You are here: HomeNews2016 02 06Article 413309

'J.B.'s naming of Ghana incontestable' – Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (171)

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Will that bring dinner to my table this evening? Let's talk development.

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Nana, don't you feel ashamed for claiming what everyone knows to be Nkrumah who gave the name Ghana? Stop stealing Nkrumah's intellectual property.

If JB was the one who gave the name (and we know that is not true), why d ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Free Your Psyche!!! 8 years ago

Jb Danquah was a person who liked to smoke pipe, Drink liquor and wear obrono clothes and shoes. How many times did you see Danquah even wear traditional cloth like Nkrumah? I think Danquah was more for keeping the name gold ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE)...
    Ivor Greenstreet said directly to President John Mahama and Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur that: “You don’t care”.

“Nobody is feeling your better Ghana”, Greenstreet sho ...

• JONAS 8 years ago

Nkrumah was fascinated by the communist ideology and JB was against. Nkrumah being a dictator then imprisoned him. Where is communism now? JB and the Busia NPP camp are knowledgeable and would have transformed Ghana by now if ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Say something we dont know , ndc is going and we will never allow them to come back.Now even the ndc are privately campaigning for npp in the hope that we Akans do not take over. In their minds they think that NPP is better t ...

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

Tell Akufo-Addo to stop the lies and go and campaign real hard becos his foot soldiers are not helping much.

• ghanatopten 8 years ago

Most Ghanaians can't separate fact from emotion. The moderately educated are the worst culprits in this regard. Without JB Danquah and his UGCC, there never would have been Kwame Nkrumah. Both men had their faults alright, bu ...

• Mobert Rogabe 8 years ago

...i haven't read the book yet and if the cia bit is let out, ill advocate for the destruction of the book... don't lie to Ghanaian kids... this person Addo is not a PRESIDENTIAL MATERIAL !!!!

• Ali 8 years ago

J. B. was a traitor who never advocated for independence. He wanted the whiteman to continue to rule.he caused the detention of Nkrumah and divulged state secretes. He was never near the naming of Ghana. If he wrote profusely ...

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

Nana is highly qualified to be a President of Ghana but because of his arrogancy most voters will not cast their votes in his favour. Also Creole of Sierra Leone say"LUCK PASS FINE" I do not think He is Lucky!!!

• anyemi 8 years ago

Please, let us not argue the origin of the Gold Coast's new name: Ghana. It may be J.B. Danquah who suggested naming the new country so, but J.B. Danquah actually suggested the name "Ghana and its people Ghanese". Dr. Kwame ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

I ALWAYS TELL PEOPLE ABOUT THIS GREEDY ASANTE'S BUT PEOPLE THINK I DONT LIKE THEM, BUT TO BE FRANK THESE ASANTE'S SHOULD KNOW THAT GHANA IS "NOT" FOR THEM, ITS FOR MANY PEOPLE & MANY TRIBE'S, ASANTE'S ARE FOOLS, THEY LIKE POW ...

in all things Nana Akufo Addo seems shallow minded and is blinded by his tribalistic tendencies. So somebody suggests that man can walk on the moon and then Armstrong did it. We reject Armstrong and honour the man who thought ...

• KWAME BOY 8 years ago

NA LIE LIE MAN,NKRUMAH NAME GHANA, IT IS NOT TRUE, CIA AGENT, WE DONT KNOW JB DANQUAH ,PLS SHUT UP,

• Pusher 8 years ago

How could JB have given the name Ghana, when he and his UP asked Britain not to grant us independence. I only hope this independence issue is captured in this book. Else the writer would not have written Ghana history, but h ...

• Nana Bawuah 8 years ago

Nonesense! Independce was only granted because of Asante. The British just didn't want Nkrumah to copy their colonial governance system so he was asked to come up with someone else. However, he responded he didn't care about ...

Nkrumah stole the name from J.B
    Danquah who first wrote about it in his book on ancient Akan history "The Akan doctrine of God". Nkrumah always uses other people to achieve his individual goals. Thats why even his key membe ...

• Be wise 8 years ago

It was not news of where majority of Ghanaian tribes comes from (it was known by the nzemas much more than the other Akan tribes that is why the nzemas can pin point their root) ....For example certain sect of the nzemas or " ...

