You are here: HomeNews2016 02 10Article 414527

I’ll place Kufuor ahead of Rawlings, et al – Joe Lartey

Read Comments Comments (65)

• Kwame Anshong 8 years ago

Obviously this is his opinion and it can't be counted as fact. President Rawlings is one of the best President the nation has ever heard. He was a man of the people and did several incredible things. Happily i must say that t ...

• Nana Adjapong NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

Is your's also an opinion or a fact?

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

AUTHOR : TIMBUKTU - - - - - -
    WHY DO I WANT NANA TO WIN? UNLIKE KUFFOUR, NANA HAS THE BALLS TO JAIL ALL THESE NDC CRIMINAL MOTHER-FUCKERS! Things are improving FAST in Tanzania, Nigeria, Rwanda, Ivory Coast, etc, because t ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

It was horse shit.

• NDC DESTROYERS PARTY 8 years ago

Communists Idiotic fools when will you be wise,many at times l wonder why the ALMIGHTY GOD gives such silly beasts air to breath.We all saw what RAWSHIT did for the past 23 wasted years.l can easily tell GHANAIANS suffered a ...

• Straight Shooter 8 years ago

Progressive leaddders; Acheampong, Kuffuor.

• Salifu Dagarti 8 years ago

Kwame Anshong lack the ability to differentiate fact from opinion. Joe gave concrete example of interventions enrolled by Prez Kuffour like school feeding, health insurance etc. However, Kwame is only talking strong leadershi ...

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

You coconut heads and educated illiterates don't understand what that wise Elder is saying, government is about policies, social intervention programs, and creating atmosphere where by banks will be chasing citizens for loans ...

• Ato capso Manchester 8 years ago

In Canada you are do banks chase people for loans theses days? Be truthful to ur self. Is Canadian government not building schools and hospitals etc as this government is doing to meet the needs of growing populace?

• AKRANTIE-BINI EATER 8 years ago

He gets to stay at Hotel Kufour for free. Chop for free. What else do you expect from that old fool?

• asuo 8 years ago

kufour is the best

• Azumah Nelson 8 years ago

This man is out of his mind.

• give us a break 8 years ago

he is telling the truth.

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

He sure is comparing apples and grapes. How could he compare Rawlings to Kufuor? Rawlings. Attah Mills and Mahama is the same price. How could Uncle Joe compare 19 years of waste to 8 years of prosperity? If Kufuor had stayed ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Yes, I fully support your views about J.J. Rawlings

• joe 8 years ago

Yes

• asuo 8 years ago

incredible

• Theisraelites 8 years ago

Kwame Anshong, what do you mean by facts. The was man was not talking about opinions, he was stating a fact and if you have any other fact, bring them on. That spirit in Ghanaian where we throw away the baby with the bath wat ...

• jee 8 years ago

former president rawlings did nothing much for ghana he destroyed the industrial sector of ghana only idiots and illetrates who knows next to nothing see him as a great man many are deceived by charisma not by works that is t ...

• Nancy Forson 8 years ago

I also maintained that, Rawlings is the best Ghana could have ever wished for since gaining independence.

This was a man who gained power through the barrel of the gun, and after, subjected himself to be elected democrati ...

• Masa 8 years ago

Electing Rawlings was like electing Busia. Opposition suppressed. Token opposition contested the election.

• Concerned 8 years ago

They accused Nkrumah of a one party state and did exactly that. Best thing kutu did for us was to kick him out. Well done Kutu

Busia would have done 4 times what Kuffuor even did.

we wouldn't have this current Fulani invasion, we would have clean public sewage system, a lot of manufacturing would have been done in rural areas, ppl would have been ...

• Jay 8 years ago

Even the die hard NDC folks know that

The argument don't need to be stretched further. How on earth do you praise the builder of the structure without acknowledging the foundation layer? It seriously make no sense.

Peace to me is supreme. Without peace, there ...

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

Nancy Rawlings at the time of handing over had no choice as a civilian government. The people had become fed up with his governance. Kufuor handed over peacefully to Attah Mills but what do we see today? Destruction of the sa ...

You think so? Rawlings had no choice? No kindly do a playback of what you are thinking.

This was a man who had the military at his beck and call.

This was a man in power for God knows how long. So arguably, resource w ...

• Adu Phillips 8 years ago

Over to you Joe Lartey that is your mind. To me he is the last among them.

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

BLOW YOUR THIN AIR.FREEDOM OF EPRESSION.

• Jew 8 years ago

Instead of talking of how we can come together and develop Ghana, people are busy ranking individuals. All the black man knows is: "I am better than you, etc""

• Tetteh Sai, 8 years ago

WELL SAID. RAWLINGS WASTED ALL OUR RESOURCES.

• jb amoateng 8 years ago

I am so happy to hear from the legendary football commentator Mr Joe Lartey.He is the best Ghana has had.
    As for his political opinion,I think many Ghanaians will agree with his frankness and truth.
    Hoping that he lives lon ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

I don't want to laugh

• Jack 8 years ago

May God bless you, Mr. Joe Lartey. NDC people hate the truth. When Rawlings came into power my friends used to call me 'JJ'. But the truth must be told. Look at Cash and Carry system where pregnant women who gave birth in hos ...

Jack you don't know nothing about Ghanaian politics.Who told you national health insurance is a brain child of Npp?

Kindly seek education from your party. National health insurance was a brain child of NDC which was pilote ...

