You are here: HomeNews2016 04 15Article 431195

Mahama fights Nana over economy

Read Comments Comments (106)

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

Only doom doom doom lies ahead of Ghanaians big time...... Ndc thieves are robbing Ghana big time....

• Abu Boah 8 years ago

The NDC has worked so hard to ensure that the economy is stable and we can see from afar that things are getting well and improving. The Deputy Minister of Finance highlighted that in 2015, there was a deduction in the physic ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

Let the whole Ghana and the whole world know that in Ghana now, we have nurses, teachers and doctors sitting at home unemployed because we lack money to pay them......

• ACIDIC PIGMY 8 years ago

NANA ADDO'S HEIGHT ISSUE IS THE MAJOR PROBLEM WORRYING HIM FROM WINNING THE ELECTIONS ALL THESE DECADES. BUT HIM AND AUNTIE REBECCA AND HIS OFFICIALS AND ADVISERS SEEM NOT TO BE GETTING THIS ISSUE.

THE EARLIER THEY DEAL WI ...

• Abu Boah 8 years ago

Nana Addo is begging for money from Ghanaians to support their campaign. and you want us to support him with our money. Which money he is going to use to develop the country, the one he collected from Ghanaians

• OGYA-O-OGYA 8 years ago

DONKEY,MAHAMAH HAS STARTED STEALING OUR MONEY FOR HIS CAMPAIGN TO SEEK FOR ANOTHER MANDATE.THE SAME OLD STORY,WE HAVE EATEN THE MEAT TO THE BONE.KWASEATO,NANA ADDO IS BEGGING BUT NOT STEALING FROM ANYONE.WHAT IS WRONG ABOUT T ...

• Seidu Fuseini 8 years ago

All Political campaigns and movements ask for financial pledges and aid. Even in America Obama, and now Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders, Trump etc ask for their supporters aid. Mahama is not asking for any help because he is ...

• sick 8 years ago

WHERE DOES THE MONEY FOR NDC CAMPAIGN COMES FROM, GHANAIAN WISE UP. ITS YOUR TAXES. THRY ARE STEALING EVERY PENNY. AAAA GHANA LAND OF GOLD AND HONEY NOW LAND OF THEIVES

• Baba 8 years ago

"I am more bullish"!!! Indeed!! mediocrity at is best under Mahama! Comparing Ghana to Ghana in the last 16 years, to say that Ghana's economy is bullish is to wallow in a display of crass mediocrity. Your party inherited an ...

• Nana Simpson 8 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA INHERITED AN ECONOMY WITH A GROWTH RATE OF 14% IN 2012 WHEN HE CAME INTO OFFICE AND HAS DRIVEN IT TO BELOW 3.7% IN 2016. WHAT ELSE DOES ONE NEED TO KNOW AND UNDERSTAND THAT THE ECONOMY IS IN TATTERS? THE PEOPLE AR ...

• Eric 8 years ago

what has the height of mahama done for ghanaians ? apart from stealing ,incompetences. if this is your level of your thinking then ghana is doom.

• dead goat 8 years ago

you are a pig just like your name sounds.is it .

• Abu Boah 8 years ago

We don't lack money. Its only when things are not going on with u that is when we begin to cry that there is money. Dont worry as long as the president is laying down the foundation, definitely money will be loaded in your po ...

• POWER OF THE PEOPLE 8 years ago

PAY THE HUGE BORROWED DEBT AND AFTER THAT PUT MONEY IN THE POCKETS OF THE CENERATIONS TO COME , PAY TEACHERS , NIRSES AND ALL WORKERS ---YOU NDC ARE THE MOST WICKED AND FOOLISH LAIRS IN THE WORLD ....PEOPLE DONT SEEM TO FACE ...

• BB 8 years ago

NDC has only one agenda and it is to transform the nation. It is the NPP who are desperate to come to power to come steal. However this govt is focued on transforming the nation. So far, 34,657 jobs have been created by the N ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

NKRUMAH HAD NO WOYOME FRIENDS TO KILL Ghana through CREATE LOOT SHARE AND WEEP SCHEMES LIKE NDC, JOHNMAHAMA, AND ATTAMILLS DID...

