You are here: HomeNews2016 02 01Article 412089

NPP will champion Arabic studies – Bawumia

Read Comments Comments (260)

• 123 8 years ago

Oyiwaa, Nana Addo wants to create an Islamic state in Ghana. The move is to teach arabic is to propagate Islam in Ghana. Christians should be wise.

• Godfrey 8 years ago

I am a committed Christian and live in an Islamic State. Studying Arabic has nothing to do with religion please. Arabic is a language and its equivalent to learning any other language such as Chinese, which is dominated my Hi ...

• Ali 8 years ago

Politics of religion will end us in war. It is never good for our country.

• JOE BLOCK, U.S.A. 8 years ago

Whether you like it or not, Ghana is a Chirstian country, and this nonsense happening all around us from Bomo Haram to ISIS will never be encouraged in our peace loving country. I wonder if this Bawumia is serious; Did you ge ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• OYOKOBA 8 years ago

I think the NPP messaging needs some retooling and fine tuning. Seriously we need to hone in on bread and butter issues that 90% of the electorate care so much about.

At this point Arabic language learning wouldn't even re ...

• Nancy Forson 8 years ago

It is only people and organisations that lack credibility would hide behind others to perpetuate unfathomable lies.

And that is exactly what you are trying to do by trying to hide behind the BBC, which mistakenly is though ...

• DAVID, TEMA 8 years ago

Nana addo killed the wife. Toilet in his trousers. Write this in arabic

• daladam 8 years ago

BE CARFULL PEOPLE WE BETTER STICK WITH THE LOSER MAHAMA THEN VOTE FOR MUSLIMS AND ARABS TO RULE GHANA

• gh vi 8 years ago

These NPP guys are desperate and are promising just anything at all in order to make it to power.
    who says we want to learn arabic in Ghana?

• Nana Simpson 8 years ago

Dont accused President Mahama and the NDC Gv't wrongly. JDM care about his people and committed to turning the fortunes of the economy around as evident in the establishment of Ghana Infrastructure Investment Fund (GIIF) as a ...

• ken Kweku Agyeman 8 years ago

Discerning Ghanaians are equally aware of the numerous thievery allegations which have been leveled against the NPP such as

1. HOTEL DE KUFOUR,

2.The Minister of Health under President Kufuor's presidency, Dr. Richard ...

• SAM 8 years ago

Ghana people better off with tax and spend mahama then Arabs and Islam
    dangerously flourish in peaceful Ghana no way
    WE NOW MUST VOTE AGAINST THE NPP DANGERUES TICKET OF PROMOYING ARABS AND ISLAM IN GHANA

• Baba 8 years ago

Can we improve on our English first before any other language. Frech should come after English because we are surrounded by Francophone countries. Arabic is for ARABS.

• Abbas Siedu 8 years ago

Please check the source of the article before you jump into conclusion. This is information is planted to create division amongst the populace.

• mohammed 8 years ago

Who told you Ghana is a Christian Country? why not an African traditional religious country.

• 123 8 years ago

Ask yourself if teaching Arabic in schools is necessary? What's the main motive behind this move? I wait for answers

• mensa 8 years ago

ALL OF US THAT CONSIDER VOTING NDC OUT ARE NOW FOR SURE WILL VOTE NDC WE DONT WANT ARABIC STUDIES OR ANY ISLAM PROGRESS IN CHRISTIAN GHANA

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-I dont understand....
    Which normal person will order brand new buses in the colour of his choice from the manufacturer. Then when the buses arrives will say i dont want the colour anymore and will again spend stupind ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Old Soldier, you always stand to make baseless argument, Comment on the subject understudy and not what you think should be done.... lol... sometimes when i read your comment it makes me laugh because you don't have anything ...

• Joe 8 years ago

No outside influence again please

• Akhnaton 8 years ago

Why don't you champion the study of Akan or any other Ghanaian for that matter to improve it and make it our own than to bring in Arabic, the language of the slave master who does not regard us as human. Sometimes I wonder ho ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

THE NAME GHANA IS AN HAUSA NAME.DERIVED FROM WARRIOR KING.

I think the wisest ever to grace the face of Planet is once again vindicated with his assertion that,

"Even fools are thought wise if they keep silent, and discerning if they hold their tongues." Proverbs 17:28

God bles ...

