You are here: HomeNews2016 04 12Article 430180

Five best Ghanaian footballers of all time

Read Comments Comments (110)

• Bullet wound 8 years ago

Of all time Sulley Muntari ? , Essien? where is Polo, Abdul Radar, Tony Yeboah this list is a joke.

• PASTOR !!!OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 8 years ago

GYAN,,WHY NAMING GYAN AND FORGET Adiyara and Rasheed..???

• .^. 8 years ago

Atuquayfio, Baba Yara, Salisu. CK Gyamfi,Mfum, Osei Kofi to name a few.

• JJ 8 years ago

Did the writer start star watching soccer from yesterday? Why allow such ignorant article on such a prestigious website?

• FIRE 8 years ago

NONSENSE. WHAT ABOUT THE OSEI KOFIS,KWAME ADARKWAS, MFUMS, POLOS, ETC?

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

I SAW HIM DRIBBLE 5/6 PLAYERS ON YOU TUBE. HE LOOKED LIKE HE WAS PLAYING IN A VIDEO GAME...MUAHAHAHAAAAAA I POSTED THAT ON MY TWITTER N PPL WERE LIKE...WHO THAT NIGGA!

• Ajorse 8 years ago

take out Muntari,Essien and Kufuor off the list.Osei Kofi,Mfum,Robert MENSAH are a few of the names that readily pops to mind.

• POW@Watchout 4 Phooobia 2016 8 years ago

Ghana has had very good players over the years. Every generation and every decade has produced very good players of some sort. There's not a single person in Ghana today that saw the qualities in each player from the gold coa ...

• Kwame Milla 8 years ago

To come up with five best of all time for Ghana is an almost impossible task to undertake. Let's just go through this list:
    1. Aggrey Fynn
    2. C.K. Gyamfi
    3. Wilberforce Mfum
    4. Joe Ghartey
    5. John Eshun
    6. Adolf Armah

• PW Tapper 8 years ago

This shows you are an old man. Go to bed. Maybe you don't realize we are in 2016

ABEDI, ESSIEN, WILL DEFINATLEY BE ON THAT LIST.

• Slimzay 8 years ago

Household name in the continent? are you serious? I have never heard an Egyptian called Aggrey Fynn or Osei Kofi before. Therefore, what are you talking about?

WHO WAS THE BETTER DRIBBLER? IVE SEEN A VIDEO OF POLO. DUDE WAS NICE..

• CYBERGHANA 8 years ago

All the Black Stars that were in the team that spelt the name of the Super Eagles of Nigeria were just marvelous & the best.

• Achrideku 8 years ago

Their names should be immortalized for the younger generation.

• Awuku Womafunu 8 years ago

The writer's caption should have been
    FIVE BEST GHANAIAN FOOTBALLERS WHO MADE SO MUCH MUNEY OF ALL TIME.

• KOFI TOTOBI KWAKYE 8 years ago

How many cups did they win? This is annoying, where is the wizard dribbler, the dribbling magician, and Robert Mensah? "Tweaakai"

• 4 Year Old 8 years ago

When we talk about great soccer players in Ghana, Muntari cannot be mentioned at all, my friend.
    There are those who excelled beyond measure but are not even named out of sheer neglect and ungratefulness.
    We have names li ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 8 years ago

Only Abedi Pele will make it amongst the best ten Ghanaian footballers of all time.

• Kwame Abrokwa 8 years ago

A stadium has been named after Baba Yara...do you think it was for a joke?.....
    pls be serious!!

THIS ALL WHITE JERSEY IS TOO BORING. LACKS PERSONALITY N LOOKS LIKE HOTEL BEDSHEET. WE NEED PINSTRIPE JERSEYS LIKE THE NEW YORK YANKEES ALL WHITE PINSTRIPE JERSEYS. pinstripes jerseys, pinstripes shorts, pinstripe hoes…Pins ...

• kosh 8 years ago

where is the leading scorer for the black stars asamoah gyan,this is shit selection,maybe kuffour shouldnt be in it.

• Sebastian Parker 8 years ago

JUST AS MARADONA CAN NEVER MATCH WHAT PELE DID IN HIS TIME AND MESSI CANNOT MATCH WHAT MARADONA, THESE PEOPLE YOU HAVE MENTIONED CAN NEVER MATCH THE PEOPLE WHO PLAYED FOR GHANA WITHOUT REWARD AND BONUSES. THE AGGREY FYNNS, TH ...

• JOHN GOMEDA 8 years ago

The writer obviously has never heard of Tony Yeboah (Yegola) and his exploits at Frankfurt and the EPL. He has never heard of Osei Kofi or Robert Mensah.

