You are here: HomeNews2016 05 17Article 439324

Bawumia lied about US$250m Eurobond saga - Financial analyst

Read Comments Comments (113)

• ???????????? 7 years ago

LIES RUNS LIKE BLOOD IN BAWUMIA,S VEINS.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

SOURCE : E.K. AGYARKO ( MP ) SPEAKING AT CITI FM - - - - - - - **“I think that Occupy Ghana must go beyond the branding and begin to look at those buses themselves. Government went for a loan of 40 million dollars to procur ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 7 years ago

thats the nature of npp, vote mahama for peace and development

• Observer 7 years ago

Mr Adongo may have a wonderful future as a fetish priest, but not as a financial analyst. Only a fetish priest would be able to persuade me to borrow my own money at a cut-throat interest rate!

• Mama Tula 7 years ago

By the way when did Bawumia, Mr. Pinkcard, become the "world renowned economist"???

• AMUZU 7 years ago

Articles like these tells you the reasons why Ghana's Economy and Life of Ghanaians' are going down hill.The Nations had majority of M.Ps without wisdom,vision,retented press,and Gov't.of Propaganda and lie.The NDC will tell ...

• Vinss 7 years ago

ndc 2thirds educated but unperforming all FAKE DEGREES.

• Stoway 7 years ago

Do a research in Ghana on public office holders and those effectively working for the nation and see if they are NPP. How many NPP gems can you boast of if not the liar Bawumia; just mention one and let's see if he or she is ...

• H S Fire 7 years ago

Koku Anyidoho ok?

• Stoway 7 years ago

Do you understand the word 'invest'? and do you know the different between borrowing and investing? You all think like your dumb liar Bawumia and Nana the no-certificate dumb.

• Jones 7 years ago

If the argument is that the money deposited is in GH cedis then how can you also say the $250 million generated $23 million. And how can that even be possible when Ghana doesn't print the dollar?

Finally, the most stupid ...

• H S Fire 7 years ago

Where's that Stoway to answer that question.

• OBOSOMANKETRE 7 years ago

MANY MORE LOOTERS INVOLVED HERE. OHHH

• william 7 years ago

This why many fine men and most fine women will avoid partisan politics!!!!
    How do you escape telling lies especially in election year campaigns!!!!

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

KNOWING HOW THE CEDIS DEPRECIATE IN VALUE ALL THE TIME AGAINST THE DOLLAR HOW CAN ANY SENSIBLE PERSON CONVERT A HUGE AMOUNT OF $250 MILLION INTO CEDIS AND DEPOSIT IT IN A PRIVATE NIGERIAN BANK WITH A VIEW OF EARNING INTEREST ...

• ******** 7 years ago

NANAA summed it up. It is either stupidity, robbery or both if you act that way bruv.

• Dango 7 years ago

Look at NDC babies with sharp teeth voodoo analysis. Whether Jonah swallowed the whale or the whale swallowed Jonah, there was a swallow and that is it. Wherein lies the lie?

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

SETH TEKPER EVEN HIS DESPERATE DEFENCE STATED THE EXECUTIVE GOVERNMENT HAS THE POWER UNDER LAWS TO ENGAGE IN FOREIGN EXCHANGE TRANSACTIONS WITH PRIVATE ENTITIES WITHOUT SEEKING APPROVAL FROM PARLIAMENT. IF IT WAS IN CEDIS WHY ...

• Ritewing 7 years ago

Bawumia tells no lies, he says the truth at all times. Bawumia can never lie. He tells what it is to come in the future. He predicts, prophecies and they come to pass or are fulfilled.
    The attempt by the new Governor of the ...

• H S Fire 7 years ago

Ghanaians should be smart and take their country back from corrupt-headed NDC quickly!!! And I mean FAST!!

