You are here: HomeNews2016 04 24Article 433317

Allow politicians on-air 3 months to polls – Otumfuor tells media

Read Comments Comments (49)

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

just tell NPP to stop sabotaging mahama, NDC is for peace and development not all die be die party, collapse npp

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Congratulations to the President for his Progressively Free Quality Education Programme which has shot the University of Ghana to 7th place in Africa. Insha Allah, UG will be the first by the end of Mahama's second term. Watc ...

• DB 8 years ago

Does your comment make sense to you? I don't understand why some of you think governance is a joke and lose your sense of objectivity. Continue with your foolishness. You will surely reap what you are sowing. Ask the founder ...

• Integri procedamus 8 years ago

Again, another NDC illiteracy. The progression of UG is due to structural and academic changes the Vice-Chancellor Ernest Ayitey introduced since his term started in 2009. Changing the grading system, changing the course cont ...

• Charles Higgins 8 years ago

The first two to comment are Sanjay the Insane and Aponkye Goat.Is Kofi USA dead?

• mike 8 years ago

Well said nana

• William 8 years ago

Very pertinent. This one area the Media Commission should also come in with the EC!

• CORNEY 8 years ago

You guys don't know what you are talking about,how are you going to do that,how will the media make their money when 99% or more of their activities involve politics,who goes to their studious throughout the year to talk,who ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

...very thoughtful for a very volatile and undisciplined institution. However I do not believe that they will heed your advice, because all of them operate disingenuously and only as pimps. The trouble I have with everybody i ...

• Samson 8 years ago

Why should someone in their right senses establish a radio station or tv station mainly for politics. This is not done in civilised countries whose democracy we are trying to copy. I have not heard any radio stations in the U ...

• Addo,Accra 8 years ago

Oh!iam behind you 100 per cent but the 3 months too is too much just 30 days

• Nyetefetor 8 years ago

The media would be laid off and ignorant politicians made irrelevant even though this is the a necessary antidote to our retarded partisan and stalled development. A nation blessed with so much to prosper?????

• ghanaman 8 years ago

Otumfuo's suggestion must be carefully evaluated and adopted in most practical form.

• Tiger,Kumasi 8 years ago

Its the medias destroying this peaceful country

• Michael UK 8 years ago

It's unfortunate that most of our institutions are weak and corrupt. They allowed corruption and tribal politics to influence their activities. Has the Ec set a date for political parties to start campaigning? Why are the med ...

• Michael UK 8 years ago

Re. Influenced by Politicians

• Yahaya 8 years ago

Yeh, so that Mahama can campaign alone all-year round. The most bizarre suggestion coming from a chief who should not dabble in politics.

• Reasoner 8 years ago

Politics has its roots from the palace where the welfare of the citizenry is protected.

• Apuskele 8 years ago

This will mean the incumbent President will have five years to campaign and other candidates will have three months to campaign.

• Opanyin Kwansah 8 years ago

Nana has said it all! Politicians disturb as too much on air with their unprofessional presentations. I am at times wonder why FM station will be discussing political programne in the night. Haba! And I wonder the type of ...

• Geo 8 years ago

It should be the law, That all Political campaigning should start three months to the election date. All banners and Billboards used in advertising parties must be pulled down two weeks after elections.

• Reasoner 8 years ago

Though unemployment and lack of job creation is the cause of numerous uneffective jounalist and media stations,yet.we need to go back to the old GBC programmes with a bit of reforms.The media use 24 hours talking about politi ...

• Eric Danddo 8 years ago

We have to Separate Political discussion and Campaign. You can't stop Political discussion on Air. Political Discussion don't hinder development is the Corruption, Selfishness, Greed , Womanising , poor Appointees which hinde ...

Politicians on Air don't hinder development but Coruption hinder our Development

On Only in Ghana you hear Sitting President has to go Round the Country to Account to the People. Every one Knows that he is Campaigning receiving Endorsement from Chiefs. Our Politic Stinks

• Ernest 8 years ago

Your ignorance is legendary, read a little.

