You are here: HomeNews2016 02 14Article 415453

Same-sex marriage 'doesn't make sense' – Otabil

Read Comments Comments (126)

• Karim 8 years ago

Re-make your research well & come back to speak. which muslem, Hindu traditional believers has approved that law except Christian Countries.

• Baba Alhaji, UK 8 years ago

Karim, what is wrong with you?

• kosh 8 years ago

always been like that throughout the whole of human history,From the slave trade to the massacre of the Innocent Jews by the Nazis,The Apathy in south Africa.[]We human beings have always blamed somebody for our problems,Peop ...

• AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago

.If Muslims have problems with traditional authorities in Tafo, why did they attack Christian churches. Mahama sees all these yet he will not condemn them. The last time, Muslims burnt down a christian Mission house in Atebub ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Kosh, there is so much good sense in what you have written, and I would love everyone to read it. But it is much to long, no paragraphs and generally really dofficult to follow. I do hope you will go on talking sense like thi ...

• Akosua atta 8 years ago

People should be careful things they say to men of God. It can bring a curse to their family,not now in the future.

• Law-abiding citizen 8 years ago

I think you are making a mistake. Homosexuality is accepted in the countries of the people you have given as examples. The age of consent also varies in different countries and so is the legality of homosexuality.

Ghana' ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

The problem is that the law you refer to was said by a Ghanaian judge in a recent case 'to be bad law.'
    The reason is that it contravenes the UN human rights charter to which Ghana is a signatory, the right to freedom of as ...

• Sarskoberta 8 years ago

People get born, people get die.
    People get sick, people get hungry.
    People get love and people get angry.

By default, people have come to believe the need to return love for love.
    All these are facts of life. Isn't it? ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

Well said Kosh. Your ideas support the view that there are no homophobic deities, only people lacking the sense to see universal truth that the rich diversity of humanity is a blessing.

So many enlightened leaders see the ...

• Prah 8 years ago

Baba fool like u come initiate for our generation to follow. Keep all
    Those fealty presents u bring to our people because we hungry, be in ur UK and talking crap and bull shit. Why u stupid idiots want to turn the masses aga ...

• mRNA + tRNA 8 years ago

Just like your speaking in tongues also does not make sense.

• Kkd 8 years ago

Karim, are you smoking wee or on drugs. I dont get you

• ABA ATTA 8 years ago

KARIM, WHICH COUNTRIES ARE THE `CHRISTIAN COUNTRIES?` AMERICA THE USA`S MOTTO IS `IN GOD WE TRUST` USA IS NOT A CHRISTIAN COUNTRY PLEASE! THE BELIEF IN GOD IS ACCEPTED BY MOSLEMS, TRADITIONALIST, CHRISTIANS, HINDU AND SOME OT ...

• Gamel 8 years ago

ABA ATTA Muslims don't use prophet Muhammed(pbuh) as a medium to get to God but rather pray directly to God.Italy is one of the few christian dominated countries that has not accepted same sex marriage but the rest Brazil, Ag ...

• Italy has some morals then thank 8 years ago

This is beautiful morning and my prayer is that you make it a beautiful day as well lets not let these devils spoil the act of homosexualism is and forever will be an abomination satan is increasing his attacks and the targe ...

• Kkd 8 years ago

There are muslim gays in saudi arabia, america, india etc.....just go to the internet and search for muslim gays you will find them everywhere.

Teachings of Christianity is no longer used again in american since they order ...

• Boye 8 years ago

Christians have a country , only that its not of this world. its Called Zion. That is where our Lord Jesus Christ will come from to the earth the second time, with.great power and majesty. Christians are not of this world

• ABA ATTA 8 years ago

GAMEL, THANKS FOR THE CORRECTION, THE POINT IS IF A PARTICULAR COUNTRY IS TRULY CHRISTIAN, SAME SEX WILL NOT BE LEGALIZED. HAVING WHAT WE CALL A CHRISTIAN NAMES,DOES NOT NECESSARY MAKE ONE A CHRISTIAN.

• DAVID NKANSAH 8 years ago

Kindly note that there is nothing like christian names. All the names in the Bible existed before Christianity. Relatedly, Yeshua, the man you call Jesus, had the same name with Joshua the war general. Why the difference, the ...

• ABA ATTA 8 years ago

GAMEL, THANK FOR THE CORRECTION, ONE POINT TO NOTE IS THAT BEARING A CHRISTIAN OR A MUSLIM NAME DOES NOT MAKE ONE A CHRISTIAN OR A MOSLEM.

