You are here: HomeNews2016 05 27Article 442286

‘Ban social media and we'll hit streets’ - Lecturer

Read Comments Comments (138)

• kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Did you listen to the IGP yourself? Professor Gadzekpo, behave.

• John 7 years ago

I suspect you're just coming from the moon,politics has clouded your brain.

• kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

How ? Are u crazy? Stupidity has clouded your judgments. Fool. Did u take your time read what IGP said? Don't be silly John

• Yaw, Dansoman 7 years ago

SELF-HATING EWE WOMAN AND BROTHER - KELI GADZEKPO

• Sam 7 years ago

How come Prof Audrey has never commented on the corrupt Ootan case of her sibling Keli but finds time to comment on other things?
    This is one of the reasons Rawlings was angry with Mills

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Did the Inspector General of Police said he is going to ban social media, something even Mugabe could not do. Or he warned the faceless arseholes using the social media to spew all kinds of nonsense and lies to be circumspect ...

• True Talk 7 years ago

The IGP proposing to ban social media on election day, rather gives the impression there is a conspiracy to steal the elections for the NDC. If there is transparency for all, then what is he trying to hide!!!

• True Talk 7 years ago

How is sending information that can instantly be corroborated by everyone on social media, be a threat to national security. The IGP should focus on his core responsibility and leave our democracy alone.

• True Talk 7 years ago

No way!!! We have come too far and paid too great a price, to let the IGP take away our freedom!!! Perhaps he does not understand the basis of our democracy.

• True Talk 7 years ago

The IGP must realise he cannot stop news, good or bad from spreading. Is he going to stop all the press from reporting. The truth will always be known and the reaction will always remain.

• True Talk 7 years ago

The desperation of the incompetent and corrupt NDC is beginning to show. The EC supporting a corrupted voters register, IGP banning social media, Army commander flexing his muscles. We shall not be intimidated!!!!

• Kwadwo Agyarko 7 years ago

Professor Gadzekpo, please note that theory cannot equate wisdom. My good book tells me that the 'law was made for man but not man for the law'. You vividly remember that in RWANDA, it took a stupid journalist to evoke war be ...

• True Talk 7 years ago

What has ethnic cleansing in Rwanda, or the senseless tribalism exhibited by idiots on Ghanaweb, got to do with the infringement of our rights by the IGP. Perhaps you should suggest Ghanaweb is banned??

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 7 years ago

I wonder the kind of nonsense you lectures your students. You are idoit and irrelevant to society. NATIONAL SECURITY IS PARAMOUNT

• david abban 7 years ago

Foolish mad person seek medical help okwasiea

• KOKU AMAGAFIO 7 years ago

NPP SENIOR CITIZEN,you are very stupid and a semi-literate. That is why you do not understand what the eminent professor is telling the IGP. And your poor language tells it all. Go back to school to learn to write and think b ...

• kafui Gadzekpo 7 years ago

Your words depicts you... be gentle and learn.

• Dj.usa 7 years ago

u r an idiot

• Sam 7 years ago

You people have time for the this ampit smelling women. A woman who has no bra size for her smelling breast. I don't have time for such a hija de pera. Stupid nonsense.

• Maybe she will after you wash your 7 years ago

with acid you rude insulting jerk who are you to degrade this woman like that rude

I guess you are one of the funniest thing I have ever seen in Accra Zoo in those days...

• Channa 7 years ago

Sam pls be gentle with words here.its your mum you are insulting here

• inercycl 7 years ago

He was considering to ban social media on election day.The very thought of it makes it crazy.Why is this government so much afraid of social media.Their communist instincts are coming into play and if so they should stop stea ...

• KOKU AMAGAFIO 7 years ago

Kofi Gbagbladza, you are are a stupid semi-literate who cannot understand what such an intelligent persons as Professor Gadzekpo is telling the IGP and the entire democratic world ! Ofui, think before writing !!!

• Stoway 7 years ago

This kind of comments from people we thought are learned betray Ghana and question the authenticity of their Phd.
    The IGP just said if the misuse of the social media creating tension continues, then banning it is something t ...

• Nyameche Tabiri 7 years ago

I think the learned professor misunderstood the statement made by thew IGP. Hope she would not call on the police when some one publish a fake nude photo of hers in our daily papers..If she would support and brace a r ...

• Michael 7 years ago

It's just a bluff, no one can hit the streets, everyone will be voting by then, and by the time they hit the streets, the authentic results would have been Announced without their planned mischief.

