Panama papers: Kufuor and family kept secret bank accounts

Read Comments Comments (107)

• NANA KOFI 8 years ago

Leave him alone

• kwame 8 years ago

i cant understand ??

• kabokabo 8 years ago

Ghanaweb have you done your thorough research or you copied and pasted a story from Starrfm?

• OLD SCOTTISH BASTARD 8 years ago

If all the money in the account was $75,000 then I don't see why such a sensational headline.

In today's Ghana, under Mahama's ultra corrupt regime, ministers spend that much on their girlfriends for a weekend in Dubai.

• Afrikikoman--Abiding in Salvation per 8 years ago

Religious ploy on an innocent just to cancel out the name Dr. KWAME NKRUMAH from thepolitics of Ghana. Without him electricity in ghana could not have been possible to raise the name Kufour as the epitome of Ghana development ...

Connected men promoting their children over the poor souls will infuence for grades to be switch while the papersheet reprinted to look clean. You true grade is with somebody, while you carry their grades. That is what the re ...

• OLIVER TWIST 8 years ago

KUFFUOR AND HIS COHORTS HAVE BEEN EXPOSED. CRIMINALS.

• KOFI TOTOBI KWAKYE 8 years ago

Castrating him over $75.000, just the same way Afrifa was murdered because he embezzled about 50,000 dollars.

• Otsibu Darko 8 years ago

And rawlings is still living and enjoying his loot, they will all be exposed.

• Gf 8 years ago

You mean former president Kuffour is linked to a secret account worth $75,000 dollars only!!! This Ndc reporter is very uneducated, like the many square pegs in round holes in the management of the country currently! Where a ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

The worrisome fact, here, is not necessarily how much is reported to have been stashed away abroad but the very fact that such an action was taken. This may be only one of may hidden accounts elsewhere.

Meanwhile, this is ...

The finding is in son name. What about his own name and other children name. He believe in capitalism that develop nation through individual corporations. Got the money from our government system, not doing anything to promot ...

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

Just like Zuma in SA, Kufuor should be ask to refund the money he used in upgrading his private house. The state had the OSU Castle so there was no need for the state to bear the cost of Kufuor's private home. This is backdoo ...

May be he was too excited and in rush to publish, the truth will come out one day.

• Hello Moore 8 years ago

Whether is $75.000or $75.000.000 it doesn't matter in US the former Virgina gov ,just $165.000 and he and her wife are prison now so what are talking about. $75.000 is nothing for k4

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Hello, $75K in Ghana is really worth more than what $165K would offer you in the USA.

It is the impact of what such a loss to the State does to its Citizens that matters more. So, do not belittle such an amount as being i ...

• Mahami is a thief 8 years ago

THAT IS WHY FOOOOLS DON'T WON'T NANA ADDO TO COME,HMMMMMMM

• emma 8 years ago

fellow ghanaians lets be very decorous in the kind of comment we pass about our leaders.i am very sad about how social media is destroying the social fabric of ghanaian society.Iam not a fan of ex presideny Kuffour but i am ...

• APONKYE 8 years ago

We have always told you that NPP is the Nasty People's Party. Nana Addo's father was a CIA Agent. Now Kufuor is caught with an Offshore account!

Nana Addo will be the worst option for Ghana.

• ed 8 years ago

LOOKS LIKE JERRY RAWLINGS WAS RIGHT

• mensa 8 years ago

WHY STEAJ K4 WHY?

• AKRANTIE-BINI EATER 8 years ago

How I miss JJ, to come back a clean house.

• DEAR 8 years ago

KUFOUR PRESIDED OVER THE MOST CORRUPT GOVERNMENT IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA.
    HE APPOINTED HIS RELATIVES TO POSITIONS THEY EXPLOITED TO AMASS WEANLTH AND SOME OF HIS RELATIVES BECAME MILLIONAIRES OVERNIGHT.

NPP IS A CORRUPT P ...

• kwasi 8 years ago

STEALINGS YOU ARE TALKING NONSENSE MAN

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

and propaganda.go and retrieve the money
    APUUTAAAAA ghana is running by nkwaseafor.who will buy this crappies.mmoa mma.K4 is not running any position hotel dubai drunkard is running

• Naqeew 8 years ago

"nkwaseafor", "mmoa mma". Those words. Are you sure you are being reasonable and civil? Anyway, it takes one to identify their own. I'm not sure these would have been your words if it was about Mahama. The truth is there is d ...

