You are here: HomeNews2016 02 25Article 418571

Legalizing cannabis will put youth at risk - P. C. Appiah-Ofori

Read Comments Comments (28)

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Maybe a closet smoker.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-AAA....
    I don't think Asiedu Nketia has human brain. This guy is a disgrace to SeiKwa people, whose chief serves Asantehene.

Why should Ghanaians praise John Mahama for bringing in Al Queda Islamic terrorists in G ...

• Zato 8 years ago

why on earth should Ghana legalized something like that knowing it will abused by young children and those who are going to use it. Legalized it for medical reasons like its done in some states in US? I didn't expect somethin ...

• Sako 8 years ago

Don't mind that Useless Kofi Anan who was once the world president but could not use his office for anything good. Useless man

• igna 8 years ago

I like that...

• Am me 8 years ago

You NPP dealing in hard drugs and you saying they shouldn't legalize the most herbal weed.

• aikins 8 years ago

Because of unemployment so most of the youths has turn to criminals already.

• igna 8 years ago

Is a disgrace to the man calling himself Kofi Annan or whatever....tweaa so is he really a man to be dreaming of becoming... is a shame

• Yaw 8 years ago

i wonder wha5t Kofi Anna was thinking. Where is Mugabe? In fact do we still call that man a statesman?

• O.K 8 years ago

MR KOFI ANNAN ,IF YOU GIVE THE SMOKERS AN INCH THEY'LL TAKE A YARD.IF THEY LEGALISE CANNABIS,THE SMOKERS WILL START MISUSING COCAINE HEROINE AND ASHES WHICH WILL CAUSE AGREAT CATASTROPHY IN THE COUNTRY.I WAS EXPECTING YOU TO ...

• GANJA FAMER 8 years ago

Peopling of Ghana always make noise when the are issues around the table. The legalization of GANJA ( marijuana) is not any thing the people in these nation must be scared off. Kofi Anna is right. MARIJUANA is not legalized b ...

• Gabriel 8 years ago

You are in mental slavery and ignorant if you think cannabis has negative impact on its users....all the great men of all times have been using it for its spirituall and medical purposes...just do ur research and respect gre ...

• Jane 8 years ago

Mr P.C., it seems you r stuck in the past. Bring urself into the 21st century!! The youth r already at risk due to poor regulation of hard drugs. The earlier hard drugs r regulated, the safer the youth!!!

• Danso 8 years ago

None of these commentators seem to have read what Kofi Annan said. P.C. Appiah-Ofori has not taken the trouble to read the process which Kofi Annan painfully laid down for the legalization of cannabis. Go back to school!

• Blackstar. 8 years ago

Kofi Anan is a man of wisdom. He knows what he's talking about. All what Ghanaians believe in is Jesus. They condemned what will bring money to the youth and praise someone they don't even know but believe he is God. Shame t ...

• Danso 8 years ago

“And therefore, the fourth and final step is to recognize that drugs must be regulated precisely because they are risky. It is time to acknowledge that drugs are infinitely more dangerous if they are left solely in the hand ...

• Michael 8 years ago

U are out of touch of the situation on the ground legalizes will give us almost the sum total of the cash we went to big from IMF ,build caffe shops ,create beaches around cape coast. ,create atmospheric scenery around lake ...

• KG 8 years ago

Well said Sir.
    People like you give us hope for a bright future.
    God richly bless you.

• nana 8 years ago

God bless U Agya Appia.I know U always speak de truth.This is de kind of leaders Ghanaians are lookin for

• kk 8 years ago

There is a school of thought that suggested that, legalise those drugs you cannot control. Let us ask ourselves where we can control and prevent the use of drugs. Under legalisation the drugs will be available but can be obt ...

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

Kofi Annan gave facts to support for his call to legalize. Appiah Ofori just made a blanket statement without facts to support his assertions, and he is supported by shallow brains here. This is a one time legislator. No wond ...

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

if gorvenment is not contributing to the growth of ones life then government has no business to tell you what to do.

government should make sure that youngsters are protected from the use of cannabis.
    people who are taki ...

• Obroni Jeff 8 years ago

Legalize cannibis and all drugs. Why does anyone believe it is the State's business to regulate what a free person does with their body? State regulation of such is wrong. True freedom is the ability of people to make their ...

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

"Legalize cannibis and all drugs."

please we are not talking about legalizations of all drugs.
    that kind of thinking belongs to the western world. a place where everything goes.
    i don't agree with your stance on the lega ...

• Obroni Jeff 8 years ago

Prohibition of alchohol in the 1920's didn't work in America. It led to a rapid rise in organized crime and so many other unintended and catastrophic consequenses that it was abolished in the 1930's. The same thing happens a ...

• asonaba kofi 8 years ago

Kofi gave enough reasons for his stance to be credible. all what the present system is doing is to create young criminals just because they smoked cannabis. with the social stigma attached to going to prison, they find it dif ...

• capt. Jay jay 8 years ago

It is said that when a lie is repeated on hold it becomes the truth n politics. We ve realy lost touch about the truth of cannabis. For so many centuries now the world has picked a fight about the use of this migic healer and ...

• KABA THOMAS 8 years ago

It is ignorance that let people think and believe cannabis are for criminals, we have potential criminals who do not use this drugs.legalizing and regulating it will rather reduce crime. we should legalize Indian hem and barn ...