• Be wise 8 years ago

Thank you (don't mind them ; this so called danquah -busiah dombo tradition are suffering from inferiority complex after plunging Ghana into chaos because of jealousy)..
    They now resort to claiming this, claiming that as do ...

• SAM 8 years ago

Indeed i read Nkrumah's autobiography in which he stated that it was J. B. who came up with the idea and he wholly accepted it. But that even makes Nkrumah great for him to accept the idea from J. B. when he clearly knew abou ...

• Be wise 8 years ago

Yes that is the point...
    This is not to say that Nkrumah never knew most of us came from the gana empire, it only became his motivation after haven been suggested to him that that will be a fitting name for us since he knew ...

Nkrumah was a criminal, thief, an opportunist (using other people to achieve his selfish goals) and power drunken incompetent dictator. He was the worst of all political leaders. Even Rawlings was better than him.

• be wise 8 years ago

keep that to yourself! you can not deceive ghanaians...Day in day out ghanaians cry (like how libyans are crying now)" s3 nkrumah who 3ha nka" so obviously it does not matter what you say, the records are there for everyone t ...

• Y. S. 8 years ago

My Dear Mr. 'Aponkye', I was at a CPP rally at the Subin Valley in Kumasi in 1953 when Dr. Kwame Nkrumah stated that he agreed to the U.G.C.C's decision that the new Nation will be called Ghana and mentioned one Tunka Manin ...

• APONKYE 8 years ago

I love your narrative but I don't believe it. It seems you are an AKYEM hardliner since colonial days attempting to massage history. The question is: How could JB be against independence and at the same time suggesting a name ...

• ...N 8 years ago

Danquah should be credited with his contribution to Ghana's political history BUT when it comes to the final naming the country Danquah preferred AKANLAND of AkanGa.
    Here is the full text of the bill that turned the Gold Coa ...

• Y. S. 8 years ago

My Dear Mr 'Aponkye', the UGCC as a party was not AGAINST INDEPENDENCE. The Congress wanted independence by stages and att shortest possible time whereas CPP under Nkrumah wanted SELF GOVERNMENT NOW. The name GHANA was "fait ...

• Kanawu 8 years ago

CANT BE TRUE BECAUSE ANCIENT GHANA WAS FOUNDED BEFORE 4OO A.D. OR OVER 6OO YEARS BEFORE TUNKA MANIN WAS BORN!

• SAINT 8 years ago

JB "MATEMEHO" DANQUAH WAS A GREEDY TERRORIST WHO WANTED TO BE PRESIDENT OF GHANA AT ALL COSTS. AFTER MAKING MANY DIABOLICAL ATTEMPTS INCLUDING THE ABORTIVE ASSASSINATION OF NKRUMAH, HE LANDED IN NSAWAM PRISON JUST AS TERRORIS ...

• MARY 8 years ago

We know he was a agent for CIA and
    MI5 intelligence

• fred 8 years ago

Today that ghana and Africa are suffering comes from JB UPIans

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

Ask stupid Mahama for your dinner. You brainless idiot. You can't change history, except for those lazy thinking beings who can't read.

• James Armstrong 8 years ago

Just like JB tried to rewrite history throughout his life to no avail you have perfected the act and just like he failed you will woefully fail JB tried to be president at all cost through sabotage of Norman, assignation at ...

• hka 8 years ago

Mr. B. Williams, please note that decent citizens of a nation address their president as: His Excellency. If you are worth anything, next time you mention the president, start with: His Excellency followed by his name : J.D.M ...

This clueless buffoon has excellently entrenched you in poverty and you amazingly seem to love it. Well, give the god damned jackass 4 more years. You wanton IDIOT.

You must the abject poverty he has excellently entrenched you in, so address him that way. I will not address him any more than he deserves:clueless, incompetent, brainless president.

• LAST DON 8 years ago

But for the unattainable ambition of one man; noble and dignified persons have been sacrificed just because they expressed alternative opinion . Today in NPP stupidity and unintelligent people have been promoted beyond measur ...

