You are here: HomeNews2016 05 13Article 438357

VRA's coal plant to start April 2017

Read Comments Comments (17)

• SMH 8 years ago

Even VW knows how hard it is to achieve to achieve clean diesel technology. Clean Coal is a myth, why is China shifting away from them?

• Paa Akwasi 8 years ago

asem ooo Gh...clean-coal technology in ghana..hmmm...even USA is trying to reduce coal usage cos of its enormous cons-acid rain, co2 emissions,mercury pollution, so2 and global warming. A country with low technical know-how i ...

• NOT IN GHANA 8 years ago

...my dear brother. NEVER IN GHANA. By the way is coal a clean energy source? Several countries including South Africa have got trapped by coal as a source of energy. They are, in fact, making frantic efforts to run away from ...

• Thompson 8 years ago

At the time when Developed are closing down their coal factories, Developing countries including Ghana are advocating for coal plants. The negative environmental impact of coal power plants fast outweigh the economic impact. ...

• Ben 8 years ago

I am not an advocate of coal power generation. This way of producing power has a negative effect on our environment. Ghana must look into solar technology which has no effect on the environment. The question is how long can w ...

• ISAAK 8 years ago

MASSER VRA solar is there why not go for that

• EnoughIsEnough 8 years ago

Do these our so called experts ever learn. Coal power plant in Ghana? You must be very crazy. People of Kpone your air is about to be polluted. You allow this at your own risk.

• Bill 8 years ago

Coal is indeed the way to go,cheap efficient and as they say much cleaner than in the past.
    Solar energy is way to expensive and inefficient.
    You Ghaniains need to do some research of your own into the climate change scam ...

• Kofi Thompson 8 years ago

What has climate change got to do with the particulates and other pollutants emitted from the cone towers of coal-fired power plants - which cause repiratory dieseases in communities sited near coal-fired power plants, Bill? ...

• KWASI MUNA 8 years ago

go for solar and stop this stupidity VRA / MAHAMA.

• Bill 8 years ago

If they do as you ask you will be sleeping in the dark for the foreseeable future.

• Kofi Thompson 8 years ago

A classic example of how our shortsighted vampire-elites constantly shortchange Mother Ghana.

Is Greenpeace Africa not battling South Africa's Eskom, on behalf of communities near South Africa's coal-fired power plants, i ...

• Tawiah 8 years ago

WHY ARE OUR LEADERS SO STUPID LIKE THIS…? COAL IS MENACING SOURCE OF ENERGY, BECAUSE WE HAVE TO USE CASH TO BUY IT AND THAT ISNT AN EASY THING IF U ARE BEING LEAD BY CORRUPT LEADERS AS WE HAVE IN GHANA.

• Nduom 8 years ago

This Ben Sackey is an ignorant man and VRA Board have been deceived, the CHIENES firm's motive is to secure jobs for CHIENES miners and market by dumping coal in Ghana. Coal is dirty fuel and can never be clean,that is why po ...

• Thinking Ghanaman Joe of Abura Dunkwa 8 years ago

Please name one developed country that has not once depended heavily on coal for affordable energy. This initiative has been long overdue.

Many, many countries have achieved success and good life for their people by using ...

• eugene 8 years ago

people die every day from lung cancer in china and it's not from smoking cigarettes

• eugene 8 years ago

so why did you give them contract to build a coal plant and not a gas fired plant or solar plant