You are here: HomeNews2016 05 07Article 436715

Obuasi galamsey: AngloGold drags Ghana to ICSID

Read Comments Comments (47)

• LIONEL.....Hohoe VR 8 years ago

Ndc are riding on us.We Voltarian will deal with them this year's elections.We are no more your world Bank or IMf.We the youth are determined to stop you.Most of the leaders especially Mps and ministers in government ate work ...

• STAFFORD 8 years ago

What is the use of these investors when the country begs for money. The Army sees it is necessary to withdraw and give in to the ordinary Ghanaian to benefit and enjoy the blessings of our motherland.

• KOOBOY 8 years ago

YOU HAVE SYSTEMATICALLY DESTROYED ALL THE ARABLE LANDS IN THE OBUASI AREA. INSTEAD OF DRAGGING GHANA TO THE ISCID, YOU ANGLOGOLD SHOULD GO BACK TO THE TABLE AND REVISE YOUR CONTRACT WITH GHANA SO THAT THE INHABITANTS WHOSE LA ...

• Ken 8 years ago

If you think you can develop an underground mine why don't you just go for it? Do you think the over menu is foolish by giving the land to investors? Because we don't have the technology and resources to do that! What the ill ...

• Tt boy 8 years ago

Lies.u are an Ashanti idiot.arest that boy wuatumi

• SAY IT LOUD ! 8 years ago

HAS IT FORGOTTEN THAT THE MINE WAS ILLEGALLY SOLD TO IT BY KTHIEFOUR FOR COINS AND A HOMOSEXUAL AWARD FROM HOLOCAUSTON?

WHAT AUDACITY DOES IT HAVE TO TELL ANY GHANIAN OWNER OF THE MINE NOT TO DIG HIS OWN GOLD.

THIS IS N ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

We will ensure we have guardians and not foreign watchman as leaders.

Vote skirt and blouse and mix-mix in November.

• Kojo 8 years ago

Even a my 2 year old boy won't think like you! If Ghana has the resources to develope an underground mine why will they let an investor do it? Think and do ur research!

• Kojo 8 years ago

Get a job and a life! Grow up!

• Wiseone 8 years ago

Get a job.

• Kwame Peprah 8 years ago

THIS IS JUST NONSENSE AND ONLY A BAIT FOR JUDGEMENT DEBT CHOP CHOP.BOTH LEADERSHIP IN GOVERNMENT AND ANGLOGOLD ARE THIEVES CONNIVING TO STEAL MONEY FROM GHANAIANS

• Isaac Bonu 8 years ago

Ghana government should be up and doing else the mine is in the verge of collapse.

• Ghanawatch 8 years ago

Is the government saying that it has not got the capacity to stop the illegal activities of glamsayers in Ashanti Gold concessions?And the government thinks what is happening to AshGold will encourage foreign investors to inv ...

• BLADE 8 years ago

Mahama's attention is only focused on rigging the 2016 election and nothing else. come see hanna bissiu, mp for tano south weilding a pistol at a polling station at Derma where ndc macho men brutalised npp supporters yesterda ...

• Tt boy 8 years ago

Another idiot.go and tell wuatumi to stop galamsey nonsense

• antwi 8 years ago

This govt is simply not up to the task in all sectors of the economy. John will be the only president to have one term . He s just not a presidential material .

• SB DAMTAR 8 years ago

Who cares if it collapses.
    What are at all are they doing for Ghana apart from extract our Gold and repatriate to their countries!

They should deal with them!
    Nonsense. More Gallamseying.

• KK 8 years ago

SB Damtar or whatever you call your self,It is backward and primitive people like you who are running this country and that is why Ghana is in this mess. I am not sure you really understand what you have written. Do you know ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

U are an idoits. No amount of taxes from the 'Pamana Devils' will replace gainful employment by own people.

If it was great, why do we have more than half our budget heavily subsidies by foreign donors.

And hey, don't g ...

• Jay 8 years ago

Ignorance! Greedy people!
    What have illegal miners done for Obuasi since they started operating? They are thieves and robbers! And they are damaging the environment! Greedy people who just steal ore to process and sell for t ...

• Kano 8 years ago

KK! Blessings to the womb who born you! You have said it all!