• Nana Antwi 8 years ago

JB Danquah never held elected political office all though he study tall amongst those who opened the eyes of the nation - Prominent Chiefs and businessmen, Paa Grant, Nkrumah etc also played a massive role in making this drea ...

• kwaku akyeampong 8 years ago

and Akufo Addo brought "all die be die",which is also incontestible.

• kwaku akyeampong 8 years ago

and Akufo Addo brought "all die be die",which is also incontestible.

• Abeiku 8 years ago

Bam!!! Kwaku, God bless you.
    He unconstitutionally suspended elected party chairman, general secretary, 2nd vice chairman and founding members.

• Ghana 8 years ago

The tribal NPP intolerant party that prides themselves to the high heavens as "true democrats who abide by the rule of law"
    Very amusing!!!

It's very alarming!!!! You can imagine the way NPP acts even in opposition to the ...

• Will 8 years ago

That will not help you in winning the election!.Ghanaians will not celebrate a character who worked for the CIA to sabotage his own country except those who think like him!.At the time D/B tradition were editing our history,o ...

• Nana Kwaku Dumsor II 8 years ago

Nkrumah was a KGB agent who turned Ghana into a Communist state.

• Bobo Dialoso 8 years ago

What is a KGB Agent? Putin was one; he himself will tell you. How was Nkrumah one?

• Paapsy 8 years ago

Equalisation or what? Shame, this doesn't wash.

Danquah was a close confidant of Nkrumah but his greed and 2faced lkes was what destroyed the friendship. The guy was a modern day Judas Iscariot. Wine and dine with Nkrumah and then report his secrets to CIA so they can give ...

• SAY IT LOUD ! 8 years ago

WAS RAWLINGS A GHUISHIAAA MURDERER?

I will work for CIA, KGB or BNI to protect my freedom and civil liberty. Take your nonsense somewhere else.

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Akans are believed to have migrated from the Ancient Ghana Kingdom of Mali which was rich in the mineral of Gold, to the Gold Coast. Both Nkrumah and Danquah were Akans and does it really matter which one of them re-named our ...

• kusasi 8 years ago

nana , just name the law school you attended so we can help you retrieve your missing law certificate

• The Stallion 8 years ago

He is the diminutive lawyer of Abuakwah. Is that not a qualification enough?

• Kojo 8 years ago

No. I think just a few classmates will be enough

• kusasi 8 years ago

it will be a disgrace to vote this nana to be president of Ghana . a violent man.fake lawyer

• The Stallion 8 years ago

Then how did he become a diminutive lawyer at Abuakwah?
    Answer the question.

• kusasi 8 years ago

nana was the AG of Ghana though he has no law degree to prove .nobody know how he was vetted.till now nana will never open up on when and where he obtain his law degree,why will you trust such a man to lead a nation?

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

Useless Mahama who did not even pass communication degree in Russia is president, do we have to put our credentials on our forehead to show to idiots nonentities like you ndc fool? Do ndc founder has any certificate? Mahama a ...

• Truther 8 years ago

I don't care whether John Thick Tall Bull Mahama builds schools or not. I just hate his thoughtless by heart foolish utterances which are unpresidential. I don't like his foolish crookish looking face. A tanii from Gonja who ...

• BOILE 8 years ago

when Nana killed his own wife is that not better than Mahama who killed atta Mills and took over presidency? Nana addo is far better than that devil Manama who can't be a leader by his own on less he kill his boss and become ...

• kusasi 8 years ago

because the documentary evidence to authenticate his claim as having attended a law school cannot be provided .shame

• MAN 8 years ago

I learn his newly appointed northern regional has been his agent for burrying animals alive in mamprusi land for long time now! So his appointment is not for nothing!

• Mr y6 8 years ago

If you can also bury 100catle and be come a President also do it .don't u want to be a president? Mr Boile

• Abeiku 8 years ago

Boile or whatever animal specie, get over bitterness and hatred because your so called presidential candidate will never lead Ghana. Period.

• TL 8 years ago

Oh great Mahama please share the Fulani women who praise JB.

• Jay 8 years ago

Spare us the lecture akufo addo for jb was a like you a greedy self seeking person. Can't be trusted like busia all you entitled people who think you're smarter than other Ghanaians.

