years ago

What! In this 21st century? Ooooh Lord please help Ghana.

• tema boy 7 years ago

this is bullshit

• Frank 7 years ago

Sometimes I can't understand this type of our leaders, even pregnant BECE candidates are allowed to write their exams how much adults. We don't want to grow as a country? Always in our old age policies.

• Awuradebasa 7 years ago

STUPID decision...

• Nana Asare-Bediako Canada 7 years ago

Ghana Education Service should weak up for we are in the 21st. century. Women are now standing shoulder to shoulder with men in battle field, playing hockey with men, nursing mothers are taken their babies to classes both tea ...

• Sadick 7 years ago

Why such a law is it a crime to be pregnant? this is total wicketness the women and children ministry and human right lawyers shd come to their aid.

• OMANBA 7 years ago

Are ghanaians being told that it is a criminal offence to get pregnant or what?

This can only happen in the animal kingdom. What is wrong with some of our leaders? Is pregnancy an abomination, this is a breach of their fundamental human rights. I hope the ministry for children and gender is not there for ...

• KK Osei 7 years ago

Allow the women to write the exams. The women should take case to court and sue official for denying them their rights as students. Stupid laws are holding progress back.

• Asunafo 7 years ago

When everyone is taking steps into the future, GHANA is speeding backwards into barbarism and stupidity. These students are WOMEN, I mean ADULTS. What bars them from getting pregnant? Go the advanced countries and see pregnan ...

• Bozo 7 years ago

I hope the story is not true, as written.

• Nantwi, BSEd, MSEd(ece), MSEd(sas) 7 years ago

Only in Ghana!

• Kwami - US 7 years ago

Nantwi, I was going to pen the same comment you did post. so i rest my case

• INDIAN SPRITUALIST IN GHANA 7 years ago

THIS IS THE ROYAL TEMPLES OF INDIAN HIGH SPRITE
    Powerful Money Talisman.
    MONEY BELT
    MONEY CHAIN
    BUSINESS LOCKET OF CONTRACT
    ATTRACTING CUSTOMERS
    This talisman is very strong and powerful as there are many rituals and ce ...

• nana kuffuor south africa 7 years ago

Ghanaians think they know better done the whole world.what is wrong to be pregnant and student. this high time we must reason as humanbings .all women in Ghana must stand up and demon
    trate against this barbaric la ...

• Ur 7 years ago

Kolo

• Ur 7 years ago

Responsibility should be observed properly. Add me to the law suit against the ges or waec. These are more important to be solved than npp and ndc

• As3m bi nti 7 years ago

This is totally madness how ?

• Ama 7 years ago

This is not right, it's discremination, women should be able to have a career and family, financially stable , positively productive to the country . Educating women is one of the grass roots progress to ...

This is sickening. Who are making these decisions? Why oooo why? Can we ever move forward? Sack the person who made that decision.

• BIG JOE 7 years ago

Does the school authorities want these students to abort their babies and die? they should be allowed to write their exams.

• Simone 7 years ago

What nonsense! They are pregnant not sick. Why are we so
    Backward? These people have studied and can do the exams and move on to the next phase of their lives!!! Someone's head should roll.

• Don Ayasc 7 years ago

those insist on their registration should face the law what kind of leaders are we having in this country

• FRED 7 years ago

Call or whatsap me 0249620218...Am Fred Mensa I deal wih lotto numbers,, My numbers comes from a trusted source everyday,,

• Sam Ayi-Kwabena Marfo 7 years ago

Where are we living or this has got something to with a funny joke ? What hast their pregnancy got to do with proving their intelligence ? How long do we need to wake up as a continent . We can't manage our resources and thi ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 7 years ago

Africans worldwide are experiencing the effects of neo-colonialism, the most affected Africans are the ones who live in, and praise their master's house, while uttering insults at their mother's house.

Colonized people are ...

• Okatakyie Dallas TX 7 years ago

What kind of nonsense is that at this modern age and Ghana still behaving like the 17 century. They shouldn't waste time to suite the ministry of health. It is becoming too much, our girls need to be protected from these croo ...