• xyz 8 years ago

I believe this free Arabic tuition is at the request of the few zongo muslims in Ghana.

• Omnbapa 8 years ago

Ali am with you, this will rather breeds division,these guys are confused.com.

The elephant is lost in the forest

• Nana Simpson 8 years ago

NPP paaa! we talking about quality education education and elimination os schools under trees being undertaken by the NDC government and you talking about arabic language which is in anyway a subset of the quality education b ...

What good is Arabic to the average Ghanaian? If somebody wants to study Arabic as a subject ...fine,but to use my cocoa money to force Arabic down our throats is pure bunkum! We cannot even get our heads around English afte ...

• GhanaSon 8 years ago

Kofi I like your sense of reasoning. Right on the money. Come again Bawumia.

• Yaw 8 years ago

because u are illiterate u won't know the use of languages as means of national development so u are pardon. ur cocoa are u the only cocoa farmer in Ghana stupid man

• They Say They Say 8 years ago

Every now and then we are entreated with the real character of our politicians but will the people be wise enough to see? Hahaha 3y3 asem.

• Baffour Agyemang 8 years ago

Kofi you taken the wind out of my sail. You've said it all. Is this coming from wiz-kid Dr Bawumia? Hmm.

• Nap. 8 years ago

May God bless you for your comment.

• Sammy 8 years ago

You are not a Christian. Go to Islamic countries and try to teach people to learn English and you will be headed. This guy is a muslem watch him

• pie 8 years ago

huuuu! go Dubai and see if ppl don't learn English there. shameless baboon

• Tk 8 years ago

Summy you are really a bushman!Most Arab countries was colonised by the British.If you don't know ask.

• Yeheshua 8 years ago

What an ignorant thing to say. English is taught in all de Arabic speaking countries.

• Obinim 8 years ago

Godfrey, why Arabic but not Ewe, Ga, Nzema or German, Swahili but Arabic? I think we have a lot of home languages we can explore why a Islamic related language ?

• NANA KASA 8 years ago

Why Arabic? If NPP is not planning to turn Ghana into an Islamic state, what is the motive behind this policy?

• jb 8 years ago

so because it is related to Islam that's just your problem eeeeiiirrrrnnnn? hmmmm

• Samed 8 years ago

The only reason for arabic language studies is for the propagation of islam as muslims believe the quran should be read in its origional language. Tell me what benefits arabic language brings to Ghana's development.

• Yeheshua 8 years ago

Do u know de number of Arab investors in Ghana? Why can't u just think for a second de benefits it can bring a person who learns Arabic?

• kidziii 8 years ago

For a very long tym now finally i have a sensible comment....tanx comrade

• Omnbapa 8 years ago

I think Mr Bawumia and his campaign team has no message for the good people of ghana,they are confused.com.

We convincing message to win power not Arabic language., npp should be mindful about what they preach before, duri ...

• yanks 8 years ago

learn arabic? what are the benefits speaking arabic? arabic is a barbaric language for it encourages wahabism, promotes sharia law, terrorism, suicide bombers, beheadings, abducting girls, lies, discriminate against people, a ...

• Son of Ghana 8 years ago

Not everybody will have to learn Arabic. Only those that want to. 10% of Ghanaians are moslem. That also have to have some of the national cake.

• MT 8 years ago

You are having symptoms of 'mad cow disease' language study is purely for communication purposes....not religion.

• fairplay 8 years ago

How many Ghanaians needs to communicate in Arabic. Please we do not need it. Arabic language is always associated with Islam and Islam is always associated with terror.

• angry ghanaian 8 years ago

If npp vision is to promote Arabic language and giving chance to Muslim to dorminat our christian country, the npp must lose.

• obos 8 years ago

your stupid mother .who told you Ghana is Christian country, been majority doesn't make you a Christian country. ghana is circular nation. your ashawo mother.

• Steve 8 years ago

Please check your facts right Godfrey, I doubt if you are who you profess to be as a Christian.

• Boye 8 years ago

Why Arabic? why not Hebrew, German or even chinese?
    Who was Bawumia addressing? Muslim students. so how can someone tell me the so called arabic studies is not about Islam.
    The leader of Daesh holds Phd in islamic studies, ...

• Atugu 8 years ago

do not disappoint us please, Ghana is not into that that,no no no !!