• Nana yaw sunshine 8 years ago

Black man with black sense

• ACID& Dagger Party 8 years ago

Ebon a, ye b3 te.

• Awudu 8 years ago

You see how this man has stolen Ghana money.

• Johnson 8 years ago

?dr Mahami will be laughing that he has stolen billions and we are talking about a few thousands.

• kweku Kumi 8 years ago

48 million with Woyome. Go for that not 75 k

• FIAVI. 8 years ago

WHY NOW?SINCE KUFOUR LIFT OFFICE,THIS YEAR 2016 OUR EYES ARE OPEN AND GHANAIAN S ARE WAKEUP

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Worse is yet to come. Kufuor who even bribed his own NPP MPs with US$5,000 each to pass the privatisation of Ghana Telecom. You can imagine how much Kufuor must have made from that sale. Yet people respect Kufuor as a statesm ...

• kwasi 8 years ago

I dont respect him a little bit. Haruna Esseku,the NPP former chairman said Kuffuor was presiding over corrupt practices at the Castle.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

FIAVI, please, go to BBC or CNN and you will read this news and will know that this news or story is from the Daily Graphic or NDC or Daily Guide.

• joe,boston 8 years ago

Kuffour, his family and indeed NPP must bend their head in shame. Now it is not a perception but an open secret. "What shall it profit a man to gain the whole and loose his soul." This confirms the rumor that Kuffour was and ...

• FIAVI. 8 years ago

DID YOU THINK GHANAIAN ARE FOOLS,NDC MUST GO

• Obinim 8 years ago

Fiavi you don't have anything to say so why don't you shut up to avoid further embarrassment?

• FIAVI. 8 years ago

TOILET NDC PAPER

• Carlos 8 years ago

You are a jackass. The world exposed your NPP and the Kuffour family not NDC. The proverbial ostrich.

• Johnson 8 years ago

Do you know the presidents son is the richest man in Ghana? We have been made to understand that mahami's son is a professional footballer in UAE? Nketiwaa has a mansion in Canada? NDC people are fools. If I were them I will ...

• Thompson 8 years ago

Johnson, you're rather the fool here. It's precisely because of people with this kind of unprogressive mentality that Ghana has continued and will continue to underdevelop. Wake up, Johnson!

• Obinim 8 years ago

Johnson is living in a fool's paradise. The likes of him can't think properly.

• nitty-gritty 8 years ago

Mahama's wealth in Dubai,NDC government create jobs for the youths

• kwasi 8 years ago

SELFISHNESS HAVE NO PLACE IN THIS WORLD MAN

• Adua 8 years ago

In this modern digital age one can only but you simply cannot hide. Where is Kweku Baako who went globe trotting looking for Rawling's foreign accounts. This is where his ingenuity is required he can just follow up on this st ...

• DEAR 8 years ago

ALL OUR LEADERS, EXCEPT NKRUMAH, WERE THIEVES. THEY HAVE LOOTED OUR TREASURY AND RENDERED GHANA POOR.

• Young pioneer 8 years ago

Mr Documents claims to be a Muslim and we are made to understand that as a Muslim you must always be truthful always even in the face of death. What didn't Ghanaians hear about Kweku Baako and his bosom friends in the elephan ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Yes, Ghanaians are indeed shallow-minded. How long had Kufuor been out of office and why is this coming out now? NDC is the only political party that had propaganda office and a well paid secretary. They will do whatever to ...

• Sally 8 years ago

Panama Papers: Mossack Fonseca leak reveals elite's tax havens
    By Richard Bilton
    BBC Panorama
    8 hours ago
    From the section World
    Panama Papers

Panama tax leak reaction
    Q&A: Panama Papers
    Panama leaks spur global ...

• Kwame Addo 8 years ago

This is not a propaganda Pelicles. The Panama Papers were licked yesterday. It revealed Vladimir Putin as the leader with the most hidden account in his family's name. So much for calling Mahatma the most corrupt politician.

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

Anyone who waits on some newspaper report or some expose to know that anyone who ever became a leader in Ghana, be it military dictatorship or civilian government, has no skeletal remains in the closet deserve to never know t ...

• koliko 8 years ago

This is no news,everybody knows kuffour is an excellent thief,

• xxx 8 years ago

this Trokosi idiot has no shame, why bring in President Kufuor's name with an account dealing with his son? how many millions of dollars has your Trokosi thieves not stolen from Ghana under fictitious Judgement debts

• obroni 8 years ago

lets see how other world leaders are being treated and how Kufuor will get out. 10 to 1 that the damage for Kufuor will be controlled.
    A poor lawyer becoming president, ending up with his whole family in the top 100 richest ...

