You are here: HomeNews2016 05 18Article 439678

Dead employee withdraws GHc20,000 salary at Lands C’sion

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Uri Netaker 8 years ago

Well, that will be a handy little 'nest egg' for when the Pentecost Church resurrects him won't it?

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Mr. Government, I am not going to pay tax anymore. How can my taxes go into someone 's pocket and at the end be made to go scotfree.

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

The explanation is worse than the act itself, Wilfred please come again! WHAAAT? The man is dead or at least has not been to the office for two years? I cant believe this

• Amenyaglo 8 years ago

This is thievery. You know the employee is dead but you still expect a letter from the family. But how did you know he/she was dead? by text message or word of mouth. this man should be arrested.

• AGBEVE AGBENYEGA 8 years ago

Dr. Wilfried Kwabena Anim-Odame explained that they were waiting for the family members of the deceased staff to inform the Commission about the death of the loved one before they all write to the Controller and Accountant Ge ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

The problem this Dr. has is even bigger than what he said about waiting for the family to report the death of the dead man!

The man has not reported to work for 2 years and he man whether dead or alive still receives salar ...

• Banza Yaro 8 years ago

That's the Ghana we live in right now. We show case our modern computers to our girlfriends but, still do our office reports with the 1950s type writers. What a clever way to be a thief.

• j0eY l0nD0n 8 years ago

There is a law fully applicable in Ghana that gives the deceased family up to seven years to report their lost with evidence until then the Ghanain laws are incapable of making any changes. Same law was used under the npp th ...

• Shapiro 8 years ago

...and who withdrew that amount of money?

• Yaa 8 years ago

Dr Wilfred of course.

• Independent voter 8 years ago

Vote Mahama into power again and you people will really see what the future will hold for Ghana.

How can an employee who didn't show up for work for two years be getting his salary

• Kojo Billy Duncan 8 years ago

This why, I insist that the civil servants are the most corrupt.

Shocking!!!! only in Ghana will someone in a high position like even think about this kind of excuse. Oh ad3n koraa. Please let us all try to do something about this. this is beyond corruption this is pure balowoo paa. Someon ...

• ....... 8 years ago

Just after this explanation he should have found himself in police cells.
    How long can a worker stay away from work and will not lose his pay?

• ghana 8 years ago

Thanks you

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Uri, u can say that again. Too many explanations n promises.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

God Almighty! So, Dr. Wilfried Kwabena Anim-Odame and his colleagues at the Lands Commission were waiting for the family members of the deceased staff worker to inform the Commission about the death of the loved one before th ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 8 years ago

If this does not deserve outright dismissal, I wonder what does?

• CORNEY 8 years ago

My friend,don't you know that Lands Commission is one of the most corrupt institutions in Ghana?
    They know about the death as the statement suggests but they are waiting up until the family informs them knowing that they di ...

• Colo 8 years ago

So Mr. Executive secretary of Lands Commission, if your staff dies and his family have not officially informed you, and you are aware because he does not come to work for 2 years you continue to pay him. am sorry for Ghana

• ABC 8 years ago

The executive secretary of land commission, Dr Wlfred Odame is a thief. He should be held accountable for the money or be prosecuted.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

corrupt to the bone... ask Mahamah

• bright 8 years ago

This executive is a big fool l mean compound fool. how can you attend your staff funeral and after you still keen paying money it his / her account.

• PASTOR !!!OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 8 years ago

OK ,THEY SHOULD CHECK THE BANK A/C OF THE DEAD AND ASCERTAIN ,,WHETHER THE DEPOSITS WERE MADE AND WHO DID THE WITHDRAWALS,,,THE GUY JUST TOOK THE CASH AND CREDITED THE A/C WITH THE GHOST NAME,,THAT GHOST MAY BE VERY ANGRY KN ...

• ....... 8 years ago

Good point, who made the withdrawals?

• Sam 8 years ago

Was the salary paid into the deceased's account every month for two years ? And the money was withdrawn from the bank account by who ?

• Earl Jones 8 years ago

Dead employee withdraws indeed. :-)
    Sidney's song comes to mind at this point. Accountant is chopping!
    So what? Lets see whether government has teeth or just barking with a toothless mouth.
    Happens everywhere but we chose ...

• Koti 8 years ago

Nawaaaaaaoooo!!!!. How does this boss or whomever he claims to be, be in that position still claim salary. For two years and you still pay someone who does not come to work. That's very ridiculous. Please just let this man ju ...

• Brownie 8 years ago

The Executive Secretary must be sacked. Someone who is NOT coming to work for two (2) years and he does not care but prefers to pay his salary. This is strange. PAC over to you. He MUST refund the money to the state

• VickY 8 years ago

CON ARTISTS HAS NO SENSE OF SHAME, EVEN IF THEY ARE CAUGHT IN THEIR OWN CONISTON.

