You are here: HomeNews2016 02 09Article 413997

Rawlings didn’t make my father -Valerie Sawyer

Read Comments Comments (92)

• OBOMENG ANANE , MODENA ITALY 8 years ago

U ARE BRAVE WOMAN EXPOSE THOSE WHO LIE ABOUT OTHERS TO EARN THEIR DAILY BREAD. FIRE THEM GOD WILL BLESS YOU AMEN.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

It was JJ their founder who started the practice for over 30years of hyped up hate , insults and baseless accusations camouflaged by propaganda lies. Today in the media ndc after being battered on the ropes for so long, is no ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

DID RAWLINGS EVER PAID DR SAWYER'S SCHOOL FEES? BATURE N CONCOTED STORIES

• OSEI 8 years ago

SO WHAT IF HER FATHER WAS "CREATED" BY JJ RAWLINGS. DOES IT MEAN SHE SHOULD PUT ALL RULES AND REGULATIONS ASIDE TO FAVOR RAWLINGS AND HIS FAMILY? OOOH GHANA.. NO WONDER MAHAMA IS OUR RULER.

• Susuka 8 years ago

Sycophancy is the name of the game today. In fact this is the main reason why no matter how they try, the NDC is incapable of achieving anything of substance for this country. In the mindset of the NDC, one does not need to b ...

• NDC DESTROYERS PARTY 8 years ago

THIS WILL SERVE OUR GREEDY USELESS STOMACH AND THEIR FAMILIES RIGHT. CAN SUCH AN EVIL IDIOT OVERTHREW YOUR DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED GOVERNMENT AND DUMPED YOU INTO NSAWAM PRISON AND RELEASED YOU AND JOINED HIS STUPID PUPPET GOV ...

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 8 years ago

Even J A Kuffuor was thrown into jail but he joined JJ Rawlings in his mess before he came back to his senses and quit. This is why I admire Nana Addo. He is a man of principles. He challenged Ashawo-ba JJ even in the face of ...

• WISE UP 8 years ago

U these npp ppl will never pass any comment without insulting. Wht has JJ done? Did JJ write this piece? Why then do u insult him? Wht manner of ppl are u? Has insults become yr bread & butter? U ppl must change. U're a disgr ...

• Kk Donkor 8 years ago

And it's illegal. Even if Rawlings made her father she cannot go against the rules and support something that is against the constitution

Rawlings overthrew Dr. Liman's government. An goverment that was democratically elected by Ghanaians and was less than 2 years old.

Rawlings instituted corruption in Ghana. He is simply a criminal.

• locomotive engineA 8 years ago

VALERIE SAY IT AND SAY IT AGAIN AM ONE QUADRILLION PERCENT WITH YOU.I REMEMBER WHEN I WAS YOUNG UNDER YOUR DAD'S LEADERSHIP AS MINISTER OF TRANSPORT AND COMMUNICATION, MR SAWYER BROUGHT A LOT OF TATA BUSES TO BOOST ...

• SAM 8 years ago

Indeed Harry was an accomplished person before Rawlings invited him to join NDC, but can same be said about Valerie? Where from her and why did she join the NDC Rawlings' party?

• Pimpenese 8 years ago

Sam, Ms Valerie shows by the principled rebuttal to the Alhaji that she's her own woman. Her main thrust to the Alhaji was about her father and about herself. However, since you chose to address her person, I believe my respo ...

• koome 8 years ago

Valerie is a self-made woman even though not in the lime light. She taught me commercial law at University of Ghana business school as far back as 1999 after she finished her PhD in Canada. Infact I could say she is my favour ...

• Haile Selaise Mengistus III 8 years ago

AL- Hajj and Baturi should stop this divisive politicking aimed at knocking peoples head together for no apparent reason. It is cheap journalism and Baturi should know better.
    NDC never made the late Harry Sawyer whom he was ...

• aikins 8 years ago

That useless Bature should give us a break, assuming without admitting Rawlings made Valerie Sawyer was it from his own pocket? Because we also saw Rawlings when he newly came and how hungry he was. Tax payers money has made ...

• Loway 8 years ago

Is the way you are,you don't denied the allegations

• Kojo Hai 8 years ago

Thumbs up to you Val.

• Kofi Dramatic 7 years ago

Listen to that ugly bitch valerie. Thin skin politician

• Bobo Dialoso 8 years ago

You cannot throw dust in our eyes. Your father made tons of money in kickbacks during the PNP era over the importation of TATA buses. Tweaa! He was also very devious and kissed any ass to move ahead in life. How did he bec ...

