You are here: HomeNews2016 04 07Article 428994

Ghana’s MPs are poor - Kan-Dapaah

Read Comments Comments (118)

• .AGBESI. KWESI 8 years ago

The question is did J. J. Rawlings do the same thing to Voltarians when he was in power for twenty years? What about Atta Mills. The good old Prof was in power for three and a half years yet he was not selfish to only concent ...

• Nana Nketiah 8 years ago

Please stop this sarcasym. It is the very people Ghanaians elected to steer the affairs of the nation that plunged us into poverty.

Are these MP not riding in expensive SUVs? Who is to blame if they refuse to cut their coa ...

• Gonzaga 8 years ago

Is this man drunk. Go to several villages in Ghana or even in Accra and see poverty. The MP's are living in free house, free car, maid, houseboy, bribery and corruption doing nothing.This fool does not know what poverty is.

• kwasi 8 years ago

IF THEY LOOKING TO GET RICH POLITICS IS NOT THE WAY ,POLITICS IS TO SERVE PEOPLE NOT TO GET RICH

• mensa 8 years ago

if they want to be rich let them open a business and work hard being rich is about hard work and and discipline

• Mobert Rogabe 8 years ago

...a typical DUMB comment lacking mental, physical alertness and activity directed to a typical PRIMITIVE Ghana institution ...hmmm human STUPIDITY at its finest?

• NPP 8 years ago

The dude has no sense, he is a fool and a thief deserving of gun shots.

• Ampabeng 8 years ago

Mr. Dapaah's constituency must be careful not to send him the parliament in November. He has proofed to be a glutton. How can he demand increment for MPs at this crucial time of our economy? This is the reason he fought to be ...

• kwabenaghana 8 years ago

Well said.As Mps they can earn about 7500 Ghs every month and at the end of every term in Paliament they get 30 to 40000 dollars as ex graciadespite these they calim they are poor. How about the extreem poverty in the society ...

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

Tell this NPP thief and SOB to stop lamenting. He can cease being an MP. Ghanaians are not forcing it on you like do it, come hell or high water. Funnily enough, nobody is holding him back. #So why the fuss?! If the pay is to ...

• eh 8 years ago

CAN THE MP's HAVE OTHER JOBS WHILST SITTING IN PARLIAMENT. OUR WORK PLACE WE SIGN CONFLICT OF INTEREST DO OUR POLITICIANS DO SAME. ARE THEY USING MP TIME TO RUN THEIR PRIVATE BUSINESSES AND DO THEY DECLARE AND BE TAXED?

• King Yobo 8 years ago

All of them still maintain their regular jobs/businesses. The accountants, lawyers etc are all practicing their trades in addition to been a parliamentarian. You see Atta Akyea who is a parliamentarian always running from one ...

• Straight Shooter 8 years ago

Ghana is rather poor and her citizens too.

The MPs are in a good position to help make Ghana rich, they must do the right thing.

• DAVID, TEMA 8 years ago

Ken dapaah is getting out of his senses. Where are the 70parcels of cocaine that got missing at the police headquaters when he was interior minister. The mps are enjoying so much salaries and other benefits. What kind of gosp ...

• eh 8 years ago

YOU SAID BEFORE REDUCE MP's NUMBERS TO 100 WHO LISTENED SO WHY LISTEN FOR SALARY INCREMENT. OF COURSE IT WILL BE YEAH YEAH WITH ALL 275 WHEN BROUGHT BEFORE THEM, BUT ISSUES WHICH BENEFIT THE WHOLE NATION THE WORSE IS PASSED. ...

• DEAR 8 years ago

SALARY INCREASE SHOULD BE BASED ON PERFORMANCE. MANY OF THESE MPs DO NOT POSSESS GOOD QUALIFICATIONS; THEY ARE ELECTED INTO PARLIAMENT BECAUSE OF THEIR TRIBAL AFFILIATIONS NOT ON MERIT.

THEY DO NOT DESERVE SALARY INCREASES ...

• Nduom 8 years ago

Give up and go and find a better paid job

• John Snr 8 years ago

This should have been the heading. You want us to pay them for ignorance? Or they have become more ignorant so we should increase their pay. They deserve nothing, even what is given them is too much for their level of compete ...

• Kwaku Tee 8 years ago

The MPs pretend to be working so we shd also pretend to be paying them from our scanty taxes.To be frank they don't deserve any remuneration at all,how can we pay such a useless 275 member house?