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

JUST LIKE HOW THE NPP AND FORMER PRESIDENT KUFOUR HAD THEIR OWN.WHERE A MIN. CHARLES BINTIM DEPOSITED 2 BILLION CEDIS INTO HIS PERSONAL ACCOUNT,WHERE $75MILLION WAS NOT ACCOUNTED FOR DURING THE GHANA @50,WHERE STATE PROPERTIE ...

• ken kweku Agyeman 8 years ago

So why not proceed to the courts or the police if you have evidence which implicates JDM of any wrong doing.

But Ghanaians know the NPP had cronies like George Owusu and Ambassador Edusei, both pals of President Kufuor, w ...

• Bright Amegashie 8 years ago

NDC IS THE AND JD MAHAMA ARE THE LOOTING CORRUPT THIEVES WHO ARE DESTROYING GHANA. GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT AND STOP PEDDLING FALSE HOODS. VOTE THIS INCOMPETENT MAHAMA GOVERNMENT OUT. HE IS DESTROYING GHANA!!!

Stop peddling these untruths. The current deficit-to-GDP ratio is pegged at 7.2% and not 72% thus you can confirm from the bank of Ghana if you want. The lies you keep churning out just goes to prove that the NPP has no messa ...

• KOO 8 years ago

It is not deficit to GDP but rather debt to GDP.This is around 72%.

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

Why is AMISSAH ARTHUR UNABLE TO PRAISE D economy of Ghana..... He's an intellectual so he's unable to espoused the indefensible ........ Hahahaaaa ide biiiiiiii Keke thieves in government blind to the pains of the poor kayaye ...

• Marquis 8 years ago

Because you don't argue with liars as no one will see the difference my dear.

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

If 72% DEBT TO GDP RATIO IS nothing to you, then no wonder we are where we are....... Sooooooooooo much expenditure with very little to show for it...... Nurses and doctors and teachers sitting at home unemployed because we l ...

• Abu Boah 8 years ago

The GDP is doing significantly well according to the deputy minister of finace. She stated that the GDP rate now is 7.8 per cent and its highly likely that the GDP of Ghana will even grow better this year. Nurses and Teacher ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

My friend, it appears you have been listening to too much propaganda from NDC serial callers. Who told you GDP is 7.8%? Even your governments projected GDP growth for this year is not up to 4%. If you don't have the facts, pl ...

• ABBA ATTA 8 years ago

VP AMISSAH ARTHUR DOES NOT NEED TO PRAISE THE PRESENT STATE OF THE ECONOMY, HE ONLY TELLS IT AS IT IS, IT IS NOT THAT DOOMED AS YOU RHETORICALLY PUT IT, RATHER FLOWERY AND POETIC, IT WILL NOT ACHIEVE ANYTHING. GRANTED THE THE ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

Just practice fiscal discipline and see wonders..... Any government that instantly started dubious judgment debts payments IS BOUND TO SUFFER..... SUFFER BCOS WE HAVE PEOPLE IN POWER WHO LACK INTEGRITY AND CONSCIENCE TO MANAG ...

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

WE WERE ALL IN GHANA DURING THE NPP'S ADMINISTRATION,WHERE THE GOV'T MISMANAGED GHANA TELECOM,GHANA AIRWAYS,NOW THESE COMPANIES ARE NO MORE DUE TO THE LACK OF CONSICIENCE,LACK OF INTEGRITY,INCOMPETENCY IN THE HIGHEST ORDER.SO ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

What more evidence do you need to understand John Mahama is incompetent and ndc government is duping Ghanaians big time while we wallow in abject poverty...

• Abu Boah 8 years ago

The fact that the vice president doesnt engaged himself in economic dialogue doesnt mean he cant give solutions to the economic challenges facing the country. Its been 4 years now since we entered into an agreement with the I ...

