You are here: HomeNews2016 05 24Article 441509

Gov’t borrows GHC500m to pay debts

Read Comments Comments (39)

• YAA-YAA 7 years ago

JOHNMAHAMA IS CORRUPT EXTREMELY CORRUPT and incompetent anda huge ddisgrace.....

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

WE ARE TALKING ABOUT OVER 37 BILLION DOLLAR DEBT AND THE RESULT IS WHAT GHANAIANS ARE GOING THROUGH TODAY. LOOK AT OUR ELECTRICITY AND WATER TARIFFS AND DANGEROUS ZACHAEUS STEALTH TAXES "NA SIKA NO WO HE"???? MY CHILDREN ARE ...

• Anonymous Coward 7 years ago

Kaakaamotobi economy. A toxic mixture of incompetence plus corruption gives you nothing but wahala. 59 years of so-called independence and we still borrowing like there is no tomorrow.

• Keynes 7 years ago

What happened to the $250 million lying idle?

• ABBA ATTA 7 years ago

Social media lies about my gov't too much - Prez Mahama

President John Mahama has accused some critics of hiding behind social media to peddle inaccurate information about his government and also hurl lies at his administr ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 7 years ago

so far as we have peace no problem, no one is running again, you can go to church or Masjid free and fair, vote mahama for peace and development

• YAA-YAA 7 years ago

More poverty in Ghana than ever before under JOHNMAHAMA... More trokosis and kayayes.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

NDC is borrows to pay debt and you are talking about how good Mahama is. Does it make sense to borrow to pay debts and at what cost? This is a desperate move or measures signaling that Ghana has failed under Mahama.

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Sanjay-Abu Dhabi,A hungry man knows no peace and development.Accept that your idol Mahama is a total failure.

• eugene 7 years ago

for you

• YAA-YAA 7 years ago

NDC government deposits 250 million dollars in a private bbank and later go to same bank for TREASURY BILLS at a much higher interest rate..... Hahahaaaa ide biiiiiiii Kek....

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: AKOSUA------A naturally resourced small country like Ghana is owing 100 billion dollars with bad roads dumsor and people drinking from rivers and streams and they are happy. Tekper and those happy people must be silly ...

• TULA 7 years ago

The problem with Seth Terpkor's economic management is that he has no choice other than to borrow more to finance the deficit ; the wage buill is too high and he cannot keep on borrowing from the kaya yei and ther financial i ...

• Vinss 7 years ago

GHANAIANS PLEASE WAKE UP FOR MAHAMAGOVT ARE SINKING THE NATION.EWES,FANTIS GA,s WESTERN REG, NORTHENERS YOU ALL NEED TO WAKEUP FROM YOUR LONG SLUMBER.I AM PRAYING AMEN FOR YOU ALL.AMEN.

• YAA-YAA 7 years ago

JOHNMAHAMA IS CORRUPT EXTREMELY CORRUPT and incompetent and huge ddisgrace..... ... Hahahaaaa ide biiiiiiii Keke thieves in government blind to the pains of the poor Ghanaian tax payer..

• John Adams Tamale 7 years ago

What was the conditions of the country before power was given to NDC.As the servants said to Pharaoh can't you see that the country is sinking the same is happening in Ghana (Proverb 29:2,4) says it all.This country is being ...

• Maame 7 years ago

GOVERNMENT BORROWS MONEY TO PAY DEBTS NPP GOVERNMENT UNDER KUFFOUR INCURRED.

• Black 7 years ago

Maame it's obvious you have no defence for the reckless borrowing of this govt. please go home and watch telenovela .

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

John Mahama is clueless and incompetent president and should be booted out of office before it's too late! Why is he pilling up so much debt by borrowing? He should do the best thing for Ghana by stepping down. He promised Gh ...

• anna 7 years ago

eeeiiiiii seth terkpor so ur the finance minister shameeeeee ndc clueless hand over better Dr Bawumia said it ndc very uselss

• Kay 7 years ago

When will this ndc government ever learn to do something right?

• Dr. Acquah. 7 years ago

OMG! But the economy of Ghana has been well managed! First HIPC and now IMF, all by the NDC!Kick this party out come Nov.!

• t.t 7 years ago

When we say this govt is incompetent , they say No, they are competent ! U hv idle 250m dollars and u still go around borrowing as if there is no tomorrow ! what is wrong with this incompetent Mahama govt ?

• Yussif 7 years ago

Now we re egaging in economic galamsey for government to safe Ghana,this finance minister is a big dance,untill he's sacked like Kofi Wampah this country ll never no progress.This useless man I believe has the secret of this ...

• Kwame Amoo 7 years ago

Mr President, if governance was all abt borrowing to undertake projects and to pay off maturing debts, than am afraid anybody can be president.

• Jeff, UK 7 years ago

When only 1 tenth of the population are the ones that pays taxes, what do u expect? You should be advising Ghanaians to voluntarily pay their taxes. If that happens, govt, whichever, will stop borrowing unecessarily

• MAWULE 7 years ago

You borrow to pay loan INCOMPETENCY Lazy Government. You don't even know how to generate Income THIEF

• Dannison 7 years ago

hahahaha this only appends in Ghana, borrow money to pay debts. an idiot will not even do that.

• Sulley 7 years ago

Bawumia is our savior. Bawumia is Ghana's savior. Anything he says abt this NDC government turns out to b true. How can u borrow to pay debt?. Mahama and his ministers are illiterate. They know nothing abt governance. The har ...

• IS GETTING MESSY 7 years ago

BORROWING $S TO PAY DEBT ABE?

• John Mahama 7 years ago

NDA is not a party for the people. It is a party that has used its domestic agenda to steal from Ghana and Ghanaians. I am not a fan of politics but Ghana is being taken for a ride by this party of thieves.

• eugene 7 years ago

you know the deal

• # VOTE MAHAMA OUT ! 7 years ago

MAHAMA: The Job of the President is More than Just Repeating Polished Lies.!Mahama has Condemned Ghanaians to a Life of Poverty,DUMSOR,HIPC,
    WOYOME,Killings,HIGH TAXES,PETROL PRICES.VOTE to Cast Mahama OUT from Office and Gi ...

• Preacher 7 years ago

Ponzi scheme galore.Ghana is in a whole
    lot of trouble

• Preacher 7 years ago

Ponzi scheme? This is an indictment on this shitty government

• Zil 7 years ago

Clear biased reporting. Grand agenda to paint a hopeless situation.

• Jase 7 years ago

Oh my god !!!! Imagine if we could all just do that type of borrowing every time we were short . Survey they have stolen enough already for the election campaign plus all the loans and promises to AMERI CROOK SHEIK power deal ...

• Jase 7 years ago

Abba - get to the mental institution .

• Youngg Geniuss 7 years ago

If we don't take care Mahama will put us all as collateral for more unnecessary loans.