• jojo 8 years ago

I've been saying this for ages, GH does not need 275 MP's 13 supreme court judges, US population 285 Million, 500 congress and 100 senate and 9 supreme courts judge. our population 25 million, is our government even thinking ...

• NDC IS SATANIC 8 years ago

Go back and read what he said. He said the number should be reduced so they could use that money to pay small number to make them efficient.I don't know what has become of some Ghanaians that their everything is insult which ...

• KB 8 years ago

Thank you very much,John Snr.You hit the nail right on the head,plus more,I must say!!You made my day!

• eh 8 years ago

SORRY THEY ARE NOT IGNORANT THEY CHOOSE TO DO WHAT THEY FEEL IS FAVOURABLE. THE PREZ. ASKED THEM IF THEY WERE SLEEPING. KEN GO TO ASHFOAM LATEX PROVIDE MATTRESSES FOR THEM TO WORK HARDER FOR A RICHER GHANA. WE CAN ALL THEN BE ...

• give us a break 8 years ago

THESE MP WANT'S TO SERVE THEIR NATION. THEY ARE NOT THERE TO ENRICH THEMSELVES.GIVE US A BREAK.

• KOW 8 years ago

The job should be on part time basis with little financial gains.It should not be a avenue for self enrichment,

• ali akurugu 8 years ago

thats why they are thieves liars!

• Sylvester 8 years ago

Mr. Hounorable,I wish every family in Ghana could had have a representative in parliament.If the money is small,stepdown for someone to go to the house.You use your power to put your son into the Police service when you were ...

• Okuokoujomokou . 8 years ago

Foolish talk

• Kojo Darko 8 years ago

That's why constitutions are subject to amendments. Do it NOW. 270 + MPs for Ghana? Cut it down, far too much. Some comes out with sensible ideas others, thrash, junkies, bullshit.

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

The problem is that those that have the Authority to amend it and make it better are the same people that want to use it to plunder the Nation! What will make them make any amendments that will make them "poor"?

This Kan ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

"suggesting that the numbers [275 seats] must be reduced so that the “savings can be used to double their salaries" I cannot help laughing my ribs apart. Oh NPP, why is this that when you are out of power, you come up with ...

• Yakubu Hamidu 8 years ago

Mr Kan Dapaa,I am not surprised it's coming from you,because you used politics to gain wealth,look at their salaries and on top of it all they take sitting allowances for the job they are been paid for,isn't it a shame and yo ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Yes, Kan-Dapaah had exposed his dark side. He is a black man with deep and disturbed black sense. These are the people leading our dear nation hence, our despicable and pathetic state.

The soul of Ghana died the very day ...

• babado 8 years ago

Hmmmmmmm this man
    is selfish not only thief.he want salary increment in addition to the dril shiep money .? Ei after all what again not thinking about the ordinary poor Ghanaians

• brother brother 8 years ago

are they on less than our police and the military? if they are then MAYBE they need a tiny bit more but if they are on more then that's enough cos Ghana is broke as it is. how about halve the number of MPs and use the money g ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

But who is rich in Ghana?

• Kofi Amegbetor 8 years ago

Hon.Ken,please where were you before your government was dividing constituencies into pieces in the Ashanti Region to get more MPs in Parliament.

• abu 8 years ago

They must make public their monthly take away pay

• NPP JIMIJIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

No one forced you to be an MP. No one imposed this on you. By the way, who said being an MP is a gateway to riches? Is that the what drove you into politics?

• eh 8 years ago

KEN EXPLAIN IF MP's CAN STRIKE OR DEMONSTRATE FOR THEIR BENEFITS? WE DONT WANT ANOTHER CHINERY THOUGH! REDUCE MP TO 100 PAY THEM MORE AND ANOTHER PARLIAMENT, EC, GOVT COMES AND INCREASES THE MP NUMBERS AGAIN. NO BENEFIT A SMA ...

• AFRO 8 years ago

WHY?????THEY DONT EVEN PAY TAXES

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Are the MPs poor because of the NDC government? What happens with the masses workering in factories and public servants? Who is going to increase their salaries? Wofa Ken, think about this very well.

• Dr 8 years ago

You are all thieves.7000ghana cedis a month.? Ex gratia.? Oh Ken what else do you want? Look around you and see what so called politics is doing to our market women and labourers?Oh KEN..