Party affiliation aside, NDC has mortgaged Ghana and bankrupting it with impunity. What a bunch of unpatriotic foo ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

AFTER THOUGHT LIES BY NDC & GOVERNOR. THE MINISTER OF FINANCE CATEGORICALLY STATED IN HIS REPLY THAT THE AMOUNT LODGED AT THE NIGERIAN OWNED BANK IS $250 MILLION DOLLARS AND EVEN WENT FURTHER TO QUOTE THE INTEREST GAINED IN D ...

It makes more sense that this money has bn foolishly lent out to a foreign bank n the bank has wisely lent it back to govt at a higher interest rate. Talk abt de real issue n stop beating about de bush. Clueless govt.

• inercycl 7 years ago

You think this Nigerian-owned bank would pay 9% interest on USD savings. Go to the USA.Highest interest on savings is less than 1%.The bank is running a pyramid scheme then.This is how the NDC tricked people to save in these ...

• Kofi (USA) 7 years ago

You are doing the bidding of NDC. You were stealing the money

• Jew 7 years ago

How low can confused Dr Pinksheets go again. He has a PhD in economics but lowered himself to the level of servicing the greedy interest of a man with just a 3rd class degree in economics.

• Dog Chewing Analyst 7 years ago

Bullshit Ndc empty head analyst. Too many liars in Ndc.

• LAI LAI 7 years ago

Bawumia was a credible economist until he laced his boots with NPP. Then he learnt that lying is an acceptable norm in political parties. My fear for him is how he would return to his former self once he fails to achieve his ...

• Taurus 7 years ago

All die be die. No life after defeat.

• Haert 7 years ago

Oh my god what I I did you go to I hope you are not involved in any of of my money advising my bank (which I highly doubt) yes it was "technically legal" to transfer but the issue is borrowed money . Sat "ideal" for over a ye ...

• kooko 7 years ago

Where from this one too? ,A financial analyst? Where has he worked before and what experience does he have? Seth Terkper and the BOG boss have not disputed the technical details ie rates etc so who is this so called analyst t ...

• paps 7 years ago

Oh 3y3 asem ooooo menua enti ghana paa nie

• EBBY 7 years ago

What sense does it make to borrow money and pay interest on it, let the money sit there for over 18 months? And where in this world will an amount of $250million yield an interest of $23million in a few months? Why is this go ...

• Jay+++++++++++++London 7 years ago

This NDC financialist is one good LIAR. He has waited till now to come up with his own version of CONCOCTED STORIES. Even Tekper admitted to having transferred the money. And now may be having urged by his NDC folks to challe ...

• OBOSOMANKETRE 7 years ago

HE IS ALSO OBVIOUSLY INVOLVED AND ALSO FEAR THE JAILING. THE MESSAGE IS WELL RECEIVED. WE DO NOT NEED YOURS Mr ANALYST

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

There is no any better financial analyst in Ghana than Bawumia. 419 president. Azaa man. Mahama the thief!

• Ernest london 7 years ago

Frafra ni wogyedi se eye okraman nam anaa atorofo ahwifo NDC. Oyame mfa kye mo.

Stupid analyst. Why borrow if you have no use of the funds. Simply put you borrowed to loot it and the good Dr. has caught it out. And now you are earning money on the borrowed funds less than the interest you are supposed to ...

• Nyansasem 7 years ago

1. Why would the govt take a loan of $250 million dollars that it had no immediate use for and pay 18 months of interest at a cost of $35 million dollars?

2. How did UBA invest the money that was transferred to them? They ...

• THIS DAY 7 years ago

AS FOR ME IF THE AMOUNT HAD BEEN KEPT IN A GHANAIAN BANK, I WOULD HAVE SAID NOTHING ABOUT IT. HOW CAN A STATE BY-PASS ITS BANKS AND KEEP ITS MONIES IN A FOREIGN-OWNED BANK ?. BECAUSE OF THIS INVESTMENT MADE, THIS BANK, UBA IS ...

• peace 7 years ago

This Bawumia lies will not win an elections Bawumia will regret after 7th Nov.

• Goliath 7 years ago

The more you try to deny this day light robbery by the Ahwoi brothers the deeper you sink into the despot of political suicide!