• Aduna 7 years ago

Prof, do you need a boyfriend? are you lacking something you've missed for a long time? Ooooh never mind l go pray for you.

• Asante 7 years ago

banning social media wld spark more protests. The police is rather heightening fears in the nov polls.

• John 7 years ago

Social media helped Late Prof Atta Mills/John Mahama to win the 2008 election,Asiedu Nketia & Kwabena Agyei effectively used social media to mobilized NDC fool soldiers to match to EU H/Q in Ridge Accra to harass them.

• Clement, Kentucky 7 years ago

We will support you 100%, Prof.

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

If the IGP is to learn from Uganda, he can equally learn from Nigeria by asking the President to help provide a new voter register.

• Kwaku GYASI 7 years ago

Ghana is the only country whezre a former parliamentary candidate under the colours of the incumbent party is appointed the head of the Electoral Commission.

• fairplay 7 years ago

You lie.
    Afari Djan was nominated by NDC yet NDC lost power under him twice so what are talking about.

• MENSAH OTABIL 7 years ago

ANOTHER IDIOT TALKING. DID YOU HEAR WHAT THE IGP SAID. OR YOU ARE JUST TALKING FROM YOUR ANUS. BEHAVE YOURSELF SO YOUR CHILDREN CAN LEARN FROM YOU.

Mahama is a communist dictator,he is behind all these nonsense,Ghanaians will rise against this stupid move.Kudalor be warned we will die for our right.

• Karimu Amadu 7 years ago

John Mahama is becoming crazy. If he wants to follow the footsteps of Gbagbo the world is ready for him.

• david abban 7 years ago

IGP rethink we not in kangaroo country

• tweaa 7 years ago

John Mahama will surely go Ggbabo way and find himself in the Hague.....you can bet on that.

• Abong 7 years ago

Before mahamah goes to hauge you are dead and gone

• Francis Kay 7 years ago

for even one hoyr shut down on ekection day we will burn down social mefia in Ghana. ....let Ali Baba Mahama try

• Ebenezer NDC Ksi 7 years ago

I wonder why this Lecture is committing on this issue. First of all, Is this Lecture stayed in this country? Does she listing to radio, specially some of Kumasi based radio stations? I am asking her to hit on street and see ...

• Fish man 7 years ago

People make comments just for attention. Prof listen pls. And if it's on that day and will be good for mother Ghsna why not. Peace is far better than one than social media that will create far long damage.

• Thank you for being respectful 7 years ago

wise men always know how to get their points across

• yaaah 7 years ago

IGP are u taking this decision because the president said social media is used to say untruths about his government?

• Prosper Ho 7 years ago

you er right prof.well done

• INDIAN SPRITUALIST IN GHANA 7 years ago

THIS IS THE ROYAL TEMPLES OF INDIAN HIGH SPRITE
    Powerful Money Talisman.
    MONEY BELT
    MONEY CHAIN
    BUSINESS LOCKET OF CONTRACT
    ATTRACTING CUSTOMERS
    This talisman is very strong and powerful as there are many rituals and ce ...

• FRED 7 years ago

Call or whatsap me 0249620218...Am Fred Mensa I deal wih lotto numbers,, My numbers comes from a trusted source everyday,,

• Pinkra 7 years ago

A so-called professional police officer who would command his subordinates to maim and kill unarmed demonstrators needs his head examined. On top of that if the same person resorts to the inferior tactic mentioned above then ...

• Nana Asenso 7 years ago

I am really surprised about the Ugandan example by the police. A president elected for the fifth time?

• HARDER@'89... 7 years ago

Professor pls stop ya reckless pronouncements now. why would u just for ya frivolous bit of indulgence in social gossip jeopardised the peace n tranquility of the entire state...?? why...we've survived n flourished without so ...

• freedom for all movement Hamburg 7 years ago

The I G P is just making noise but. If he tries he will live to regret because the police can not impose any stupid thing on us.If they can't manage the folks then the folk will manage them in a violent manner as they want us ...

• nana addo 7 years ago

How many votes fo you have.
    It does not make a difference. There are thousands of voters who care less about your infantile social media

• Tina 7 years ago

I don't usually take interest in all the brouhaha on elections and governance. And I am not into social media.
    But this time I can't hold it. It is unimaginable that the IGP would faintly consider that possibility. I am so ...

• Moby Dick 7 years ago

Yes, I agree with you. ALUTA IF HE DARES TOUCH OUR LIBERTY. SOCIAL MEDIA IS OUR WAY OF EXPRESSING OURSELVES AND COMMUNICATING WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILIES.