Hello ABA ATTA, Get your stuff right. There is nothing like Moslems' name or christians' name. In an Arab countries both christians and moslem all use the same name. An Arab is called Musah whether christian or moslem. Get yo ...

• Adam. 8 years ago

Good to hear you say this Otabil but when you corrupt the world from the beginning by saying that Jesus son of Mary is the son of God when you know it cannot be, so is it that man marries a man and woman marries woman and it ...

• Banos 8 years ago

That is what is written in the Bible, if you can't read the Bible please stop making unnecessary comments.

• Boye 8 years ago

Do you know what the meaning of SON OF GOD.IS? find out how God said He gives birth. For your level, Is adam a son of God? how, by which woman?
    God gives birth to sons with His Words. not through sex, as ordained for man.

• Howard 8 years ago

It's not Otabil who said Jesus is the son of God. It is God Himself who says so. And who are you mortal to challenge that? Jesus is the son of God, it's the truth, and God raised Him from death to prove it.

• Howard 8 years ago

It's not Otabil who said Jesus is the son of God. It is God Himself who says so. And who are you mortal to challenge that? Jesus is the son of God, it's the truth, and God raised Him from death to prove it.

Oh, Howard, why are you shy to say simply that Jesus is God. He doesnot need another God to raise him from the dead. Does he have to die?

• Adam. 8 years ago

Muhammad has thought the Muslims to pray to GodAlmighty only and only one and MOSLEM DO NOT GO TO GOD THROUGH MOHAMMED. Muhammad is only a Prophet, a messanger and a guide for all of Mankind. Those who love him will sacrifice ...

• Baafira 8 years ago

Stop that nonsense. I guess u r not talking about that paedophile called Mohammed. Maybe u hve to read abt how the Islamic religion came abt. The Islamic religion was spread by sword. There is nothing godly abt them. Isla ...

• Sulley 8 years ago

Who the f is Mohammed? His leg was chewed off by a pig. That guy is fraud. He lied to 1billion people. There's only one God and his son is Jesus. You don't have to accept the truth. It's truth whether you like it or not.

• NII 8 years ago

You are a stupid idiot.Foolish boy.This what you Muslim do and cause confusion everywhere your so call religion(Islam) is been practiced. The Pastor is talking about common sense.

• Theisraelites 8 years ago

Karim I think you are not telling the truth here! Last year, the leader of Nations of Islam, had complained that some US Muslims are also involved in homosexuality. It is a global sickness, ok!

• Banos 8 years ago

I'm sure your are one.

• Freedom of speech 8 years ago

For a motivational speaker, this Pastor Otabil is sure is the most idiotic.

Pastor, maybe in your country and religion your people marry stones. Even in progressive western world, pastor, men or women do not marry diamond ...

• ike 8 years ago

Go ahead, marry intelligent robots, you still don't make sense: male marrying male, go live on some remote island, solely your lot for a few decades and multiply, fooooools.

• Eddie 8 years ago

Thank you for putting it straight to Otabil. Ghana is in a sad state of affairs. We have suspended our reasoning abilities and replaced them with nonsense from charlatans

Otabil is right. It does not make sense. Sex is a choice and so please don't equate it to the colour of my skin. You gays have a tendency to twist people's words for your benefit. Did Otabil say you should not love gays? ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

wait, its coming...muahahaaaaa
    some things dont make sense but the oyibo man will agree to such tings to satisfy their interest...population ctrl, more immigration, etc..

love is like a car. if you dont keep both hands ...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

People have a right to love whoever they seem fit.

Gay marriage will be legal in Ghana

• Prah 8 years ago

Lake of fire upon u God punish u, come and legalize it. Abuaaaa piiiiiii wo mameeeee

• wofa Kwame 8 years ago

The world lost its way when thieves became pastors and prey on weak minds to get their monies to enrich yourselves (Pastors). Jesus Christ never stole from his followers as you and your so-called men of God all over the world ...

• amoah w. 8 years ago

if you love a stone, will you marry stone ?

such an idiotic comparison.

does it make sense when you tell your congregation that Mary had a little "lamb" without sex, when common sense tell us, its not possible

• Kkd 8 years ago

Masa if you are a gay repent and stop this foolish comment you have posted here. Can gays give birth? The prime aim of marriage is to procreate thats why you amoah came into existence.

Wise up and stop that foolish comment ...

You do not have to tattoo the word "idiot" on your forehead for us to realise that you are one!

• NII 8 years ago

Amoah you too you fool like Karim. You don't repent and be talking non-sense, the judgement day is coming soon and we shall see.
    All indication is showing that the world is coming to an end, therefore be there and be fooling ...

