You are here: HomeNews2016 02 28Article 419379

Otabil: 'Businesses being killed with high taxes'

Read Comments Comments (110)

• WAR AGAINST NPP BULLYING 8 years ago

OH WELL YOU'RE NPP AREN'T YOU??!!! SINCE YOU'RE TALKING FACEBOOK, CALL ANY AMERICAN AND ASK THEM ABOUT THE IRS!!! THEN COME AGAIN

• Kanawu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

A BUNCH OF STUPID PEOPLE LEADING GHANA

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-DerDieDas.@KÖLN...
    Mahama corruption lagacy has yielded food and the results are: Ameri deal, Kumasi Airport, Rattary Park, MetroMass Bus rebranding, Sada, Geeda, Wayomi 50 Million cedis. All of the above money stol ...

• aikins 8 years ago

Sometimes I wonder how any human being will support this useless man called mahama, this man I am sure is now the most richest in Ghana through corruption just after 7 years vice and president. 30 billion dollars can not be ...

• mends 8 years ago

Sometimes I wonder how any human being will support this useless man called aikins, this man I am sure is now the most richest in Ghana through corruption just after 7 years as an ass hole. 30 billion dollars can not be accou ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

THEY WANT TO MONOPOLIZE ALL BUSINESSES. TAX PPL CHOP THE MONEY SO THEY CAN GET FRUSTRATED. SO NDC PPPL CAN TAKE OVER THESE INDUSTRIES. THAT IS THEIR AIM. BUT THEY FORGET THAT THEY WILL LOSE THE ELECTION AND WHAT THEY ARE DOIN ...

Author:-facts.....
    Mahama will surely impress people like Pratt but not most Ghanaians like Baako whose eyes are wide open to the fake and false projects as claimed by Mahama. The overwhelming debts sinking the country . NDC ...

• aikins 8 years ago

Fool don't you have mind of your own just like the other reasonable people on this platform? Then stay out and let the human beings comment, "Odwan"

AUTHOR: MAHAMA B3 KO-------
    Not only is the credibility of John Mahama in tatters, it has gone up in smoke. It has literally evaporated, and nothing is there. It is gone, like pooffff in a puff of smoke.
    The question howeve ...

• Afrikikoman--Abiding in Salvation per 8 years ago

What is left, borrowing and high taxes from unemployed or low incomes. One do not need PHD or Masters degrees on paper to comprehend this economic trends. Even your personal finances, if you have lived in advance country ough ...

To provide modern advance or high leveel theoretical and practical knowhow to youth as intellectuals for supporting the country. I am sure if Dr. Kwame Nkrumah had stayed in power for a while KNUST or TECH could have become ...

How many rich coacoa farmers know their financial riches need other productive businesses like putting their farm produce into comez and other packaging for export of exersses to promote jobs for up and coming for a better li ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: MAHAMA B3 KO-------
    Not only is the credibility of John Mahama in tatters, it has gone up in smoke. It has literally evaporated, and nothing is there. It is gone, like pooffff in a puff of smoke.
    The question howeve ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

this guy is complete NPP, you see now!! but i bet otabil nana ado is loosing the elections, no two ways, he should mark it on his wall,

• William 8 years ago

if YOUR CHURCH AND OTHERS ARE TAXED, OVER-TAXING BUSINESS WILLREDUCE!

• mends 8 years ago

Author:-DerDieDas.@KÖLN...
    Soldier corruption lagacy has yielded food and the results are: Ameri deal, Kumasi Airport, Rattary Park, MetroMass Bus rebranding, Sada, Geeda, Wayomi 50 Million cedis. All of the above money sto ...

• Yes we Can 8 years ago

Kanawu plz respect urself. Dont call ur leader by ur judgement cuz dat wrong. Call them by wat God call them. Wise and noble leaders. God bless u Gh. leadèrs God Bless u kanawu

• Biko 8 years ago

Taxes are everywhere. What Otabil is talking of is the killing taxes in Ghana. The IRS do not impose killing taxes on Americans. What if Otabil is NPP, NDC, or CPP, is he not fit to comment on the daily affairs of Ghana? Wake ...

• BK 8 years ago

You know Otabil is being economical with the truth. He has hidden agenda. He is upset that university pays taxes and is not enjoying government largess. No where are private universities subsidized but Otabil has been pushi ...