• jato bibio 8 years ago

GO WASH YOUR MOUTH SEVEN TIMES IN THE KORLEY LAGOON FOR THIS NONSENSE. THE MAN HARRY SAWYER WAS A VERY GOOD MAN.

• Kwaku Boateng Jnr. 8 years ago

Bobo, with due respects, Harry was not a thief, unlike many ministers/politicians. See the review of Prof Ivan Addae- Mensah's excellent book on Dr. Hilla Limann, Scholar, Diplomat and Statesman. 2015, EPP Book Services
    as ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Bobo Dialoso,stop displaying your ignorance,I don't like the reaction of this lady but the same time I can tell you that you are saying what you don't know,the man was not a thief,some of you just get up to call people thieve ...

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

Hey, Corney, your people say they are seceding from Ghana .What is your take ?

• koo 8 years ago

and he was a true UP

Rawlings and Harry Sawyer who is the thief? Rawlings needed Harry Sawyer just he needed Justice Anan, Obed Asamoah, Captain Tsikata, Awoonor and the rest. It is not the other way round. You anbd that Kotokoli boy Alhaj Bature ...

• Ritewing 8 years ago

Harry Sawyerr made his fortune in Nigeria where he worked as a chartered suryevor. He returned home to the Gold Coast a wealthy man. It is devious therefore, for anyone to say bad things against the man who worked as a govern ...

• Master 8 years ago

Your father was a good man.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Valerie Sawyer should say if she has anything to do with the allegation,she should be matured and act like adult instead of this childish and arrogant response.
    We all know this story you put out here about your father but i ...

• Roce Koran 8 years ago

we should be careful we don't encourage wrongful entitlement, I did or gave you this sometime back some I am entitled to have your support and favours wether right or wrong, against my faith and principles or not. I helped yo ...

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 8 years ago

You are such a nut. You always judge cases according to who you like best.

• jato bibio 8 years ago

THE OLD MAN DOES NOT DESERVE ANY OF THESE NONSENSE. WE ALL SAW HOW HE EVEN DESCIPLINED HIS OWN SON. THE MAN WAS CLEAN PERIOD.

• MD 8 years ago

Alhaji Bature, will always disgrace himself.

• Chiga 8 years ago

Why bring Rawlings into this? this is purely between the political Alhaji and Valerie.

• victor london 8 years ago

this publication is the most useless newspaper in ghana
    i wonder why intelligent people read it
    it should be used as wrapping paper staight from press
    it is useless for our intellect

• No Need 8 years ago

The introduction of the article is rather misleading. I can't find anything in Dr. Valerie's reaction that is inappropriate. She merely corrected the distorted information about her father put out there. Who wouldn't do that?

• Odikro 8 years ago

The only people Jerry Rawlings made are neophytes like John Mahama and Asiedu Nketia, who without Rawlings would have been rearing cattle or planting plantain by today. Incidentally, those are the loudest voices in the NDC as ...

• ENOUGH IS ENOUGH 8 years ago

Odikro if food (plantain, casava etc )and animals (cattle, goats etc), who you consider as unimportant and inferior are upsent l am sure you will be eating dust for you cannot even get shit (feaces) to eat because man has to ...

• Soldier Boy 8 years ago

Owned, naaa mean?

• Yussif 8 years ago

We all saw the days of Mr Harry Sawyer,he was not different from his colleague ministers at the time,he lied to please Mr Rawlings like others did,he may be 66 years before joining ndc but his last day beginning from ndc era ...

• Jojo 8 years ago

Such a brave and courageous woman. I don't know you neither I have heard you before. I think you are one of the well cultured courageous quite astute politicians around. I also thank you so much to open my eyes and ears more ...

• KUSASI 8 years ago

JOJO HOW OLD ARE U? GO AND FIND OUT MORE ABOUT VALERIE AND HER WILD DAYS. U WILL BE OPENING A CAN OF WORMS. THE TRUTH IS THAT SHE HAS NOT STOPPED.
    WHEN ALHAJI WAS INSULTING PEOPLE FOR NO REASON, WHEN HE WAS CONCOCTING STORI ...

• Grace 8 years ago

Somebody should seriously talk to Valerie to stop all this! Silence they say is golden. She is too young to meddle in this kind of politics

• AMA 8 years ago

How young can she be?

Go Val.I admire you a lot for your piece

• R-TRUTH 8 years ago

GOOD ONE THERE MADAM

• TRUTH&INTEGRITY 8 years ago

Why support your daughter's bid to fois herself upon the people of Klotey-Korley when she is not qualified on grounds of not being a registered voter? Is your commitment to Truth, Integrity, Probity and Accountability lost be ...