• evil dwarf 8 years ago

This mischievous chracter is at his evil best once again.

• WHO KILLED Mills? 8 years ago

who killed Mills?

• Agyemang Asante 8 years ago

NPP at its lies again. JB did not name Ghana! Please do not twist our history. Do not edit our history. Remember Adu Boahene rewrote Ghana' s history and removed Kwame Nkrumah' s name from it but it all did not work. While y ...

• Agyemang Asante 8 years ago

Yeah! F K was the one who comited that crime of re- wrting our history with evil mind.GOD will continue panishing him

• EVIL MAHAMA 8 years ago

Yes God will punish them like how God is going to punish Mahama fr killing prof Mills,V/R minister, buried 33 cows alive in gonjaland and always sacrifices Ghanaian's lives to his gods.

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

You're really funny dummy ass, Nkruma was a secretary to JB Danquah party who later found CPP and won the elections, so guess who can predict the name, and who was betrayed? This discussion doesn't win elections, do Ghanaians ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

The ancient Ghana Empire was a land of gold and traders of gold so was the Gold Coast.Therefore,the new Ghana today fits this name squarely but not the invention of J.B.Danquah,I stand by my words.Thank you.

• nana 8 years ago

Noo one is denying that .... But after centuries of moving from the old Ghana empire which is today Mali
    ... The name Ghana was noo more on us , especially when the whites coded the place gold coast... There was the need to ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

I don't believe that J.B.Danquah named the Gold Coast as Ghana after Independence.The only way I can believe this story is when you are able to tell me at what moment,the date and the place he asked Kwame Nkrumah to rename Go ...

• be wise 8 years ago

Boy Kofi don't worry they're living in a dream land let them continue to dream and deceive themselves... They just want to lose the election again

And there was nothing wrong for JB to suggest to Nkrumah about the name Gh ...

• Bobo Dialoso 8 years ago

JB Danquah is not a marketable asset going into an election. These UP/PP/NPP guys are stupid not to know this.

• be wise 8 years ago

A CIA agent that worked against his own country, can never be a marketable asset...
    it is better Nana Addo change his strategy else defeat awaits him...
    Already there are signs of his defeat...

• Pee 8 years ago

Ah! Isn't it these same people who quiet recently were blaming the woes of Ghana on Dr. Kwame Nkrumah for changing the name from Gold Coast to Ghana. Now the naming of Ghana is highly attributed to J.B. Thank God.
    Very soon ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

JB DANQUAH DID THE RESEARCH ON GHANA,BUT NKRUMAH CALLED THE GOLD COAST GHANA.

Wat research? Where did you read this from? Danquah was an alcoholic and a pipe smoking neurotic with grandiose ambition to be president of ghana. He wanted the title but not the job duties......the guy was busy playing possu ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

kWAME NKRUMAH WAS MATURED ENOUGH TO DO HIS OWN RESEARCH.Danquah's followers are spreading the lies.
    Kwame Nkrumah was a nationalist and not a stooge to the Western Imperialist like Danquah.

• osei Bonsu agboloso Tema 8 years ago

Nana ur good because a nation that does not recognize its heroes is not worth dying for . JB was indeed a real jem.

• Aduse-Poku, Germany 8 years ago

what at all is this JB Danquah and Akuffo Addo, instead of thinking Ghana and development, you launching a book of someone who did nothing for this country. It indicates the incompetence in your family. Nonsense

• Kwadwo 8 years ago

It goes to show how Akufo-Addo is causing more problems for NPP not to be in government. With an election approaching, Akufo-Addo is making ridiculous claims about J.B .Danquah that will only upset many Ghanaian voters who wo ...

• odenkey ba 8 years ago

grandpa, we would love to see u living today, with us but wishes too were not horses so all that your grandchildren are saying is may your soul continue to live in perfect peace

• kofi 8 years ago

NPP is finished. We have elections coming up, and this is what NPP want to talk about - Who named Ghana! I fear Addo is going to lose again...

