You are here: HomeNews2016 05 11Article 437856

Where are the jobs? - Unemployment rate soars

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Godsway 8 years ago

When I read piece like these I always say to myself that Ghana is not a serious nation. I think so because a problem created by a previous government has now become the stock in trade of accusations by those who want power. H ...

• John 8 years ago

AFRC/P/NDC have ruled for almost 27yrs whilst NPP has ruled for 8yrs so who shd carry more of the blame?Probably the unemployed do not have the skills of Selassie Ibrahim,Wayome,Rlg etc to get employed.

• NII 8 years ago

Fool you are not serious. Why did we then voted them to power? To solve the issues they claim they can solve. But what did we get in returns, loot and share, mismanagement and embezzlement, inflation of projects, creation of ...

• Loot and share aboa tanii mahama 8 years ago

Still ghana.have fools follow ndc because of stomach politicians how can unemployment stating from former president check your mouth

• Wofapa 8 years ago

There is the need for a big paradigm change in our education system. People leave school looking forward to be employees of somebody else. No entrepreneurial spirit. Our politics do not help either. The opposition/minorit ...

• Magruder 8 years ago

What a horrible sign ! " a hungry nurse is a killer "?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Do you need to be slapped before you understand the sign the nurse was carrying? A nurse who has not been paid for 2 years is hungry and will not work well. The nurse is indebted, cannot pay rent and utilities. Such a nurse w ...

• kofi adu 8 years ago

unemployment is the devil all over the globe.maybe,usa is about the least but they still have big numbers.

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

The most important thing first is to eliminate waste. One example is is the dolling out of money to eminent people in the community so they would keep mute about government inefficiencies.
    Secondly, the institutions of ststa ...

• Donboli 8 years ago

Ghanaians graduates do not know how to work and nobody will employ a book worm. Graduates should start learning how work is done not looking for employment.
    You have your degree because you can remember what the teacher told ...

• Chiga 8 years ago

If you're creating jobs and schools are springing up like mushrooms and chunning out graduates then the number of unemplyed may be up but it does not mean that jobs were not created. It could rather mean that the education se ...

Chiga, what analysis is this? Do we have any group of people who deserve jobs some who don't? Your party colors have blinded you. Remember Ghana became independent 59 years ago. Is this what we deserve? Shame on you.

• Chiga 8 years ago

Please read carefully, i am not saying the government is doing well, I am just critiquing the fact that growing number of unemployment is not necessarily a case that jobs are not created. I am interested in the study and not ...

Maybe from what you are saying, schools should not be springing up to churn out more of the youth into the labour market. Should people be left uneducated so that the few educated would find jobs? Our country must be able to ...

Where are the babies with sharp teeth? Predictably they will come spew out garbage. They will try to throw cold water on the report but nobody needs a report to know what is going on in the country. Time for Mahama to exit.

• Sappey-Agboh -Tsiame-Alagbokope. 8 years ago

I have a simple question. How do we as a nation capture the number of unemployed or is it just the figment of someone's imagination?. In the developed economies, unemployed people are requested to register as such and looking ...

• Togbe 8 years ago

thats all they know

• Ama Botwe 8 years ago

The only uncivilised party in Ghana is the NPP since they have no programmes and polices.NDC's real focus is to change lives and transformed Ghana.Youth have gained employment in these firms in the country.

Free Zone-16,37 ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Mahama continue to boast of infrastructural development and some chiefs are blinded by it. There is not a single government that has been in existence from Nkrumah to Mahama that has not undertaken a sort of development of t ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

Government should create jobs by legalizing Marijuana.
    We will have ganja biscuits,Ganja soups,Ganja cookies,Ganja condoms,Ganja fuel and ganja pills.

• Loot and share aboa tanii mahama 8 years ago

Mahama ghana fo3 eye wu

• NANA KOFI 8 years ago

Nana ADDO must come now, Aba !

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

Because of ndc sole sourcing of contracts which has been used to destroy Ghana, NDC prefers contract jobs to employing nurses and doctors who are unemployed despite completing school years ago because of the way ndc thieves ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

NDC LIVING in fools paradise to think that we will vote for them again..... Hahahaaaa ide biiiiiiii Keke thieves in government blind to the pains of the poor Ghanaian tax payers....

• Yellow man 8 years ago

Godsway you have no brain in your f#@$king head.Tell me how many years has NPP been in power for and compare that to how long NDC from the time JJ.Do you remember when Ghanaians were promised a middle income status by the yea ...