• koffi parker 8 years ago

You see this is the problem that is brewing folks this will be seen as a direct threat to Christianity as you seem to say but it does not diminish the fact that Muslims too under democratic rule have every right to go that fa ...

• Amen 8 years ago

Arabic is already a subject in ghana. Why this nonsense.

• GOLD MINE 8 years ago

1. All our immediate neighbours speak French. Where are we taking the Arabic?
    Another planned waste of taxpayers' money like the bus-rebranding stupidity.

2. Zongo Development Fund: Another create, loot and share drain-pi ...

• omotuo 8 years ago

You are just not serious.

• XMAN 8 years ago

THESE GUYS ARE SOOOO....EMPTY IN THEIR SKULLS!

• NPP GO LOSE AGAIN!!!! 8 years ago

GO TO HELL

• Equity 8 years ago

Is this necessary? Please think again. This can lose votes for NPP.

• Nap. 8 years ago

Do you mean you christians hate Muslims ?I don't think you are even a proper Christian.

• Kwame Asare 8 years ago

PROMISES PROMISES GALORE.we are now fedup with the promises from politicians. please tell us how it they are to be funded. We dont want to hear these nonsence again. Give us better policies.You only need power to recoupe moni ...

• Ali 8 years ago

I hope NPP will promise us free sex so we can fuck the Akan NPP women for free.

• malam iddi 8 years ago

So you're against the real development of zango and Islamic teachers in Ghana
    Bawumia I will vote for you.

• DAJI 8 years ago

Talk some sense MR so called ALI

• Omnbapa 8 years ago

Mr let's be frank, is this the kind of campaign message we are expecting from a person with PhD, oh no, npp is loosing this election, am disappointed by the PhDs campaign message

• T. Moumin 8 years ago

Your name contradicts your thinking. I'm sorry!

• hmm 8 years ago

no wonder u are pepenii go n fuck the cows n akonfim that is what u are man off Ntafo

• Ojuku 8 years ago

NPP is so desperate for power that they are ready to promise even heaven without caring how to deliver it.

• malam iddi 8 years ago

Bawumia you are right
    Arabic is a language not a religion don't you know that there are many Arabs who are non Muslims
    Bringing back the Arabic teachers allowance i will vote for npp
    Thank you for recognizing us

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Say that again oooooh, my brother, say that loudly again la....

• GHANA BOY 8 years ago

HAAAAAA FEW WEEKS A GO YOU WERE TELL THE TWO MUSLIM BROTHERS TO BE SENT BACK TO USA, LYING PARTY. YOU CAN NEVER EAT YOUR CAKE AND HAVE IT AGIN

• Michael Chai 8 years ago

God forbid.. Champion what ?

• kwabena ohemeng,london 8 years ago

Bright, this is a friendly advice to you as a comrade.Kindly accept the results and move on.There is time for everything.The late president Mills was described as a serial loser but finally won and became the president of Gha ...

• azigi- T'adi 8 years ago

This pink sheet man is too desperate for power so he just opens his mouth and apew out thrash bcos he wants power, as a Moslem you are principled by faith to uphold the truth even at the point of death but here you are lying ...

• nana 8 years ago

Very soon this guy will promise unemployment allowance for Ghanaians. Sooo desperate

• ka na wu 8 years ago

DO Arabs study African languages?

• Akyem Okyere Manu 8 years ago

This Bawumia is not serious ,Arabic studies for what ?Not technology in any field but to become terorrist and kill .

That is enough for you to let them stay in opposition.

• Nap. 8 years ago

It's shear ignorance that will make you think Islam is about killing,please come again!be civil eh!

• Cut the Crap ! 8 years ago

Islam is basically a fraudulent racist imperialist ideology!

To be a muslim , you must take on an Arab name and preyer is only allowed in Arabic. Essentially you must reject your own heritage to become a muslim.

Islam a ...

• Kumi 8 years ago

I 100% agree with you. Instead of Bawumia promoting African Studies to the Arabs, out of desperation for power just imagine the nonsense he is spewing out from his lying mouth. Should the NDC also come and say they will promo ...

• Kwobia (Toronto) 8 years ago

This Bawumia guy has gone from bad to worse.After the Voters Register bru-ha-ha,now he wants Ghanain children to learn Arabic when these same kids can barely speak Engish a more useful language internationally.This is one use ...