• PUMA 8 years ago

Where was NHIS piloted? You don't know what you doing about who brought the cash and carry not Rawlings and his ndc? If you brought about the NHIS why have you destroyed it? Why have you brought back cash and carry? Go to Kor ...

How old are you Puma and since when did you started following Ghana politics?

Five hospitals was selected from Eastern, central and Northern region for these experiment if you care to know in the late 90s.

Just to edu ...

P/NDC did nothing good about public health care in Ghana.

Stop your lies and propaganda.
    The Soviet era lies are over.
    Thanks

• the truth 8 years ago

stay blessed old fellow

• SAY IT AS IT IS 8 years ago

Such sick old people still talk not been able to see things rightly.
    Talking about HICP SHOWS THAT THIS DIDN't know what was going in the country.
    To introduce a system that was shaking frombirth is not what make sense. I ...

• Francis, USA 8 years ago

Apuuuu, anyway that his opinion. Cos for me k4 came to destroy the nation, JJ n Mahama all the way. That's my opinion

• PUMA 8 years ago

Because you are a fool so you see good things as bad and bad as good. So is that how you going to manage your Western Togoland? I can't wait for that day. The whole world will see which country will grow fast between Ghana an ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Komi k3 shito has distorted your way of thinking

• zombi politician 8 years ago

Rawlings came to sow bitter tribal war seed which has now fully grown into atomic B.and ready to explode very soon which he J.J is even now afraid of.Ghanaians will regret Rawlings ever came to power.

• PUMA 8 years ago

I blame major Boakye Djan and Akatapori.

• KOOBAAH. 8 years ago

NANA JOE LARTEY IT IS TOO LATE FOR YOU,THE RATES FOR THE TWO HAS ALREADY BE DONE TWICE ANW RAWLINGS TOOK THE SHOW.ONE BY BBC/THE OTHER BY KEYAN POLITICAL HITORIANS.RAWLINGS BET KUFOUR BY 2:0.THANK YOU OVER THE BAR:KOOOBAAH.NB ...

• PUMA 8 years ago

Another idiot who think of his tribe and party will never wish anything good for Ghana. There is no sense arguing with an idiot who think a beast like Rawlings should be praised for whatever evil he did to Ghana because he i ...

• Oga Wisdom 8 years ago

We are not progressing as a nation just because we don't pay attention to relevant things. What Joe Lartey said is 100% true. We are talking about policies and not 'takashi'. Kufour still remain the best president under this ...

• ABREDU 8 years ago

I am surprised Joe Lartey is still alive and sentient. Touting Acheampong's achievement reflects his complete grasp of what we have gone through. Acheampong was callously murdered by these evil demagogues whose only aim was t ...

• Isah from Bole 8 years ago

over you you Joe Lartey

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

May be you are too young to know the facts. Rawlings never willingly accepted democracy. He was forced by international and local pressure. Was it not Rawlings who thought he was ordained to rule and asked whom he should hand ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

I am sure Joe Lartey said something that was reported in a different way. Majority of contributors on Ghanaweb were not born before Rawlings era and very few were babies still breast feeding at that time. I don't blame them, ...

• Odikro 8 years ago

Why the hell would such a wee-smoking, homicidal lunatic be allowed to be president in the first place. Only in Ghana would the military be so lawless to have allowed one idiot to wake up at dawn, kill his officers and get aw ...

• Patrise 8 years ago

It's unfortunate ghannians are behaving today like Isreaties, after Moses led them to close the red sea they still forgot that and accused moses just because of some small suffering. Never compare Bishop .....
    of today to J ...

• Kb 8 years ago

KB Asante also gives high marks for Kutu Acheampong. He left projects upon projects, country was unified, he left NO debts. At the later part of his rule, he suggested Unigov and that was his undoing. The economy had then wo ...

• 13th January man. 8 years ago

Projects by Acheampong are so many n given de prevailing circumstances, it will be difficult to march. Let's get back to his Charter of Redemption.

• ben k..ohio 8 years ago

Abuakwa north mp is shot to death, why not Nana addo? nana addo is too ugly, is he from a family of monkeys and chimpanzees?

• Mr Ibrahim Cocaine Mahama 8 years ago

We are are part of the black gorilla family

• Adams 8 years ago

ohhh !! who is this stray pig that eat faeces from refuse dump?

• THE VERDICT 8 years ago

In just 8 years Kuffuor and the NPP did better than the NDC in its combined 27 years in power. Rawlings ruined the economy, forcing Ghana to become a HIPC before leaving power. Kufuor took up the HIPC economy and transformed ...

• Kweku. La Paz. 8 years ago

I am sure Kuffuor has given you a golden chain nd shares in Hotel Wawa. Over to you Joe.

• Uncle Sam 8 years ago

In terms of corruption yes Kuffor would be ahead

• senior citizen Germany 8 years ago

Mr Joe Lartey,I have missed you so much as one of the finnest broadcasters in the country.Iam a well known friend who owns a house at Dansoman 1st stop who used to chat with you any time you came and waited for your car just ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

THE OLD MAN IS ENTITLED TO HIS OWN OPINION, BUT, HE NEEDS TO BE ADVISED THAT, KUFFOUR AND HIS GOVERNMENT DESTROYED THE IDENTITY OF GHANA,CORRUPTED THE NATION,ENCOURAGED FICTITIOUS AND CONTRACT DEALS,LOOTED STATE LANDS AND PRO ...

• Adams 8 years ago

Only fools will dispute this .