• kingzai 8 years ago

Nana you are right, because politics are destroying our dear nation mother Ghana so Nana 100 percent behind you.

• innocentalampain 8 years ago

Nana u have said it all

• Bbb 8 years ago

Good morning Nana

• Ernest 8 years ago

Is not gonna work Nana for political discussions will always be mixed with some forms of campaigning.

• Yussif 8 years ago

Otumfour should also learn not to intimidate his colleague chief in their various jurisdictions,he's only a chief to the Asante people,on less he's saying that his territory extends beyond the borders of the Ashanti regional ...

• Togbega 8 years ago

Dont bring yoursekf Kwaku Duah! Take care of the numerous squabbles in your chiefdom and stay away from meddling in politics. Were you not caught on camera dancing to yentie obiaa after the $23 million rehabilitation of the K ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

The Asantehene and President Mahama, were caught on camera dancing in celebration of a multi-million rehabilitation of Kumasi Airstrip. Yes, and so what? Did they break any law? Was not a private function in the Palace of the ...

• NANA TUFUHENE 2 8 years ago

HOW DID THIS CHIEF GET OLD SO QUIK?I REFUSE TO CALL HIM KING BCOS HE DOSEN'T DESERVE IT, WHILE THE ASHANTIS ARE BEING SLAUGHTERED BY FOREIGNERS, YOUTH UNEMPLOYMENT, WHILE YOU BUYING MANSIONS IN FOREIGN COUNTRIES AND ABUSING A ...

• Mr. Brain 8 years ago

Well said my GRANDFATHER .

• zikay 8 years ago

Wise king has spoken

• DAASEBRE KWAME APPIA MENKA 8 years ago

ZIKAY, WORSE CHIEF SPOKEN, NOT WISE KING. HE DOSEN'T DESERVE TO BE AN ASHANTI KING HE IS SHAME AND EMBARRASSMENT TO OUR HERITAGE, BECAUSE OF YOU ASHANTIS ARE BEING SPIT ON BOTH HOME AND ABROAD. BACK IN THE DAYS ASHANTIS WERE ...

• Obiri Yeboah. Lond 8 years ago

My King has spoken,the wise always give good advice.Long live my King,may you rule for long.That is the main reason why always one has to respect elders .The 3 months is enough for every political party to campaign to the ...

• KWANTABISA KWABENA DUA 8 years ago

Obiri Yeboa he is only your king, because you're being paid to appease him on this platform. Shame on you all and continue sucking his ass 4 crumbs.95% ASHANTIS HATE THIS MORON

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Kwantabisa,when & where did you carry out a research survey, that showed that 95% of Asante's hate our King? Please stop making such unfounded comments without supporting facts. If my memory serves me right the current Asante ...

• Appiah Kubi 8 years ago

Yaw Yeboah, my family still lives in Ashtown and I know from Krofrom, dichemso throughout Kumasi metropolitan area. Anytime we go to this area they all calling him bad name. If you're true Ashanti, never before Ashanti's bein ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

My Mother's Family hail from Ampabame Village in the Kwabre District, however, relatives also live in the Kumasi areas of Mbrom, CPC and Ash Town. If you really live in Ash Town, you will know that all 3 areas border on the ...

• Sos 8 years ago

So that Mahama can go on his campaign . Is this the wisdom you talk about.

• Marcus Chris Lawson 8 years ago

This suggestion in my humble opinion is a commonsense to political activism
    The wise thought can spare us the political nonsense that disturbs the tranquility of the land space
    Indeed we should and Must not have an all sea ...

• Samson 8 years ago

Brilliant suggestion from a wise head and respected leader. This is what happens in civilised countries that we should aspire to attain. Too much time is wasted politicking and this is a bane of our democratic dispensation.

• NOBODY 8 years ago

And what will the NPP vuvuzela do in the meantime? Lose their minds for not being able to make threats and spew lies before the three month window?

• kobby1 8 years ago

kwame sefa kanyi could only employed for 3 months

• still rastafari 8 years ago

nice suggestion ..it cld be examined properly