You are here: HomeNews2016 02 10Article 414481

Police apologise for Mampong midwifery killings

Read Comments Comments (54)

• MAHAMA B3 KO 8 years ago

Was it not the Mampong Midwifery School that sometime back protested and organized demonstrations against John Mahama when he went there to visit, and they were subjected to severe beatings by the Police and other security ap ...

• GYAKARI 8 years ago

SUE THE POLICE/SUE THE POLICE.

• asem 8 years ago

If this should have happened in the States, millions of dollars in settlement. Ooooh poor country Ghana, killed for free.

• Ernest 8 years ago

Read the last 10 police brutalities against the blacks in the US and state compensations if any. U guys should read a little.

• ### 8 years ago

kwasea, were u not in ghana b4 u won the u.s dv lottery? U talk as if u are not ghanaian....idiot

• Mon 8 years ago

What is the insult in this? What did the guy say wrong? Enlighten your self. get some education u know. Its never too late to educate ur sellf.

• Mon 8 years ago

Yep bro i was just about to say that. Like if that was America, The family would be millionaire koraa. My heart bleeds soo much for Ghana.

• Prof. Ndebugri, UK 8 years ago

It's time the poor lawyers in Ghana learn to take up a case like this. In the US, lawyers will chase this case because it's worth billions of dollars!

• ### 8 years ago

Keasea.u talk as if u've never lived in ghana.

• Charles 8 years ago

Trigger-happy policing. Police have not said they were shot at by the two people on the bike nor was there any attempt to stop them from getting away. Was there anything about them to suggest they had any weapons. Would these ...

• obi 8 years ago

apology for what you have coursed the harm and what again if i where to be a family member non of them ll come to our home

• anna 8 years ago

the arm robbers are walking free shameless gh police the apology will not bring the man back RIP brother

• daavi 8 years ago

if they recruit jhs leavers why won't this idiotic thing happen.God wll punish dis idiots severely. RIP teacher

• Adwoa Amaniampong (Mampong) 8 years ago

Professional Discretion is the hallmark of every security officer. I want to believe the Police were in a vehicle that could have chased and warned these harmless duo. They would have certainly stopped knowing their hands w ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Right,they could have followed them to make sure they were the robbers before opening fire,to shoot just because they jumped on a motorbike is just senseless thing to do,they destroyed the lives of these innocent people for n ...

• Kwabena 8 years ago

What's the purpose of police vehicles if guns are rather used to chase suspects? This is absolute nonsense and the police must answer to the law. My condolences to the family.

• ASUMADU EMESEWOELI, HO, VOLTA REGION 8 years ago

WHAT APOLOGY IS THE POLICE GIVING? HAVE THEY TRAINED TO KILL SUSPECTS OR TO INCAPACITATE THEM. IS THE POLICE SYSTEM BUILT ON A VOODU THAT SEEKS BLOOD ALWAYS? IF NOT SO, WHY SENSELESSLY KILLING GHANAIANS ALL THIS WHILE? I ONCE ...

• ben k..ohio 8 years ago

Abuakwa north mp shot death. why not Nana addo? nana addo is too ugly. is he from a family of monkeys and chimpanzees?

• Akosua 8 years ago

Seriously, what sort of human being are you? Does you life depend on Nana Addo's 'ugliness' or his very existence? Here we are talking about a crucial matter and all you can do is hate on someone who doesn't even know you ex ...

• Joaquin freud kwaku sigmoid 8 years ago

Ben k. Ohio I fink is of high tym u guys should reason up. hw kan a human being tink of death for Sam 1( innocent person). I wish ur mum will b killed wid ur fada jxt 4 saying dis stupid sentence n u will c hw it is. kwasiiia ...

• BLACKBARNES 8 years ago

ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR ONLINE,THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
    COURSES INCLUDE:MASTER'S IN BUSINESS ...

• Jude 8 years ago

A disgraceful Ghana police. This poor teacher is dead and gone. Why this shameful apology for? Rip beloved brothers

• King Faisal 8 years ago

The are not qualify officer's Ghana police you think you can pay bribe and be qualifies by any profession,so sad for the family and Ghana as hole losing one teacher,RIP

• Kisseh Jonathan 8 years ago

it is not the police they fault

• Barima 74 Kofi 8 years ago

Senseless killing, why should decent men like that be victims of police foolishness? It is more likely that they were drunk. Their families must be compensated big time.

