You are here: HomeNews2016 05 25Article 441814

Get rid of unproductive AU holiday – Nduom

Read Comments Comments (98)

• Wisdam kwakuvi 7 years ago

This way chocolate drink - just to stir, stir and stir.

Ndc Ede beeek33k3 - just to steal, steal and steal

• Jordys 7 years ago

Nduom, this one de3, I agree.

• Saint Ghfuo: MEDIOCRITY STINKS! 7 years ago

UNPRODUCTIVE NATION/ ALWAYS PARTYING LIKE GAYS...

• KOKONTE VOMIT 7 years ago

YOU ALWAYS STRUGGLE TO BE RELEVANT AND NOTICED, BUT NO ONE HAVE UR FUCKIN TIME.
    YOU ARE SUCH AN ATTENTION WHORE.TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

• Papa 7 years ago

What a waste of human material!

HOPE U ARE ONE OF HIS HOPELESS EMPLOYEE.FUCK YOU WAE, CUZ I AM A GENIUS.U BASTARDDDDD

• Amponsem 7 years ago

I am not surprised that Dr.Ndoum has no other political topic to speak about than o criticize than African unity day which is very important to celebrate. Every Ghanaian can understand why this opportunist and greedy politici ...

• Apex 7 years ago

Incredible! calling Paa Kwesi Ndoum low energy. Even at his age he is more energetic and full of wisdom. Ghanaian politicians are lazy and filling the national calendar with holidays so they can enjoy their ill gotten wealth. ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

I can't understand why Ghana has all these many holidays. How do we become productive? Many of the holidays should be unpaid ones.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

GHANAIAN'S HAVE HOLIDAYS EVERY HOUR

Three boys were bragging about their fathers.
    The first one said, "My father runs so fast he can fire an arrow, start running, and get there before the arrow!"
    The second one said, "Th ...

• ABBA ATTA 7 years ago

APEX, NDUOM MAY BE DOING GOOD AS A BUSINESSMAN, WILL HE BE A GOOD PRESIDENT? I DON'T THINK AND BELIEVE SO? WHY? THE AU(AFRICAN UNION) OF WHICH GHANA IS A HIGHLY RESPECTED MEMBER BY THE DEEDS OF OUR FIRST PRESIDENT AND OTHERS ...

• Dr. Daniel Ackah 7 years ago

Ghanaians are not lazy people. The system of Governm9ent is not allowing better education as it was during Osagyfou Dr. Kwame Nkruma's time. Blame part of the problem on lack of adequate education.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Trust me, you mother suffered for nothing. You were in her stomach for nine months with all agony for no reason. You are calling Paa Kwasi Ndoum irrelevant and what about Mahama?

Do you understand the AU? What is it? Tell ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 7 years ago

I respect Dr. Nduom's opinion, However, I don't agree with anyone who takes the concept of African Unity lightly, if holidays are too many and some should eliminated, then ban those that were imposed on Africa by colonialism, ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 7 years ago

endorse

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

Christmas is a wasteful holiday that has nothing to do with righteousness. Thank you for your suggestion.

What about Easter? Same thing.

Sincerely,
    Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah
    In faith and knowing the truth about ...

• eugene 7 years ago

USA don't celebrate muslim holidays!

• Bongo 7 years ago

Such a man of wisdom, but Ghanaians will not vote for him, they want Maha, and Nana, no wonder the country is stuck in reverse. What a shame!!! Shambolic Shambolism!!!!!!!!!!!.

• ABBA ATTA 7 years ago

EUGENE, WE DON'T FOLLOW THE USA, GHANA IS A REPUBLIC, WE ARE A SOVEREIGN COUNTRY, WE ARE NOT UNDER ANY COUNTRY, WE MAKE OUR OWN LAWS FOR OURSELVES. HAVE YOU BEEN TO SCHOOL BEFORE, HOW FAR, AND WHAT DID YOU LEARN ABOUT YOUR CO ...

• Smart Frempah, UK 7 years ago

Well your name says it all. But Mr. Nduom is right. What a waste of time. Unfortunately, he belongs to a minority party and can never be president of Ghana and see this useless holiday off the national calendar.

• Mama Tula 7 years ago

Fully agree with Mr. Nduom. It a waste of time sitting home for one full day without productivity. It does not make any sense since we already have several unproductive holidays in Ghana.