Author:-Onipaba Of Akyem Maase.....
    Only kwesi pratt can eat an egg and use a tooth pick to take out bones from the crevices of his beaver teeth. Let kwesi tell us how much his pay masters spend. The nhis is in the guttars, ...

• mends 8 years ago

Author:-Onipaba Of Akyem Maase.....
    Only Old Soldier can eat an egg and use a tooth pick to take out bones from the crevices of his beaver teeth. Let Soldier tell us how much his pay masters spend. The nhis is in the guttars ...

• Kriss 8 years ago

Shallow minded person... We are talking about national framework for businesses to thrive you peanut brain is thinking... "NPP"

• No Mercy 8 years ago

Is true.from Otabil.we dont war.True is light .NDCs Thiefs.Ghanaians must vote silly greedy ndc out forever.

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Shamelss idiot ! The guy at least shares his experiences with the youth and care. And there you go again on political fanfare to dirty him. How many of your Ndc illiterates speeches wisdom ? How many of them gives ideas and ...

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

The Smell and Decay from Corrupt-Mahama is Sickening :Vote Him OUT!. Water tariffs up by 140%,collapsing Classrooms, GYEEDA ,LABOUR-STRIKES,VICKY MAHAMA,WORLD-CUP CORRUPTION,$3 BILLION OIL MONEY STOLEN.....Killings of Bank Ma ...

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 8 years ago

Dr Otabil,
    Thank you for your encouragement of young people, my only hope that the few who think, they are more Ghanaian than you and me, will not use this as fodder to further their own agenda

I moved from Canada to USA ...

• Afr Amer Male (USA) 8 years ago

Kosi, if you are 1099 (self-employed, biz folk) in US, instead of being W-2 (jobs-centered folks) your taxation should be no more than 10% max yearly.

Kosi, you need to hang in the right circles in the US.

Contact me he ...

• aikins 8 years ago

I am also coming if this useless mahama win this year's election.

• Samuel Nana Mensah 8 years ago

I am based in USA and I want make business in Ghana,but taxes are too high and the government should reduce taxes at port and the country for jobs to grow in Ghana

• Gyata 8 years ago

If your product is all that, high taxes or no high taxes, you will thrive. Excellent products defy taxes because you make so much money taxes are like static noise that you notice once-a-while because you are too busy making ...

• The African Patriot 8 years ago

Learn to reason, please.
    Who is going to buy your product, if in calculation of the product price highest taxes are considered on it?
    Those working in Ghana making huge moneys do not pay taxes are required by the tax laws i ...

• BK 8 years ago

Otabil is either half baked economist or accomplished mischief. The Ivory Coast is thriving in spite of their higher taxes. The key is infrastructure. If electricity , water, the roads, legal and police work, industries wi ...

• ras 8 years ago

Also check the pay levels and the sort of social services enjoyed by their citizens

• Gyata 8 years ago

Ignorance of facts and realities is not an excuse for this man to go spewing wrong ideas to young people.

Zuckerberg and Jobs started in the world's largest economy now indebted to the world most populous communist country ...

• Kofi Canada 8 years ago

You have to understand is the speed at taxes are been introduced, and utilities bills are going up. The annoying part is that these so called officials don't even pay for petrol though they drive the biggest cars. It is easy ...

• san 8 years ago

Thanks

• TL 8 years ago

Otabil should pay his taxes and be happy for Great Mahama will make Ghana rich again like in the sixties.

• yaw 8 years ago

How is he going to that ? He s mumu .. He had this goodwill and credible in 2012 but not anymore. It will take him another 4 long years to make a little progress. We need to build infrastructure and the economy at the same ti ...

• Gyata 8 years ago

So you believe Akuffo Addo will win? He has never proven to care about Ghanaians, but to be president. I always use the example of Ghanaians being killed in the Gambia when he was foreign minister. HE DID NOTHING, FOKO. Is ...

This not true. He was not a president az that time so if you want blame someone, do it to Ex president Kuffour. He was in charge of the nation's security. It should be upon his request that Nana Addo must act. Kuffour use dip ...

• Atoo 8 years ago

Is this man a politician or a pastor. Go tell the business men to stop buying the Range Rovers and v8s and plough back their profits. Do u know how Ghanaian business men are cheating their workers? Even in your school see how ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

GHANAIANS MADE OTABIL FAMOUS.HE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN FAMOUS IF HE HAD LIVED IN AMERICA.
    THERE ARE MANY GHANAIANS WHO CANNOT AFFORD TRASSACO VALLEY SO OTABIL IS A HYPOCRITE.
    A PROPHET IS NOT KNOWN IN HIS HOMETOWN BUT GHANA MA ...