• Grow up 8 years ago

If your relative work at Goldfield will say nonsense.. NDC govt; is killing jobs but say they are creating jobs.. The minimum wage in Ghana today is 7Gh a day.. ask the DEAD GOAT if he can leave on that..Yet Minister for empl ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Don't ever use that silly phrase, if your family worked. Nepotic fool.

U sound like an illegal miner urselF! Get a job! You galamsey wars are stealing gold for only your pockets! What have you done for Ovuasi apart from bribing the MCE and Ackon every week! You give them GHC60000 every week to b ...

• Asem Bebadabi 8 years ago

I have written and will continue to write about the repeated mistakes of African governments.For a whole President to sit down for trespassers to mine a contracted piece of land by his government tells you what kind of leader ...

• Boachie 8 years ago

Why every investor come to Africa and take the national property, they should come and build houses, roads etc with their money

• Kwabena Kasapreko. 8 years ago

THE GHANA GOVT. SHOULD BE ABLE TO INTERVENE AND SAVE THE COMPANY FROM THESE ILLEGAL MINERS. THE COMPANY SHOULD BE ASSIGNED LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS TO HELP THE COMPANY WEED OUT THESE ILLEGAL MINERS. IT IS A DISGRACE FOR THE G ...

• King 8 years ago

Govt dont want to stop them bc most of the galamesey guys r NDC and bc we r in the election year dey dnt want to take any chances and des guys can even kill bc dey know dey hv a govt to come them.. Obuasi must not die

• frank 8 years ago

Why Otumfou......... Don't you see

• ALAN CASH 2018! 8 years ago

Ghana government must take over the gold mines...what nonsense is this?

• yaro 8 years ago

is very painful to see anglogold ashanti go through all this problems.this is one company that duly pays tax to the government and will not compromise their tax obligation even if their workers are disadvantaged and yet gover ...

• KOJO 8 years ago

I'm in agrement with you,Mr. Yaro,it's sad Aglogold is in this condition.Rise up Mr. Prez. and save this global prolific company.

• MENSAH FRED 8 years ago

call or Whatsap me for your lotto win
    am Fred Mensah, I deal with lotto Numbers

• k, no problem, a 8 years ago

The mines should be given back to the Ashanti kingdom period. They will mine it and government will take taxes as ut us doing with Anglogold. We are getting nothing if the mines do not belong to us.

• Foreigner 8 years ago

The opportunity has always been there. The issue is that Ghanaians and/or their companies have not been willing or unable to invest multi-millions of dollars to do large scale mining.

• Swatti 8 years ago

Mahama has failed

• Asampana 8 years ago

Why should the government of Ghana provide military for Anglogold who long before this invasion had gone down and bailed? Does Anglogold share profits with the government to warrant the mobilization of the army to fight of en ...

• Ken 8 years ago

The government provided military as part of an Agreement with AGA and they got the military because the illegal miners were stealing from AGA's mining concession. The government is the one who has created this problem for its ...

• M M T 8 years ago

It's rather unfortunate. AngloGold deserves better.

• Ray 8 years ago

It's a big digrace to this country. This's happening because the NDC wants a million votes in Ashanti region. Come to obuasi and see the negative impact of this not achievable stupid million votes thing

• Kwame Mensah 8 years ago

For the sake of votes over 5300 Ghanaians have been sent home. If they cater for an average of 5 persons, 26,500 have lost their livelihoods.Ghana mine workers union is losing substantially from dues. the 3% and 2% charged ar ...

• Yaw B 8 years ago

This is part of a conspiracy to frustrate chase out Anglo Gold Ashanti so the brother of the President can take it over for free.

• Ras-Bornky 8 years ago

Where are jobs for the youths

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

This so called democracy imposed on us by the selfish West who intentionally failed or refused to accept that the present mentality of the people in Ghana and the so called third world can not be handled with the kind of demo ...

• reality 8 years ago

What is the use of Anglogold in obuasi in the first place? Companies come companies go,but the question is what benefit has it been to the indigenous of obuasi? You can talk of Len clay stadium, and a few more.but is that eno ...

• teneboah kodua 8 years ago

Why THE NDC government want to perpetuate galamsey

• Kwame. Italy 8 years ago

I don't have any tears for AGA, they have operated in that Oboasi enclave for decades but they have failed woefully to develop the area just as is done everywhere in the world.