You are here: HomeNews2016 05 11Article 437710

Ghana could be plunged into violence during elections – Experts warn

Read Comments Comments (128)

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Brilliant!!! Now tell us what we don't know.

• facts 8 years ago

Facts are there, we do not need expects to tell. Any Prophet worth his salt can tell you without delays. NDC is desperate to come to power to protect their loots, the opposition sees a lot to say enough is enough.

• KGB 8 years ago

THE EC IS A REFEREE SUPPORTING ONE SIDE (THE NDC).

• Martian Voter 8 years ago

This warning is well intentioned and well stated. Every citizen of Ghana must ensure that the elections are free and fair. There must not even be a hint of threat or violence. Our future depends on it.

• True Talk 8 years ago

The grounds for violence are being laid by the EC. There has to be fairness for all, however the EC is favouring the NDC as we all saw in the recent registration exercise.

• BB 8 years ago

THE EC is not favoring the NDC, the NPP is just crying wolf, why are other parties not complaining if this is true. the NPP are scared they will loose the elections as such, they have devised means of counteracting whatever g ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

... Listen Lady your dog whistle is loud and clear, NPP is gonna loose 2016, and yes there will be violence, nothing new even in civilized democracies.

My only wish would be for all the trouble makers from both sides to DI ...

• PREKESE. 8 years ago

YOU MUST BEAR IN MIND THAT NDC'S RIGGING WILL BRING ALL THIS VIOLENCE.DESPERATE MAHAMAH WILL DO EVERYTHING TO CONTINUE HIS BAD AND LOOTING ADMINISTRATION AND THAT WILL BRING THE SAID TROUBLES AND IT WILL BE HIS WORSST MISTAKE ...

• Divine Ninja 8 years ago

The ILLUMINATI plots to use mind control weapons heavily on Ghanaians to incite confusion and conflicts because they have the brain waves of those they can use to incite a conflict they would help them take control oil. When ...

• osei kojo 8 years ago

not this time around too much has been stolen Ghana is bleeding, some ministers need to be gaoled

• osei kojo 8 years ago

if ndc is confident of winning this election then why the violence,busing minors, registering foreigners, the economy is in tarters, $250million of government funds diverted, tickle yourself and laugh, npp is coming to brin ...

• JOHN 8 years ago

YOU ARE AGAIN GOING TO SAY THE ELECTIONS WERE RIGGED BUT I CAN TELL YOU FLANKLY THAT NANA ADDO DONT HAVE OVERALL SUPPORT IN GHANA TO WIN ELECTIONS. NPP IS AWARE YET THEY SELECTED HIM AGAIN. IF YOU ARE READY TO DIE FOR NANA AD ...

• Nana 8 years ago

If you don't appreciate the governance in ghana and want to war go ahard fools, kill yrselfs and after you've killed yourself, we will come and live in Ghana to appreciate the life u talk soo ill about stupid fools.

• MOSES ASAMOAH 8 years ago

The law should be made to work to the fullest to serve as a deterrent to us all. It is therefore very important for the NPP Ashanti Region Chairman Mr. Bernard Antwi-Boasiako (aka Wontumi) to face the full rigours of the law. ...

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

The country is lawless, period. There's no reason why Woyome and Dzifa Ativor should be walking the streets free. This president called mahama has caused a lot of damage to the country and must be held accountable. Whatever h ...

• BB 8 years ago

Under Nana Akufo-Addo's watch as the Attorney General, three NPP women from Dzorwulu, were caught trying to smuggle narcotics out of the country. The dockets of the three narcotic women got lost under mysterious circumstances ...

• kofi 8 years ago

We the ndc ,always wants this ,,like the lvorian war and after that war no body will classified his tribe as superior to the other.Quatara was said to be non ivorian by the akans

• BB 8 years ago

The truth is, NPP's cocaine business has been clamped down on by the NDC government that is why they are desperate to come to power. The NDC government is the best government Ghana has ever had after Nkrumah. 500 jobs have be ...

• Visache 8 years ago

It is NPP that is rather desperate and clinging with two regions and nothing more for 2016.

• Alien 8 years ago

I bet u NPP will win BA Greater Accra Central and western this election

• APPIAH 8 years ago

This woman is always rocking shoulders with Charlotte,please live her alone you are no nowhere near her level ,besides your organization is invincible,attention seeker,go follow your god Nana Addo and leave her alone nonsens ...