• CYNTHIA CYNTHIA 8 years ago

The auditor general revealed so much rot yet mps are lame ducks....... Can't do foko to salvage Ghana...... We'll all taste the adverse effects of ndc government thievery and corruption.....

• CYNTHIA CYNTHIA 8 years ago

Sada subah gyeeda fake judgement debts..... We'll all suffer the poverty brought on Ghanaians by ndc government..... BUSREBRANDING THIEVERY WORSE THAN Satan himself......

• KOFI TOTOBI KWAKYE 8 years ago

The president has too much power, that is why most of the people supposed to be our watchdogs have become rubber stamps. The caliber of people in parliament is also shameful.

We need a need a new constitution, one that wo ...

• Bell nono 8 years ago

This man is a criminal and must not be in that august house. Does he knows how much Ghanaians are paid. Has he ever raise any legislation in respect of the people he is representings salary.

• member 8 years ago

Ghanaians are working on the street begging for daily there daily bread. What are you doing about it. You always complain about those already enjoying the national cake.

• Pastor John 8 years ago

I wish you good luck

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

The stupid NDC man's (I can't even remember his name) advice to Ghanaians; does it not apply to the lawmakers? If you are not satisfied with your salary, just take your passport and leave the country.

• Freddie 8 years ago

Look K Dapaah most MPs be4 became have not achieved anything be4 then expecialy the ndc mps that is why they arw stolen state money left right . If someone with a cv of school prefect can be mp and appointed a minister what ...

• zomayi 8 years ago

EVERYONE IS UNDERPAID IN GHANA. WHY SINGLE OUT MPS? WHAT ABOUT DOCTORS, TEACHERS, POLICEMEN, MINISTRY STAFF, CIVIL SERVANTS NURSES, ETC.

• kofi adu 8 years ago

it is better for a rich man to steal than a poor man. poor people are leaches and vermin.

• JKKT 8 years ago

YEN KYE NNI!!! OWURA, DO YOU THINK ABOUT THE FUTURE OF OUR KIDS? ZERO PERFORMANCE OF THE MPs IN THE WAKE OF OUR HYPER BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION GOV'T?

• kwame Amo 8 years ago

Why wont you advocate for payment of living wage for everyone as its practice in many countries. why mps alone stop that mr Dappa

• Asem bisa 8 years ago

Nobody forced you to become a MP. If the remuneration is not what you expect and you are money driven, get out. The period of MP worship is past.

• K Manu 8 years ago

I am wondering if Kan will be willing to let his constituency be scrapped or merged with another constituency so that he can step down in order to reduce the number on parliamentarians.

• Life 8 years ago

The presidency has too much power. So what are you going to do about it bagbin? You are right but if you are in the position to influence change so get on with it

• Otoo 8 years ago

Kan Dapaah is just stupid. Has anyone been forced to become MPs. In the developed countries people become MPs after working hard to earn their own money, then decide to become MPs either because they want to serve the people ...

• Nick 8 years ago

Who asked him to be an MP. If he feels the salaries are not enough then I would kindly suggest he leave the house . These people have got the mentality of enrichment. Have never heard some of these MP making contributions on ...

• Honestman 8 years ago

IS NOW TOO MUCH, WHAT OF THE ORDINARY UNEMPLOYED, THE FARMER, YOU ARE DEMANDING TOO MUCH, MPS & MINISTERS RIDE BICYCLES IN DENMARK AND IS THE HAPPIEST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD NOW, TOO SELFISH GREEDY , YOU ARE KILLING GHANA, COM ...

• Tweeeaaa 8 years ago

These politicians are clueless and stupid. They loot the country, do nothing and expect salary increase to maintain their sychohanic
    Lifestyle

• Wofa Koo 8 years ago

It is more sensible to address workers who have not being paid over a year rather MPS who get regular salaries and allowances.PLEASE OPEN YOUR EYES AN WAKE UP.

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

Being an MP is NOT the avenue to be RICH. This is public Service and IF you think MPs are poor, why don't you ENGAGE yourself in the sector to be RICH ??? You can be Self-employed, a businessman and what-have-you!
    FIRST, d ...

• Minua 8 years ago

I did not know this Kan Dapaah man is also such stupid.

• Ato 8 years ago

Why, should they be rich? Are they superior to other Ghanaian citizens?

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

Most of our MPs entered parliament to get rich- fair or foul. They do not deserve any salary increase. I think they are overpaid for what they do at the moment.

