You are here: HomeNews2016 02 24Article 418389

Ivor’s disability makes him the wrong candidate – Jantuah

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Kb 8 years ago

Am I reading this? I feel so ashamed.

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

ITS DIFFICULT TO SAY BUT THE CHANCE OF A DISABLED PERSON TO BE PRESIDENT IN GH IS LOW.

• Johannes B Awotwe 8 years ago

Atsu,

You are right because Ghanaians would judge a book by the cover. They would not consider the intelligence and efficiency of a person but rather how tall and stupid the person is.

• nana 8 years ago

Well said my brother.if presidency were to be physical appearance Rawlings,Kuffour and Mahama wud hv taken us to heaven.

• Takashi 8 years ago

I would advise that we dont put all the blame on Jantuah who is now weak, infirm and probably senile. He has probably lost the ability of discretion and good judgement to restrain himself from expressing the kind of vulgar se ...

• Noorah 8 years ago

Atsu it is a start that opens doors for other disabled people

• William 8 years ago

Did he really say that? You need 2 legs to lead? No wonder CPP moving in circles! Distorted value system! What has being a cripple got to do with good health, or with a sound mind?

• ZOOBIE-ZOOBIE 8 years ago

shocked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Concerned 8 years ago

It's sad but a lot of people share this mentality. That is precisely the reason we are suffering. It shows age doesn't always bring wisdom

• Kwasi Broni 8 years ago

We have Nkrumah,Busia, Limann, Kufour,
    Soldiers Kotoka,Afrifa,Rawling imprisoned us for 3 years now we want change a flying wheelchair-bounded.

• KIA 8 years ago

Well, no wonder so much rested on Nkrumah himself. With such shitty heads for cabinet minsters, Nkrumah was bound to feel too superior not to declare himself dictator for life! I have more respect for wheel-bound Stephen Ha ...

• Ebo Letrik 8 years ago

Mentally retarded!

• Apuskele 8 years ago

You are sooooo right. How could a person like Jantuah have been a Minister? No wonder Nkrumah felt so superior. Jantuah does not deserve to be a village chief. Nkrumah intentionally appointed semi literates to his cabinet ...

• Susuka 8 years ago

Dont fret folks. Jantuah was once thrown out of Kwame Nkrumahs circle of trusted aids when he stole money belonging to the state and briefly jailed. Im not sure what happened after that but I know that Kwame Nkrumah, true to ...

• kay 8 years ago

Blind short sighted people. Buhari just appointed a blind man. Disability is a mental state of mind. Shallow man

• APONKYE 8 years ago

I agree with the old man: How can a short man like Nana be president? The truth is always bitter but we must face it.

• jak 8 years ago

You name s like your character.gyimifuo Aponkye

• Close Observer 8 years ago

Jantuah is as stupid as you Aponkye nkrakra. Have you heard of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, A former US president? No just a president, but a president in times of war, 1933 - 1945? Do you know he was disable?

• Close Observer 8 years ago

Jantuah is as stupid as you Aponkye nkrakra. Have you heard of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, A former US president? Not just a president, but a president in times of economic crisis and war, 1933 - 1945 Do you know he was disabl ...

• Susuka 8 years ago

Many people make the same mistake of saying disable rather than disabled. You made the mistake twice in a row and that is why I find the need to correct you.

• Gbedema 8 years ago

I'm becoming more and more ashamed to call myself a Ghanaian. Not a single day passes without one disgraceful comment or the other by a supposedly enlightened member of our society, including by dirty old men like this brainl ...

• Anokye Twum-Antwi 8 years ago

This is a rather disappointing comment from an elder statesman like Mr. Jantuah. Ivor Greenstreet did not choose his disability. And, more crucially, ideas and the passion to develop a country are not embedded in the legs of ...

• Mohammed 8 years ago

Mr. Jantua,your choice of words on your elected leader Mr Ivor green street are affront to the principles of rule of law in Ghana in short. I don't think Dr. Kwame Nkrumah if he was alive would have bin happy with your statem ...

• Earl Jones 8 years ago

wow, the best oxymoron i have read in a very long time!

‘’You stand tall before persons with disability in Ghana and Africa at large, hence you are not only our role model but you have become the beacon of hope for us ...