• kojo 8 years ago

Yes we forgot him because he is a sell out CIA agent and Ghana's problem started with him ,they sold Nkrumah to the imperialist

• MAN 8 years ago

That's how come we are living with the Gitmo 17 in Ghana!

• jeff 8 years ago

J b did good and bad at the same time. Which made his history unpopular.

• S.D.A. 8 years ago

"J.B.'s naming Gold Coast Ghana, "SO WHAT.Was he the one who "ceated" the name "Ghana". please lets talk about issues which would bring development

• Agokoli 8 years ago

Kosmos workers discovered oil in Ghana. The credit goes to kosmos not the workers. JB let's give credit to Nkrumah bcos he was the president and he declared the name that day!

• mawriz 8 years ago

Is it necessary? What has naming a country got to do with the welfare of its citizens?

• O.K 8 years ago

THE BOOK WILL ONLY BE BOUGHT IN ASHANTI REGION AND THE PEOPLE OF AKYEM IN THE EASTERN REGION.ASHANTIS ARE LOW MINDED THINKING PEOPLE THINK EVIL FOR EVERYBODY EXCEPT THEY THEMSELVES.90% OF THIS ASHANTIS IN ABROAD CAN EXPRESS T ...

• Yaya 8 years ago

Cry cry cry we will not learn english that why we are making progress every day like katanka. Kumawood the only movie industrie in ghana even the story of beast of no nation in not a ghanian story but they made it in twi wond ...

• OMANBA 8 years ago

What the hell with this Busia/Danqua group.Trying all avenues to market J.B.Danquah as a patriotuc saint even though he was not.A CIA employee who worked tirelessly to derail Ghana's independence because of his ambition and ...

• The Future Force 8 years ago

The level of thinking of Akufo Addo to me is becoming worrying. Since 1957 that Nkrumah named Ghana, you now want to change history through lies? This will not win you votes. In fact, when the truth is point out, many scholar ...

• Spiky 8 years ago

JB named Ghana and so what? Stop this futile campaign to doctor the image of Traitor JB Danquah. Ghanaians want a better life that Nkrumah envisioned and pursued; but was sabotaged by JB and his henchmen. If you can't deliver ...

• CHINA MAN 8 years ago

and so what ? DONT YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS IN GHANA ?

• bread and kokonte 8 years ago

But why did you Nana killed his first wife? Nana is always quick temper and act senselessly.

• WHO KILLED Mills? 8 years ago

Nana killed his first wife and Mahama too killed prof Mills so is 50/50

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

Nana should stop this empty campaign.TELL GHANAIANS WHAT YOU ARE GOING TO DO TO CHANGE OUR FORTUNES SHOULD YOU BE ELECTED.

We are not interested in JB period!

We are interested in how you would arrive at a more stable ...

My dear if the fetish was to make KN unpopular then the fetish was not Worth having in the castle. I had heard of this story but it was not true!!

Let the parot continues to sing sweet songs for our beloved JB. Noone found Ghana for Ghana was one of the oldest Empires in Africa who was defeated by Mali Empire. We should accept that the Gold Coast was named by Dr Kwame N ...

• Antwi 8 years ago

It is only in Ghana and in the npp that a third class lower graduate like Akufo Addo, would be made Attorney General. Even Kufour himself is a fake lawyer. If not why had he made this fake man the Attorney General? The man is ...

• Dr. Gary Smith (Liverpool. UK) 8 years ago

Considering Nana's age and to think that he was educated in England, the use of the word "PROUDEST" unfortunately, is wrong. A better combination should have been "MOST PROUD" QED.

• Pimpenese 8 years ago

Gary, I'm no die-hard fan of Nana Akuffo-Addo, nor am I an avid student of the English language. But the stiff attitude of the English or British to language usage, has been laughed off by modern times. You see the emergence ...

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

AKUFO ADDO IS NOT SMART.ASSUMING JB NAMED GHANA WHICH WE GREATLY DOUBT,IS JUST LIKE GIVING BIRTH TO A UNSTILL BORN;DISOWING SAME AND FABRICATING LIES,HOMICIDE IN SILENCE FOR MISCHIEF.

• Jew 8 years ago

What is this 3rd class product in economics up to now. Why open your mouth and confirm that you actually deserved the 3rd class degree in economics? By the way, what is your own achievement?