• Hello Moore 8 years ago

What is this guy talking do they went there to inriched them self or to go there serve no body force them to be MP they want to go and do the work ,the job that is the salary if the cannot do it they get out ,if you are worki ...

• NII 8 years ago

DO YOU GUYS UNDERSTAND DEMOCRACY?DO YOU THINK THE PEOPLE SHOULD MAKE THEM RICH? WHAT A DAMM QUESTION FROM AN INCOMPETENT PERSON. MP'S ARE SUPPOSE TO CREATE EMPLOYMENT BY ENACTING SENSIBLE LAWS AND OTHERS. WHAT DO THEY DO IN ...

• KB 8 years ago

Kan-Dapaah seems to have poor perceptive/reasoning faculties,hence his crappy talk!!

• Nana Esi 8 years ago

Yeah, what do you expect from greedy dapaah. He wants more money to buy more houses for different women he fathered the children. He just bought house for Ama Dapaah his daughter from a different mother. All the NPP MPs have ...

• gyidie 8 years ago

'Have-beens' just shut up? This double-dipper, should keep on enjoying the benefits of that plum sinecure at the University of Professional Studies(UPS), and leave us alone!
    This fellow featured prominently in the Drill Shi ...

• Paa Nii 8 years ago

This Kan-Dapaah guy is so annoying. Why does he think it is only legislators that deserve good or what he describes as commensurable income? What about teachers, doctors, and other professionals? Why this nonsense over elabor ...

• Kweku. La Paz. 8 years ago

Look at this thief. If they are poor, give them part of the drill ship money you stole with Nana Akuffo Addict.

• kutsii 8 years ago

Nonsense. Do u know who is a poor person? Nonsense again. A poor person is one who cannot provide three square meals a day and is paid less than three dollars a day if per chance he secures a job. Do u Parliamentarians go thr ...

• NOTOROUS PEOPLES PARTY(NPP) 8 years ago

We have been saying NPP people are only there to dupe Ghana,Ghc75,000000.00 old cedis od not enough,not only that the allowances they got they are not satisfy.This when ghanaians make mistake and vote for NANA DESPERATE ADDO ...

• Spell properly 8 years ago

Lawnmakers?? sure not lawmakers?

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

The Presidency is corrupting everything and creating unnecessary ethnic tensions.

Let's return to parliamentary democracy and rotate the ceremonial presidency each year from regional house of chiefs to another. Why are we ...

• Mr, Dzotor Kulugu 8 years ago

Now that you've known? who cause it? Me or Koffour NPP? That were the ligacy you people left behind, when you came to power you people raised your self soo big,you did not bordered if there is poor or not, all happening now w ...

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Why are Kan-Dapaah and Mike Ocquaye beating about the bush.The problem with Ghana is our farcical constitution that was tailored to suit a bloated dictator who wanted a civilian garment.We've got to replace this American type ...

• SAVIOUR 8 years ago

Ghanaian MPs are poor because they are lazy.

• Kay 8 years ago

Yes... just like the millions of Ghanaians. But Ghanaians pay electricity bills. they are not given honorarium when the feature at events. they are not given end of service benefits. they are not given fat loans to buy cars. ...

• Alex 8 years ago

Pls Honourable kindly close this topic. You hv been in government for years and u failed to raised this subject and forever u are an accountant. Pls go to parliament and raise this concerns there.
    1) All the so called publi ...

• Obroni 8 years ago

He has the guts, Kan Dapaah was the architect of Kufuor S ex-gratia, and that is not even enough? Gready bastard

• Ben 8 years ago

What is the present salary and let's compare it to the rest of the population.

• Atta Mensah 8 years ago

It would have been more dignifying to solicit pay increase for ghanaian workers than seek pay increase for MPs.

It would have been more dignifying to solicit better wages for Ghanian workers than to seek pay increase for MPs.

• sly 8 years ago

Brainless and ignorant.

• 3dem 8 years ago

You come public service when u ve achieved so much you want to give back to your country. You don't come to public service to alleviate your poverty with the scarce resources of the people of Ghana. If the pay is not enough, ...

It would have been more dignifying to solicit better wages for Ghanian workers than to seek pay increase for MPs.

• KO 8 years ago

I agree with Mr. Kan Dapaah. we do not need 275 MPs. Of these 275 less than 50% attend or contribute to debates. He is right. reducing the number to between 150-200 and pay the them well as well as provide them the necessary ...