• Kplorla Freeman 8 years ago

There is a prize for Gratitude and there is a prize for Ingratitude!!! The good thing is that no one chooses the reward, but God appropriately and proportionately!!!

• Jacqueline 8 years ago

Valerie that's a good one, you don't mess with someone's father and expect her to keep quiet. You are brave.

• Archangel 8 years ago

Where is the arrogance?? So we live in a country where you put people right and instead of them apologizing for their wrong they rather call you arrogant.. This is the reason why I will never read such Shit newspapers...

• Kofi Mensah 8 years ago

Mr Rawlings has had his time in Ghana politics. His daughter is not ready for politics.She should stick to the medical profession which she has qualified for and leave Ghanaians alone.
    I cannot understand what Mrs Agyeman-Ra ...

• Kwaku Gbloenawo 8 years ago

Bature never said Rawlings made your dad. He said they were good friends and he gave him appointments. True or False. Your dad may have been a good man doesn't make you a good woman too. Bature expected you to support Ezaneto ...

• Poppi 8 years ago

Good for her! Stupid ignorant journalists can't even get her name right!

• BANDOLIER... 8 years ago

Had it not because ur fathers good commitment to NDC ,like u will not have that opportunity u are enjoying now... answer the allegation leveled against u by the reporter and live your father alone to rest.

• Kofi K, 8 years ago

This al haji bature is he not old enough to know Harry was No. 1 on Ghana's Surveyors List? how much do today surveyors make, that Harry had no made? When did rawlings join the military? Blind follower

• Dzifa Adjorlolo 8 years ago

Your father was Number one theif he sacked my dad the late Dr Cephas Adjorlolo from SIC because my dad will not connive with him to steal from SIC.My late father was a retired architect. Valerie you can cross check.If you don ...

• Ama 8 years ago

No one points the left hand towards his father's house.

But take it cool lady. You are presidential material, but you have to work at your manners.
    If you fight with a madman, people will not know the difference.

• KG Worthy 8 years ago

Harry sawyer, Peter Ala adjetey, DF Annan, Okaija Adamafio, major Kotei, odartey wellington. One thing u have admire Ga oeople for is their bravery. Since these guys died they have nit being replaced by their descendants

• pillow duvet 8 years ago

Big Up Valerie,
    Best victory express served.

• KUSASI 8 years ago

IT'S ONLY IN GHANA THAT A SUCH A WOMAN CAN BE PUT IN A POSITION OF TRUST. DO THEY KNOW HER LIFE BEFORE POLITICS? HER OWN RECORD STINKS TO HIGH HELL. I AM EVEN SURPRISED THAT SHE CAN HAVE THE TEMERITY AND GUTS TO INSULT PEOPLE ...

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

Our ex president Rawlings should remenber that there is a need that their daughter ought to follow the line to become the representative in the Korley Klottey constituency.

Rawlings did and still preaches accountability an ...

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Kudos to you Valerie Sawyerr. Old Harry Sawyerr, unlike Alhajj Bature, cannot be said to be made by Rawlings. he was already a successful surveyor before entering politics when Rawlings had not shot his way into politics yet. ...

• Nkrekete 8 years ago

Valerie
    Please do not waste your time on this man. Your father was a qualified Surveyor and a respectable man in Ghana. I remember when he was Minister forTransport and Communication, he used his own money to provide chair ...

• Asea Ho 8 years ago

What is arrogant about setting the record straight? It is time Ghanaian historians (if there are) compile the history of Ghana so as to prevent the partisan media to distort the true history of Ghana.

I am not sure JJ agre ...

• PAA TT 8 years ago

WHY SHOULD JJ RAWLINGS CHILD BE GIVEN AND PREFERENCE IN GHANA's let alone OSU KLOTTEY : WHAT CONNECTIONS HAS THIS EWE CHILD OF THIEF : A TRIBALIST AND MURDERER GOT TO DO WITH OSU KLOTTEY : MINE PROBLEM IS THAT I STILL DO NOT ...

• OBINNA 8 years ago

RAWLINGS IS A HYPOCRITE INDEED. POLITICS HAS MADE HIM RICH SO HIS DAUGHTER MUST ALSO GO THAT ROUTE AT THE EXPENSE OF THE GHANAIAN PEOPLE. HE IS A CORRUPT IDIOT.

• SAY IT AS IT IS 8 years ago

Sheis right to tell her mind when she feels offended. In our society nobody is herself but bound to a rich father or mother no matter how the person is .
    It seems foolish all the time to call the names of parents when talki ...

• Pee 8 years ago

That is the stock in trade of that bature guy. Stomach and gutter politics. Shame on you, do cross check your facts before stooping so low for the sake of your stomach. Shame on you.