• tyson smart 8 years ago

Yabr3 wo wae akwatia piece animohu Addo, p3 baabi tena na obifofr) mmra

• Royal Solar.Akuss 8 years ago

All those who do not know the history of Ghana should shout their mouth and eschew politics from it.When you read politics at university then u would attribute the name Ghana to JB.this is not propaganda

• jnii 8 years ago

GIVE ME THE PROOF THAT DANQUAH NAMED GHANA OFFICIALLY

• Kanawu 8 years ago

ONLY A SOVEREIGN CAN CHANGE THE NAME OF ITS COUNTRY, E.G CPP GOVERNMENT LED BY NKRUMAH ON O6-O3-I957. NO ONE-MAN J.B. DANQUAH CAN DO IT! OR YOU CAN ANGRILY SPRAY YOURSELF RED WITH ACID!

• Kanawu 8 years ago

TRIPLE PHDS IN HISTORY CANNOT CHANGE THE FACT THAT THE NAME GHANA WAS GIVEN TO US BY NKRUMAH & SUPPORTED BY THEN CPP-DOMINATED LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY IN I953; J.B.D. DID'NT HAVE THE POWER TO DO THIS!

• jnii 8 years ago

6TH MARCH 1957 At the podium when Nkrumah declered GHANA independent- i am sure i did not see jp danquah there and i am ALSO sure he was alive then.

AND THAT GHANA OUR BELOVED COUNTRY IS FREE FOREVER= WHO SAID THAT NPP?

• Newsite Bansah 8 years ago

For a failed politician, it is amazing how much noise is made about JB Danquah. Danquah achieved nothing of significance for Ghana, unless one wants to count his traitorous behavior as an achievement.

The claim that he ca ...

• Obasanjo 8 years ago

If you are this ugly now how did you look like as a page boy?
    Maybe mascot will be a better description and or name. Kai!

• Awudu 8 years ago

We cannot always relay on old Politicians.We nown in 20 Century and need new idealogy.Amen

• Ken 8 years ago

So Sad that Akufo Addo doesn't know the history of country he wanted to rule.

• MARCUS 8 years ago

I hope the book is going tell us his CONNECTIONS with the western intelligences ,j B, dankwah is big time traitor

• Nana with Stupid Claims 8 years ago

Akufo Addo should stop the gibberish and fraudulent claims...as for ideas they abound...it is the one that executes the action that counts...desperate old man buffoonery

• Yenim wo fri titi! 8 years ago

This guy is trying to steal Nkrumah's legacy by force...it won't wash...TWEEEAAAA!

• LOVE 8 years ago

TWISTED FACTS OF HISTORY. YOU CANNOT CHANGE HISTORY AKUFFO. JUST GO AWAY WITH YOUR LIES. NO BODY WILL BUY YOUR RUBBISH.

• IKEM SUNDAY 8 years ago

So after this praises of your uncle should Ghanaians expect you to be their next president? No way.

• Ananseh 8 years ago

Npp is against all infrastructural developement in Ghana. They just want power. They have no vision, no plans. Only a hunger to get to power.

• kofi 8 years ago

akyem mafia at work.nana addo will soon say j.b danquah gave the name God to God

• tan90sin90cos90. 8 years ago

Nana akuff addo wants to be the president of ghana but he do not the history of ghana. nana what you are saying is not true. you cant twist our History. I have history book with the title: GENERAL HISTORY OF AFRICA. Unabridge ...

GHANA was one of the oldest empires in Africa , and was conquered by the Mali Empire.Kwame Nkrumah's ggg fathers were not even born then!

• Akuffo Addo Retirement Party 8 years ago

Make your own history, always trying to use other people's earned reputation to prop you up. Tell us what you have done,what you are doing and what you will do. Everything about you is divisive, you can talk about your uncle ...

• KFB 8 years ago

This are arguments the west won't get into.we need development issues.any,can someone tell me the meaning of Ghana?at least I know what Gold Coast means.