• EDWIN 7 years ago

Get rid of them.
    That's part of the reason why Ghanaians are unproductive

• ABBA ATTA 7 years ago

EDWIN, YOUR STATEMENT CANNOT BE THE TRUTH. HOW MANY HOILDAYS DO WE HAVE IN GHANA. ANYWAY WOULD YOU WANT US TO TAKE OUT THE CHRISTIAN HOLIDAYS ALONE OUT TO REDUCE THEM OR THAT OF THE MUSLIMS, YOU GUYS THINK HOLIDAYS ARE MEANT ...

• Yakame, Gbemelawo 7 years ago

We will use the day to fuck Legon and JSS student.Its also a way of producing babies.

• amoro mpuse 7 years ago

The CIA man is always making himself vulnerable to attacks.

To ndoum,

Hope u have manage to get the minimum number of offices that ec is demanding.

Pls we beg u. With just a week to u can manage rent office in Ghana to meet the requirement of ec, else Ghana will suffer and ur bu ...

• Mother Africa 7 years ago

There are too many Public Holidays in Ghana.I personally don't see the reason why we grant Monday as a Public Holiday when a Holiday falls on saturday or Sunday.
    Too manyholidays are unproductive and expensive.

I have been saying this over and over again. I enjoys holidays when i was a school boy cos i dont like going to school. We should stop such practice of shifting holidays we falls on Saturdays and Sundays to Mondays

• eugene 7 years ago

only government employees take off in USA for most holidays the store and food places are open!

• Nyank 7 years ago

African Liberation Day
    Dr Nduom must understand that African Liberation Day on May 25 is an annual holiday in various countries in Africa, and the world, coinciding with African Union's Africa Day and not Ghana alone. It lik ...

• Papa 7 years ago

You have got it wrong. You have your head stuck in the past. Find out how many African countries celebrate this day as a holiday. Celebrate, yes. But should it be a holiday? That is the question!

Egyptians dont celebrate it

• Pelicles 7 years ago

At times, I laugh if I hear such statement like "African Liberation or whatever day etc". What is African liberation day when we all know that we not liberated. Is you father still deep in your daily activities or when was th ...

• j0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

Until you change your stinking attitude !

• Apuskele 7 years ago

How can we be liberated when another country, China, builds our Ministry of Foreign Affairs for us free of charge and builds a school for the Minister of Foreign Affairs in her constituency as a birthday gift. China build t ...

• Asafo Agldza 7 years ago

Africa Liberation Day indeed. Liberated from what when the white skin man is still dictating to you what to do and they are manipulating the leaders of Africa. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
    Na wa o.

• Anita 7 years ago

How many holidays are dedicated to celebrating African Union day in a year? Just one!

• Papa 7 years ago

Put them all together and you have the path to poverty - farmers, christians, independence, republic, moslems. etc Ebei!!

• Joe Hilton 7 years ago

Its good for recreational businesses. People spend more on recreational things on public holidays.

• JM 7 years ago

TOO MUCH HOLIDAYS.

I have been adviocatiNg the scrapping of this AU holidays from Ghanaian calendar. It is useless. Ghana has too many useless holidays and this AU holiday is one of them. What purpose is it for our nation development. Ghanaian ...

• Papa 7 years ago

We need an AU day but not as a holiday. We need to work to prosper not sleep and be poor!

Not to sleep and produce

• reflex 7 years ago

You are a fool for talking trash. We are discussing important issues and see where ur mind wandering. Kwasia Gyimi

• obi 7 years ago

yea it has no meaning bcos all our leaders are corrupt

• Albert 7 years ago

I perfectly agree.AU holiday is a total waste and useless.

• SHOWGIRL 7 years ago

Yeah, we know. Paa Kwesi Ndoum owes more allegiance to the CIA and the USA than to GHANA and AFRICA.
    So believe me no one is surprised at his utterances.

AMERICAN CHIEF MOLE AND STOOGE PAA KWESI NDUOM.

You never surpr ...

• EK 7 years ago

I agree with you Mr Nduom. There is nothing to be celebrated about the African Union. All the leaders except Mugabe are stooges.

• VAN DE HAYES 7 years ago

THIS OLDMAN THINKS HE IS THE SENSIBLE PERSON IN GHANA AND HE IS EXTENDING TO AFRICA. LET HIM NO THAT IF HE WANTS TO GET RID OF AU DAY THEN WHAT I WILL ADVISE HIMM IS TO GET RID OF INDEPENDNCE DAY FIRST. HE TALKS BY HEART JUS ...