• Afua 8 years ago

Those involve in same sex needs deliverance.

• Bola 8 years ago

It makes sense I am married to my boyfriend and we are happy , he fucks my Arse and I can fuck his . Pastor come and try it you will love gays ???? I will be the first gay to marry in your church . I know some of your member ...

• kosh 8 years ago

Read some of my book at the top,who are this ignorant religious leaders!!

• Kkd 8 years ago

Masa repent ok. It's true that God loves you because He created you but He wants you to repent from that sinful act because homosexuality is right from the kingdom of satan. God hates sin so the more you sin the more you beco ...

• Armstrong 8 years ago

Bola,i don't think you are a human being.that is why you are claiming to be a gay.May God forgive for saying you would marry in Ps Otabil's Church with a fellow man.U gays are not better than those in Sodom and Gomorah yet G ...

• Prah 8 years ago

Outcast and immoral creatures like stop contaminating the mindsets of young ones. Curse on you till till

• fishbone 8 years ago

Trumu di fuor repent wai..siaaaaman..gay s3 s3n.gyimiii

• BASH 8 years ago

THE PASTOR HAS SAID IT ALL..EVEN ANIMALS HAS NOT CHANGE THEIR WAY OF CHOOSING A SPOUSE..WHY HUMAN BEING?

• kwasi 8 years ago

Do homosexual Christians believe in the BIBLE....How about if Adam & Eve were homosexuals... How come they were not...
    How did homosexuality start. ....was it through evolution ....or say molecular deformation, ...a defectiv ...

• C/C 8 years ago

You have said it as it should be said.HOMOSEXUALITY IS AN ABOMINATION.

If they want to marry what they love( then soon they will marry their pets(dogs,cats,horses).

• C/C 8 years ago

STAMFORD CONNECTICUT--------a white woman lived with a male chimp at her house. They slept in bed together. In the end the jealous chimp killed the woman's HUMAN GIRL FRIEND out of envy...SO THEY ARE MARRYING ANIMALS EVEN ...

• The Ghanese 8 years ago

I hope Akomea will read this sermon. And Laud Commey too.
    L
    NPP is full of gays.l

• PIILOLO 8 years ago

Using the bible to steel from your congregation to enrich yourself and your families is us dangerous us same sex

• inercycl 8 years ago

Not from the side of the road but from pulpits as well " some prophets need psychiatric treatment " .These words are just a quote from one outstanding pastor who sees the rot within rather than without.So majority of these "m ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

Some pastors are highly delusional. They tend to read the bible without seeing the stories in historical context. The bible stories are not journalists reporting what happened but story tellers trying to weave a story to peop ...

• Miss May 8 years ago

Well said pastor for this is the kind of preaching the world needs to hear. Influential men like you who have been blessed with a large audience must speak out against these evil practices in these last days according to the ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

There was this man who walked into a bar and says to the bartender 10 shots of whiskey. The bartender asks, "What's the matter?" The man says, "I found out my brother is gay and marrying my best friend." The next day the same ...

• Diawudeen 8 years ago

Attacking the credibility of the pastor will not make same sex permissible nor acceptance . The best way is to repent or else hell will be your abode in the hereafter. When same sex marriages are rearing its ugly heads into s ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

Archbishop Desmond Tutu said that homophobia is as bad as racism. Heaven is for those who love their neighbours as themselves.

Hell is for those who pass judgement on others when their own lives are not free of sin. (Tha ...

• Quainoo 8 years ago

THIS IS WHAT WE CALL IT WISDOM FROM GOD...MAN OF GOD, MAY THE JEHOVAH GOD BLESS U FOR ME...

• Jake 8 years ago

Ghana has some brilliant qualities that the Western needs to add to its human values. They do not have real culture to talk of hence polluting the world with their nonsense of same sex marriage and wants Africa to accept thi ...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

2 male adults (male or female) having sex should not be your concern.

Grown adults should be allowed to make their own decisions in pursuit of their own happiness

• Dan Buduh 8 years ago

You are totally ignorant of what real and true happiness is. Ask Pastor Dr Otabil and he will tell what real happiness is and where you have it. Real happiness is not a matter of two men or two women having sex. This is not t ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

I am very happy because I have unconditional love from people I love and respect.

A gay son or a lesbian daughter deserve unconditional love from their parents. Know this, and you will understand Jesus' unconditional love ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

Read the book called Animal Exuberance written by experts who study the lives of animals. Same sex relations exists and is widespread in the animal kingdom as it is in the human population of every race.

