Security for MPs ‘totally unnecessary’

Read Comments Comments (43)

• ZOOBIE-ZOOBIE 8 years ago

How many honorable fools do we need?

• ZOOBIE-ZOOBIE 8 years ago

waste of money

• Quaye 8 years ago

MPS have too many employees in their homes. They are walking corporations.
    Each MP has 2 house girls. 1 watch man.
    1 gardener.1 driver 1 personal assistant.All for home

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Who is asking for your opinion?

• Ampabeng 8 years ago

Look at the people employed in the house of one M.P. now they need more security men? Multiply the number of their workers by the number of M.P's in Ghana. What kind of stupidity is that? How can Ghana become so foolish among ...

• MATHS 8 years ago

Though you might not have sought his opinion, he has offered it and there is a lot of sense in what he has said. In which country around the world are MPs given state securities? Was the MP killed because he is an MP or were ...

• Suf 8 years ago

I total agree with Mr hey Heyford we don't need security for all our MPs who are spending too much from the tax payers coffins, what's going on in Ghana? The killing of late Hon Danquar is an isolated incident and should be ...

• amoah w. 8 years ago

of course they dont need security.

• Jack Toronto 8 years ago

Yes mr hayford l agree with u b'cos the ministers have enough money to pay for thier own body guards. No need to waste government money to pay for thier protection.

• Destiny 8 years ago

The Executive ,Judiciary and Legislative should be serious to deal with high rate of corruption.Illegal monies paid to individuals and companies eg SADA,Woyome the Bus rebranding must be retrieved.The Security Forces must be ...

• KOJO GERMANY 8 years ago

The whole Ghana needs security and not only the MPs

• ghanaman 8 years ago

The suggestion makes sense, considering the specific peculiarities of our reality.

• samuel villa 8 years ago

First time I read an unbias piece from k heyford.

• Steve 8 years ago

What do they think they are men and women in the interest of your stupid decision are dying and you are asking security

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

It's not totally unecessary to demand some kind of protection for MPs.We must engage ourselves in a meaningful debate.We cannot wait for all MPs to be killed before we take the situation serious.Thank you.

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

If security for parliamentarians is unnecessary then,by the same logic advanced by Casely Hayford,security for ministers is equally unnecessary and must cease forthwith

• SARPONG 8 years ago

ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON, that is the problem we have in Ghana. It is not even the Security for the Ministers that calls for security for Parliamentarians.

They even provide 24 hours security for DCE's and you are telling ...

• Ganiyu 8 years ago

So, chief, what about ordinary Yao, Aba, Kofi, Koomson or Musa and Atia?

Don't we all need to be secure in the knowledge that our social contract entails the provision of security for all Ghanaians?

And, where is the m ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

I do agree with you that is why we should withdraw protection for Ministers and their Deputies, DCE's and Judges.

If we are going to provide protection for Government Officials, then all of them should get it or none shoul ...

• Classpeter 8 years ago

I second mr Sydney's points.he migt av died through a private business partners or something else ba not just doing mp job

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

What a convoluted logic by Casely-Hayford.Are minister's and deputy minister's work any more dangerous than a parliamentarians?Our American presidential system must be ditched for the British parliamentary system where the pr ...

• Charles 8 years ago

I assume the decision to adopt the presidential system was meant to push for a dictatorial agenda. The American system works because of strong checks and balances.

• kutsii 8 years ago

Who Is a financial analyst? And Who or which institution conferred on this drunkard , the title financial analyst. This CASE 5 full of HAY just want to divert attention to himself when we have better things to think of. Go wa ...

• AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago

If Muslims have problems with traditional authorities in Tafo, why did they attack Christian churches. Mahama sees all these yet he will not condemn them. The last time, Muslims burnt down a christian Mission house in Atebubu ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Shame on you, big time. Mahama, although a northerner has always been a Christian throughout his life. So, you coming in here with all these of yours above exposes you as a fool. Now, go park your stupidity somewhere else.

• Jamiu 8 years ago

Sydney, you are talking rubbish. Who then needs security? Does the speaker not have securty? Is he doing something different from other MPs in parliament? The MPs are being killed and you are there talking rubbish. All those ...

• Charles 8 years ago

How much security do you in your wisdom consider to be adequate for each MP?. An MPs job is to debate and pass laws and also look after the interests of their constituents. I don't see where envy comes into the picture unles ...

• mohammed 8 years ago

If a honourable member cannot close his zip some of this things will definitely happen to him

• Carly Ahiable 8 years ago

I'm 100% in agreement with Mr. Casely-Hayford's stand on security for lawmakers.

That will be more squeeze on the already empty state coffers. We don't want newspaper headlines saying 'MP's Security Kills Mistaken Inteuder ...

• AMA TX 8 years ago

What about the ministers nd their dupities one minister with two dupities that's why the rest are demanding some security men

• Abdul 8 years ago

Asking for too much from a poor country thereby impoverishing the populace and dwarfing the mass. Tell the people the risk factor necessitating the need for security. Every peswa of the nation should be spent on MP's.ln any c ...

• No two ways 8 years ago

Security for MP's ? And at whose expense? This shows we are not serious as a nation. Let's wise up before its too late for us. What is risky for being an MP. If you go in with clean heart, no fears. Please note that every Gha ...

• Azintakanyatinka 8 years ago

Teachers,nurses,doctors,lecturers, students, farmers, architects,lawyers, watchmen, drivers, driver mates, hunters et all the multitudinous ceteras need security. Think about it!!! Are we now in George Orwell's animal farm?

• BABS 8 years ago

Totally agree with u sir.They should work to improve security for alk citizens.Look i live in an area with a population of about 16000 but without a pilice station.Dont we de citizens in de area need protection too???
    The go ...

• Omanba Kwame 8 years ago

What is going on now evidently tell all and Sandra that the head of national security, parliament, ministry of interior are very incompetent and must be replaced.
    All Ghanaians DESERVE absolute SECURITY! !
    PARLIAMENTis sca ...

• ali akurugu 8 years ago

theres no difference between Sakawa boys and MPs go to spintex road, tema, East Legon, labadi and dansoman to see with your eye they chase each other's girlfriends. The attitude and behaviours of some mps in accra is puting t ...

• Kanawu 8 years ago

AND WHEN THEIR NEW SECURITY GUARDS ARE ATTACKED, ARE THESE PITIABLE MPS GOING TO ASK FOR MORE SECURITY TO PROTECT THEIR SECURITY? RUBBER STAMP ASSHOLE MPS!

• OWUSU SOLOMON ANTWI, OFANKOR-ASOFAN A 8 years ago

I think members of parliament they should be get the security because three arms of government they among them. Why judges have security, president, ministers, dce, mce and mmce they all have security, members of parliament w ...

• Koacho 8 years ago

This is the first time in my 99 years of existence in Ogyaman that this learned man whom i almost lost confidence has spoken the truth. God bless Caseley Hayford for seeing the light

• Tony kokutse 8 years ago

well said Casely.

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

CHOPPING GIRLS,JUMPING ON OTHER PEOPLES WIFE,IDIOTIC TALKS etc WHAT DO THEY EXPECT?MAKE GOOD LAWS AND VERY TOM, DICK, HARRY WILL FEEL SECURED.STOP THE ABUSE OF OFFICE.

• John. SAIBU 8 years ago

Can anyone tell me how FINANCIAL ANALISTS GETS PAID?

• Laud Ospag 8 years ago

Mr Heyford you're definitely right The MPs do not need state security personnel to follow them anywhere it nonsense and will be waste of national resources. If the MPs need individual security personnel they should hire them ...