YOU PEOPLE ARE THE MOST INSANE WICKED AND PRIMITIVE PEOPLE ON EARTH- NDC PEOPLE
    TELL YOUR PRESIDENT TO PAY ALL THE DEBT HE HAS PUT ON THE HEAD OF GHANAIANS ..THIS IS WHAT WE ARE TALKING ABOUT

• Kwame Anshong 8 years ago

We put leaders in power to solve problems. So far the NDC has solved most of the issues which face as. The following are some of the problems solved :

1. Dumsor : Unlike the NPP who asked that Pastors pray to solve dumsor. ...

The problem with the NPP is simple: They confuse talking for working.

We all the know the only thieves in this country are in the NPP. ie; the former speaker of Parliament under the NPP,Sekyi Hughes looted his official bun ...

• Bright Amegashie 8 years ago

THIS FAKE NAME OF KEN KWEKU AGYEMAN IS ACTUALLY A PSEUDONYM BEING USED BY THE SAME PERSON WHO WRITES ON HERE AS DOROTHY BROOKS, NANA SIMPSON ETC. THIS JUST GOES TO SHOW YOU HOW THE NDC ARE DESPERATE ENOUGH TO CHANGE NAMES AND ...

• sick 8 years ago

SO NDC SHD LOOT TOO? WHAT NONSENSE IS THAT. PUT YOUR THINKING CUP ON. GHANAIANS

• BENSON O 8 years ago

Yaa Yaa trust me the ede booking keke will win the November 7th elections.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

Nana Addo walking along a road in the countryside comes across Mahama a shepherd and a huge flock of sheep. Tells the shepherd, "I will bet you 100 Cedis against one of your sheep that I can tell you the exact number in this ...

• Abu Boah 8 years ago

The President said the economy was resilient and its true. it will be imporved if the regulations outlined to us from the IMF and World bank are taken seriously. The Projects commissioned by the president will boost the GDP a ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

The economy will be stable next year? Why not this year? Are you doubting what your President said? I thought the economy is better today than in the past, according to Mr Mahama. You see, when you lie and you're challenged, ...

SENSELESS PEOPLE IN DARKNESS WILL REMAIN PRIMITIVE TILL THY KINGDOM COME -NDC

• kk 8 years ago

Yesooo Nana is right we need change the economy is totally bad people are dying so we need Nana n NPP to come n rescue mother GH

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

.....AFTER WASTING 8 MONTHS OF MAHAMA LED-NDC ADMINISTRATION IN SC,AKUFO ADDO-NPP TURN COAT TO SAY GHANA IS IN CRISIS.INFACT,THIS KAPWEPWE IS SICK IN THE HEAD. IMPORTATION OF THE TRIO MERCENARIES IS MISMANAGEMENT,CLUELEES,VIS ...

• JOHN 8 years ago

I suspect the 3South African retired police personnels(terrorists) who were brought in by NPP are also part of the reason why John Mahama cannot perform.Our President is reaaly suffering in the hands of Nana.

• aikins 8 years ago

Are you alright?

• Omanba Kwame 8 years ago

What the heck,and who do you take us for,mahama?!Do you not know that we have been educated too that we can read between the lines?!
    Boy,if you are not stupid,stop throwing dust in our eyes;because we can see,read,hear and f ...

• Marquis 8 years ago

No Omanba. He is not rather you are. Go round the country and see what is going on. Accra and Kumasi are not only Ghana.

• Hanson 8 years ago

My friend, stop deceiving yourself. What is outside Kumasi and Accra that we don't know? When the NDC is challenged, then you refer us to unknown places. There is nothing monumental happening in Ghana so stop your senseless p ...

• BB 8 years ago

Mahama is not incompetent,he has proven to be an efficient and selfless leader.23,000 youth were employed under the youth in agric program in 2013 alone. The numbers have even gone up since.