• Osabarima 8 years ago

I would rather the writer had concentrate on the past 2 decades because Ghana have had very fine footballers since independence. It was rather unfortunate that during those days we did not have the influence of television as ...

• Truth 8 years ago

Maybe the heading should be " FIVE BEST GHANAIAN FOOTBALLERS OF MY GENERATION "
    Are you sick in the mind, do you know the kind of players Ghana has produced before this players, with the exception of Essien and Kuffour and ...

• KANAWU 8 years ago

YOU NAMED: SULLEY, ESSIEN, KUFFUOR AND ABEDI. WHO IS THE FIFTH ONE? MAN WE HAVE A LOT MORE THAN 5. TONY BAFFOE, ASAMOAH GYAN, KWADWO ASAMOAH ETC

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

...you people are to kind to the writer. How the fuck can he or she disgrace Ghana soccer in a public forum. Do you know the meaning of "All Time". OK, let me hold my breathe, because Ghana today is worse than Ghana 300 years ...

• Ganiyu 8 years ago

Owula, this is not a fight. It's just one person's opinion. If you disagree with him, state your reasons; put forth your own picks and state your reasons why. Must every disagreement degenerate into insults and name calling? ...

• A.M. 8 years ago

This is what l always say. Insults does not work in any situation, whether in contributing to an article, in our political life and any other settings. Just state your case and leave it like that. Thanks for adding your voice ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

I say Chakia to this new breed of wannabes...and an equal number of ignorantly educated tertiary class of citizens. I just believe that too many people think in Twi before they say or write anything in English, and too many p ...

• Boss 8 years ago

This list is completely wrong. Each season brings its own players. The abedi pele's would be classified with the tony yeboahs etc. The sulley's and Essen would be with Asamoah djan. Currently, it is the season of the Dede aye ...

• Joe 8 years ago

All time best is definitely Abedi. After that it is very debatable who else would be on the list.

• mensah 8 years ago

this cant be rightt, what happened to the likes of Kuku Dadzie, Aggrey Fynn and osei kofi.i think only Abedi Pele deserves to be on the list published and probably osei kuffour

• Ojuku 8 years ago

Picking the best 5 from among all footballers of Ghana past and present cannot be an easy job as this writer appears to be doing. It is as if football in Ghana started just about 20 years.
    Apart from Abedi Pele, the others m ...

• mugu yaro 8 years ago

you guys have repeatedly mention Abedi Pele's name million and one times and ignored the second best midfielder of all times Adolf Armah. Ibrahim Sunday was the best midfielder followed by Adolf Armah then you think of Abedi ...

• Kasei 8 years ago

Even Sulley will not rate himself as among the 5 best of all time.

You craze

• Kojo Acheampong, London 8 years ago

Where is Asamoah Gyan,Andre Ayew etc? Please check your facts.

• Africanus 8 years ago

My brother even the true list of Ghana's best 5 of all times.... will never include the likes of Asamoah Gyan and Andre Ayew. Ghana has produced better players in the past than any of the players in the last 15 years.

• Koo Sigi. 8 years ago

The writer must be a foreigner who started watching these new generation of players from 2006 world cup. He must come back with something better.

• Asem bisa 8 years ago

Whoever wrote this must not have seen James Adjei, Baba Yara, Dogo Moro, Charles Gyamfi, Kofi Bruce, Osei Kofi in action.

• CHRIS 8 years ago

HOW OLD IS THE AUTHOR OF THIS ARTICLE. HE MUST BE ONE OF THESE JHS [NOT EVEN JSS] STUDENTS WHO DOES NOT SEE BEYOND HIS NOSE.

• Joey Boy 8 years ago

I'm fairly old and I saw Ghana soccer from the sixties. My all time 5 will be the following: Abedi, Robert Mensah, Kuuku Dadzie, Mfum and OseiKofi

• KOFI TOTOBI KWAKYE 8 years ago

I can tell you are about age 25-30. How can you ignore Osei Kofi and Polo? Pele and Gunsha are to Brazil just as Osei Kofi and Polo are to Ghana. Infact none of the five players with legs like "bankye abaa" come close. They c ...

Please ignore the post. This was written by a child.

What about my midfield " general" Adolf Armah.He is a delight to watch during his hey days.

• john Galli 8 years ago

I Think the person who made the list starting following Ghana football after the year 2000. You did mention Polo, Razark, Robert Mensah, Adolf Armah, Charles Tailor, Opoku Nti, wrong selection. Those you mention did not even ...

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

The inaccurate title and the mediocre write-up is a sign of the times in Ghana.

An Azonto generation that has forgotten that excellence was a Ghanaian virtue.

• Chuks, Tudu 8 years ago

Are they five?

• KJ 8 years ago

They forgot to include Asamoah Gyan's name above his paragraph. Ghanaweb copy and paste missed a spot!