• Kanawu 8 years ago

According to I953 CPP propaganda, the meaning of the name GHANA as first introduced by NKRUMAH in a I953 motion before the Legislative Assembly is GOD(G) HAS(H) APPOINTED(A) NKRUMAH(N) ALREADY(A)!

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

AKUFO COCAINE WEE SMOKER CAN'T RULE GHANA PERIOD .THIS UGLY STUPID FOOL OLD MANHADWARF AKUFO COCAINE DRUG ADDICT HAVE IMPREGINATED, A 13 YEARS JSS, STUDENT IN THE EASTEN REGION. AKUFO COCAINE WEE SMOKER HAVE ALSO KILLED HIS ...

• koku 8 years ago

This man is a fool why does he think he should change the history of Ghana by lying consistently?.He thinks of himself as the best scholar maybe of the Ashanti/Akyem akan group. They can accept him that way but he is so ignor ...

• osei yaw - london 8 years ago

The path of this blood relative of this Akyem hollow Akufo Ado of Akyem JB Danquah is to poison the minds of children of Ghana that wouldn't wash

- colonised Gold Coast/Ghana did not have a written language; historic past ...

A part of the Gold Coast Colony,precisely Eweland,had written languages, thanks to the German Missionaries. German and Ewe were used by the people of Eweland before Arabs, Danes and the British arrived.

• Kwame T. Italy 8 years ago

He was a terrorist by today standards he was Osama bin Laden. When they were apprehended the bombing ceased. Coming out with the name of the territory Ghana is no achievement, try as much as possible to subvert disturb the pe ...

• gak 8 years ago

So Nkrumah who at the time of independence was more or less an enemy to your so called mentor stole his idea? Grow up and campaign on what you will do Ghanaians if we vote you into office.

• Kanawu 8 years ago

LET'S ANALYZE THEIR IDEAS ON NAMES : IN I947, J.B. DANQUAH NAMED HIS CREATION UNITED GOLD COAST CONVENTION; IN I948, NKRUMAH NAMED HIS CREATION GHANA NATIONAL COLLEGE! WHOSE IDEA? OH NPP!

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

The irrelevant dwarf says what? Come November, we will put a tombstone on you, politically. You'll go and join your "Blow Job" Danquah.

• EKAC 8 years ago

this is useless speech

• LOVE 8 years ago

RUBBISH, RUBBISH, UTTER RUBBISH COMING AKUFFO ADDICT THE FAILURE AND A LIAR.

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 8 years ago

Indtead of focusing on how to win election against the useless mahama, you are wasting time oreaching about a terrorist j.b. dankwah. Blame yourself if you lose this year's election because you know what? I am of the CPP, but ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

Our history shows that J. B. Danquah's work focused on fighting for hegemony of Akyim Abuakwa state while Kwame Nkrumah fought for the political interst of the chides and people of the Gold Coast/Ghana.

The concept of "Mat ...

• be wise 8 years ago

That's all...So if Nana's root is stems from JB then it's quiet clear that he doesn't have any interest in Ghanaians as a whole group of people but for a certain cronies..

• SEEK- BEREKUM 8 years ago

THIS IS WHY I ALWAYS SAY THAT THE MIDGET, AKUFO ADO AND HIS NPP ARE SENSELESS. IF EVEN IT WAS DANQUAH WHO SUGGESTED THE NAME WAS IT HIS CREATION OR HIS PROPERTY?
    EVERYTIME THEY GET THE OPPORTUNITY THEY TRY TO EQUALISE OSAG ...

• Kanawu 8 years ago

OH NANA AKUFOOL ABON! IN I948 NKRUMAH FOUNDED A SCHOOL HE NAMED GHANA NATIONAL COLLEGE; WELL BEFORE THE NAME GHANA WAS INTRODUCED BY NKRUMAH BEFORE THE L.A IN I953. J.B.D ONLY WROTE BOOKS ON ANCIENT GHANA!

• Rabiatu Dinani 8 years ago

It is only arm robbers and thieves who don't wish Nana to become President but in the name of ALMIGHTY ALLAH Nana and my lovely brother Alhaj Doctor Bawumia will rule u.

• Adote 8 years ago

Akufo Addo please use your brain. How could Dr. J. B.Danquah who, together with Dr. K. A. Busia and co, went to Britain, a couple of times, to convince the Queen and the British Parliament NOT to give the country independence ...