Ndoum's too know comes with clean cash not judgement debt cash or stolen money

• MAD COBRA 7 years ago

The AU have nothing to offer the odinary African on the street not talking about pupils in class one today.Those AU meetings are just a waste of time and resources to the African who is always languishing in poverty and benef ...

• Rob 7 years ago

What do you mean by "too known"? It is amazing how stupid many Ghanaians are. He "too known" for suggesting that there are too many holidays in Ghana? Huh?

Bcos he knows that why he is too know. i like Ndum

• MAD COBRA 7 years ago

Where is the unity among Africans and trading among themselves or striving to do better than Asia not talking about the west their masters voice.

• JEFF WISEMAN 7 years ago

GHANA MUST GET RID OF AU HOLIDAY.
    THE COUNTRY IS IN A MESS WHY THIS
    UNNESCESSARY HOLIDAY THAT GHANA DOES
    NOT BENEFIT FROM IT.THE PRESIDENT MUST
    THINK AS A PRESIDENT AND NOT EVERY
    STUPID THING HE FOLLOWS.DOES THE
    PRESIDE ...

• Owu Mtensa 7 years ago

You and the Dr have gotten it wrong. Do you know the dynamics of the liberation and continuous unity of the continent? How will this continent be without the efforts of the founders. What workers do before and after holodays ...

• amoah w. 7 years ago

i think you should clean our backyard first.

ost of the holiday and the way we reschedule it is totally wrong.

its not happening in any civilized country

• Martin 7 years ago

Paa Kwesi Nduom wants to get rid of the AU holiday because he claims it impacts productivity. Not to worry, the Ghanaian worker is not productive in the first place and therefore another meaningless holiday won't hurt.

• Odoi 7 years ago

Ghana needs only 3holidays a year; new year, 6th March and 1st July. If anyone of the three falls on the weekend, no carry forward.

• Martin 7 years ago

Nduom's call for getting rid of the AU holiday is nothing but pandering and grandstanding on his part. He doesn't have to become the president to get rid of it. Being an MP, he can propose a legislation to do what he proposes ...

• Gom 7 years ago

This man can care for your entire family for the rest of life.you make politics too dirty

CHAAAAAAAAEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

• me gyefo 7 years ago

NDOUM WITH ALL THE RESPECTI HAVE FOR U IS GONE .I DONT YOU GREW UR MOUSTACHE FOR NOTHING.WISE UP .DONT LET ME USE UNPRINTABLEWORDS ON YOU.

• Sammy 7 years ago

Productivity is not measured by the nonumbers, Dr. Do you have to oppose everything in order to become relevant , the political prostitute Flagbearer. When you continue like this, you will never become a president even in you ...

• NiiM3NiiM3 7 years ago

I believe Dr Nduom could still have been significant member of the CPP without necessarily being the flagbearer. He could have been on and off on and off.

• Jacko 7 years ago

This man is so overrated. What a load of rubbish. I suppose his CIA paymasters have him say this crap.

• NiiM3NiiM3 7 years ago

The UP chastised Dr Nkrumah for pursuing The AU goal at the expense of Ghana. But without the AU the individual African Sovereign states will be powerless. The AU even if presently toothless is forever serving as a reminder t ...

• Papa 7 years ago

The man said celebrate the meaning of the day and lets have AU Day. But cut out the holiday!!! What is your problem with that? What does that have to do with the Europeans? If you want to cut out Easter Monday and the Eid ...

• NiiM3NiiM3 7 years ago

Africa is not bleeding. We are just here. Once colonized and now free. We are not in a race at all. Africa can never ever be even angry at the past. We cannot misunderstand life and enjoy existence. You are simply repeating ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

Three boys were bragging about their fathers.
    The first one said, "My father runs so fast he can fire an arrow, start running, and get there before the arrow!"
    The second one said, "That's nothing! My father can shoot a gun ...

• Truth 7 years ago

where have you been all this while Mr Nduom?
    A few of genuine Ghanaians like you still exist.
    Well said, you couldn't have said it any better an occasion like this.
    Needless Holidays all over Ghana.

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

au holiday,i think wants to unite africans.it may not be removed.if nduom wants his workers to work on that holiday,he must apply and pay the necessary fees.in italy,double fee,double tax is applied after 9pm,holidays and on ...