• aikins 8 years ago

Why have you all of a sudden started..............................Show me one person who made himself famous if not other people around he or she? And mind you he has made name as man of GOD not as any ccorrupt presiden . (T ...

• Gyata 8 years ago

Absolute Nonsense! Just because you shout man of God or anointed does not mean a thing when it comes to economics, government and politics, especially if the man is ignorant and has not made any intellectual contribution to ...

• aikins 8 years ago

No wonder you call yourself Gyata,you can only be an animal to have such a mindset.

• Gods will 8 years ago

Gyata r u serious at all, pple of ur sort will always lack wisdom. U shouldn't let ur political affiliation blind fold u to the extert of u ignoring wisdom wen u see one. Pls sit down to read wat d pastor said and learn somet ...

• pee 8 years ago

Pravite Universities lower your fees

• Osofo 8 years ago

Otabil can't you talk about salvation? Eiiii a pastor always talking about prosperity ooooh masa are u working for God or who please read your bible well and follow what the apostles do bcos you are living in luxury cars and ...

Do your research properly on how pastors and Revrends operate in Europe where the christian religion come from? Am talking the people who brought Christianity to our shores. Most of the go after their dailly work and get back ...

• Elizabeth Blessing 8 years ago

IT is disheartening to see the country where politicians see themselves as demigods and do not think about the children and the youths future. They only think about their votes to win and that's all. Assess all the MPs. Some ...

• Mensah Fred 8 years ago

Hi I am Mensah Fred, I deal with lotto numbers, My numbers are deal game which comes from NLA HEAD OFFICE everyday. The maximum WINS we experience a week is Four(4) and minimum is Two(2).
    Interested peolple can whatsap or c ...

• Adam. 8 years ago

When the people kill their leaders, persecute them, harm them or insult and condemn them, that is the corruption that kills the nations like the great nation of the children of Israel but the people learn no lessons from this ...

• Aziz 8 years ago

True n wise talk. God bless u

• don 8 years ago

Ghana will breed funny pastors

• Rosemond 8 years ago

Well said Papa

• ideology uk 8 years ago

From the pulpit to politics.

• Tampulma man from lingbinsi, north go 8 years ago

Allahu Akbar, pastor say the truth, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to you

• sacco 8 years ago

to be frank this man is one of most sensible men in ghana now, I really like him

• Damakus Travel and Tour 8 years ago

Get a 3yr Australia working visa within 15 working days. Assured US and Canada visas. 3 ppl urgently needed for Germany Schengen visa. Jobs also available in Dubai and Qatar for all workers. contact me on 0541702098

• esi 8 years ago

Listen to the message , understand it before u pass a comment. Those who have sold their brains to parties so the party will put food on our table for you are all fools. Some ndc people will condem the pastor because he is te ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You said it all, but will this people listen? What he said was force politicians to make decisions that favor with your dream to make it life.

• efo 8 years ago

This is how a leader speak. No wonder he is the greatest man of influence in our time. Who will insult such a man. Only myopic corrupt individuals do. May be out of ignorance.

• APONKYE 8 years ago

God is with u DR.Tabil. Please be bold and tell truth always no matter what people.Because some idiots don't like the truth.God bless you man of God .

• stephen Pascal 8 years ago

You are indeed a great man ...Pastor mensa Otabil

• Truth 8 years ago

Most of u people dat come here to defend Mahama r stupid n clueless with no aspirations. The man is Ghanaian n can express himself,wat if he's NPP??? So wat???All u do all day is stay on dis website reply anyone n everyone da ...

• facts 8 years ago

Mahama can only insult, he cannot listen to any except his gang members. All he is doing now is to collect from the populace to enrich the party for the next elections- nothing more than create, loot and share. Yet Pratt will ...

• Nana 8 years ago

Is this Osofo really a man of God? Is it because you get free money from church members that's why you talk rubbish? The church should start pay tax.

• john mahama 8 years ago

rawlings said tighten your belts. kufuor said milk and honor no no honey will overflow.Mahama says bite the bitter pill today.
    This is incompetence in the midst of water the fool is thirsty

• johnie 8 years ago

Well said Sir am Sorry for Critical of you the other time, you right this the issue we facing now as businessman, how can we change this killing tax laws. ?