Why UBA and not GCB or NIB or ADB? Who do you think you are foomibg, shameless bunch of crook ...

• USMAN 7 years ago

UBA is owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria and so if Tekper wishes to invest Ghana Government's money why did he choose UBA over GCB, ADB or NIB which are Ghana Government owned.
    Is Tekper patriotic at all? Indeed, we ...

• Kwadwo Poku 7 years ago

Thanks Usman. Ato Ahoi is the chairman of UBA's board of directors. What a scheme. The way Ghana is beign ran if it were to be a Western democracy, the President and most of his cronies would be in jail. This is the same Maha ...

• Ifawole. 7 years ago

Usmsn. This is pure tribalism and jealous to Nigerians. Mark it on the wall Ghana will only trail nigeria till thy kingdom come.

• USMAN 7 years ago

Is it bad to emulate the patriotism of Nigeria?

• Nature 7 years ago

This man is confused and can't even learn sense from his brother Alliu mahama. How can a Rat be leader in the house of a Cat???????? Hahahahaaaaaaaaa

• Obikyire 7 years ago

Mr Adongo,please do not mix the dollars and the cedis. Stay with the cedis as you alerted.You are confusing the whole issue on the table

• Nii 7 years ago

Sir I think you trying hard to be be seen its look as if you have no idea about the subject matter so keep quite

• Jato Bibio 7 years ago

Whether the transaction was in cedis or dollars, whether it was from 2014 or 2015, the answer remains the same. THERE WAS A TRANSFER WHICH WAS OUT OF PLACE.

• Joe P 7 years ago

Look at this shameless educated illiterate trying to cover up for NDC thievery. You give your own money to somebody and turn round to borrow it and pay interest and you think you are smart???!!!

• Show me 7 years ago

Bawumia leads the lies peddling wing of the NPP

• Alata Moi Moi 7 years ago

Are you one of those robbing the poor kayayo to enrich your pocket; you do not sound far from them.Continue. You will cough it out at the appointed time.
    Insha allahu

• paps 7 years ago

I don't think this Financial analyst knows what he's saying, is a pity that folks will buy into it, but then again ghana this is where we are as people,folks celebrate lies and despise truth.

• eD 7 years ago

LOOK AT THE LIST OF RICHEST IN GHANA IN 2013 AND MAJORITY OF POLITICIAaNS ARE ON THE LIST NO WONDER THEY REFUSE TO DECLARE THEIR ASSETS AS MANDATED BY THE CONSTITUTIONAL LAW. HYPOCRITES!

Talk about the real issues about th ...

• odiMr true of SA 7 years ago

We all know Dr pink sheet is a big liar

• Jah Jah 7 years ago

The main thing I keep on thinking is that this is a gov't that continues to say it doesn't have money. Nurses, teachers, judicial staff and others are complaining that they haven't been paid for months some even years. And th ...

• nana addo 7 years ago

Bawumia u talk tooooooo much, desperate fool

• samuel boadi 7 years ago

what makes that guy a financial analyst to the extent that he just talk. on saturday he came to newsfile with a two separate letters written by the NDC to defend government. however, if the minister himself accepted the claim ...

• Kwabenz 7 years ago

How many blockheadeds does the NDC need to explain just one revelation made by one highly respected and big brain NPP Vice Presidential Candidate, Dr.Bawumia?

• adanko 7 years ago

YOU NEED NOT BE AN ECONOMIST TO KNOW THAT GOING FOR LOANS WHICH YOU HAVE NO IMMEDIATE USE OF IS FINANCIAL MISMANAGEMENT! SO ALL THE MONEY LOST DURING THE MONTHS THE MONEY WAS LYING IDLE AND WE WERE PAYING INTEREST WAS WRONG. ...

• Kee 7 years ago

'Vote for us otherwise we will be jail' Looters, stealers and most corrupt party.

• Rude Bwoy 7 years ago

No matter how hard you try to discredit Bawumia, I still and will believe in his competency.
    I am a Bawumian. !!!