• Adroba 8 years ago

Naming our new- born country after a fallen empire was so DUMMY. Come on lets change it right now! I suggest PARADISE. Next suggestions?............

• Chief Vandal 8 years ago

akufo-Addo please stop this Danquah nonsense in this election year,. We have to get rid of the NDC thieves. We need all people of all political persuasion to dislodge these thieves as we did in 2000, Don't spoil the coming ...

• Royal Solar.Akuss 8 years ago

during that time nkrumah had imprisoned him under prevention detention act

• Ibn Batuta 8 years ago

What research does it require to give an old name that existed in history to a new nation. This copy and paste. Even if it was Danquah who suggested naming Ghana after defunct empire, how great does that make him as a person. ...

• Chief Vandal 8 years ago

NPP you cannot rewrite history. Danquah was a bomb thrower

• K Fosu 8 years ago

I hope Ghanaians will dump Akufo Addo in the same way as our forebears dumped J B Traitor Danquah. When did a traitor become a hero?
    His "Apartheid Style" democracy would have been dreadful for Ghana.The smell from Danquah" ...

• Ekow 8 years ago

The full text of the bill that enabled the Gold Coast to be once Ghana read as follows

" that this Assembly do authorise the Government of the Gold Coast to request Her Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom, as soon ...

• Ekow 8 years ago

The full text of the bill that enabled the Gold Coast to become Ghana read as follows
    " that this Assembly do authorise the Government of the Gold Coast to request Her Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom, as soon as ...

• Nana Kwadwo Antoh 8 years ago

These descendants of terrorists should stop lying to Ghanaians! If this man wrote so profusely, why would he forget to provide the genesis of the idea about naming the Gold Coast Ghana. As said elsewhere on this discussion, J ...

• SD 8 years ago

Nana, have you forgot that Adu Boahene and F K Buah with the sroke of the pen rewrote Ghana's history books and covered up some of the facts of our past putting the young generation into oblivion of the true and complete hist ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

It is not the person who was the first to call Gold Oast Ghana that is important, rather, what is important is where is Ghana headed? In the future? Our focus should be on the present & the future, not on the past.

Where ...

• Suhum Saman 8 years ago

If you follow Ghana's history correctly, you're find out that we will always be partisan or descend into military rule.

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

The sorry fact of the matter is that the majority of us, as it's clearly shown here, did not study Ghana's history; or we had bad history teachers, or we were busy cramming British history: feudalism, enclosures, mercantilism ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

How could he have been the one who named Ghana when he was in opposition?

• ANOKWARE ASA 8 years ago

The author Abyna Ansaa Adjei is not objective, she is NPP's corner; bound to be subjective

• Petro 8 years ago

Want to be wise guys

• Kanawu 8 years ago

A LAWYER DEFENDING DANQUA WITHOUT PRECEDENT, EVIDENCE OR FACTS; ONLY PAGEBOY, GRANDPA, ETC. ! ON WONDER FACULTY OF LAW, LEGON REJECTED HIM !

• Kanawu 8 years ago

A LAWYER DEFENDING DANQUAH WITHOUT ANY PRECEDENTS, EVIDENCE OR FACTS; ONLY PAGEBOY, GRANDPA, ILLUSTRIOUS OKYEHENE, ETC. ARE ALL HE'S GOT! NO WONDER FACULTY OF LAW, LEGON REJECTED HIM!

• kusi 8 years ago

Opportunist old man

• Collins Anim 8 years ago

find an effective message; jb danquah died overy 50 years ago

• Patapaa 8 years ago

Truther as you call yourself. You can talk what you want about President Mahama. That is your right and your choice. But please leave out Gonjas and "tanis" for they are not President Mahama. Let us distinguish individuals ...

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Serial Liar Nana CIA (Clueless Incompetent Akufo-Addo) is at it again, doing what he does best, telling shameless serial lies. The Danquah/Busia group's bashing of Nkrumah is born out of jealousy, knowing that their group, af ...

• Rocky 8 years ago

GHANA - God Has Appointed Nkrumah Already. Period!