• kay 8 years ago

massa this is 4 De zongo communities don't be foolish

• Obinim 8 years ago

Kay please write your foolish the zongo way.'foolis'

• Brown 8 years ago

Kay, your mother.s asshole.Is english not good for the zongo people too? Nonsense. This foolish Bawumia must be brought to his sense before it,s tto late.What kind of stupidity is this? I have lived in arab country before and ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

That shows the level of desperation they are in right now.

• King Lomotey 8 years ago

And you want this myopic economist to be ur Vice President? God help us.

• all die be die 8 years ago

masa keep laying

• olu 8 years ago

Why is Bawumia and his boss desperate? Are Ghanaians looking to waste our scarce resources on this effort? Arabic language can be offered in our schools so at the universities so why is this needed?

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Nana has the brainpower,he has the charisma, he has the diplomacy,he has the passion,he has the pedigree,he has the panache,he has the gravitas and above all he has the love for country to make Ghana the envy of Africa !

• David O 8 years ago

Ghana is already the envy of Africa, taking a critical look at the achievements of Prez John Mahama says it all. the construction of the circle interchange, police hospital & ridge hospital are just but a few of the infrastru ...

• Naaba 8 years ago

But he lacks the wisdom to unite people, the heart to accommodate diverging views and he is unforgiving. He is not sympathetic(all die be die). He is not honest(his law cert). He is tribalistic(yen akanfuo).

• Nzema K 8 years ago

So Bawumia Hates the Two Arab Nationals but love their language

• NII KROTEY 8 years ago

WE ARE FOR NPP NOW...

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

This Bawumia IS a dunce !! NOTHING to offer...so so USELESS PROMISES!

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

And you want him as ur Vice President, expert on economic affairs tweaah.

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Compare Nana to low IQ pea brain greedy buffoon Mahama whose insatiable greed and corrupt disposition has reduced Ghana to butt of jokes in the comity of nations.....now choose which these two shd be prez and vote for him

• GHANA IS CHEAP 8 years ago

WHY CANT THE ARABIC OR WHATEVER LEARN OUR LANGUAGE.

WHAT GOOD HAS COME OUT OF ARABIA

• azigi- T'adi 8 years ago

Foolish man, promises promises and all over the place, full of lies, a moslem indeed, continue lying n forever u shall remain in opposition

• Kumi 8 years ago

Mr. Liarmia please come again. You are too desperate. We don't like desperate people leading the Nation. Why not promote African Studies to the Arabs. This is why even the Arabs don't respect Africans. Is that what NPP will e ...

• SETOO 8 years ago

Thank u, Bawumia very soon NPP coming power...now

• dd 8 years ago

how about commitment to study twi and make it a national language in addition to english

• NEINDOW JAGBO(musah Abdul Fatawu) 8 years ago

U DD, u think twi is de only language in Ghana. Nonsense let it be ur first and last. Am proud of ma tribe. Hw many of Ghanaians want to speak dat fucking language. Come to ma home and speak dat barbaric language, nobody will ...

• SACRED @a@.. 8 years ago

Look at propagandist,u people don't have anything to offer Ghanaians.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

There is some insanity going on in Ghana.

These northners are over staying their privileges

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

The Mahama's Government is currently implementing the study of our local languages in various Uni n secondary schools promoting our own. The Nana Addo is working on implementing Arabic studies.Is this what we need in Ghana? W ...

• YAS 8 years ago

This politics of religion get to stop. Build first class science and arts schools for the muslim community and encourage them to enrole so they can Drs, Teachers, and Nurses to contribute to Ghanaian society, not some Arabic ...

• AT 8 years ago

Nana and this Buwulair can promise everything, free school, free marriage, free transport, free everything Ghanaians must wise up because there is no free lunch anywhere.....

• joe 8 years ago

Thank you Dr for the good work .Ghanaians are looking for good leaders like you and nana addo to rule this country.. Mahama led administration has cause more harm than good to Ghanaians we need change now

• 2016 on 8 years ago

you are stupid thats why you will never come to power..... fool

• Nii Fio Shammo 8 years ago

Why Arabic and What for?We need highly educated Muslims in science and technology,medicine and the arts.We have enough Arabic scholars and what do they do except terrify innocent people with hell fire.Stop it Bawumia

• kofikofi 8 years ago

twaaaaa. what do we stand to gain as Ghanaians...what kind of politics is this.