• Nana Effah 8 years ago

Hey Juantoah, Is your history fossilised? President Roosevelt of USA was likewise physically disabled, and was in a wheelchair.
    Do not look down on disabled people as useless. Marie Curie, who discovered radioactive element ...

• Nana Effah 8 years ago

Was it you the Juantoah who in the fifties challenged the authenticity of the Golden stool as mere piece of wood, a statement that aroused the lamentation of Ashanti nation at the time or a relative of yours? The name 'Juanto ...

• k, no problem, a 8 years ago

Look at this! Who wonders why the CPP is dead. How can you say this about your flag bearer,
    Yes Akosa is the best candidate and can bring power to the CPP but he did not stand and he was not elected so why destroy what you h ...

I cannot believe what I'm reading.

Mr Jantuah, if you are interested to know, the most powerful Minister of Finance in the European Union in the personality or Dr Schauble, is a
    cripple ( through an attack on his life).

• Amecole 8 years ago

Look who is talking, a crude "elder statesman" former varendah boy of the late Osagyefo Dr. Nkrumah. What if any at all is Mr. Jantuah's claim to fame when Osagyefo gave him a chance to serve?
    Mr. "Fameless" Jantuah has to l ...

• YF 8 years ago

John mahama is not physically disable but his brains are disable and he is using this brains disability to give Ghana incompetence and failures but Ivor Greenstreet is physically disable but his brains are working much
    fa ...

• kakabo 8 years ago

Ivor may not win the election not because he is a cripple. He may not win because the party he is leading has been decimated by the NDC. A cripple could lead a strong party to win an election. Ivor may be physically challenge ...

• profferlio 8 years ago

I think ur facts are wrong. It was the npp who decimated cpp. After npp overthrew cpp, they put a banned on the party and told nkrumah not to return to gh. So please dont try change history or facts

• Charles Agbenu 8 years ago

Silly deliberate comment. CPP regrouped into PNP and had power thro Limann in 1969. Then PNDC.. NDC decimated Limann. Why do u ignore this simple fact and still blame NPP for CPP woes,? Stop your dishonesty. Stop it.

• ama 8 years ago

FRANKLYN D.ROOSEVELT who was a cripple was one of America's greatest Presidents.

• Dade 8 years ago

Oh Opanin, this is pure discrimination. In the UK a blind man (viually impaired,David Blankett was cabinet minister and this a blind man who is also a cabinet minisiter in Mahama's government. This is far low below the belt.

• ATM 8 years ago

Disable person is someone who cannot do something that ordinary person can do, but this guy is capable of doing things. I'm so ashamed to hear this from Jantuah. We need someone who has the brain to lead the country not someo ...

This man is obviously demented.

• Big Ben 8 years ago

The president does not fly or walk to places without using a vehicle. Why then conderm a disability as an impendiment to the Presidency. Am ashamed it is coming from such Man.

• Jambo 8 years ago

The choice of words used to describe Ivor by Mr Jantuah are appalling.An old statesman should not have used such words.In this modern times,disability should not be used to discriminate against people.

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Very sick statement from a Ghanaian elder.

• KOJO MENSAH 8 years ago

At this present age you are discriminating against Ivor. You not civilized at all.

• Ebibiman 8 years ago

Stupid talk.
    I'm very sad to read this.

• ama 8 years ago

My governor in Texas is cripple.Mr Jantuah you are part of ignorant people in our country. lvor will rule with his head.

• MOSHOOD 8 years ago

HAAAAHAA!!!!WHY WOULDN'T GHANA BE IN THIS STATE,IF THIS WAS A MAN WHO WAS ALSO AT THE FOREFRONT OF OUR DEVELOPMENT.
    ASIEDU NKETIA'S REPLICA.FULL OF "NKWASIASEM"

• PIOTO 8 years ago

I think the person making the comment is more disabled than the man in the wheel chair.It's about time we stopped giving prominence to comments that belittle our fellow human beings.The enormity of our country's problems requ ...

• CHINA MAN 8 years ago

ASSHOLE

• CHINA MAN 8 years ago

ASSHOLE

• KB 8 years ago

Who is Jantuah?He sounds like a Political Jantra!!He needs to be purged with a big "bentua"!He is suffering from serious political constipation!!!He is an uncivilised fool!!He sounds so disgusting and nauseating I feel like v ...