• Nana Amma 7 years ago

Once it happened in Uganda, I suspected that Ghana was going to do same though wasn't expecting them to announce it this early. I even suspect that all networks will be crashed so no calls or messages can be sent as in Uganda ...

• TENGEH MAWUENYEGA MAWUMENYO BUBUNE DA 7 years ago

Ghana is not Sudan or Somalia, Igp in whatever situation we will find ourselves in November 7 don't dare try shouting social media. U can track anybody who will post false comments on social media. If you try doing it the ten ...

• Kasade 7 years ago

This is just a ploy to rig the elections, but Ghanaians will resist it.IGP is this the improvement of Ghana Police. Dont let them use you otherwise you will be disgraced.

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

The role of the police institution is to help implement laws and regulations enacted by the legislature! In other words the police cannot introduce a new law in any democratic society! Threatening to ban social media is tanta ...

• Ahh intelligence without insults 7 years ago

such a refreshing tone !

• yaro 7 years ago

SO CALL PROF godzeko you talk as if YOU ARE HAVING SEX WITH YOUR HUSBAND FOOLISH WOMAN .

• CPP: VOTE Against ndc. 7 years ago

Thanks

• Nana Antwi 7 years ago

The protest on social media starts now. Prevention is better than Cure. And Cure is bitter than Prevention

• shakamora 7 years ago

Igp i think he is drunk media forget abt it he cant do he is sick if igp u have collected moni frm mahama to misbehave dat then send de moni back to him it wont work igp he is sick

• George 7 years ago

Ndc IGP.You are all doing NDC Jobs but not Ghana

• H.H Yelpoe 7 years ago

you are one of the most unreasonable profs I have ever seen. do you know that woman and children suffer most when there is violence?

• Ataa 7 years ago

Mad woman. Does this woman know the chaos social media has caused in other countries? I thought the police said just for election day so what is her beef?

• Joe Passasa 7 years ago

Why only on election day? This is a grand NDC plan to intimidate and stuff ballot boxes. Get a life and come back with a more intelligent response!

• Akolugu 7 years ago

Is the IGP and NDC up to something? Rigging the elections?

• Amenyo, Tema 7 years ago

Another npp chronic

• Dj.usa 7 years ago

this stupid old IGP is so dumb for making this useless talk--hes fucking mutherfucker

• DAN 7 years ago

wise WOMAN

• Anthony Frimpong NY 7 years ago

Beware of the communist dictatorial elements.They are still here among us.Nkrumah and the successive military juntas have not gone extinct. Manama is over himself about social media annonymously blaming him. Rawlings reveali ...

• Agya Yaw 7 years ago

TELL THE IGP HE CAN GO TO HELL AND BAN MAHAMA HIS MASTER FROM USING FACEBOOK GHANA DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU AND LET ME TELL YOU YOUR PLANS TO HELP YOUR MASTER HAVE FAILED WE ARE GOING TO DEMONSTRATE AGAINST YOUR MOVE AND THERE ...

• Chiga 7 years ago

I am fully in support of this move. we should be growing and not listening to such stupid thinking

• MalcolmX 7 years ago

It's astonishing how the police in Gh can even dare to make such a proposition. Even parliament's power to ban social mediais severely challenged.

• Anthony Frimpong NY 7 years ago

Gives you an idea which political dire

• obi 7 years ago

Ghana is west not east so the IGP should stop that political drama

• WhenIdiotsRule 7 years ago

Any ban on the ability of the people to communicate will be a breach of the freedom of the people and will bring serious consequencies !!

• I DON'T GIVE A***F**K 7 years ago

If the so called government is not doing good things for Gh no wonder social media will expose their deeds so it should be ban....very funny...to hell with them. long live Social Media...expose the corrupt government.

• jahanfor 7 years ago

I salute the professor there

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

IF YOU HAVE NOTHING TO FEAR DON'T FEAR SOMETHING. EVEN IGP KUDALOR IS SCARED, SO WHO SHOULD NOT BE SCARED? THIS WHOLE THING SMACKS OF SILLINESS AND CHILDISHNESS. AND IT WILL ALL LEAD TO A REGRETTABLE STATE OF CONFUSION IN DEC ...