• Mahama fooling Ghanaians 8 years ago

Stupid Ghanaians following this Corrupt Ndc-govt

• Ama Botwe 8 years ago

NDC is one of the trustworthy governments in the history of Ghana.Under their tenure,123 Community Day Senior High Schools,Two new universities and work is progressing on the Ho and Tamale Airports.

• This taaani is a joke 8 years ago

Incompetent corrupt-president

• Mark Owusu 8 years ago

if a country is being ruled by lies and wicked leaders without vision this is where we shall reach.
    Again if you steal someone position through lies and assisted by wrong election figures its only curses that come upon the n ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU TALKING.

WHEN PEOPLE ARE ONLY EDUCATED IN THE COUNTRY TO BE EMPLOYED AT THE PUBLIC SECTOR FOR NON PRODUCTIVE WORK, WHAT DO YOU EXPECT THE FUTURE OF THE NATION TO BE.

WHO ARE THESE EDUCATIONALISTS AND RESEAR ...

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

The people suffer and agonise daily.....if we allow this buffoon to use state resources to rig his way again then Ghanaians must prepare for daily weeping and gnashing of teeth !

• Joe 8 years ago

Stupid government, why should this mahama rule the nation like Ghana. My God have mercy on Ghanaians.

• Mark Owusu 8 years ago

When the country was given to president John Mahama what was the conditions of the country and today what can we show from all this loans collected.

• Abong 8 years ago

Unemployment is all over the world. It is not Ghana alone

• # VOTE MAHAMA OUT ! 8 years ago

MAHAMA: The Job of the President is More than Just Repeating Polished Lies.!Mahama has Condemned Ghanaians to a Life of Poverty,DUMSOR,HIPC, WOYOME, Killings,HIGH TAXES,HIGH PETROL PRICES.Please VOTE to Cast Mahama OUT from O ...

• GoodMan 8 years ago

A VERY STUPID PLACARD.IF YOU WILL DECLARE YOURSELF AS SUCH THEN LET ME SAY THAT YOU HAVE BEEN DANGEROUS ALREADY,TOGETHER WITH YOUR DOCTORS AND OTHERS IN THE MEDICAL FIELD.WE KNOW THE MISTAKES/NEGLEGENCE/ INCOMPETENCE THAT GOE ...

• TRUMP 8 years ago

NPP DID SO WELL IT SPENT US$2BILLION ON HIPC TOILETS. NO WAY. TOFIAKWA

• GoodMan 8 years ago

INFACT THIS PLACARD POSTED ON THIS TOPIC IS GOING TO TURNISH THE IMAGE OF OUR NURSES/DOCTORS & THE MEDICAL TEAM AS A WHOLE.YOU ARE CAPABLE OF SAVING LIFES AND DESTROYING AS WELL.YOU CAN KILL BY PRESCRIBING WRONG MEDICINES,GIV ...

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

SHAME ON MAHAMA THE CON MAN. HE IS ALWAYS DECEIVING THE RURAL FOLKS WITH EMPTY RHETORIC, BUT THANK GOD ALL THESE STATISTICS ARE COMING OUT. MAHAMA SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF HIS ACCOUNTING TOUR WHEN PEOPLE ARE STARVING. HOW CAN NUR ...

• Asoreba 8 years ago

If everything is based political propaganda, this is what we get !!!

• Abigi 8 years ago

I find it fascinating when Mahama and his cohorts go around promising people jobs. Government's job is not to create jobs but to provide environment for job creation. NDC rather calls itself social democrat, therefore interes ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Yes, I tend to agree with your point that ''Government's job is not to create jobs but to provide environment for job creation''. The problem is that the NDC Government are not carrying out any of these aims. I am not confide ...

• Peter USA 8 years ago

This is because we are not innovative. We do not manufacture at all and everything we order. Governments do not manufacture. It is the people who should try do thing for themselves. We sit down doing thing and crying and bla ...

• NANA USA 8 years ago

If you are a potential killer and you kill you will be jailed but rather ask the president whether he and his family do eat?That is a sensible question to ask.

• Richmond 8 years ago

Ghanians need to re-think.

• waltpro 8 years ago

You'll kill when you choose to. But one day you'll pay for each and every life loss through your negligence.

• King Hassan 8 years ago

we the ntafuo and the Pepe's are proud of president Mahama, that your akyem dwaf will never taste power in ghana.