• agyeman 8 years ago

Ivor will make a good leader. Even people without disability I mean able bodied presidents are messing up like disabled persons with disabled minds. We might as well offer a sensible disabled person the opportunity. What is J ...

• Ali Baba and the 40 thieves 8 years ago

I will rather vote for an honest disabled person to be president than the "tall" Ali Baba and his bunch of thieves, who have mortgaged and messed up Ghana.

• JH. New York 8 years ago

A typical African attitudes towards disabled persons.J B Jantuah should grow up after all these years.The East bloc is no more,and Nkrumah's Socialist ideologies need to be modified. The World has changed tremendously.Confere ...

• KB 8 years ago

OMG!I HAVEN'T FELT THIS STRONGLY DISGUSTED IN A LONG TIME WITH A GHANAIAN POLITICIAN LIKE THIS ONE,AND A LOT OF THEM ARE PRETTY DISGUSTING!!THIS ONE BEATS ALL OF THEM!!WHAAT!!!
    HE REALLY SAID THAT?!!

• Rabianla 8 years ago

No. Not at all, disability shouldn't disqualify anyone that is qualified to to run for political office from running.

• Odikro 8 years ago

This is very insensitive. A party is not necessarily crippled because it is being lead by a cripple. A party like the NDC is crippled because it was formed by an imbecile and being led by an imbecile. Jantuah must be very dis ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

Is Franklin Jantuah aware that FDR, one of the most successful US Presidents, was also disabled?

He was such an inspirational leader that he served three times as president of the USA, authoring the New Deal that created ...

• CYBERGHANA 8 years ago

This unforgivable insult should motivate Ghanaians to vote for Mr. Greenstreet in November.

• GIGI 8 years ago

Mr. Jantuah is still living in the dark ages. To refer to someone as a "cripple" in this age is shameful. One of the greatest American presidents was a person with a disability, if you are not aware. You have to apologize for ...

• Kwame Joe 8 years ago

Prince Kwasi Adade & his gang have nothing to say this ridiculous slight.

• Adusei 8 years ago

If this is from such a person (Jantuah) I wonder his attitude and visions he had for people with disability during his time as a cabinet minister. It is very discouraging to read this.Jantuah, what signal are you sending to t ...

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

Such ignorance is holding our progress hostage. Mr Jantuah, it is only someone who is not of a sound mind who can not lead.

• nana 8 years ago

He's better than Mahama

• Janntuah aboah 8 years ago

How old is this Jantuah guy? He lives in the 15th century. God help him.

• Kwetteh 8 years ago

Running a country is not about going places it's about ideas. Has he heard of Franklin D. Roosevelt? Ignorance is taking us backwards daily in Ghana.

• KOBBY 8 years ago

PRAY THAT YOU FRANKLIN , NEVER BECOME A DISABLE.

• Sylvester GSPD, Tema 8 years ago

Very bad choice of words, I am a physically challenged person in a wheelchair doing own work. Do we think with our legs

• kojo nzo ekangaki 8 years ago

Yes,Prof.Agyeman Badu. Akosah would be the best candidate for the CPP, remember there is no mercy for a cripple!

• kojo nzo ekangaki 8 years ago

Sure,Prof.Agyeman Badu. Akosah would be the best candidate for the CPP, remember there is no mercy for a cripple!Prof.is a sure bet to oust Mahama and consign Mr William Akufo Addo to the rubbish can of history.

• Edem Lolonyo 8 years ago

Stupid people abound in Ghana e.g Jantuah, koku anyidoho, Asiedu nketia, John mahama.

• Oh ghana 8 years ago

Empty headed Jantuah

• thelynq 8 years ago

Albert Einstein,Alexander Graham Bell,Helen Keller,Stephen Hawkings,Stevie Wonder,Moses in the bible,Ray Charles to name a few,had disabilities yet....

Dummy!!!!!!

• kutsii 8 years ago

Oyiwa oooo oyiwa ! Greenstreet is not only a disabled cripple, but also a disrespectful twerp who thinks the wheel burrow that he is stuck into is a kingly throne. Nonsense. I have not forgiven Greenstreet for his stupidity a ...