It is fairly simple to me. If you are not interested in same sex marriage, do not marry a person of the same sex. Nobody cares who you sleep with or who you marry. I really have nothing to say about the person(s) this pastor ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Leave that to God. Homosexuality is mentioned in the Bible a number of tomes (even if by a different name). Leave that to our Maker to judge and stop playing God.

• Thems Dems 8 years ago

Someone should educate me. Is Mensah Otabil a christian Preacher in other words a Man of God? Or is he a mortivational and Inspirational preacher? He is almost always referred to as a Mortivational Preacher, but known as Past ...

• Goheey 8 years ago

This writer is seems to be out of mind. What is he defending satanic influence or God. You are the agent of the beast. Please repent your are qiser than your maker What is the objective of God creating man and woman.God is no ...

• Adam. 8 years ago

Good to hear you say this Otabil but when you correct the world from the begining by saying that Jesus son of Mary is the son of God when you know it cannot be, so is it that the man marry a man and woman marries a woman and ...

• Jupiter from Takoradi 8 years ago

God bless u more and more Pastor Otabil

• Yaro 8 years ago

This is a true man of God. Follow him. It's senseless for a man to marry a man, no matter what you think about freedom of choice. Pastor God bless you and raise men like you to teach the unadulterated word of God.

• Achisco 8 years ago

Ah who re dis motherfucker gays nd lesbians destroying creation.Mmoaa paa nie

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

If gay marriage is evil, then Ghana should eject all assistance from the USA.

Africans are full of shit

• Prah 8 years ago

Your mother is shit. Immoral creature I am even doubting if u a human being only Alliens can reason this way. Be in the USA with this thought.

• Boye 8 years ago

You USA brings back a.fraction of what they 'stole' from us? so we should bow down to their evil ergo and do what very few of them do. what is percentage of gays in the world? very few i think. but they make the most noice

• k.k. 8 years ago

You are right, pastor

• obi 8 years ago

It does not make sense God is waiting for them

• Yakamey 8 years ago

No, it may not make sense to you just as your preaching is no sense to some including me but the reality is that those in it are enjoying it and that is what matters. John Dryden once said "There is pleasure, sure in being ma ...

• Achisco 8 years ago

Gyimii paa ni kwame USA.African guy frm sanpana talking stupid.kwame Gay U aa fool among fool

• k.k. 8 years ago

Is Moslems warship the supreme God? then why do they use the same Allah in the English Koran instead of English word God? if is unchangeable then is a big misleading.

• Show Boy 8 years ago

100% correct sir

• abrante papa ofori 8 years ago

Ghanaians copy whatever is bad, not good, from USA. Guns, violent crimes, homosexuality, armed robbery etc.

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Ghanaians naturally copy Americans and everything we do. Gay marriage will be legal in Ghana before 2020

• Banos 8 years ago

Well said pastor. The devil is misleading them I don't underground either!

• Banos 8 years ago

Well said pastor. The devil is misleading them I don't understand either!

• Gabby 8 years ago

well said, Man of God. hit the nail right on the head.

• danny 8 years ago

gay is not a good practice though but is equal to armed robbery, prostitution and any other sin, we see people rape young girls everyday without condemning it. we talk as if some sins are better than others but they are the s ...

• Boye 8 years ago

Did you say same sex does not affect the society? if ur father or mother were to be same sex, could we have been reading ur vital contribution on this.subject today? what if you are gay and you end up adopting a child. how wi ...

• Dogbedah mark 8 years ago

pastor thank u very much,most people follow wat researcher said endup by destroy their life.

• Ayiku Alex 8 years ago

WELL SAID THE MOST INFLUENTIAL MAN 2015.PAPA I LOVE YOU. YOU ALWAYS SPEAK YOUR MIND BASED ON WHAT YOU THINK AND WHAT THE BIBLE SAY ABOUT THE ISSUE.YOU ARE INFLUENCING THE WORLD WITH YOUR LIGHT.YOU ARE NOT HIDING IT UNDER A BA ...

• Ali katandi 8 years ago

God bless you pastor Romans 1 vs 27 said it all its very dirty thing to do.Gay

• Boye 8 years ago

Same sex marriage is a judgement on the perpetrator instead of sin. God said (paraphrased) because you hate the things of God and estrange urself from the love of God, He (God) will give you over to reprobate mind, to do thos ...

• Ali katandi 8 years ago

Ghanaians run away from this Evil GAY practices read Leviticus 20 vs 13 from the holy bible

• Ama 8 years ago

What do you mean by it doesn't make sense.What do you describe as sense.Is there a universal description of the word sense or you mean what you do not understand does not make sense to you.
    There are many things we do not un ...