• sir ken 7 years ago

i think the igp should ban some radio and tv stations but social media should have the least resort koraaa. wats your think guyz

• sir ken 7 years ago

i think the igp should rather ban some radio and tv stations but social media should have be the least resort koraaa. wats your think guyz

• GHOST NAME 7 years ago

Hit the streets and you will see your ass in the streets. Barren woman, did you ever get pregnant. Who are the parents of the child in your house.

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

As a communications professional I have long awaited the time when social media would be allowed NO LONGER.

Women in particular have become so stupid in African culture just because they know how to use Facebook and Twitt ...

• Dr Kwame Tamakloe 7 years ago

Hitting the street is not the best response. The IGP has no such authority under the laws of Ghana to impose any ban on the use of social media. The best solution is to use the court system to block the IGP from pursuing the ...

• Margaret 7 years ago

I salute you Prof for being so bold to empower women. We need more of your type to stand out and speak for the silent masses who are trodden over. Come out from your shells.

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

...what do you think is the reason behind why so many young women in Ghana, today, have learned whoredom?

Is it the feminist ideology, or is it the women's "empowerment" ideology? Or is it the result of a social media, Wes ...

• Edward Okai 7 years ago

very inteligent professor

• RPG 7 years ago

John Mahama's last resort to hang onto power isvthe security apparatus of state and it is very evident. We have seen the BNI now transformed into a quasi-NDC security outfit.
    We have seen the Poiice service begin to veer int ...

• ALUTA CONTINUA 3 7 years ago

WHY WAIT ???

• GHANABA 7 years ago

IGP is being quoted out of context and it will never happen in 2016 Ghana only in one party state like Kwame Nkrumah days. Only a small minority use social media in Ghana.

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

In what way is social media a threat to election 2016 when it was no threat to 2012?What is the IGP and the buffoon president afraid of?Or it is just a clever move to rig the elections now that Justice Dotse has put an end to ...

• Koklotsu 7 years ago

It will be very very difficult to manage an erection to have sex with this woman.

• Richquy 7 years ago

they wanna steal again but this tym with dey come lyk kakai

• farraday 7 years ago

STUPID WOMAN. BEHAVE YOURSELF. Idiot. kwadonto.hit the street and you will smell pepper.

• Eta 7 years ago

This lady should admit that she should be held accountable should something on towards happen during the election without banning social media. Someone should remind her that it is national security the IGP is talking about.

• INDIAN SPRITUALIST IN GHANA 7 years ago

Indian spiritualist in Ghana. call for all spiritual help black magic help occultism joining protection invisible powers call the great Almzard temple 0244908520

• k.k 7 years ago

no one cares even if bring your bed and sleep there,nonsense

• Sid 7 years ago

The IGP is dreaming by comparing Ghana to Uganda .foolish,y not the UK or USA .Dose he want us to see war as they the Ugandans?this man should wake up n come with sensible thing.

• Owuahen Acheampong 7 years ago

The IGP will have himself to blame if such an action is taking and whatever happens in the country.Ghana is not for NDC Mr paid agent.People are ready to die for Ghana to be a better place for their children and grandchildren ...

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

What a shame to even consider this idea because another spineless African dictator has done the same. When will Ghana be a leader and not a follower?

• ISIAH OPOKU 7 years ago

NDC ALL THE WAY ...
    none sense!

• Kiri 7 years ago

Ghanweb receives on average 68,000 unique visitors a day - pretty poor out of 26 million. Out of the 68,000. 17% have a up address out with Ghana !

• mr agyemang 7 years ago

nonsense. this what we get when we only have thinking within and not outside the book kind of profs.

• Banku 7 years ago

When this plat form was there how do you assess your information How many are you. You can go to hell. We are more than you people. Try it and see.Ninconpoop. Do you have a family?

• Educate 7 years ago

Not wanting transparency and freedom to communicate rather breeds discontent and mayhem.

No wonder someone bans the media and ends up winning a 5th term.

• kwam 7 years ago

I think IGP should have kept this issue secret and surprise Ghanaians on the d day. His position to comment on it will rather creat more speculations.

• pk 7 years ago

banning social media on election day is cool for me cos there a lot of useless people on social media who can easily spark war and confusion because u cant control what people post but radio and tv can be monitored i agree wi ...

• Hamo 7 years ago

Nonsense, what are you waiting for?

• Adamu 7 years ago

Banning Social Media on November 7? mahama and his people need more education about democracy. Ghana the 1st Sub-Sahara nation to attain independent is not reedy to nap for any unconstitutional implementation.