• BEN JASON 8 years ago

this is not about NDC NPP. the very reason we remain this way is because of this kind of SATANIC preaching by the Devil otabil! when you go their church they tell you that just keep praying and and everything would be fine. i ...

• nana1 8 years ago

you're really a gift to Ghana

• ============= 8 years ago

THIS GUY IS BEGINNING TO BE AN IRRITANT. IF HE WANTS TO BE A POLITICIAN, HE SHOULD BE OUT OF THE CHURCH. COME TO BRITAIN, BUSINESSES AND HIGH EARNERS PAY A LOT OF TAXES, HOW ELSE DOES HE WANTS THE COUNTRY TO BE DEVELOPED? MAY ...

• SAINT 8 years ago

OTABIL IS A SELFISH AND MYOPIC CAPITALIST WHO WANTS TO MAKE ABNORMAL PROFITS FOR HIMSELF. IF GOVERNMENT DOES NOT COLLECT REASONABLE TAXES HOW CAN IT PROVIDE SOCIAL SERVICES EG. GOOD ROADS, FOR BUSINESS TO TO THRIVE?

OTABIL ...

• HONEYSUCKLE 8 years ago

YOHOOOOOOO.WELL SAID DR OTABIL.THE ENVIROMENT.THE POLICIES THE ENABLING ENVIROMENT FOR THINGS TO HAPPEN.NOT CUT AND PASTE POLICIES.IMPLEMENTATION AND ENFORCEMENT OF LAW

• kwam 8 years ago

Pastor always says the truth and then politicians are always hurt. why?

• KKBK 8 years ago

High taxes killing the mining sector. Mahama come to the aid of the mining sector because most of these investors are relocating to Cote d'Ivoire....making mist of ys unemployed.

• Father 8 years ago

I think the man of god is suffering from something which we ve to be supporting him in prayer

• Danny 8 years ago

excellent speech pastor otabil...we love you...

• Felix 8 years ago

Anyone who commented or comments on this subject out of political affiliation is indeed myopic and a big fool; let elevate the discussion beyond the usual NDC NPP for once

• No Mercy 8 years ago

Otabil keep on speak the True.and is light.State without LAW is imposible.Mahama NDCs has Show how Ghana is fallen.Corruption.

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Poor Ghana.We are being taxed to death bcos pea brain Mahama lacks the necessary brainpower and mental capability for the job.He does not even qualify for a vice-president.The constitutional clause that makes the vice assume ...

• Maximum 8 years ago

God bless u pastor Otabil. You are a good man. You do think about the people and the nation. High taxes is killing the nation. Please don't stop telling the truth. Stay blessed

• NII 8 years ago

I know for sure that some stupid idiots will have a cause to accuse the man of God because they are still in the stone age who don't know what is good for them let alone move the country forward. Pastor continue to expose th ...

• samuel villa 8 years ago

Otabil you can not hide under the Holy Bible to make money through irresponsible ,subversive character like Nana Addo.He(Nana Addo) has just directed his devilish political activities to some churches and you Otabil,despite y ...

• moo 8 years ago

So extortion money from the poor to live lavishly in the name of collections is a business that has been highly tax yeah. Pls Mr man of God's go read Matthew 7-1:5... GOD Bless Ghana.

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Poor Ghana.We have a buffoon of a president who does not even know what state of the nation's address entails.Always using it as a campaign platform and hoodwinking us with rosy picture abt the future whiile conveniently ign ...

• Banos 8 years ago

Very inspiring speech thank Dr. Otabil . I set a business but the environment is not supportive I'm straggling to access loan to turn the business but the banks are not willing to support.

• Inusah 8 years ago

u see Ghanaians, when d see the truth n justice information they say to d one saying it is either in party A or B. To summarized d man is talking about d frame work of Ghana interms of

everything not only politics

• Akwasi. 8 years ago

Intellectuality has its foundation built on common sense. let's put politics aside. if I am a Ghanaian and a pastor, do I have the right to speak for or against? why always politicizing this man's good ideas.

• kaketonti 8 years ago

TELL YOUR STUDENTS NOT TO PAY THEIR FEES.STOP KOFI KE AMA AND TITHES IN YOUR CHURCH.FOR THESE ARE HIGH TAXES TOO.NO SYSTEM IS PERFECT.REGRETABLY,THE OLD LADY BEFORE SHE WENT HOME SAID WORSHIP AT CATHOLIC,ANGLICAN,METHODIST,PR ...