You can't even balance your national budgets without "Charity Handouts" from donor nations but you want an increase in salary. Expectations without any sense of responsibility. How about at least showing up for work in the fi ...

• Kwabena Ansa 8 years ago

Mr. Kan-Dapaa, your call for increase in MPS' salary and your reason for the call is lame, disgraceful and very disappointing of you because Ghanaians do not vote for people to go to Parliament with the expectation that the ...

• GEORGE 8 years ago

HOW MUCH DO THEY MAKE IN A MONTH ?SHAMFUL MP"S

• Obooba 8 years ago

Yes , Kan you right , some of your colleagues should loose their jobs so that your pay can be double but not for for sale of our beloved country, That would still not satisfied you and it is not your fault b'cos greed and cor ...

• KOFI PIESIE, USA 8 years ago

Iam very disappointed in Mr Kan-Dapaah. I once do respect you when you used to be chief of Mobile oil company in Liberia.One don't hold such office to enrich themselves but rather the people voted for you to take car ...

• buddha 8 years ago

big fool look at what this idoit is saying

• Dick 8 years ago

Please, Kan I know you very well, because I come from Boaman.
    You've been talking about this nonsense for far too long and it's about time you put a stop to it.
    Understand that the pay given to the parliamentarians too muc ...

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

Kan Dapaah... Please go tell your story to former prez Kuffuor and the IEA cohorts who want to add an upper chamber parliament to burden us the more.

• KOFI ARMAH, CANADA. 8 years ago

I can believe what 'am hearing from this stupid Kan-Dapaah guy, MP's in Ghana are what, I don't think this guy know what he is talking about, Mr. Kan-Dapaah, if your pay check is not enough, quit the job and go on sell in the ...

• obi 8 years ago

not only mps but all Ghanaian WKS

• Concerbed 8 years ago

If our MPs were rich in thinking heads, it would lead them to be rich as well. They should do better thinking and the rest woul be added to them automatically.

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

Being an MP is NOT the avenue to be RICH. This is public Service and IF you think MPs are poor, why don't you ENGAGE yourself in the sector to be RICH ??? You can be Self-employed, a businessman and what-have-you!
    FIRST, d ...

• apuuuu 8 years ago

Dude what are you talking about how about all the free shit they get they don't deserve anything if they don't like what they received they should find another job apuuuu

• AMA 8 years ago

Ken Dapaah stop this stupid talk,you and your MPs are greedy and already milking the nation from all cylinder.Talk about Ex GRATIA,CAR LOANS,FREE ACCOMMODATION,OUTRAGEOUS SALARIES,SITTING ALLOWANCES,COMMON FUND.BILLIONS OF CE ...

• truth 8 years ago

Politricks. free gas, bungalows, etc.

• asem 8 years ago

And the judges are poorly paid

• JM 8 years ago

Sure this guy from the looters or greedy NPP grouping.

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Most of the people who vote you politicians into Parliament often do not have money for trotro or enough to feed their families. But you crooked politicians want the same people at the bottom of the economic ladder to watch y ...

• NEK APAAD 8 years ago

Compare his before he became an MP and Minister photo, to the one today. The difference is stark. He was NOTHING before NPP won power.

• asem 8 years ago

What is this man talking about?

• DHURUWAH 8 years ago

Kan-Dapaah, before you say Ghana's MPs are poor, please tell us how much they are paid per month and do not forget to tell us about their freebees.

• Fini le Fini 8 years ago

kweh! Ken Dapaaah
    politicans are greedy. so until we see you guys doing real work instead of pushing paper, you can feck offff

• DHURUWAH 8 years ago

Kan-Patapaah. Ghana workers do not even get paid, how about that.

• SOLO 8 years ago

This is why wherever there are Ashantis there is greed, crime, ostentation, and selfishness. Money comes first.

• Village Lass 8 years ago

Oh really? you dont say!!
    what do you expect? being an MP is not to go and enrich yourselves...
    Most of you do nothing for your constituencies, and only show interest during re-elections.You dont fight to change your commun ...

• Village Lass 8 years ago

The government should stop giving these MPs free housing, cars etc. they need to pay for their own upkeep. They do nothing anyway and then the poor citizen has to pay for this useless peoples upkeep.

• Eric 8 years ago

Even if they increase your salary you will still want more, corrupt MPs.