• Ex.WO1 Alhassan 7 years ago

Adongo you say you're a financial analyst and a strong member of the ruling NDC and the economy is so bad?

• Mamle Syke 7 years ago

We prefer our money to be idle and safe rather than being played as pingpong between the Ahwoi brothers.UBA is predominantly Nigerian with a Branch in Ghana to launder Ghana hard currecy with alata soap......

• Nwocha okechuwu 7 years ago

Every thing that comes from Nigeria to Ghana is of benefit to Ghanaians. Mamle tell one benefits from ghana to nigeria and which many nigerians benegited from.

• maame 7 years ago

After the NDC gurus have admitted on adom fm that the money was transferred in foreign currency they've gone to plan to come out to say something different because they were critisized knowing very well the rules governing th ...

• Pelicles 7 years ago

A Chinese saga once said,quote "There is cure for all ailment but there is no cure for being stupid". Unquote. NDC is full of people who are stupid and silly as well. I have the feeling that they sleep on hot stones instead o ...

• JH. New York 7 years ago

Give us a break!.

• con USA 7 years ago

The money wasn't transfer to the bank? You rather are liar. Why u people use ghana money like that

• Derek 7 years ago

The minister of Finance Seth Tekpe has not challenged any of the figures put out by Bawumia. After how many weeks before you bring out your fictitious figures to throw dust in the eyes of Ghanaians. Kweku Baaku is waiting f ...

• Sameto, Kumasi. 7 years ago

Bawumia has adopted the politics of lies and that will not win election for npp.

• NPP = NATIONAL PATAPAAA PARTY 7 years ago

Folks, why isn't the NPP contending this in court? Am I missing something?

• Chris 7 years ago

Useless bawumia.. and Co he doesn't know anything always lies ..Ghanaian s will never vote for npp again..

• ken 7 years ago

Isaac ADONGO a financial analyst from where? Cheap NDC party with cheap titles!

ADONGO is an NDC parliamentary candidate, that is his title. Put financial analyst before his name does not put him in Dr. Bawumia's club.

• TRUMP: THE WINGBAG-MONEYBAG 7 years ago

Bawumia has no sense of shame. He has no integrity.

The NDC should not wait for the whole through to be exposed. The NDC should, as a matter of urgency, table a motion in parliament asking the Finance or the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) to investigate and make their report ...

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER 7 years ago

Adongo Isaac and the new BoG Governor who it is coming across did the transfer, after being appointed by John Dramani Mahama, must not try to defend this stealing act, which has been exposed.
    The right and proper thing that ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

So Adongo says the bank paid 23 million USD interest on the 250million..That is about 9% interest though! He thinks the Nigerian-owned bank would pay 9% interest on dollar savings? That is how this government tricks people in ...

If you think a wrong has been done, go to court and make your case there. Are you NPP people stupid or what?

• inercycl 7 years ago

They can only go to court after their overthrow. If the government believes Bawumia is lying, then they should take him to court for libel.They have admitted to it and now scrambling to save face with lies.

• diner 7 years ago

I wonder who listens to him and gets anything done: focus on work and let him bundle himself up.

• kwesi kwesi 7 years ago

Adongo cannot be a financial analyst. He is fake

• inercycl 7 years ago

He is a pathological liar.Which bank the world over pays about 9% interest on USD savings. The Nigerian-owned bank must be running a pyramid scheme with the blessing of the Bank of Ghana... like they did in sunyani.

• FIAVI. 7 years ago

YOU CANNOT DECEIVED GHANAIANS BECAUSE WE KNOW YOU,TOILET ANALYST

• Francis, USA 7 years ago

Eeiiiiii Mr pink sheet again

• Banza Yaro 7 years ago

This Adongo guy must be suffering from rabies.
    Explain to me how, if given money in dollars to hold, Adongo can transfer said amount in local currency to another bank and still hold on to the original dollars in the agreed u ...

• OYIWA 7 years ago

Hahahaha....lol.
    Adongo is sorry, he is of the NDC party.

