You are here: HomeNews2016 05 04Article 435878

Nduom advocates higher prices for imported goods

Read Comments Comments (11)

• Papa 8 years ago

He is right. Encourage our local producers.

• Obroni 8 years ago

Mr. Ndom, under which rock have you been hiding in the US? Tell customers of your newly acquired US bank that north Korea is an economic example I bet even Donald Trump will wash your ears.

• Keynes 8 years ago

Where did Mr Nduom learn his economics?

• Nii Nkunim 8 years ago

Encourage Local companies. How can we develop them with all this unfair competition. Give Nduom a chance to change ghana

• Daud fatawu 8 years ago

I disagree with induom because such a policy can not work in Ghana or in any developing country. Remember most consumers in developing countries believe that the higher the price of a commodity the higher the quality. I sugge ...

• Foreigner 8 years ago

This is a short term policy that can't be sustained. North Korea is a bad example. It's continually under sanctions from the UN and large proportion of it population would starve without food aid.

Think of this in the lo ...

• JOY 8 years ago

The move to increase prices of imported goods will be pre-mature. How prepared is the local industry to support the production of local goods? Is the economy ready to manufacture to meet the needs of citizenry? Is the governm ...

• akwasi Agyei, adenta 8 years ago

I sympathise with Dr Nduom 'cos he would want to see Ghanaian industries flourish to the benefit of Ghanaians. The truth however is that Ghana is a signatory of the WTO treaty. Becos of this Ghana can't go the way Paa Kwesi i ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

YOU CAN ONLY ADVOCATE HIGHER PRICES OF IMPORTED GOODS,WHEN THE SO CALLED EDUCATED WITH BIG DEGREES AND PHD TITLES ARE IN THE POSITION ANBD CAPABLE TO PROCESS OUR NATURAL RESOURCES INTO FINSHED PRODUCTS FOR VITAL SERVICES IN T ...

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Impose higher taxes on imported goods and you'll be causing pain for many who are poor and have to purchase imported goods, particularly from China. If the idea is to impose higher taxes on imported luxuries and certain class ...

• kwabena ohemeng,london 8 years ago

I hope ghanaians will listen and consider this sensible suggestion from Dr Nduom.The rapid economic development of South Korea was down to the government banning the use of foreign products.It was even an offence to smoke for ...