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

NDC government is toooooooooooo scared to display projects costs..... Hahahaaaa

• Abu Boah 8 years ago

The projects can be displayed but does it really matter. What matters is that we are going to benefit from these projects and it is going to change the lives of people. The road networks, community schools, hospitals both in ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

You have completely lost it. Is that how you would run your company? Would you embark on a capital investment without considering value for money? Do you know the consequences of such practise> OMG! Some of you don't have sha ...

• sick 8 years ago

HANSON, THE COUNTRY IS FULL OF EDUCATED ILLITERATES. BELLY FULL OFFICIALS. CAN NOT THINK FOR THEMSELVES. FO.......S

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

IF INDEED YOU ARE SUFFERING AS YOU AND THE NPP INTEND PAINTING,THEN I DO NOT THINK YOU WILL BE HERE COMMENTING.PRES.MAHAMA HAS SOLVED THE DUMSOR ISSUE SO YOU CONNECTED WITH YOUR PHONE OR PC,YOU HAVE MONEY TO GET DATA,IF YOU H ...

• TM's 8 years ago

Government the country like a father with 10 children , with he catering for all. It's sad mahama has eyes but can't see , ears can't hear. What a bad person he is. We shall account for our deeds.

• Frank 8 years ago

IAmForNana apps. Plesse download the apps on your mobile phone and contribute some money to help kick out the NATIONAL DEMOCRATIC CRIMINALS (N D C) from their corrupt power.

• KWAME 8 years ago

I support Nana perfect that the economy is in crisis. Buildding infrastructure with heavy taxes and borrowing do not make the economy doing well. I maintain any ''stupid'' leader can borrow and build infrastructure.
    I wish t ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

MAHAMA IS CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT HIS TIME IS UP AND MUST BE VOTED OUT. CHANGE IS COMING. NOT EVERY VOLTARIAN IS AN NDC MEMBER

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

HOW DO YOU DEFINE INCOMPETENT,IT SEEMS THE ENTIRE NPP DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE TERM INCOMPETENCY.WHEN OVER 11,843 EDUCATIIONAL INSTITUTIONS HAVE BEEN BUILT.DAILY THE PRESIDENT INAUGURATES DEVELOPMENTAL PROJECTS.ECONOMY IS GROWIN ...

OLD SOLDIER, If you have any evidence which implicates the sitting president of any wrong doing, kindly report to the police or seek redress at the courts.

For the records change is already happening since JDM is working i ...

• Adamu 8 years ago

Mahama is a thief and disgrace to Northerners because he is corrupt. No matter what you say will change that. He has spoil the economy, and only corruption and so-so stealing he day do. We all day see, and eno day be koraaa k ...

• Kwasi USA 8 years ago

Nana Addo is the problem for Mahama.he is more popular than president of Ghana....Mahama and his RADICAL FOOLS.NDC needs to go.

• #brt: VOTE MAHAMA OUT ! 8 years ago

Mahama throws Urine in the Air and calls it Rainfall.Mahama is NOT useful as President.That is Why A Mass Number of Ghanaians Must vote to Cast Mahama OUT from Office like the Devil runs from the Church.! Look at MAHAMA RECOR ...

see the pot calling the kettle black!!! The NPP has the worst corruption record in the history of this country Dr Agambilla former deputy minister of finance under the Kufuor administration described the NPP's approach to pol ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

Why has Mahama gone for bailout from the IMF? Since we're kind of uneducated idiots, why don't you shed some light on why Ghana is begging for relief from the IMF after all the monies acquired through loans and high taxes as ...

• Foreigner 8 years ago

As with everything, the truth is somewhere in the middle....but likely closer to crisis.

I would not say the economy is in crisis now. A week prior to the government doing a 180 turnaround and accepting the IMF bailout, t ...

• Issah Mahama 8 years ago

This Prez think the rest of us are as dumb as him. How can any realistic person claim this economy is not in crisis? Can he argue that the issues raised by Nana Addo are not true?