• Apraku 8 years ago

The independency of the security forces in the country has been compromised by the government. People did bad things with impunity and went free with the police looking on without any action.

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 8 years ago

This prostitute is been used by tyrant Nana Akuffo Addo and the NPP yet they will lose massively.

• Deep Thought 8 years ago

She's beating war drums. She will be the first to be sacrificed should anything happens!!!!

• aikins 8 years ago

Ghana security agents are now called ndc security services.

• Grace 8 years ago

NDC GHc5.4m bribe to EC
    The NDC accountant confirmed that he and Asiedu Nketia have bribed the EC with GHc5.4million. That is why the EC is doing he bidding of the NDC by always agreeing with them on issues such as the delib ...

• kofi adu 8 years ago

yes gh.can be troubled.this is not due to mahama's failure but a whole global thing.who is free?spain,italy,greece not to mention the eastern block are all bankrupt.

• Yaw Ben 8 years ago

And the desperation of Akyem Mafia. Even when a party chairman beats a sitting MP nobody talks about it.

• H S Fire 8 years ago

The police is handling that case abi? Unless police is still nobody to you?

And there's no Akyem Mafia in Ghana: the last time I checked, Akyems were not ruling Ghana. The real Mafias are the ones who have ran this countr ...

• K Mensah 8 years ago

Even some ignorant ghanaians worship THIEF MAHAMA as a god.

• NDC IS SATANIC 8 years ago

Eeeeeiiiii !!!! You've brought the biggest curse on yourself, go on your knees and ask God for forgiveness before the unthinkable happen's to you.Who is much more desperate than john mahama the Gonja man and his ndc? Have you ...

• TIME WILL TELL 8 years ago

PERIOD DONE

• TIME WILL TELL 8 years ago

IS TIME MAHAMA LEAVES PERIOD, GHANA MUST WORK AGAIN PERIOD

• BB 8 years ago

it is time Nana Addo accepts defeat, he is too old to run for presidency and he has failed as a leader,if he cannot put his house which is on fire under control, how can he lead a whole country. Mahama has proven that he care ...

• Freddie 8 years ago

If ec official, security and stake holder can be beating and harassed without arrest now is no party than ndc . It never existed be4 , but since pndc/ndc emerging , then all this criminal thing with impunity . Command and con ...

• BB 8 years ago

NPP are always up to something new. when chairman wontumi slapped his fellow lawmaker they saw nothing wrong with it. its interesting how they always want to play the blame game. Prez Mahama meanwhile will keep transforming t ...

• Joo 8 years ago

NPP and Ndc and their irresponsible leaders and lazy followers who only think until their useless aimless leaders and party rule Ghana before their lives will be changed are the prime course of the lawlessness and crimes take ...

• kill me slowly 8 years ago

tweeeaaaaa

• kill me slowly 8 years ago

tweeaaaa

• Bbb 8 years ago

Mahama is determined to become president at all cost but Ghanaians will never allow such a thief and incompetent man to govern us EVER AGAIN..

• BB 8 years ago

Akuffo Addo is the one desperate to come to power by fair or foul means. Mahama is not desperate because he knows he has worked and toiled hard for this country. his records also prove that under his tenure of office,there ha ...

• K Mensah 8 years ago

BB,Your hatred for Akans is amazing.

• Pumpuni 8 years ago

"...a level playing field..."

• dave 8 years ago

Who will plunge the nation into violence? Advise such people to stop bcus I guess u know them. Trees and stones wouldn't do it. There's no motivation for the ruling party to do except those who see elections as do and die aff ...

• Brenya 8 years ago

Ndc want to remain in power so that does who fear to be put into prison will hide.but Experts or who you called yourself tell EC to do proper things

• samuel villa 8 years ago

Yes,expert,give solutions on how to deal with NPP and NDC leadership. Also suggest ways in which to ruling NDC and state institutions will be free from baseless acusasions and lawless attacks.I may sound bias, Nana Addo_led N ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 8 years ago

Nobody is anybody's father in this case or anybody's child?

If you want to talk about father and child,let me ask you; Akufo-Ado and Mahama, who's the child or who's the father?

Ken

• Sofo Banza Kafuta 8 years ago

Akuffo Addo is the father cos he is 72 years. Kikiki, hehehehe. Paa Nanaa n3 k).2

• KOFFI 8 years ago

We can only come out of the impending Presidential and Parliamentary elections unscathed as a nation if, and only if our security services play it fair.
    We are aware most of the men and women in the security services are the ...