• Yes we Can 8 years ago

On whose capacity does Pastor speak. Does he speak as a minister of the gospel of Christ or as a motivational speaker.
    As a motivational speaker he may be right but as a minister of Christ I doubt. As Christians we play by K ...

• otabil 8 years ago

Stop Politics of inciting young entrepreneurs, anyway why didn't you tell them how businesses are being killed with high taxes, but citing unnecessary examples of Ghana and America is illogical, is Ghana a developed nation,wh ...

• Sam, Bern 8 years ago

Well said! But your alignment with a party is making this message tainted.

• otabil 8 years ago

in your dreams! hahahah.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Some people think playing party politics will let them achieved their dream, but they don't know that there are some policies that killed their dreams. The political environment is so corrupt that it forces people to depend o ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

I am warning Pastor Otabil for the last time to refrain from criticising government and to follow exactly the footsteps of Jesus.

If Otabil has forgotten the scriptures, let me remind him the his LORD Jesus Christ NEVER c ...

• KOFI 8 years ago

After licking your listeners clean without them realising the prosperity promised, they have shifted to plan B, that is putting the blame on govt and high taxes. Hmmmm, smart guys. Crooks!

• jo 8 years ago

Rich people must pay taxes to help poor n needy .this is exactly what europeans americans are doing ,..social life.....but in africa there too gap between rich and poor....God says take their money by force to help needy ... ...

• KANA WU? 8 years ago

Even people of NDC some who really love Ghana will attest Mahama has and is failed Ghana. What Dr. Otabil has said here will fetch him an A, because he speaks the truth.
    Mahama is Ghana killer, a killer of hope and dreams, a ...

• ked 8 years ago

Well as bad as it looks and we are all saying it, we shouldn't forget that we are in a country where majority of the people don't pay tax & yet they want everything free. From school fees to even food on their table. I think ...

• Nana 8 years ago

Mr Osofo are you a politician or a priest .? Why don't you leave the politicians alone and concentrate on your preaching.

• wiseco, usa 8 years ago

That is a fact, poisonous enviroment. I couldn't discovered my talent till I traveled to the United State. Otabil thank your leadership role and your contribution to our motherland country, Ghana. Keep up the good work.

• yebopower 8 years ago

Good analysis.Not only the environment to blame,the problem of greed,avarice,hate,tribalism and slave mentality.It is the Tragedy of the commons.A Blackman witch list.All of the above.It is low esteem and lack of confidence o ...

• OPANINPA 8 years ago

THE TROUBLE WITH GHANA IS THAT PEOPLE LIKE MENASAH OTABIL ARE CONSTANTLY TELLING THE YOU THAT THEIR ANCESTORS ARE FOOLS WHO DID NOT LEAVE THEM ANY KNOWLEDGE WORTHWHILE. THIS INFERIORIZATION ENTERPRISE HAS MADE OTABIL AND HIS ...

• SAY IT AS IT IS 8 years ago

Someone who lives on peoples sweat and blood in a society is saying all sort of things that does not help the building of society because he can be lucky to live in a million dollar building is talking about taxes .
    Ghana, ...

• james 8 years ago

How can u expect Ghanians to invent anything when their all brainwashed by religion? ? Africa is stuck in the past still believing in magic and ghost. I will never reach the prosperity of Europe... never

• Whatever 8 years ago

When Kufour was taxing us to death, you kept quite. Had you talked at that time, maybe things would have changed others won't copy

Businesses make profit... It is a fact that during this period of world economic recession tax on businesses and individuals have been increased all over the world. Take note that profits in most developed countries are regul ...

• Kwame. Italy 8 years ago

Anytime this azaa pastor Otabil speaks it means his offerings and his extortion ways are not working as it used to be before, the reason is Ghanaians are be coming more enlightened and wise.

• wkl 8 years ago

WHAT IS WORSE NOW ON THE TAX ISSUES IS THAT THIS YEAR 2016 ANYBODY GOING ON PENSION IS TO PAY 25% OF HIS EX GRATIA OR END OF SERVICE BENEFIT AS TAX . IMAGING WORKERS WHO HAVE WORKED FOR 40 YEARS AND HAVE PAID TAXES ALL ALONE ...