• Kofigah Mensah 8 years ago

What nonsense !!How about Stephen Appiah, who took Ghana on his shoulders to our first world cup. thIS WRITER IS BIAS. WHAT HAS ESSIEN DONE for Ghana. Sulley yes ,Kufuor yes, Asamoah yes,Abedi yes, Essien no.

• joe- USA 8 years ago

Your list shows you were only born yesterday. Go back to school and learn what is called" research" or ask your great father for some soccer history.

• Kofigah Mensah 8 years ago

The writer must be 24 years. No knowledge of great and past footballers.

• Chris Austria 8 years ago

gyimiiiiii paaaaa ni?who did this fuckin list,I don't think u r a Ghanaian,

• Truth 8 years ago

Tony Yeboah was in the fifa top 10 footballer of the year at some point he should be on the list instead of muntari

• Benneygoodman 8 years ago

Take no notice of the writer, everybody knows its utter nonsense, the five players mentioned in the article will not even make 30 best footballers of all time in Ghana. I will say Abdul Razak, Sunday Ibrahim, Osei Kofi, Muham ...

• Ankonam 8 years ago

Add CK Gyamfi in there too. But you are right, the guy who wrote it was probably born in 1980's.

• Hmmm 8 years ago

Where is. Stephen appiah

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

Guys just go with the list the writer has come up with and say who you think is the greatest, because if the writer had come up with an entirely different set of players, say the ones some of you have mentioned in your commen ...

• Africanus 8 years ago

My brother if you know the history of Ghana football you will agree that the only deserving person in the list is Abedi Pele. Yes Tony Yeboah I agree, but not Stephen Appiah. In fact it will be very difficult to come up with ...

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

That is exactly my point Africanus, since the writer narrowed the list to just five players, we as Ghanaians would never agree on who they are no matter who is or isn't in the list.

• klaash 8 years ago

Joking where is de magician polooooo....he was better den platini. ..
    .Adolf Armagh de foot ball he played Essien never played half .Abdul Razak. .., Anthony yeboah...Ahhh Ghanaian don't speak de truth .....Mohamed Polo des ...

• ONUA 8 years ago

Any credible list MUST, and I repeat,MUST include these FOUR-:ABEDI AYEW PELE,OSEI KOFI,MOHAMED AHMED POLO, and ROBERT MENSAH. I don't see how you can avoid these four in 'ANY GROUP OF FIVE'. GOD BLESS GHANA.

• T'pau 8 years ago

I think so too.

• LetsBeTolerant. 8 years ago

sulley and asamoah djan should not be on that lidt

• Ankonam 8 years ago

You are kidding right. There have been better Ghanaian footballers who never went to Europe because it was not easy then. Abdul Razak, CK Gyamfi, Baba Yara are all better than Muntari and Asamoah Gyan. These guys ruled Afr ...

• joe- USA 8 years ago

Your list shows you were only born yesterday. Go back to school and learn what is called" research" or ask your great father for some soccer history.

• Yaro 8 years ago

Since AFCON 2015 the names of new African players are being mentioned but none from Ghana,no player is doing anything worthy to be noticed

• Yaro 8 years ago

Since AFCON 2015 the names of new African players are being mentioned but none from Ghana,no player is doing anything worthy to be noticed

• Yaro 8 years ago

• Loway 8 years ago

How old is this writer,what kind of research did he do before coming up with this list

• Kpakpo 8 years ago

Asamoah won't even be among top 20 ghana players. A player who run away when his team need him most . This list is useless

• Kwame Abrokwa 8 years ago

My sellection is ......BABA YARA
    C. K. GYAMFI
    AGGREY FYNN
    ROBERT MENSAH
    KWASI OW ...

• LOVE 8 years ago

great too and the list goes on and on

• Yaw Sebe 8 years ago

Publishing such nonsense on such a respectable forum makes us look stupid!

Sulley who?

Essien who?

Abedi? Yes.

Fucking joker!

• Kofi adu 8 years ago

What of abedi?

• MAKA 8 years ago

ARE YOU DREAMING.....LIST WITHOUT APPIAH?

• Kwame Joe 8 years ago

Definitely Baba Yara, Osei Kofi, Kuffuor, Essien & Abedi Pele. With C. K. Gyamfi & Salisu as alternates.

• Koofori 8 years ago

The writer of this article was not around to witness the era of Osei Kofi, Ibrahim Sunday, Mohammed Polo, Joe Ghartey, Salisu, Hammond, Malik Jabir and others. I believe this is his opinion but not a fact

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

The writer doesn't know Robert Mensah, Dogo Moro, Tony Yeboah & Aggrey-Fynn

• kweks 8 years ago

Anthony Yeboa, adolf armah,Mama Acquah, Sampson Lamptey, Hesse Odampteen, Opoku Nti, Opoku Afriyie, Dan Owusu, Robert hammond, Francis kumi, Kofi Badu, Asaase, Peter lamptey, ofei ansa, have not all been mentioned

• Kwabena Piso 8 years ago

But the only one who won cup is Abedi, the rest failed to win any laurels.