• fairplay 7 years ago

Prof Audrey,

Can you guarantee that the wicked people will not play any trick on that day? See what happened during the limited registration. Please we must tell our people not to misuse the social media on the day of el ...

• Joshua 7 years ago

well said mad prof, God bless You

• Felix 7 years ago

U all urself a professor.Pocket prof u can go naked that day to deliver your lunacy.

• JM 7 years ago

Look at her too, saying they will hit the street, please teach and look after your kids.

• apuuuu 7 years ago

I don't think dead goat dumsor President Mahama government had really had chance to think through they just throw it out there to see the public reaction I don't think they understand the meaning of soci ...

• Ohene-Darko 7 years ago

Ghana Police to block social media platforms during election? I know how they will do it. They will work with ECG...lights off all day. Batteries and power banks will go dead. Then no one will access social media.

• Atta K 7 years ago

Social media revolutionize the political landscape of the Arabian countries I Africa n Middle, why not learn good lesson but rather bad ones?

• Coffie 7 years ago

Can't you see what our country is becoming with Social media? . I expect you to use your professorship which you worked hard to earn and not to talk like one of them. Don't you think people can transmit falls results and p ...

• KOJO MENSAH 7 years ago

Do you want the unfortunate to happen before you regret your inaction.Do yo want evidence before understanding issues. What will it cost for a day's ban on social media. Do you eat and sleep social media. Give us a break a Ma ...

• emmanuel Obiri Yeboah 7 years ago

Who is that igp afterall to ban social media in this time of our modern GHANA? DID HE EVEN THOUGHT IT TWICE????? SHAME

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Koku and the IGP need to have their heads examined for their attempts to stifle the freedom of the people to express themselves through social media. That's not a function of the police. They may not like what others are sayi ...

• Augustus parabodobolos 7 years ago

Media most be regulated
    Too much freedom damage many principles prevailing

• LIONEL.....Hohoe VR 7 years ago

It's a ploy by Ndc government to keep the juz staffs at home.
    They will resume even after twist and turns.This government as nothing good for this country.
    Just after winning elections.Let's all as true patriotic Ghanaians ...

I was shock to the bones upon hearing that unthinkable suggested move from the side of the IGP. but not to crisify him... let us probe him further why only this?

• kwamesefa sin9 7 years ago

I wont ever wish fr war in ma wildest dream fr gh. Bt sometimes i feel God shd let ghanaians kno hw it feels to carry ur belongings fr jst 3yrs. A lecturer hitting the street bcos fr security reasons social media will b banne ...

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

“Why are we following moves by countries whose democracy is in question?". So she knows this and her NPP constantly talk about Buhari, and even go further to suggest we learn from Nigeria's EC. Nigeria democracy is no wher ...

• LIL BRONZE uew- k 7 years ago

Those of u insulting the professor, how many of your family members have gone to school. the only thing u can do is to insult intellectuals n be praised upon? Gradually the good people of Ghana will speak n kick this insultin ...

• kill me slowly 7 years ago

tweeeaaaa

• kk 7 years ago

i beg ban social media 4 dis prof walk nake on street.indiscipline prof. ban ban ban oooo !!

• Augustine 7 years ago

A SHORT LETTER TO THE IGP OF GHANA

Good morning Mr. IGP. Some few hours ago I read in the papers that you are considering the option of banning social media on the eve of elections if the need be or set up a social media ...

• Boakye 7 years ago

I CAN PROUDLY CALL MYSELF A SEASONED VETERAN JOURNALIST. I CAN SAY THAT ANYONE, WHO
    TAKES SOCIAL MEDIA AS A SOURCE OF CREDIBLE INFORMATION IS STILL IN THE WOODS.MANDELA DIED FIVE TIMES ON THE SOCIAL MEDIA BEFORE HIS DEATH. ...

• IDDI ADAM 7 years ago

Banning social media will not be a solution to political violence, but it will rather pave a way for political violence. Because, it will heighten suspicions that the incumbent government want to use some dubious means to win ...

• Steve 7 years ago

I was just thinking about the same thing. Sometimes too much talk rather creates more problems. Don't we experience network failures? Don't we wait until we start getting the signals again?

• King, London 7 years ago

You try, you will be locked. You think you're part of law makers

• IGP come again with this suggestion 7 years ago

What is the IGP imagines? War or what? Right thing should be done and not blocking social media. And what is a social media all about?

• IGP come again with this suggestion 7 years ago

Misusers of social media are right here. IGP let ghanaweb help u to arrest them before november 6 n 7