• kofi mensah 8 years ago

After struggling hard to be educated, l don't think l would allow irresponsible politicians to use me. Certainly they will use the uneducated and little minds to cause problems, but not their children and relatives. The secur ...

• Sm to da world.. 8 years ago

The IGP of Ghana is the first corrupt police officer to be bought by Mahama.. He is so corrupt that even da NDC macho men slapped his own officers free.... Useless hungry Ghanaians

• H S Fire 8 years ago

This EC woman has lost CREDIBILITY, and that's very dangerous. She MUST show FAIRNESS to ALL stakeholders in order to restore lost credibility, otherwise trouble is imminent.

There's NOT a single issue which the EC is in ...

• Dan Buduh 8 years ago

If the two parties NDC and NPP were at the centre stage of whatever violences happened at the just ended registration, my question is who are the individuals in these two parties responsible for these offences? Are the flag b ...

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 8 years ago

Look Jean Mensa, if any violence at all this will be caused by your boyfriend Nana Addict and his Nagging Peoples Party.

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

EC KNOWS TOO WELL that they deliberately disenfranchised varsity students with full support of ndc government...... We're allowing charlotte osei to joke seriously with our peace...

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 8 years ago

We have stupid and ignorant politicians who are tribalistic who think that Ghanaians owe them a living.For years we have seen people in politics who had not done a day's work in their lives,and have become millionaires.These ...

• Wofapa 8 years ago

The inability of Kudalor to arrest and prosecute vigilantes during the limited voter registration has embolden lawlessness. The IGP made several bold statements that macho men will not be tolerated, admonished political parti ...

• kobby 8 years ago

Engage The military all this nonsense will stop.

• Mr.big stuff 8 years ago

Use the country's Arm forces...
    Deploy them to all the polling stations
    for that day nd a curfew after midnight
    i mean a curfew after midnight with a strict warningsif u are in the road after midnight u do need a special p ...

• KWANIN 8 years ago

This Lady has said it, and if happens, the fault willbe laid at door of Charlotte Osei. This Lady is in bed withNDC , no lie.

• Akpanja 8 years ago

Kwanin you were praying that Afari Djan should go and fortunately he is on pension and Madam Osei was appointed to replace him. What again do you want? Some of you even if God is made the Electoral Commissioner in Ghana I kno ...

• Mr.big stuff 8 years ago

Right on Bro.....

• MENSAH FRED 8 years ago

Call or Whatsap 0249620218
    For your LOTTO WIN
    am Fred Mensah ,I deal with lotto numbers

• Dessie 8 years ago

Preempttuous and presumptuous assumption

• Kay 8 years ago

EC must not open a new date for registration for those university students. That will be a disaster as it will set a precedence.

It will just be endorsing the way we are late for everything.

• Akoloogo fra fra 8 years ago

War is coming because of crooks and corruption no body, nobody can stop it

• Kk 8 years ago

Those propagating violence in ghana are violet themselves. This IEA woman does not have Ghana at heart. They want to fail fall vanish for their own selfish ends. Nov 7 elections will not be violent as they are prophesying. Ye ...

• Tactics 8 years ago

Let the foolish people among Ghanaians show their ugly faces and the special forces will show them where power lies then the country will surely move forward because the wicked will be wiped off the screens of the country, Ak ...

• Frenchman 8 years ago

Rubbish ,rubbish and blablabla. Who is this mother fucker Woman and whom does she want frighten ? We have contained even Rawlings and can contain any mother fucker who threatens our peace in Ghana. Stop blowing hot air ethnoc ...

• North 8 years ago

What level playing field is the IEA boss talking about. The problem is parties not having confidence in state institutions and want to dictate to them.

• milky 8 years ago

I will not be surprise if we see some major violence during election because from 2012 SC verdicts they clearly told us that elections are won on polling station ground.so even shedding blood to win node their will do. God sa ...

• Eyram 8 years ago

The way media houses are making the security agencies topic of discussion is very bad,because of that the security agencies are also careful not to be mention again,so that is the best way to keep a good name

• Mr. Truth 8 years ago

This is true while NPP members believes at all cost they must win. This PATAPAA party is creating confusion in the country. Look what this stupid Wontumi did to Hon. MP in Kumasi. The state have to watch people like Wontumi a ...

• TT Volta 8 years ago

Why do you people in Ghana vote on tribal lines.

Look at how Ghana has become and you are still going to vote for this party? because........Please be a wise person and at least say: I will vote for a change! for change is ...