• Best 8 years ago

Waawaa

• Asebu 8 years ago

This is NDC's propaganda. Their top people have been circulating the link to this for sometime now including their former security capos. What is $75000? Kufuor had been in business long before he became president. Using the ...

• YAO 8 years ago

BY their deeds ye shall know them. we called them a cocaine financing party and it is true, we called them corrupt and they have just proven it. the NPP never cease to surprise Ghanaians with their practices. this cannot be d ...

• Amponsa Kakabo LONDON 8 years ago

What a waste of time to create disaffection against President Kufour and Kofi Annan.
    John Addo Kufour once a resident of UK, an Accountant and businessman having $75,000 in his offshore account is not worth to report. We ar ...

• Villager 8 years ago

Do not write like you are addressing IDIOTS. Airport authorities are not like Ghanaians, seize $1 0000 000 and only you NPP lovers in London hear about it because the President's wife.. We are not idiots are you think.

Why will he sent just 75000 that could be bank in Ghana to help the banks in ghana to have monies to operate. Atleast, someone can get loans. Are they trying to defuse the capitalism economic politcy they introduced against N ...

How do we develop when capital is being bank away from the country to keep shortage of foreign or international currencies from our banks.
    The diasporeans are transmitting to sustain the economy, while stupid leaders remit ...

• Jar 8 years ago

This are the people who want to rule Ghana I hope Ghanaians are reading this story. Rawlings is all along right about kuffour and his party Npp. Ashantes are only good for one thing, stealing,backstabbing, corruption and nois ...

• Jake 8 years ago

He was not interested in the complete eradication of under the three form of education in the country. Kuffour was busy sorting after just his immediate family needs and not the vulnerable children and families plus our curre ...

• Jar 8 years ago

All the noises about Rawlings stealing millions of Ghanaians money, up untill now no mention of Rawlings of corruption whatsoever being found so who is telling the truth now? Kuffour as some may call him the best President ev ...

• kojo nzo ekangaki 8 years ago

Will Abdul Malik Kweku Baako investigate the secret accounts of Ex President Kufour and family too as he did to Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings ?We are watching!

• kojo nzo ekangaki 8 years ago

Will Abdul Malik Kweku Baako investigate the secret accounts of Ex President Kufour and family too as he went on a wild goose chase to dig Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings ?We are watching!

• Koo Sigi. 8 years ago

Because it involves Kuffour look at how these npp people are reacting. After all a child yet unborn knows Kuffour was not clean. He surrounded himself with bunch of thieves stealing our money.

• brother 8 years ago

Please stop wasting our ears with propaganda.we voted for ndc because they say they will bring npp corrupt officers in the telecom deal to book,jail yaa naa killers up to now yaa mutu.more chiefs are being killed in broad day ...

• KKD 8 years ago

And they have the nerve to point fingers at NDC

• OPINION 8 years ago

To those of you who have being brainwashed by partisan politics, this news is not local. In fact, it's international news on CNN/BBC.

• Dickson 8 years ago

Unnecessary article.Did I see it right that the money in question is $75000.00?.how many ordinary Ghanaians in Ghana do u think have this money.

• Maame 8 years ago

What's wrong with former president having 75.000 thousand that is money market women in Ghana can count from their account.please let be really and stop disrespecting KUFFOUR and his family.

• Eboooooom Basaaaah 8 years ago

it isn't now but then please u people should think about GH before thinking about your so call masters the blood of kwadwo baah weradu is voicing out very soon all shall come to book

• Carlos 8 years ago

This is what Ghanaians have been saying all along how corrupt and inept the NPP party is. They drained and looted Ghana dry by stealing and opening accounts in foreign countries. Where will Ghana our beloved country be today ...

• Carlos 8 years ago

Love your article, but point of correction Kuffour is the WORST president that Ghana has ever had

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

What prevents the Kufours from keeping that money in one of the big banks in London, which is a world leader in terms of banking but rather in a small far away country like Panama.

• Nana Yenka masem. 8 years ago

Even during his time of office he increased Per Diem almost 4000% on assumption of office. No wonder Per Diem was a national secret during Kuffour’s presidency. However, if JA travelled for the Per Diem, he would have visit ...

• JM 8 years ago

Any one who banked government money will be sick to die in foreign country. In Jesus name Amen.

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Anyone wearing a panama hat is also suspect.

• NOBODY 8 years ago

My blurred eyed fingers.