• TT 8 years ago

Arabic for what? Instead of u talking about upgrading or improving our technical schools for the youth to get something doing after school u r tlkin about arabic no wonder we are not developing

• Cojo, Germany 8 years ago

Bawumia do not try to kill the hope and trust people have in Nana, your reliogious suggestions will kill your future politics

• Para 8 years ago

Can't wait to see this, although Arabic is gaining grounds in northern and zango Islamic schools, much more need to be done to improve it. As for the ignorants dogs who take Arabic as Islam, they should know that Arabic cont ...

• Akon 8 years ago

Para, You are as stupid as Bawumia. Have you finished doing business with your neighbouring francophone countries? You cannot even promote your official language English in elementary schools. How many can speak French? Or Sp ...

• Konkonsa 8 years ago

an economist who will abolish some taxes and rather pay allowances? man, the allawa was introduced to woo people into the respective professions when people were needed to fill those vacancies, not in our modern times when so ...

• Joe Tango 8 years ago

For the nineteen years prez Rawlings didn't choose Muslim as his vice. Prez Mills selected Alhaji Mumumi but you rejected him. Prez MAHAMA knowing very well that Muslims will not vote for their own man, chose another Christi ...

• Tawiah 8 years ago

VERY DANGEROUS PRECEDENT BY THE NPP NOW.

• laari sule 8 years ago

This is a good man that the people of Ghana should listen, Nana all the way.

• Tampugri 8 years ago

And what the arabic language add to the development of Ghana if not further radicalisation of muslim youth? Ghana is secular and I will not want my tax to into the promotion of a totalitarian and intolerant religion like Isla ...

• Cojo, Germany 8 years ago

Bawumia you are destroying your future political ambitions

• Afia 8 years ago

Poor Nana Addo. You will never be President. Just forget it and thank God for everything.

• Ghana people 8 years ago

NPP should know that Ghana is a cristian Country . I will do all tins in my village to make shore Nana Addo loose . why not Twi,Ewe,Gonja,Ga, konkomba or other local languages.

• BLACKBARNES 8 years ago

ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
    COURSES INCLUDE: ...

• makamaka 8 years ago

we the hardship people's party are for it. we need change now

• care 8 years ago

I was watching aj streem and some Africans are complaining how the arabs muslims treat them in USA, and one arab islam man said Africa People convert to islam because of their poverty,another arab man said in an interview tha ...

• kojo 8 years ago

Oh but arabic is being sturdied in our uarabic in schoolsniversities there isno ban of arabic teaching in our islamic basic schools so why this dirty politics

• Jake Italy 8 years ago

Is this Npp campaign message? Sad Bawumia come again

• Omnbapa 8 years ago

Mr Bawumia , Ghana is not an Islamic state nor an Arabic state, therefore , mind your speech because you are taking Ghana to a deep hole.

You can ask your family to learn Arabic but not everyone in Ghana, we are sorry this ...

• GHANA IS CHEAP 8 years ago

ANOTHER FORM OF COLONISATION

WHAT GOOD HAS COME OUT OF ARABIA

• koff 8 years ago

short of campaign Messages bcos u talked and and still talking too fkn Much

• naa daviez 8 years ago

this one di3333 Bawumia you bombed. You know anything about Islam sends shivers down the spine. We dont want. You might lose votes for this

• WIN-BENETI 8 years ago

what benefit as the arabic language n islam brought to this world apart frm being recited by sword wielding muslims clad in black while beheadings of christians are taking place.this is cheap politicking of the highest pr ...

• care 8 years ago

Has it was from the bigging so shall it be in the end, islam came in blood and that is continueing,people whom leaders killed their own People,Bawumia dont even theam shameless party

• Julius Asomani 8 years ago

I will be happy when it comes through.

• Amozey 8 years ago

At first I thought this man was a genius until he started spewing crap. Now I doubt his knowledge in economics.

• yaw 8 years ago

What is the benefit 4 arabic studies in Ghana? Lean Chinese instead 4 economics reasons.

• dr bawumia 8 years ago

recruiting more customs officers will help the country terrorist all over ghana.let us try and tightened our borders than spewing garbage.if there is no peace then there is no governing.