• Sinclear 8 years ago

Ghanaians will fight when you jump a queue, they fight when standing in a line to buy food. But they will fight for A Political Party. That I can assure you. Ghana won't burn, we love our family, jobs, food, friends more than ...

• Kimathi 8 years ago

Madam expert u are not God, nobody knows what happen tomorrow ...shut up ur evil mouth

• Joseph 8 years ago

Stop complaining and pray to God

• Louis, Mankranso 8 years ago

Indicators which show Ghana can be plunged into civil unrest are:
    The bias of EC
    Lecadesical attitude of security especially the police and the army
    The abuses of the government and her cronies

• Concern Citizen 8 years ago

Yes, the Security services would reluctant because if a person commit and punish the same so called Journalist would be in the air, talk unnecessary things, the security pers should be sent to court and condemned him as well ...

• NDC IS SATANIC 8 years ago

Jean Mensah is beautiful and brilliant than alata Charlotte Osei. Jean has the lip shape of a Ghanaian while the puffy lip of alata Charlotte Osei look's very much Nigerian. This alata 419 lady was brought in by the incompete ...

• Antonio 8 years ago

It's eminent, however we believe prayers can avert that. Having said that, im aware Ghanaians has had enough of John Mahama. The wise Ghanaians wouldn't seat aloof for John Mahama to force himself on us anymore. Ghana has to ...

• BB 8 years ago

Ghana has had enough of arise for change and all die be die. we want a leader who inspires hope and optimism, not fear and by bringing in south Africans to come and train body guards.Ghanaians must avert this change by voting ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Suba,Bus Branding Woyom 8 years ago

NDC is a criminal Organization.

John Mahama must be impeached now!!

STUNNAD is calling on members of parliament as a matter of urgency to save Ghana from eminent collapse, by commencing the impeachment process ...

• BB 8 years ago

NPP is a criminal and cocaine looting party. The Minister of Health under President Kufuor's presidency, Dr. Richard Anane attending an international AIDS Conference, had raw sex with a foreign lady, had a baby with the lady, ...

• Obese 8 years ago

It's evident that the confidence people have in EC and the security has eroded over the years. And this habit harboured by the people is dangerous to national unity. We therefore urge authorities in charge to immediately put ...

• Akple and Abolo 8 years ago

Because the president is big fool he can't be a good leader free educated leader never learned anything,

• Mahama is da biggest mistake... 8 years ago

So true...

• BB 8 years ago

President Mahama is one of the wisest and visionary leaders Ghana has ever had after Nkrumah. it is only the blind who at this point still cannot appreciate the good works of our good President. The mobile clinic service ‘O ...

• King 8 years ago

War mongers.

• KK London 8 years ago

Oh, black people, why is it that we do not know how to do anything good in this world?

No white man's country faces what you Ghanaians are struggling with when it's their turn to vote.

To vote is simply: Go to the polli ...

• Yaa 8 years ago

The country is already in danger, chaos and there is no law and order. Our current government only cares about Chinese Fulani armed robbers murderers and ECOWAS . Ghana is already in danger. Everyone is scared apart from arme ...

• Eric Danddo 8 years ago

Mahama is a hopeless leader all his appointee are not good. Charlotte Osei is inexperience

• BB 8 years ago

Mahama has put together a good team to run the affairs of this country, at least none of his ministers disgrace the country by smuggling drugs( eric amoateng of NPP) or impregnate a woman and transfer taxpayers monies into he ...

• TT Volta 8 years ago

You may be right about one or two development here and there. But the big issue is majority of Mahama's appointees are simply thieves and do not know how to work in the positions they have been appointed.

That is why Ghan ...

• Eric Danddo 8 years ago

Chalotte Osei is hope less

• sumaila mohayideen 8 years ago

When people refused to see the truth and to say it rather than beating around the bush this is what is going to happen .That prostitute called the EC boss would not listen to anybody except john mahama and the NDC and the c ...

• BB 8 years ago

Ghanaians are not suffering because hope and restoration has come under the the able bodied leadership of President Mahama. God will bless Mahama always because of his ability to change lives.The new maritime hospital locate ...

• Chris 8 years ago

Armed robber

• Margaret 8 years ago

This is an intelligent classy woman talking. Take some advice from her not the rude and arrogant EC woman.

• boozu 8 years ago

IEA is aways preaching violence and when violence do breaks out, we will come after Mrs Mensah and the likes first. We know where you stay so don't bother.