• ScHoly 8 years ago

Nonesense

• Pumpuni 8 years ago

"An official commission later found no evidence of wrongdoing."

If there ever was competition for a president whom so much was given and so much was expected, but who delivered so little, John Agyekum Kuffour will win hands down. JA Kuffour was more interested in his personal comfort than ...

Kuffour and his cronies’ looted plum state lands in Accra, Tema, and Kumasi. They stole state cars, assets, properties, and state owned corporations. One guy went as far as to steal all the furnishings and fittings in his o ...

Thinking he can take all of us for ride. George Bushes wife. Kwaseato. Barimafoo tantan. Affinaba trying to mess with the pride of Ashanti, Obiri Yeboah's seed. Adonkorfoma. Your children are in trouble with me. Academically, ...

Kwame Nkrumah. The sage of Ghana politics. The prudent of prudent. Billed Akosombo under saboteurs and harassments. Asked to broker peace for fiendish west.

Ridgewan mfntsepim, Opokye awam pastor, Asamoah Baah, Osei kwaku, John Sarpong, Edward Osei and Boateng, john kufour, Steven Darko, Elvis Avheampong awam pastor, Fredua Boateng some cousin, Prince kesse, David Donyina, Steven ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

In 2001 ex President Kuffour was doing very well as president after taking office barely a year earlier. He had started criminal investigations into past NDC ministers in his much touted "causing financial loss to the state" ...

• Asem beba dabi 8 years ago

The financial harm NPP caused to Ghana' s economy during their tenure of office is immeasurable. Yet, they have the privilege to talk about corruption in Ghana today. God is watching them. They did worst corrupt practices as ...

• Yakubu Andani 8 years ago

So what is wrong if he has an Account with a bank? Your mother. Is Mahama not having a bank Account. Foolish. God will punish you. My question is that is the money for him or Ghana.

• Naqeew 8 years ago

Unfortunately God does not punish just like that. But you can be sure He does not like those who use His name in vain.

• JOHN 8 years ago

EI KUFFOUR!. I REMEMBER WHEN GHANA WENT HIPIC AND ALL OUR DEBTS WERE WRITTEN OFF, AMERICA GAVE GHANA 500 MILLION DOLLARS. WHERE IS THE MONEY?. PLS LETS MAINTAIN MAHAMA TO COMPLETE CIRCLE INTERCHANGE, KASOA INTERCHANGE. KOMEN ...

• Osu Klottey 8 years ago

$75,000.00 is no deal big game money to talk about,Kuffour can afford $1 million before he came to power,this is no case to write or talk about

• KK Manu 8 years ago

Breaking news and exposure will come for many years to come about the Golden era of Corruption led by NPP under Kufour the Great Thief and his gang of Criminal Basbards that looted Ghana clean.

• KK Manu 8 years ago

Why did Kuffour changed the cedis in his last days in office? God knows how much he stole of the new currency if a Thief is in charge of printing new money for Ghana? A disgrace to Ashantis and Ghana as a whole.A fucking thie ...

• craig, ulm Germany 8 years ago

75k......is small......i respect kuffour.....don't think having that amount somewhere means.....he is corrupt.

• Baaba 8 years ago

Lol I cry for Ghana bcos we are very stupid, so because someone has a foreign account means that it's secret? You pple are so poor that you are sweating over someone's personal peanuts while the present government is chopping ...

Old man npp thief

• Patriot 8 years ago

What about Mahama's multi-million dollar hotel in Dubai?

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

For $75,000 NO NEED TO GO TO Panama ! Stupid Idiots.

Even if it's a cent he has "stolen' from Ghanaians, that amount could have built a school, clinic or library. If it the money is his and was earned honest way it would not be in offshore account, it would be in bank in Englan ...

• MENSAH FRED 8 years ago

call or whatsap..0249620218 Hi Am Mensah Fred,i deal with lotto numbers,my numbners are deal game which comes from a TRUSTED SOURCE everyday.The maximum win per week is three times and the minimum is two..interested people ca ...

• Jetmoney 8 years ago

If the prime minister wouldn't had been bright to light ..no one will write this article

• Jetmoney 8 years ago

$75,000 is what NDC will buy breakfast with...tweakai the cars they buy from each of their girlfriends...how much do they cost? ???

• Ekow 8 years ago

NPP again,this is how foolish they are

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

The man is a thief and a crook who fattened his pockets through numerous overseas per diem travel allowances which did not bring any gains to the country. Where did his son get the funds to buy hotel Kufour? He must be probed ...