• Abdul Sallam Mutada 8 years ago

It is out of place by Jantuah to say something like this. What has disability gotten to do with somebody aspiring to be President.

• Obama Panyin 8 years ago

Even though I don't sympathize with CPP, I feel ashamed to read Mr mantua' comment about Ivor. Mr should know only 4 0/0 of the population is born with disability. Plz Mr Jantua come again.

... He had a car accident and that was the cause of his disability.

• KWASI SASBRONSAM 8 years ago

Jantuah is the one who is disabled -- mentally!

• KOJO SOJA 8 years ago

BITTER TRUTH. POOR MOBILITY

• John 8 years ago

What a sad man. A person's disability does not stop his capability.

• G. Dart. USA 8 years ago

Check FRANKLIN D ROOSEVELT Gt Pres USA 1933-1945 in wheelchair. Mr Jantuah don't make such mistake. It's unfortunate

• MIKY DARLING 8 years ago

I AM REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN THE STATEMENT MADE BY MR. JANTUAH. THIS MAN IS AN EVIL SPIRIT BECAUSE GOD CREATED THE DISABLED. I DECREE AND DECLARE MR. JANTUAH WILL NOT DIE NOW. BUT HE WILL BECOME DEAF AND DUMP AND GET ROTTEN ON ...

• Kwaadonto 8 years ago

I am indeed saddened by Mr Jantuah's comment. Did he actually say that?
    Being a cripple does not make one a less human being. All Mr Greenstreet needs is sound mind and intelligence. Do not be deterred Mr Greenstreet, just ...

• PATRIOT 8 years ago

OLD MAN JANTUAH IS A COMPLETE IDIOT WITH OSSIFIED IDEAS.HIS BRAINS ARE NOT WORKING PROPERLY.HE DOES NOT RESPECT DIABLED PEOPLE AND HIS MENTALITY ABOUT DIABLED PEOPLE IS VERY PERVASIVE AMONG GHANAIANS.MOST GHANAIANS SEE DIABLE ...

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

Hummmmmm!.God have mercy on us,God bless you oman ghana.

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

And this Jantuah was a vanguard in Nkumah's party? Unbelievable!

• Susuka 8 years ago

I suspect that he is still a member of the CPP council of elders. Is anyone surprised?

• Papa Chris 8 years ago

Drop this argument. It's embarrassing. We were taught in our childhood that we could think about all things but not all things are permitted to be said. Such is a wise person. Anyway, everyone is susceptible to disability

• Sy 8 years ago

Jantuah, pick up a Colt 45, stick it in your ...and press the trigger.
    Your are worse than "disabled".
    Did someone say he is a Statesman? Who said so. Get back to me.

• Ibrahim 8 years ago

Who is Jantuah? I think he never know what might happen to him one day. Being a disabled dont mean that you are unable. Jantuah needs to apologize all PWD otherwise he should be ill-adviced and will deal with law.

• Jay 8 years ago

That is the most stupidest statement I have heard in a long time. Ghanaians who think that way needs to get out of the Stone Age. It only only takes one person to change that kind of perception. It is a new day, if Ghanaians ...

• Adekunle 8 years ago

We vote on idiotic reasons and expext the idiots we elect to perform, what a country. Nkrumah are you watching!!

• Etweba Mensah. 8 years ago

You must forgive the old man for his age. He is not in touch with realities. Times have changed.

• Futurama. 8 years ago

I have written many times on this forum that the majority of Ghanaians do not understand that it is good policies that yield good dividends for a country. They judge a good leader by appearance and not by substance. No wonder ...

• Joe Fetsefe 8 years ago

I am disappointed from this comment from an eminent person in the land.
    Acts 10:15
    'And the voice spake unto him again the second time, what God hath cleansed, that call not thou common'
    A word to the wise is enough

• Saabo 8 years ago

elements like jantua should know we don't rule by legs am disappointed by this comments

• Shakti 8 years ago

I feel ashamed by Jantuah's comment!!! such a comment from a former cabinet minister makes me wonder the kind of people Kwame Nkrumah was working with.

• Koo Nkansa 8 years ago

Physcal disability does not indicate inability.It is the brains that manage not the hands and feet.Quit being ignorant!

• jince 8 years ago

When u have elderly people talking like this then I wonder how they expect the younger generation to be talking. Smh