• nii ablorh 8 years ago

this is nonsense. how can you be waiting for the family to tell you this person is dead for two years. what do you do when employee does not show up for work for two years. you need to be held responsible. this is low perform ...

• nii ablorh 8 years ago

this is nonsense. how can you wait for family to the you about the death of employee for two years. what do you do when employee has not worked for two years. do you pay him? don't you have to investigate why employee is bein ...

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

You see that even a " Dr" doesn't give WISDOM !!! This NONSENSE of ....going to ANNOUNCE the death of so-and -so MUST STOP !!
    After almost 60 yrs. of political INDEPENDENCE, there are STILL too many IDIOTS, like this man, at ...

• ndc is gone 8 years ago

He is igvnorant or lying. The accountant knows what to do. Even if you write to the controller it takes months for the deletion. Simply you write to than bank after the mongh of death. where the persons salary lodges to ret ...

• Komla 8 years ago

So if the family fails to inform your outfit for close to 20 years you would still be paying? even if the worker in question fails to come to work take for instance its your private work. SOME OF YOU "TECHNOCRATS" I killing m ...

• Angel 8 years ago

is this Wilfred man a doctor as is claimed? What he said is absolute nonsense. How can you be waiting for the family to tell you this person is dead for two years? what do you do when an employee does not show up for work for ...

• yaa dua 8 years ago

Big titles, but can't perform. A true Ghanaian mentality

• yaa dua 8 years ago

Big titles, but can't perform. A true Ghanaian mentality. A very common fraudulent practice all over our country.

• Volta for change 8 years ago

EEEEEI GHANA NOT NOT NOT NOT
    MR PRESIDENT THIS IS PHYSICAL EVIDENCE OO AM WAITING.

• saga 8 years ago

aba! mr executive secretary, come again. so if the family, for ten years, refuse to inform you officially and the person don't come to work you will still pay him. hmmmmm mother ghana.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

WELL YOU RELUCTANTLY EXHUME CASES OF BAD CORRUPTION , AND ALSO SHOW THE WORLD THAT YOU CAN'T DO A THING ABOUT IT, THEN WHAT IS THE USE OF THIS PAC? YOU ENTRENCH CORRUPTION IN THE PROCESS! EVEN THE WAY YOU TREAT THE CRIMINALS ...

• Kojo Esuon 8 years ago

When an employee has died why should his/her employer wait on the family to advise the death before taking the necessary personnel step? Are problems are due to lack of accountability or else how can this explanation be tende ...

• shepherd 8 years ago

we didn't hear neither did we see his office was empty or not occupied asem paa nie.... I luv this position leaders

• Irritated citizen. 8 years ago

And this man is a 'doctor'? Ooooh Ghana. Its very clear that our fathers have not help us. Now to all the youth: we can save our country from collapse.!!!

• Maame 8 years ago

We the people has to change not the PRESIDENT. NPP OR NDC corruption will never STOP.

• MT 8 years ago

Now that is the reason why a dead person on the voters register can resurrect and cast his/her ballot on the polls day. Everything is possible in Africa.

• OWEN NEW-YORK. 8 years ago

GHANA NOW IS LIKE A DEAD ELEPHANT ,ANY FOOL PICKS HIS OR HER KNIFE TO CUT WHATEVER MEAT SHE OR HE CAN CARRY HOME. ALL THIS IS DUE TO BAD LEADERSHIP . IF THE HEAD OF A FISH IS ROTTEN THE WHOLE FISH IS WHORTHLESS . THE PRESIDEN ...

• zzzz 8 years ago

I think all top officials at Lands from HR, to the top should be sacked. They should go tell this story to the mountain. I am in awe. Living workers of other departments have not received salaries for months and in some yea ...

• James 8 years ago

President Mahama, will sack him.

• Lee Wang 8 years ago

A dead goat president cannot do any thing. He is dead but still receiving his pay as president of Ghana.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Stupid excuse.

• wofa joe 8 years ago

What a stupid explanation from a Dr. Does this fool have PhD in stupidity or what? So when the family informs you of the death, what will you do? Ask them to refund he 2 years of pay? It is an insult of a response to the P ...

• sam 8 years ago

This guy is not fit to hold a BECE certificate with this stupid excuse from him. If the deceased died 20 yrs ago and the family never came forward to inform the commission it means he could as well draw the salary and nobody ...

• PATRIOT 8 years ago

What the hell is the head of the Land Commission saying?That he was expecting the deceased family to inform the commission before deleting the deceased employee's name from the payroll.Is he saying that the Land Commission wa ...

• Asante,Yaw. 8 years ago

So , you see, we are all corrupt , not only NDC or NPP. When my friend comes back from Ghana i must ask him how much he offered for his new passport.

• Asoreba 8 years ago

These ignorance has to stop !!!
    A Director who has not seen an employee at his post and yet paying him is waiting for the family to notify him that the man is dead before they stop paying him? Are people not supposed to be ...