• KK 7 years ago

YOU ARE SAYING THE SAME THING

• Ebola Mahama 7 years ago

Another Northern Empty Drum

• kobby 7 years ago

Whenever Dr. Bawumiah speak the corridors of government and NDC shakes there are really scared of him

• MR. WISE ASANTE 7 years ago

You have lost all the credibility's you acquire as second Deputy Governor of BOG. Out of ............... you do things without getting the concrete facts. You were the same person who deceive Ex. President Koffour to destroy ...

• C.Stephen Sackey. 7 years ago

Mr.Wise Asante, you want your four zeroes back on your cedis , right ?

Well, it never disappeared. It's been there all these years. And, I bet you know where it is but don't want to share with nobody. Just want to have it ...

• JD MAHAMA 7 years ago

Who is this fool, you can only brainwash the ndc fools not descerning ghanaians. Is true most of ndc parliamentarians are anteboi (not learned). Wait nd see nov. 7th u thieves.

• The Advocate 7 years ago

Hon Isaac Adongo you are an intellect since your infancy. God bless you

• Atta 7 years ago

This guy has no single brain in his head about finance. It took the finance minister 18 months to realize that this usd250million was sitting idle at bog? He the finance minister must resign. Ghana was broke beyond paying f ...

• Issac Cummins 7 years ago

Stories!! Stories!! Stories!!! Some very thin clouds of deception.
    You borrow from foreign market; place it's cedi equivalent on our books; transfer to phantom account with private bank and turn around and borrow from your o ...

• gh 7 years ago

does n.d.c for u and this so called useless financial analyst,was there $250 million or not?so what is THIS MONKEY OF A FINANCIAL ANALYST SAYING?STOPID FOOL.

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Bawumia cooks lies, but he never lies.

• Chicago Guy 7 years ago

Other Bawumi lied or not mahama must go

• Man 7 years ago

Every body in ndc is fast becoming liar, desperate & hypocritical. Adongo is the kind of disappointing mps that Ghana will be doomed to have in her parliament. I would be disappointed in Bawumia, if what he said never happene ...

• iyke 7 years ago

...I got to know about this deal through the lies of Bawumia....Bawumia continue to lie. ..we are with you. uncover all the hidden things in government....

• Shaba 7 years ago

Is bawumia learning a lesson from effects of falsehood statements.

• zombie police 7 years ago

So now any Ghanaian who completes senior high school is either a specialist or an analyst in any subject. Thank God for Free education.

• Kofi Nti 7 years ago

So, who is telling the truth now: Terkper or the so called financial analyst?

Where did this financial analyst MP got his numbers from? Unless he's misquoted.

That a one-time deposit of $250M-PV would generate $100M of interest income after four(4) years ? This don't make no kind of sense. Unless h ...

This awam financial analyst MP was really saying, in two(2)years a $250M one time deposit (PV) would have generated a $100M in interest income.
    And, in addition, the same $250M is back into the coffers of the BOG ..!

Folk ...

419 FINANCIAL ANALYSIS!

• kweks 7 years ago

Bawumia you are destroying your image. you have just a little left and so pleas e try and keep it. the lies are one too many!!

• JBMK, Akyem 7 years ago

KJHUYGTFRED

• ******** 7 years ago

We know who is telling lies here! In fact we know the criminals who falsified documents to try and justify the crime of transferring government's foreign cash to a private bank within Ghana so give us a break young man!
    Ghan ...

• Jude 0209158777 7 years ago

Flourish Home Plumbers is here to help you solve your plumbing issues permanently. Contact Jude on 0209158777 for further information. Thank you

• Akora Sark 7 years ago

Sorry, MP Adongo, your weak Mathematics is part of the poor performance of the failing NDC Government.
    In simple terms:
    In 4Months, $250m yielded Int= $23m
    1Yr/12months ........... Int= $69m?
    Equivalent simple Int rate ...

• Ishaw Yakubu 7 years ago

every body is a financial analyst