• PAA TT 8 years ago

What is this EWE JJ RAWLINGS TALKING ABOUT MAKING SOMEBODY OR HARRY SAWYWER : WHAT JJ RAWLINGS AND OTHERS WHO THESE TRIBES IS THAT HARRY SAWYER WAS A WELL MADE MNMAN WITH INTERGIRITY BEFORE THIS FIATITOR JJ RAWLINGS CAME ON ...

• Adomakoh Froboo 8 years ago

Ghanaians are greedy that's why this moron says he made ur father etc. Ur. Father was sent to nsawam by jj but he came out and served him. He betrayed liman and his own principles

• tweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 8 years ago

IF EVERYBODY WILL CHECK THIS ST00U//PID ALHAJJ HE WOULD EDUCATE HIMSELF AS A PROFESSIONAL JOURNALIST

• Shut up 8 years ago

Valerie Sawyer is a childless old spinster. What is she stealing all her money for? Will she carry it with her when she dies? What is her own claim to politics ? Relying on her fathers reputation to steal

• Koku Anyidoho 8 years ago

Why do you attack Valerie like that? What has her marital status got to do with that?

• Nii 8 years ago

The people of Osu Knows Rawlings did not made Harry Sawyer who he was.Most of the new Politicians in town do not know the history of Ghana or Accra.The just moved to Accra to hustle to improve their socioeconomic status.

• OBINNA 8 years ago

BY YOUR OWN PARTY'S CONSTITUTION, ZENATOR RAWLINGS IS UNQUALIFIED TO STAND FOR PUBLIC OFFICE. THE ELECTORAL RULES IN GHANA ALSO DISQUALIFIES THIS YOUNG LADY FROM SEEKING PULIC OFFICE THROUGH THE BALLOT BOX. SHE IS NOT A REGIS ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

To the Rawlingses, relatives of those whom he once helped should lie and bend the rules or corrupt themselves to put his children above everybody else in the country.Because he Rawlings helped Mr. Harry Sawyer to attain a hig ...

Stupid Bature it is Rawlings who needed Sawyer not the other way round. Stupid Bature this all you know. Roving around the Presidency and playing with the Presidents feelings on tribal and other politics. Miserable brat!

This Bature idiot has been left on his own for far too long. Look at him! Tweeaa no body is anything except through Rawlings? Idiot! It tells who he is. He knows not what it is to work hard for ownself. He is always political ...

• D.L sillim usa 8 years ago

I like your eye opener response. I am a 1959 year born and know so much of your honest late father. May almighty open the eyes of Ghanaians to see the boot leakers.

• bisgeo CANADA 8 years ago

just an idiot

• abrante papa ofori 8 years ago

JJ killed others for minor crimes while he has no comments when it comes to corruption in his party.

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

As Transport Minister and was a UNC man.

Ashi-ake, ele dzadze!

• Nyorkopio 8 years ago

Yes, those who are poor historians should know that Harry Sawyer's pedigree is impeccable. The son of a Lokko woman from Osu, he worked hard for his own estate in life - never forcing himself on the good people of Ghana throu ...

• Enoch. O 8 years ago

Do not take all these people seriously. They come to Accra and think they are GAS. The next thing they do is disrespect GAS who have given them a good standard of living. Meanwhile as good as Gas are we teach them how to eat ...

• paul ahadzie, killer, red. 8 years ago

oh rawlings oh ok didnt make your father - valerie sawyer. i understand you.

• nn 8 years ago

YOR DAD IS PROUD OF YOU ,TELL BAT HE SI VERY UGLY

• nn 8 years ago

IN 79 HE FIXED LIGHTS AT KIA

• prophet muhammed is a BASTARD DOG 8 years ago

Look at the idiot..wearing some of the kente clothe he STOLE from Mr. Siaw

SHAME UNTO RAWLINGS AND ALL HIS FAMILY INCLUDING THE KWASEA ZENATOR TOO TWO NI BAAAAAAAAA..WONATWE WAE!!!

• BEN LAWETEY PAUL. 8 years ago

Madam you are not grateful at all, you will die ungrateful. And God will judge you accordingly After what Mr. JJ has done you did not see and that's what you gadder courage to say. Thank you so many times.

• Anaafo 8 years ago

Well done Valerie...you are indeed and independent woman. I tip my hat to you.

• opoku, KNUST 8 years ago

i think your response is fantastic. Good day

• KATAKYIE 8 years ago

YOU GO, GIRL !!! Thank God, we have people like you to defend your father's memory... Rawlings has been preaching probity, transparency all his life... He knows all too well that her daughter is not qualified to stand in that ...