• Jew 8 years ago

When they are talking of replacing the English language with a Ghanaian national language, confused Dr Pinksheets is promising to bring another foreign language.

• KK Gianni Koffi 8 years ago

Eeeeeeei Bawumia is that where you reach now? Awww so pity, this man is getting frustrated ooo nooo Bawumia you campaign words are finish ooooo you talking like kid now, just keep quiet and rest somewhere please

• Jerry 8 years ago

Nana, you know you have a 3rd class degree in economics, but you went for your senior who has a PhD in economics to assist you. Now he is talking about making Arabic a national language which no Ghanaian will buy.

Congratulation. NDC brought 2terrorist from guantanamo, bawumia to make the whole country Ghana to become the next terrorist state, and axis of evil. Alliance compliance order is coming. All christians to vote for NDC.

• Habibu zulkifil 8 years ago

Don't we have dat orade religious and moral

• Big J 8 years ago

Nana might be a fake lawyer, but he at least makes some little sense from time to time when he speaks, but this Bawumia guy, I wonder if he didn't obtain his PhD through plagiarism, the guy is so dumb, jeez! What good will w ...

• The Future Force 8 years ago

How can a party that hates Muslims and wants Muslims who have been wrongfully in the US sent back promise to promote the study of Arabic language? These guys are just desperate for power and would soon be promising free wives ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

some people that comments here are not wise at all. so if someone is championing education among the deprived communities is a crimew. if some of u don't know now is a policy in Ghana to teach pupils in language they speak be ...

• WIN-BENETI 8 years ago

Bawumia shud b referred to the 2010 census report n b made to understand catholics alone are more than muslims in Ghana neither to talk of other Christian groups n for that Bawumia wouldnt b allowed to do anything of his choi ...

• adjoa osei mensah 8 years ago

NDC presidential candidate is a Christian and his vice is a Christian they won the last election. The late president went with 2 moslems as vice president and didn't win to become president until he chose John Mahama a Christ ...

• Ebo Kobina 8 years ago

BAWUMIA , YOU ARE A BUFFOON . GHANA NEED TO LEARN GOOD INTERNATIONAL LANGUAGE LIKE FRENCH THAN PROPERGATING FOR THIS TERRORIST STUDIES . ARABIC STUDIES HAS ALWAYS BEEN USED BY SAUDI ARABIA FOR SPREADING TERRORIST IDEALOGY .G ...

The reality of what Bawumia is promising is the current trend of happenings in his party, the NPP.

He is making promises to our Muslim brothers, but I can tell that, those promises are just bait he is trying to use to win ...

• EDUCATED FOOLS 8 years ago

LET UNITE AKAN TO MOVE GHANA FORWARD LIKE THE EUROPEANS , SOUTH AND CENTRAL AMERICAN , US , CHINA , JAPAN , GERMANY , ITALY AND THE RUSSIANS .

• No Brainer 8 years ago

Forget about this Arabic thing for now until they put their house in order. We've got more serious cleaning to do after this good for nothing government leaves office

• Ssali 8 years ago

Bawumia has nothing good to offer to the zongo community. To learn Arabic? And do what with it. You see him? opportunist.

• INNOCENT 8 years ago

u people should remember n put it in mind that Arabic is an international language. people even feel proud speaking Arabic when returned from Libya n co. So stop doing this cos of politics.

• WORDS OF WISDOM 8 years ago

Cool down folks.....Bawumia's message is meant for the Zongo community please.Note meant for Ghanaians in general.

• OPANINPA 8 years ago

MAWUMIA WILL PROMISE HEAVEN AND EARTH TO WIN POWER. HE PROMISES MUSLEMS NPP WILL PROMOTE THE STUDY OF ARABIC. WILL HE PROMISE CHRISTIANS HE WILL PROMOTE THE STUDY OF HEBREW

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Dr Bawumia should go back to the drawing board and bring out policies that will motivate the people of zongo to vote for NPP, what they need now is not arabic studies and easy trip to Hajj but someone who will transform thei ...

• DeeL 8 years ago

We are surrounded by french speaking countries. Instead of promoting the French Language to help in our trade with our neighbours and outside world, Bawumia NPP is proposing Arabic? First things first. Why do you propose this ...

• Tweea 8 years ago

Learn their language and behave like them.?" Why this nonsense. Ploy to collect money from the financiers of Jihadist for the NPP campaign. NPP is broke.

