AU Day: MPs must learn French, Portuguese – Hanna Tetteh

Read Comments Comments (60)

• Don 8 years ago

English sef dem no learn finish..
    Now u wan add French then Portuguese
    Eei maame serwaa

• LAST DON 8 years ago

And the scribes who came down from Jerusalem said, “He has Beelzebul, and by the ruler of the demons he casts out demons.”
    And he called them to him, and spoke to them in parables.

“How can Satan cast out Satan? If ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

mahama best among the rest, long live mahama

• ELINAN 8 years ago

Earlier this year, the East African Union opened their conference with Swahili, with all the presidents communicating in one African language, and it was a beautiful thing to behold.
    WHY FRENCH AND PORTUGUESE AND NOT HAUSA ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

SUCH STUPIDITY HAPPENS WHEN AN INCOMPETENT PRESIDENT IS APPOINTED AS MINISTER. OUR MPS WILL RATHER LEARN TWI, GA, EWE, FANTE, NZEMA, DAAGATI, HAUSA, SWAHILI, SHONA ON AU DAY INSTEAD OF GOING BACK TO SLAVERY. IF THE EUROPEANS ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

I BLAME THE INCOMPETENT PRESIDENT FOR APPOINTING A FOREIGNER AS MINISTER. SACK HER AND REPLACE HER WITH ACCOMPLISHED DIPLOMAT DR SPIO GARBAH

• KEN 8 years ago

here we got Ghana under crisses people cant feed their family and we should study franch and Portuguese why?

• Okomfo,London 8 years ago

Thank you.

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

Ido not agree with you, Dear Dr Truth.
    Europeans and Americans do not bound to learn our vernaculars which must not even be spoken at NATIONAL levels. We should promote the Learning of our local languages at local levels and ...

• aikins 8 years ago

Ndc parliamentarians can't even speak English not to talk of other international languages.

• voice of the voiceless 8 years ago

i humbly disagree with ur assertion, i think when it comes to speaking English on the floor of parliament, in as much as the ndc mps are not so good with the queen's language, conversely, i think they are miles better than th ...

• aikins 8 years ago

Do you remember trees under school the ndc mp at the floor of the house?

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Well, I do understand this point of the Minister.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

An African Chief and a priest are walking through the Forest. The
    priest is teaching the African chief the English language, so he
    can be integrated into the "white man's society".

As they walk along, the priest se ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

What purpose do indigenous languages serve in Africa? Are they irrelevant?

• HONESTY 8 years ago

I hope this mental slavery does not take another 500 years.

Just learn all languages on the continent and carry on mixing them like our ancestors did to create the twis, hausas,swahalis etc.

Even European languages are ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

I am sure you were not the chief. What about the presidential candidates? Akua Donkor will have to do extra work because she would have learn English language as well.

• kofi adu 8 years ago

hanna,you don't even understand english, why french?like black americans want ebonics.south africans won't learn afrikaans and died for foolish idea.

• Togbe okomfo 8 years ago

Thank you African brother

• Akwasi 8 years ago

English Portuguese and French is not African Language.Let us be bold an put a Language in place for Sub Sahara Africans

• Togbe okomfo 8 years ago

Amen comrade

• kum 8 years ago

Have we finished with our own languages

• Kujo, Nungua 8 years ago

Why not Gà, Ewe, Twi or any other ghanaian languages
    Leadership failure

• Confused 8 years ago

I'm sure she has no respect for African languages.

• kum 8 years ago

How many European, Arab or Asian countries use foreign languages as their first language at schools?
    Instead of saying something about how Africa will unite and progress, you're talking about learning Portuguese and french. ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

WE FORCE JHS STUDENTS LRARN GH. LANGUAGES WHEN NOT FROM THERE. MORE FRENCH IN JHS AND COMPULSORY IN SHS LIKE FRANCOPHONE COUNTRIES LEARN ENGLISH

• Bams 8 years ago

Please Hanna spare us this rubbish. Why can't we as Africans have our own indigenous language as a common language for all? Why burden our children with these things when the could channel their Gods ability in something bett ...

• Village Lass 8 years ago

Nonsense!! some can not even speak English, some of these so called politicians of our land have really lost the plot.
    Instead of working together to bring visible and meaningful change for the nation, the wake up on the wro ...

• Barrister77 8 years ago

Ummm, excuse me ... but shouldn't they learn how to speak English first?

• gyidie 8 years ago

Promote, instead of championing this 'stupid' and non-productive endeavour! You should be seen working for your constituents in Efutu, or you risk losing your seat once again!
    Trust me, this posture of putting yourself abov ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 8 years ago

Lip service, make those languages mandatory from primary schools.