• Boye 8 years ago

It doesnt make sense to God. Do you know what God does to same sex folks? He destroys them in hell. be smart!

• Kojo 8 years ago

Very funny

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 8 years ago

Pastor Otabil is on point here, I totally agree with him 100% on this particular subject. I also agree with Karim, all of the western countries that are forcing that abnormal behaviour on Africa, claim to be staunchly Christi ...

• Opoosini 8 years ago

; mo agyimi papa. Even male dogs don't desire other male dogs. Fact that the white man accepts gayism doesn't make it right. The man is talking sense and you're there talking trash nonsense. do u know how come u were given bi ...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Africa is a failed continent. Every Ghanaian I knows wants to travel to Europe or America. What has made the western world great is the acceptance of human rights.
    Gay rights are human rights. Ghana will legalize gay marriag ...

• Prah 8 years ago

Fuck u too animal like u. Useless being who has no manner. Because of aid we have to go for their request. What annoys me most is that I am also Kwame. Buluuuu

• Patriotic citizen 8 years ago

Dr Mensa Otabil is a great preacher. It will be good for the world and his ministry if he preaches on issues such as this and discuss national politics only privately.

• Sulley 8 years ago

Mohammed is fraud. His leg was chewed off by a pig. He's lied to 1billion people. There's only one God and his son is Jesus.

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

Why do people marry? Is it for Procreation, Companionship, or both?

Procreation:

If marriage is for procreation, then you definitely need the opposite sex. But even that, don't people have children without being marrie ...

• Felix Kanor Tetteh 8 years ago

...its not about deliverane sef...like he said common sense...example if common sense tell me "okusep)n koraa mp3 hwisie"(that even a little rat in the hole refuses to inhale the smoke you are tryin to push it out with)...why ...

• truth 8 years ago

So many deceits going on a ICCG and many other mega charismatic churches.

• monkeys party when they should mourn 8 years ago

all GAYS AND FAKE FAKE PASTORS IN GHANA ARE ASANTE MONKEYS. ashante monkeys eat their akrantie bini, drink akpeteshie and dance away at funerals like it's a carnival. mourning has turned to parties for these savages still liv ...

• Nii Fio Shammom 8 years ago

It makes common sense to suggest that some men of God are tricksters,swindling people in the name of God.Who said God is a Christian?Those men of God should enjoy their booty and stop playing holier than thou.

• Joe,london 8 years ago

An Englishman was caught having sex with a horse in a horse's stable.He put a table behind the horse,stood on it and inserted his 'wooly' into the horse's pussy.Any way he was caught and arrested by the police.I hope africans ...

• Nii 8 years ago

Thank you Pastor. It seems very soon marriage ceremonies would be conducted for stone and stone; or stone and human beings, and some researches would uphold that! The world is decaying indeed!

• Nana Esi 8 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU PASTOR!!!

• Freedom of speech 8 years ago

For a motivational speaker, this Pastor Otabil is sure is the most idiotic. Pastor, maybe in your country and religion your people Mary stones. Even in progressive western world, pastor, women do not marry diamonds or ruby th ...

• Yep 8 years ago

U make sense you friend - this pastor is not wise. For the sake of gullible followers, he thinks he controls them. Anyway his message is for his followers, not the world. Why is religion always obsessed with sex? Isn't it a p ...

• kris mensah 8 years ago

The young men are not getting married any more because no job so let them hooked on with each other if they are comfortable with their so call partners

• SON OF GOD 8 years ago

Same sex marriage is evil, satanic, dirty, ungodly and does not make sense but nobody can stop it. God in His infinite wisdom gave man the power of choice and that's why there will be judgement. It happened during the time of ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

The end of times will not come about because of same sex marriages taking place in so many countries in the world.

The biggest threat is rarely spoke of in Church. Our lives depend on oxygen from the air. What makes this o ...

• Compassion 8 years ago

Son of God, I feel sorry for you for having so much hate you carry every day in your life. Have you ever try having a day go by without hating someone? Just one day. There are 365 days in a year. Try it ones. It is healthy fo ...

• Adomakoh Froboo 8 years ago

Leave people alone to live the life they have crafted for themselves. Polyandry (woman with more than 1 husband) is coming. The bible is full of gay/lesbian relationships.

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

We do not understand why they can not ban this ploblem in our mother-land and...the good talks and the proverbs that the Man of God saying it is real and real that they have to ban it in down town ghana and arrest of them and ...

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

You think "Common SENSE " is common ?? Go to Oxford Street/ Shoprite and look through the shelves....it is NOT there!!!!!!!!!