• Emmanuel BOATENG 8 years ago

I disagree with this. Apart from AbediPele which of them have won AFCON Cup Before? None? You cannot talk about best Ghanaian Players without mentioning the the likes of Abdul Karim Razak ( AFRICAN BEST PLAYER 1978),Mohamed A ...

• ONUA 8 years ago

What about (2nd BEST)? Polo was voted AFRICA'S 3rd BEST in 1977. Check my list.

• BE HONEST 8 years ago

None of those mentioned compares with OSEI Kofi, the dribbling wizard. He is the all time greatest. GTV must replay some of his exploits for the benefit the current generation who never saw him.

WHO WAS A BETTER DRIBBLER?

• TRUE TRUE 8 years ago

1. OSEI KOFI
    2. ROBERT MENSAH (Goalkeeper)
    3. BABA YARA
    4 ABEDI PELE
    5. TONY YEBOAH

• Adu 8 years ago

This guy is making me angry. Stop writing such BS things on Ghanaweb (lol Grant).

• buzzy 8 years ago

where is Stephen Appiah the most unity man

• josh 8 years ago

Clearly this is huge joke. No Mohammed Polo, Baba Yara on the list?

• Watchman 8 years ago

Olele Kingson is the best keeper among Ghanaian players. I think a stand in the Accra Sports Stadium must be named after Richard Kingson

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

Whoever made this list must be 12 years old.

• Joshua Sankah 8 years ago

You a small chap or whatever I can say do u know Mr. Spunick shot(Late Edward Acquah,Aggrey Fynn,Robert Mensah,Kofi Abbrey Emmanuel Quashie, John Essien The Owusu bros from BA united Opuku Afriyie, Lord Zico(Opoku Nti)Tarkwa ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

I saw Opoku Nti and he was far better than these five players selected. Zico as he was affectionately called, is great. Also, do you think the Kumasi stadium was named after Baba Yara just of naming sake? No. Yara was a prodi ...

• Akoloogo fra fra 8 years ago

Rubbish, what about polo,osekofi, Ibrahim Sunday Joe Sam, mfum, etc

• Ola 8 years ago

This is knows zero about football in Ghana. How on earth can you leave polo and put Sulley Muntari.Polo is far too superior to Sulley. He just left the older players an old names the younger ones he know.

• Yellow man 8 years ago

You donkey,you forgot to mention Anthony Yeboah and Yaw Preko

• Yellow man 8 years ago

Least you forget good players like Sam Johnson,Frank Amankwa,Addai kyenkyenhene,Dan Foster ,Shamo leather,Opoku Nti

• Tametan 8 years ago

When did this fellow start to watch Ghana soccer? No list is complete without the likes of Osei Kofi,Polo,Dan Owusu,Akwasi Wusu,Kofi Abrey,Jones Atuquefio and Dan Oppong.

• Nana 8 years ago

These five best players were chosen because of their inter-continental, inter-national and obviously conquering the world soccer stage. And plus , made good money.

• Benarsco 8 years ago

Hi guys,
    Can somebody make me another list, probably a longer one including my name Koo Berko, NKWASCO

• AHMED ALI 8 years ago

This writer has no knowledge about Ghana soccer. His selection is the worst I have ever heard. I can agree with Abedi Pele being in his selection. Sam Kuffour probably in a second team. Essien, Muntari and Asamoah Gyan will b ...

• tetteh-tsu TEMA 8 years ago

Where is appiah

• Matete 8 years ago

What do you know about the history of Ghana football? Please go and hide.

• Bandao guda 8 years ago

They all deserved to be selected and am happy MUNTARI n Essien are on the list.

• Babs 8 years ago

These are the Ghanaian players that should be called to add up to the black stars. Just because some people did wrong things and they voice out they are castigated for saying the truth about the corruption in the Ghana footba ...

• skido 8 years ago

Remember Francis Kumi, Papa Arko, Kofi Badu, Albert Asaaae

• Spitfire 8 years ago

Even the old ones had mental block. I played with Osei Kofi and Amusa Gbadamoshi Ghana's Pele). Then came Polo. These 3 were really exceptional dribblers. Amusa could dribble, shoot and score before anybody could notice. When ...

• Malam Baba H Hassan. 8 years ago

Yes Brother.

• Abdulai Adamu 7 years ago

Stop comparing formal game to latest because nowadays there are talents everywhere, so it's not easy to make name