• Jato Bibio 8 years ago

MPs should learn AWUTU instead. It will help NDC

• Asem sebe 8 years ago

why should we speak these languages of our oppressors!! we can't even speak our own local languages properly and you want us to learn other peoples languages!!! this is madness - like the saying goes when in rome do as the ro ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, BARRISTER-AT LAW, QCL, PLC, DPA, CPA, BA (HONS) {GHANA}, MASTER OF LAWS (LLM) {NEW YORK, USA} PENDING, MEMBER, INTERNATIONAL (WORLD/GLOBAL) BAR ASSOCIATION, MEMBER, COMMONWEALTH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION, ASSO ...

• nii nuertey abladey 8 years ago

So what wrong did we do to have people like this ministers as our leaders.what is it going to benefit the ordinary man at kasua if my mp is speaking franc.can Hannah Tetteh speak gonja or frafra.if this what ur current leader ...

• Adamu 8 years ago

THE MPS SHOULD RATHER STUDY EFUTU. WHAT ARE THEY GOING TO USE THIS LANGUAGES FOR.

• Joe 8 years ago

Ghana has so many useless holidays which they celebrate anfpd this AU day is one of them. What is the necessity I declaring this day a holiday. Ghanaians love to idle at home doing nothing while the nation suffers. The amount ...

• teneboah kodua 8 years ago

stupid you should have said AFRICANS MUST LEARN OTHEFR AFRICAN LANGIAGES

• Nigger Gigolo - NIGGOLO 8 years ago

Useless nincompoop, fix first the rot and mess in the passport office and leave MPs to speak whatever language they wish to. Fat ugly lonely jato bitch. Your apampam store govt days are numbered. Go learn Hungarian your moth ...

• Nigger Gigolo - NIGGOLO 8 years ago

You know what I mean. Miserable old buffon.

• dd 8 years ago

Nonsense

• neropraise 8 years ago

...I could not see in the story where she said MUST learn.....' As was captioned.... I rather saw an encouragement to learn

• neropraise 8 years ago

I don't get your drift...'incompetent president appointed as minister'...hmmmmmm

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 8 years ago

Hon. Hannah Tetteh:

Choose wisdom. Which African language is being learned by Europeans for communication in their respective parliaments?

Silliness is not what we need in this generation of African people.

Sincere ...

• SHAME ON NDC DUMBHEADS 8 years ago

FOOLISH WOMAN, WHAT IS THE HISTORY OF PORTUGAL AND FRANCE ON OUR CONTINENT. SLAVERY, ABUSE, EXPLOITATION THAT HAS LEFT OUR PEOPLE IN SUFFERATION SINCE THEY FIRST ARRIVED. only foolish ndc party will have leaders like this. ...

• Tuffour Agyemang 8 years ago

How many statutory holidays do you have in Ghana? Absolutely crazy. Even when members of parliament are going to their girlfriends you declare a holiday. I suggest you declare Fufu, kenkey apesie and abetee eating holidays. ...

• T.O.K 8 years ago

Tnk u honourable minister,but u failed to encourage learning of ur own language,jx to encourage colonialism on us again,may God Almighty reject strongly.You re already grown give mother advice than this shallow one please.

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Rubbish.

• NANA USA 8 years ago

The only solution to our MPs is simple the criteria for choosing MPs is wrong.There shd be a yardstick to it before going int politics a lot don't know anything just bcos the parties need majority

• kb original 8 years ago

No, adopt one African language and make it international. All states must learn it just as South Africa has done . What is African about French and Portuguese. Are they not all traces of colonialism. Completely break away fro ...

• JM 8 years ago

What sort of news is these.?

• Ben jj 8 years ago

That is good idea, bcos if we can be united we to learn our languages

• NUBIAN 8 years ago

Ghana is surrounded by french speaking nations even the fish in the gulf of guinea speak french yet it has not dawned on Ghananains that to be proficient or learn basic french is advantageous.Time was when french was co ...

• Black 8 years ago

So we will end up learning all the European languages? ieeh Africans! The idea is
    not putting one Africa language in our school for our kids to learn but rather to go and learn more and more European languages. ieeh ieeh ie ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Suba,Bus Branding Woyom 8 years ago

Instead of thinking about problems in Ghana, Hanna Tetteh is talking about the study of Portuguese and French to serve the continent of Africa. Just look at how these shallow minded criminals have distorted our economy and he ...

• Akwaso Zongo 8 years ago

What for? Useless corrupt woman

• BUMBEBO 8 years ago

IF YOU DONT HAVE ANYTHING TO SAY, DONT SAY IT. WE NEED AFRICA MINDED PEOPLE TO TALK FOR ACRICA NOT ADVOCATES OF NEO COLONIALISM NOT LIKE NOT LIKE THIS RUBBISH STINKER AND HER LIKES WHO PUT THEIR HOW THEY GOT IT WEALTH IN FORE ...

• andy 8 years ago

I personally see this woman Hanna Tetteh not intelligent at all . Listen Mrs.Tetteh, MP's do not need learn these mention languages.In all international conference or Parliament have bilingual translates so please talk sense.

• Marfo 8 years ago

Stupid what is the use of interpreter

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

The Hon. Minister is right.We should all learn French and Portuguese not only MPs.