• Big Jay 8 years ago

Madam Jean Mensah, you've hit the nail right on head. I'm surprised that John Mahama, the EC and the ndc can't see what we are seeing. The answer is simple, it is spiritually perceived. Their eyes have been sealed with hot ir ...

It is obvious. With an electoral commission so incompetent and biased, the country has no option than to fight. It is clear no one is waiting to go to court this time. All issues will be resolved at the polling stations.

• Dessie 8 years ago

who is the expert:CRAZY photo of the woman out there;she has no idea what war is;if she vraving for war;the war will back to her own

• Spot punishment will do the trick 8 years ago

The violence will be murkier than we want because of the knee deep attitude of supporting one party at the expense of the other by our security agencies and some EC personnel. It's them that need to be educated and discipline ...

• ktz 8 years ago

VIOLENCE WILL ERUPT BECAUSE OF THE EC BOSS

• Tesia Ghana 8 years ago

This is very true because all the signs are written on the wall. There is a party which is at war with it's own members and wants to extend it to the whole nation. It is time the youth wake up from their slumber because they ...

• fighter 8 years ago

".Ghana is sitting on a time bomb . All indications show that there will violence in the coming election.mahama knows he can't win a fair election therefore he will rig it. This will result in violence because majority of Gh ...

• Wisa 8 years ago

I heard an idiot say on radio that he and the ndc had sharpened cutlasses to kill during the November polls n nothing happened to that fool so just wait for the opposition to start using the arms and ammunitions stored

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

Imagine

• Chicago Guy 8 years ago

Tell the truth NDC is curse and cause all the trouble

• simson 8 years ago

Apuutaa! Fake expert.Npp stooge.

• osei kojo 8 years ago

npp is steping to the plate and challenging ndc who used to do every stupidty unchallenged. they beat they steal because they cant get their way this time around

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

Hopefully all those idiots talking Crap and behaving like animals have got escape routes or Plan B like those idiots inciting violence .. they will be quick to leave you behind when leaving with their families ... God For ...

• GHANA FIRST 8 years ago

EC, IPAC etc should just place heavy sanctions on political parties whose activists cause any disturbance anywhere in the country from now onwards. Sanctions should include ban on the party's elections monitoring teams in tha ...

• Moo 8 years ago

Hypocrisy, tell as us what you think. is it the slaps, the lies and the in blows at the npp that you don't to be bold and say it as it is or what? noting is going to happen to MOTHER GHANA.

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

That is why no private Militia with Political interests should be allowed to exist in Ghana. Period!

The so-called Invisible Forces, the private Militia with Foreign Mercenary support as Akufo-Addo contracted, and any wit ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

In fact, the Army must be put on notice that it could be deployed to assist the Police and other Security Agencies to secure all Pollen Stations around the Country, without inhibiting voters to freely cast their votes.

Lo ...

• NOBODY 8 years ago

The only ones making noise about violence are the NPP and its silent supporters like the IEA. These naysayers have been doing their best to undermine the EC while trying to spread fear among the electorate. But they'll fail, ...

• Abubakari. Shaibu 8 years ago

No No that will naver happy,We Love each other, And I hope all of us will pray for peace.

• and so? 8 years ago

yes mahama must leave no transactions and exchanges,We are not fools

• Brofo 8 years ago

COULD?

• pkirks 8 years ago

You don't set up concepts of programs and thinking bad things will happen when people refuse to participate.

• culture Arlington 8 years ago

Who said if there is war ewe so or Gas will survive Ashantis will from alliance with Dagombas .kill the foolish ewes like dumelo and co

• Fred 8 years ago

LOOK AT YOU, YOU ARE THE EXACT ORGANIZATION WHICH WILL PLUNGE OUR BELOVED MOTHER GHANA INTO VIOLENCE AT ANY TIME.

• kejetia king kong 8 years ago

Lady go fuck yourself

• Sammy 8 years ago

In Ghana any goat who can speak English is labelled an expert ! Other than Jean Mensa and Yiadom who else spoke to the issue and what is their pedigree as far as governance is concerned.

• original Gonja Lion 8 years ago

Yes and Nana addo will be the President as the people's choice and Mahama will be in Hague ICC

• Kofi Kyei- Baffour Kantanka 8 years ago

We must outlaw "foot soldiers" and "all die be die." Secondly, we must outlaw donations exceeding what the average Ghanaian can afford.