• TOTO 8 years ago

HOW CAN YOUR PEOPLE BE SUFFERING TO THIS EXTEND AND YOU SAID YOU PEEPEE FUO ARE HAPPY JUST BECAUSE A NOTHER IS THE PRESIDENT. BECAUSE OF YOUR LOW MENTALLITY, MAHAMAH SENT SAADA TO THE NORTH TO TURN AROUND AND STEAL ALL THE MO ...

• TOTO 8 years ago

GHANAIANS THEMSELVES ARE STUPID FOOLS. THOSE WHO CLAIM TO HAVE GONE TO SCHOOL OR CALL THEMSELVES COULD VOTE OUT MAHAMAH. BUT THEY DO THE OPPOSITE. THEY DONT VOTE. THEY RATHER ALLOW THEIR POOR MOTHERS AND FATHRES, SISTERS AND ...

• Vito 8 years ago

You are an idiot and a matured fool You lack common sense.an educated cannot talk like you .

• ghananiba 8 years ago

A LITTLE OVER A WEEK AGO, SPOKE-PRSONS OF THE RULING GOVERNMENT CHURNED OUT FIGURES WELL OVER 200,000 JOBS HAVING BEEN ABSORBED INTO VARIOUS SECTORS OF THE ECONOMY. WAS IT ALL A HOAX?

• kb 8 years ago

Too many mouths to feed. Even the unemployed people are delivering babies! What do we expect?

• Atta j k 8 years ago

It's not government'should duty to give every citizen a job. It is our own creative effort that gives as jobs. We must stop misleading young folks that government will create jobs for them.It doesn't happen anywhere in this w ...

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

The simple-minded idiots at Peacefmonline should put an end to foolish talk even if they feed ignorant readers. Why would the so-called experts know that unemployment role with go from 200,000 to 271,000 but would not know th ...

• @mrlamptey 8 years ago

Jobs are simply not there it's a fact. Governments come governments go the story remains unchanged. Our well skilled youth are hopeless and fraustrated at the none existing opportunities in our motherland. Young bloods of Gha ...

• Vito 8 years ago

Pls can someone advice this useless Ashantis forming de acidic Npp party to stop bringing dis nonsense on de media ....What at all do they want from prez Mahama again

• samuel azumah 8 years ago

who are the caueses of these unemployment,govt or parents?not govt.parents give biths to 9,23 and higher numbers.i see them,parents as unwise.

• Toner 8 years ago

Quality Toner & Ink refill @Amensco Techno Serv.
    We also repair printers and photocopy machines.
     Loc: Abeka New-Fadama.
    Call: 0244523451

• Obiba JK 8 years ago

Mahama and NDC say there are jobs so no problem. They can decide for themselves on 7 th Nov

• Ama Botwe 8 years ago

Ofcourse Yes,there are jobs..President Mhama has created a lot of jobs for the youth in the country since he assumed office.Well-meaning Ghanaians will attest to that fact.

23,ooo youth have gained employment in the agricu ...

• Rude bwoy 8 years ago

#BAWUMIA All THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    #BAWUMIA ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Whatever 8 years ago

You are not researching, you are not diiging, you are not applying, ho will the job come. You cannot be a believer in private ownership and expect massive jobs to be thrown up by Governmenr

• eenezer 8 years ago

but the president thinks otherwise

• komfo. 8 years ago

The economy is in tatters.Turn it round for the industries to function effectively and jobs will surely be created.The bottom line is the economy.Period!

• david writes 8 years ago

please dont kill our patients for us, blame or kill your government in power for causing it so please wai i beg you norses

• Sankofa 8 years ago

We need to measure unemployment and employment accurately.

The Ghana Statistical Service must conduct surveys to collect labour statistics on a periodic basis.

The current situation is leading to false claims by politic ...

• New York Cook Book 8 years ago

Massaging economic data and telling the nation everything is sunshine by the infamous IMF and our Finance Minister do nothing to food on the table for many Ghanaians. Go around the country and find out how many people cannot ...

• NtntAli Mahama 8 years ago

Yes where are the jobs?If we are building Hospitals why are Nurses unemployed.? This situation arises when we have 419 President and Liers as ministers. Nana Beba.

• Samuel Asante 8 years ago

Why was SSS reduced to 3 yrs in a high unemployment country? Isn't this common sense? The government and private sector are not creating enough jobs to absorb the high graduation rate of the youth. The politicians should swa ...