• JOSEPH GANYOBI 8 years ago

ARABS ARE THE TROUBLE MAKER'S ALLOVER THE WORLD NOW. ....I AM VERY SURPRISED THAT A CIVILIZED GHANAIAN WILL SAY SOMETHING LIKE THAT. ...IT'S A SHAME MR BAWUMIA. ...BE CIVILIZE. ..WE KNOW YOU BETTER THAN THIS

• Yeheshua 8 years ago

See wgo

• Bukar 8 years ago

talk is cheap

• Ali 8 years ago

Ghana is surrounded by three French speaking countries. Bawumia, would be serious policy maker in the very rare case of NPP winning the 2016 elections, you did not think about teaching French from the basic schools to the ter ...

• KOKOO 8 years ago

WHAT ABOUT HEBREW AND GREEK STUDIES FOR US THE CHRISTIANS. PROPHET OWUSU BE,PAH SAID IT INCE THAT NANA ADDI SHOULD ADVICE BAWUMIAH LEST HE TRIES ISLAMISING GHANA

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Hahahahaha! My people see ooh. No more campaigning on "Free High School" But "Free Arabic Studies" in Ghana,, Yooo. Hahahaha! NPP is really confused. TWEAAAAA! NPP has no Campaign message this time around!

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Really? Amanfuo, it seems Confusion has now made its masterpiece in the NPP Camp! Seriously!

• Ewiasiyesum 8 years ago

Stupid boy - You want to create the likes f boko haram in Ghana? God forbid.

• Bukar 8 years ago

lose talk by Bawumia

• Ali 8 years ago

You see where you are in politics now try read all the comments posted because of the to-be-policy of teaching of the Arabic in our schools. Already we are having problem with the English language since the first white man ar ...

• Ali Abdul Karim 8 years ago

what is wrong with Ghanians at all,are we not here learning others languages as a citizens eg :are we not having institute of language where by people go there and Learn Wat language they wish to and also are we not having Gh ...

• BB 8 years ago

Bawumia please concentrate on your economics. I strongly oppose this arabic nonsense. Ghana has too many languages and English is our bond. That is enough.
    Muslims can stdy arabic but leave catholics and protestants out of t ...

• Last warrior 8 years ago

Moslem are already doing that so can't you do some thing which would help the children in that community than wast money to sturdy Arabic and can you tell us what benefit learning Arabic would give GHANAIANS that we don't kno ...

• ojuju spirit 8 years ago

Mass gyae gyimii. Why can't we speak our language and be proud.

• Ali Abdul Karim 8 years ago

BAWUMIA DON'T MIND THEM IS POLICIES

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

we haven't even gotten our own languages in place but always ready to opt on the wagon of the slavemasters.

• KP 8 years ago

Yes Npp all the way

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

This pledge like Akufo Addo's free SHS promise wouldn't bring in the votes. Arabic Studies? when majority of Ghanaians have problems with speaking & writing in their own languages or in English. Zongofuo are not as stupid as ...

Spend your time to convert Ghana into a moslem state. Stupid boy

• Shani Abubakari 8 years ago

Desperation for power with respect to npp can be classified as a disease. Wat is this?

• thom 8 years ago

Hey Mr nap turn around and look at what is going on in your religion it's only the blind who cannot see and the deaf who cannot hear the terrorism in the Muslim community

• SOLI NEI YA, Gung biliya yilli, Tamal 8 years ago

Hypocratic. NPP double standard. Your hatred for zongos dates back to the second republic, when the busia govt sent all zongos packing bag and baggage to leave Ghana. When a zongo Aliu Mahama was vice president and it was tim ...

• daladam 8 years ago

AND A VOTE FOR THE ARABS TO COME HERE AND RUN GHANA

• STEVE 8 years ago

Absolute NONSENSE. Why learn Arabic throughout Ghana and discard our languages? Is pure stupidity. We must rather train teachers to teach the languages within the country than Arabic. It does not make sense to me. Some of our ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Hi Bawumia, let me tell you that Ghana is a Christian country not Muslim country. The country cannot take that Aribic language to anywhere
    Tha youth need jobs, channel them to technical, scientific and economic areas. Those ...