• O.K 7 years ago

If Ghanaians are celebrating 15% moslem population holidays,then AU holiday is in order.No country in EU and America celebrates moslem holidays.If Nduom as a president will ersse AU holiday on the calendar,then,i'll also eras ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

Cats' holiday, dogs holiday, cockroaches' holiday; no wonder we are where we are. Other than the annual ugly noises by the thieves who rule Africa, what the hell has the AU achieved for Africa or each of its members that they ...

• mlartey07 7 years ago

Bravo Dr.!
    You're right.Let's get rid of it.
    Amen.

• kay wuo 7 years ago

machines. Means of production, Let them work till they drop dead, No holidays, pay them peanuts, and all those damn "shit" of early industrial revolution era. Mr "never -going - be- president" you are not living in the 1700 t ...

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

Well done Nduom for adding your voice to that of Prof Akosa who had earlier made such a call.Buffoon Mahama is just too dumb a president to understand the damage the numerous holidays do to the country's productivity

• Asoreba 7 years ago

All these stupid holidays take away quality work time from the economy. Get rid of it and let us focus on building Ghana.

• Lawyer 7 years ago

Even zero holidays will not change lazy Ghanaians'''they all want to be like you''''go into politics and make money...

• Ko 7 years ago

That's why I say Dr. Nduom is the right man for the he presidency. I have been thinking about this for a long time. Ghana had too many paid holidays. We are poor and yet we pay people to stay home for too many days in a year. ...

• Dr. Daniel Ackah 7 years ago

Dr. Ndum, I read your article. And, you will never become President of Ghana. Stop wasting your time and energy.

• Papa 7 years ago

Is it the man you do not like or the idea? Would you like it if Nana Addo or John Mahama had said it? Sad, really sad and you say you are Dr. of something? No wonder!

• Alan 7 years ago

Please learn to appreciate what others have done. Whiles we are facing problems here and there never forget that people have strggled with strength, blood and mind to bring us this far.

All the past and current leaders ha ...

• NUBIAN 7 years ago

So "president" Nduom tell us what you propose to do on this day; i was hoping to read an outline of activities which hopefully will shore up our fortunes as africans e.g using it as a M&E day say.I dont see that only ...

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Dr. Nduom are u suggesting we celebrate nduom day or PPP day, AU has it significance for this generation n generations to come

• INDIAN SPRITUALIST IN GHANA 7 years ago

ATTRACTING CUSTOMERS
    This talisman is very strong and powerful as there are many rituals and ceremonies involved In the preparation of the talisman so that the talisman is charged and will help you in solving all your money ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

But these Thieving Politicians don't care.

• ScHoly 7 years ago

Ghanaians are lazy dodooodo

• OBIBINI 7 years ago

Nduom is just talking nonsense.He is a true puppet of the capitalist,neo-liberal imperialists.He can relocate his business to America or europe if he does not like such holidays.

• FORWARD EVER 7 years ago

And this is the man who wanted to lead the CPP-an anti-pan-africanist,a puppet of the West and a lapdog of America.

• Papa 7 years ago

Did you read what the man wrote? He did not say get rid of AU Day. It is the holiday part he does not like. And for that you call him names? What's your beef. This sounds personal

• Adamu 7 years ago

Nduom is such an intelligent individual. Instead of focusing on Ghana`s development our leaders are bothering themselves wasting time and money on AU/ECOWAS for no apparent reason. Mahama can`t even unified Ghana`s tribal iss ...

• Hamo 7 years ago

Mr. Nduom, you were with CPP and you believe in Kwame Nkrumah but I don't think Kwame Nkrumah will forgive you about this statement. Sometimes you talk as if external forces are pushing you to say that because they think ever ...

• Agbeli Kumordzi 7 years ago

I agreed with Nduom Ghanaians need to work hard than before to keep the economy going to me the 6th March celebration we have to change it to Africa remembrance day the millions of Africans lives lost in the slavery and ...

• The Kwaamoh. 7 years ago

Ghana as well as the whole of Africa must get it's priorities in the right perspective. Do we want to PRODUCE and advance or, we would rather keep PARTYING with too many holidays and stagnate or retrogress? I think Papa Kwasi ...

• Mensah 7 years ago

A nation of 25 million, very little market, low productivity, bad roads and bridges, filthy environment, lack of basic social amenities, yet so many holidays. How do we intend to become a prosperous nation? When will Ghana st ...

• Nicholas Kyeretwie 7 years ago

Unfortunately ,Dr Nduom will never be president

What is this AU day all about? A waste of our resources and precious time. It will be better if it is abolished as a holiday.