• senyo 8 years ago

Ghana Police are expert in beating peaceful demonstrators and collecting bribe. You don't know anything and even don't bother to learn. Have you see your level now ?

• Ophir 8 years ago

Nonsense talk

• Kwasi 8 years ago

God save Ghana pls, I remember the
    Taifa shootings, Dansoman ( Awo) . Mr Kofi Wayo has been clamouring for the Police to be resourced and trained well since 1998, nobody takes him serious all Ghanaians are interested in ...

• Twumasi Bruce 8 years ago

Can same thing happen in UK? Ghanains security is at risk. Was mampong township under curfew, that u kill someone who jump from motorbike for fear of police alarm. Why couldn't u cought them handed. Dismis those police men wh ...

• iGreat! 8 years ago

......And let them face the law. Failure to follow protocol resulting in the death of innocent lives is no excuse. Let the law work.
    Charge them with manslaughter.

• Kanawu 8 years ago

This is the difference between Advanced countries and places like Ghana. Those responsible should be persecuted and if guilty JAILED them

• special 1 8 years ago

Frenzy excuses by police.we try to arrest criminals not to kill them.this nonsense must stop

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Human life is priceless but nothing less than Ghc50mn each must be given to the family to help cater for mum,wives and children.....they were the breadwinners of the family

• nana yaw 8 years ago

Rules of engagement: know / identify your target before shooting. Fire only when they are threatening the public or someone's life is in danger or when being fired upon. You don't shoot because someone is running away. That i ...

• opoku richard 8 years ago

what do u expect when u recruit stupid n senseless jhs leavers.i think the stupid so called policeman shot him under the influence of alcohol.Mampong polices they are foolish drunkards.Rest in peace sir sir Gbeneh u will fore ...

• RPG 8 years ago

The increasing spate of police brutality and killings at the hands of the IGP John Kudalor Police service, under the Mark Owen Woyongo-led Ministry of Interior, should be a black lives and Ghanaian lives matter movement which ...

• boyee 8 years ago

I wished this had happened to John mahamma the foolish baboon. Thank you

• sunrise 8 years ago

ghana police pussy service are u telling me the two people jump on the bike?were they with weapon?y did u shot them,make sure u give them life back only money u know how to take from people

• Naayale woyome. 8 years ago

Damn useless police.!!!!! Shame on you. Idiots!!!!!.

• fucking johama 8 years ago

God save Ghana,will never be proud of this nation when this magot still on power...Ghana is at risk always...

• DON NEXT 8 years ago

These dumb school dropout who end up in d police force shd b of much concern to us all as they lack the basic intelligence

• Abonsam Fireman 8 years ago

No apologies can bring back the boys-kill 2 of the police involved

• Uri Miracle 8 years ago

they have to arrest them before doing something else and now they have loss someone's life

• sir john 8 years ago

Most of the police officers in mampong are drankas,was police officer love within the group is a question.

• Uri Miracle 8 years ago

if it where to be a citizen who shot at them, what will the police do?

• ashantis worship whiteman like a god 8 years ago

ashantis worship whiteman like a god
    otwe bini eating loud mouth talking villagers
    stupid otwe bini eaters asantes will worship a whiteman, kill and
    enslave for them. yet hate on their fellow countrymen. coward
    villagers ...

• samuel a.k 8 years ago

Until colonialism is out of our heads the police will continue brutish behavior. They even rained bullets on their distressed colleagues in central region;forgotten ?

• Sir Cossay 8 years ago

sorry? can the dead be resurrected
    ? u ve taken someone's life prematurely and u think u ll ve peace.
    may their soul continue to hurt u till u also die .

• Joaquin freud kwaku sigmoid 8 years ago

YOU ARE NOT SERIOUS COMMANDER
    The policemen who caused this are unprofessional, this is stupidity Mr. commander
    Ghana police is full of unprofessional and unqualified gents and ladies which are been recruited.
    Those poli ...

• philip Ablormeti 8 years ago

tweaaaa fake policemen

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Action must be taken. There is nothing like explanation.If they jumped on a motorcycle to flee, which I doubt,did they hold a Gun or Shot at the Police?
    Action must be taken,pls.

• B B Abraham 8 years ago

The police need to be fired,because it was a wrong actions taken by the police.

• debby 8 years ago

awww,how can u jxt shoot without interrogating, please be vigilant n stop killing us.aaabah

• Clinton 8 years ago

the action by the police is immature they should be dealth with severely. couldn't they have shoot at their legs instead of killing them.this is bullshit.