• BB 8 years ago

The President is not dumb at all, infact he is one of the best leaders, right after Nkrumah. The President hs ensured that transformation is taking place in Ghana and the good people's lives are transformed. a fleet of modern ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

So why did Mahama run to the IMF for help? Please explain that to me.

• Kwamea 8 years ago

Hello mr president u have not been truthful to yourself.We do not need a prophet to tell Ghanaians that the economy is in crises.Only your party members know the economy is sound.

if the economy was in crisis how come till date no firm has left our shores?

Indeed if the economy was in crisis, how come between January 2013 and June 2015, USD$ 817.5 million was invested in the Free Zones in Ghana by ...

• Ametevi-Volta 8 years ago

You are stupid Dorothy Brooks, and also called Nana Simpson who write on this site. You have to stop this stupidity. Ghana know Mahama and NDC is corrupt and stealing government.

• J0eY L0nDoN 8 years ago

Have you read the latest IMF economic forecasting for Ghana?

• Hanson 8 years ago

If all that you're saying are really significant achievements, why don't we see a commensurate improvement in the lives of Ghanaians? What about the huge unsustainable debts, high utility tariffs, low growth in all sectors of ...

• Amen 8 years ago

Mr President you are entitled to your own opinion but not your own facts. Low growth rate, high inflation, high debt levels, high interest rate, low business confidence, crowding out of business because of high domestic borro ...

• BB 8 years ago

ROME was not built in a day as such it is unfair to judge the President when he hasnt ended his tenure of office. surely the country's growth rate in terms of exports will pick up but it wont happen in a day. 516.17 billion ...

• Husein Abdul-mumin 8 years ago

If our economy is not in crisis, why are we in IMF for bailout? This government is owing Nurses, Teachers, Doctors, almost all the public workers.Our economy indeed is in crisis. This incompetent Mahama led administration wil ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

Rome was not built in a day so we should support Mahama to collapse and rebuild Ghana with another 4 years, eh? If Rome was built in 100 years then Mahama should apologize to Kufuor for criticizing him and campaigning for cha ...

• wowuro 8 years ago

Eii BB, if you were in finance or politisc, you would be in serious trouble. Which part of the argument are you missing?
    If Mahama inherited a growth rate of 14 percent in 2012 from Mills, after they killed him and he has br ...

• Yussif 8 years ago

As the figures don't support the presidents claims,he continues to lie,the IMF spoke English not chines,even school children can understand what the IMF is saying,it's rather a propagandist who ll try in the face of all this ...

• Vic 8 years ago

According the insurance association of america " on the average a car is driven 15000km per year".how therefore can a 10year old car have 0km(zero) in ghana.my people open your eyes.

• Kind 8 years ago

PLEASE NDC AND MAHAMA 8YEARS IN POWER MUST OPEN THEIR BLIND EYES AND SEE, PRESIDENT MAHAMA YOU INHERATED ECONOMY GROWTH OF 14%GDP IN 2012 AND NOW 3.4 DOWN.. AND REJOYCING MR MAHAMA?

• Dorothy Brooks 8 years ago

NPP is the only corrupt party is this country since they sold our state lands to their cronies like kwadwwo Mpianim and ex-prez kufuor.
    For the records, JDM has only done four years of his tenure and the good people of Ghan ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

The NPP left you oil. They left you a successful NHIS, capitation, free maternal health care, LEAP,a robust economy. They dos not leave a 72% debt to GDP, they didn't leave a 40% interest rate, they didn't leave a 0.04% growt ...

• AMA TX USA 8 years ago

What are you saying during the supreme Court case did that stop mahama from ruling the nation is in criss bcos of unnecessary spending by the government

• BOB CAT 8 years ago

THEN GHANAIANS ARE IN DEEP PIT,NEXT YEAR WE WILL NOT IN EVEN FIRST GEAR BUT RATHER WE WILL IN A REVERSE GEAR.

• Naa Yaw 8 years ago

Am going to vote for John Mahama. so what? You gonna kill or beat me or what?