• Dzaase Tse One 8 years ago

shiee, ebe like the harsh economy catch Asamandom

• Bretuoba KFB 8 years ago

Just look at this man whose name starts with a Dr.they are waiting for the family to inform them of the staff member's death.For good two years?.My questions are.
    1.Was he reporting to work
    2.Was Land Commission delegation ...

• obi 8 years ago

that is why this days they have big big houses ,bcos dead employees withdraws monies

• Koo Nimo 8 years ago

Did the any worker of the Lands Commission attend the man's burial. This is any inside job. Classical example of create and share.

• Okey 8 years ago

As you can see Wilfred's mouth has chopped a lot of illegal money! He should be made to pay back!

• yensiamoa 8 years ago

CORRUPTION IS THE ORDER OF THE DAY IN NDC GOVERNMENT. GHANAIANS ARE NOT WORRIED AT ALL TO BOOT OUT THIS PROPAGANDA GOVERNMENT. IN MY VILLAGE, A TAX COLLECTOR (DAMPOO KRAKYE) IS BUILDING A MANSION WITH THE MONEY HE COLLECTS ...

• NII GA 8 years ago

ELECTRONIC PAY IS THE BEST.

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 8 years ago

You know the man is dead, why wait for the family?
    Did you not attend his funeral.

Looting machine at work. Sack the executive secretary for incompetence.

• JM 8 years ago

LOOTING FROM AG DEPT.

• Martin 8 years ago

This is sheer stupidity and lack of common sense. It could also be that a corrupt official has taken the lack of checks and balances, accountability, responsibility and transparency to pocket the dead man's salary. How could ...

• Martin 8 years ago

Dr Wilfred Anim-Odame, Executive Secretary of the Lands Commission should be fired for malfeasance.

• Boss 8 years ago

what fucking idiots we have as heads of institutions

• Kwame Odame 8 years ago

I think this Dr. Anim Odame guy is a murderer. He murdered the deceased worker, so he can steal the pay check. That is the only reason why he will wait for the family to inform him before he stops paying the dead employee. ...

• Ghana Biya 8 years ago

When I read this story, I thought the Executive Secretary of the Lands Commission was going to deny the allegation. Instead, this is his responds: "they were waiting for the family members of the deceased staff to inform the ...

• Kwabena London 8 years ago

My explanation, the man has been working at night and that is why he was being paid. How is that.

• Aduanaba, Dormaa Ahenkro 8 years ago

People , do not be surprised. This is happening in most depts but that it is only this fool (a Dr.) who has responded this way. Ghost names abound in several govt depts. A worker does not report for work for 2 years but colle ...

• mr amin 8 years ago

People are embezzling state funds that why Ghanaians are suffering.

• JUSTICE 8 years ago

For two years your employee did not report for work and continued to pay him simply because the relatives had not come report his death. Sack this useless CEO

• qwaku gee 8 years ago

This explanation don't make no sense

• Fausty 8 years ago

Hmmmmmm, people are in the house jobless and someone dead continue to receive salary for 2 years. What a country!!!

• Obooba 8 years ago

So for all that time off from duty DR Odame thought that employee was on vacation ? , ei Ghana ! ,Asem a y3te ho no ?.

• akwasi Agyei, adenta 8 years ago

Meanwhile, a delegation from the Lands Commission attended the burial n funeral ceremonies of the late staff member. So what info again does the Executive Secretary need to confirm the death of the staff of the Commission? Th ...

• Ras-Bornky 8 years ago

The man with big tittle Dr but little mind.
    What? Waiting for who to make what complain before write to who? You just displaying INCOMPETENCY openly.
    Is that how our tax monies are being handled.

• Cpl Truth 8 years ago

The leaders themselves withdraws the salaries and pretend as if they know nothing about it.
    They should be made to pay back.

Mahama and NDC you appointed someone to be incharge of lands We
    understand that to you this is not a
    Corrupt attitude
    If your gov't is not corrupt this would not go on for two years What a stupid
    and nonsense explanation ...

• EDEM 8 years ago

Corruption paa nie

• Joe Navajo 8 years ago

Sack him.... What an idiot.....Executive Secretary of the Lands Commission, Dr. Wilfried Kwabena Anim-Odame explained that they were waiting for the family members of the deceased staff to inform the Commission about the deat ...

• samansaman 8 years ago

OH GHANA OF AFRICA! over 50good yrs of INDEC.U GO CLEAN THE ASS OF Mr.WHITEMAN FOREVER! Nigger down¨¨¨!

• kalim starboy 8 years ago

THAT stolen title "Dr" must be stripped from that idiot Annim-ODAME. Any fool with stolen title can have position in GHANA now.dont u see that?

• kojo@ 8 years ago

theives in MD positions in Ghana.