• Ewugyadze desperate John Mahama 8 years ago

This fool thinks everyone in Ghana is as dumb as he is.Why won't he try to throw dust into our eyes it his economy and that of his cronies and family which has improved drastically after HIS FIRST COUP DETAT.Rest in peace Pro ...

• Husein Abdul-mumin 8 years ago

If our economy is not in crisis why are we in IMF for bailout? This government is owing Nurses, Teachers, Doctors almost all the public workers and can not even post the public trained and qualified Doctors, Nurses and Sanita ...

• NOBODY 8 years ago

President Mahama, shouted Akufo-Addo, the NDC should not be campaigning this early because that could negatively impact Ghana's economy.

What?, asked Mahama. But your NPP is out there campaigning and begging for money, and ...

• Sam 8 years ago

A VOTE FOR MAHAMA IS A VOTE FOR HIGHER UN-EMPLOYMENT ,MORE LOST OF JOBS,HIGER TAXES AND VAT AND WATER AND ELECTRIC BILLS AND SIMPLY MORE HARDSHIP

• Mary 8 years ago

WE HAD IT WITH HIM ,WE CANT AFFORD OUR KIDS SCHOOL FEES ,AND HAVING PROBLEM FEEDING OUR FAMILY UNDER HIS VOODOO ECONOMY

• Charles 8 years ago

Mahama the ostrich. The problem will vanish if you pretend it's not there.

• Whatever 8 years ago

Happy Empty NPP. Mahama is happily telling the ppeopl what he done. The shenanigans of NPP won't wash

• Whatever 8 years ago

What Economic intelligence has Nana shown?

• peb 8 years ago

dis fool will never learn a lesson.imagine even my 3yr old kid knew dat ghana is in crisis economically.Mr president,u are the one playing our mind jst to believe everything is properly going on..dnt worry finally the cat wil ...

• JM 8 years ago

NANA AND NPP IS BROKE HAS NO CHANCE TO LOOT GHANA MONEY AGAIN SO WILL SAY GHANA ECONOMY NOT GOOD.JM ALL THE WAY. YOU HAVE DONE WELL, THERE WAS PEACE IN GHANA EVEN IF ECONOMY IS NOT SO GOOD. WHAT NPP DID WHILE IN POWER BUILDIN ...

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

Even the IMF knows that the Ghanaian economy is is crisis so if dead goat Mahama is not aware, then he has no business being the president of Ghana. He is simply incompetent.

• KK 8 years ago

President Mahama inherited a growth rate of 14 percent in 2012, he had succeeded in driving it down to less than 3.5 because of poor management.
    When opponents says the economy is in crisis, the president cannot understand a ...

The New Patriotic Party should be able to situate where the economy is in crisis. Engaging in cheap rhetorics and making blanket statement on the economy does not prove that the economy is in crisis.

Under NPP between 2000 ...

• Mr Bond 8 years ago

What did the idiot president John Dramani Mahama means by he is more bullish and where in the dictionary can one fine bullish?This is very funny this president abon paa.bullish!?

The New Patriotic party is clueless on how to manage the economy of Ghana. They can not meet the standards set by the NDC. If the NPP says that economy is bad they should tell us which part of the economy is bad.

As far as ...

• Kyerempe 8 years ago

Nana Addo has no message to campaign again so he's totally confused. don't know what to do which has turned him to criticism. Npp should have known better before selecting him as presidential candidate. another 4years in oppo ...

• Lula 8 years ago

This 3 square meals people think they are suffering. nurses and teachers are at home without jobs as well in Italy. Eastern European countries is worse. Ghanaians don't need opposition. They have to come tog ...

• prince u s a 8 years ago

mahama fights nana over economy

• Kwabena Ansa 8 years ago

Mr. Mahama, it is only in your head that the nation's economy is doing well. The nation's economy is absolutely in crisis and not doing well considering the high rate of unemployment, worsened by high cost of living that make ...