• Freddie 8 years ago

What does Arabic studies get to do with us in Ghana lots of Ghanaians are struggling to speak our official language instead of helping them you fucken talking about Arabic. Have helped in French studies because we are boarded ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

Please Dr. Bawumia why advocate the study of Arabic? And not Future Studies or Environmental Studies. Both studies would make us sane, humane & ecological. (SHE)

• sammy 8 years ago

My friends are short of promises. Is Arabic a scientific language? So is it the reasons why they are promising free SHS? Ghana cannot communicate with her French speaking neighbours very well and you are talking of Arabic. We ...

• Raymond Abiwu 8 years ago

Stupid ! Stupid and Stupid !!!

• Raymond Abiwu 8 years ago

The quran is written by devils . Ghanaians should be very careful.

• ,Alhaji 90 8 years ago

I am sure Ali and co are stollen boys from Mali

• Busy 8 years ago

So you too can import terrorists

• Babs 8 years ago

The biggest challenge and threat to this modern world is ignorant Christians.they cannot distinguish between language and religion,culture and religion,power(political) struggle and religious struggle.they are the same irresp ...

• ASHIA 8 years ago

STUPID TWISTED MUSLIM DUMB MUSLIM YOU NEVER GET CLOSE TO THE SEAT START CLEAN YOUR WHERE YOU LIVE DIRTY PIGS
    SHAME.

• DE DON 8 years ago

Is like members here don't understand English any more language and Islam is not the same He is saying it if u want to studies it fine but don't condem one mans religion ok can u define boko harram do u no they mission Hey ta ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

How are you going to cut taxes, reduce import duties, not borrow but find funds to meet the expectation of the people after all these promises? Are you going to go around begging for money to do all these things you are pro ...

• kofason 8 years ago

yes, we know that when you get the chance you will turn Ghana to Islamic country

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Why? First it was English Language and now Arabic Language? None of our indigenous Languages is good enough? Why not French then since all our neighbors speak French?

This man is promising too much!

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Nana Addo's Sarah Palin! Why can't this guy keep his mouth shut? Bawumia is doing to Nana Addo what Sarah Palin did to John McCain!

• Zoolorm 8 years ago

Why Arabic Bawumia. You want to promote Islam right. Am disappointed in you. What benefit will arabic bring to Ghanaian that other local language cannot give..
    I like you Bawumia very disappointed in you

Good idea to study arabic. I can now easily link up with the taliban and isil, isis operatives to earn a lot of money to train suicide bombers. Come bretheren, easy way to riches. This is economics prophecy from bawumia. A ha ...

• jomo 8 years ago

I think we are surrended by Francaphone countries n how many of us ghanaians speak French? as much as arabic is good but.....?

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

VoteP for me and i wil also champion the learning of Kukpankpan

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

LET HIM CHAMPION HAUSA LANGUAGE WHICH IS SPOKEN IN SAUDI ARABIA TOO.
    HAUSA IS SPOKEN IN ALL ZONGOS,SO LET HIM CHAMPION HAUSA.BAWUMIA HAS BECOME A HYPOCRITE HERE.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

I support the study of Hausa which is spoken at most Zongos and Akan which is spoken in many parts of Ghana.

• LONTO-BOY 8 years ago

Of course, there is a direct link between the Arabic language and Islam. We're in election year, so Dr Bawumia is trying his best to woo Ghanaian Muslims vote NPP with this. NPP will not have my support on this.

• King Baidoo 8 years ago

Does this guy know the Gitmo 2 are of Arab descent? Who gave him the doctorate degree?

• Truth 8 years ago

Please Ghanaians do not vote for NPP. If we make the mistake and vote them to power, they will push things down our throat. Things that we cannot even imagine.
    God is making their hidden intentions come to light.

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

I will rather go for Chinese Studies. Why?
    1. To learn about the Chinese people
    2. To learn about their language, specifically Mandarin.
    3. To study their difficult alphabets to be able to read their writing.

I have a ...

• oman ba 8 years ago

Stupid talk how many knows why to write our language and speak. Excuse us .I we serious at all.

• GHANANI 8 years ago

Bawumia reminds me of Saddam Hussein's right hand man who came to be known as comical Ali in international circles.Even when America and its allies were bombing Iraq he was telling the whole world that America and its allies ...

• HARDER@'-89 8 years ago

Is that going to be ya mark to fame, dr bawumia...? at the time when there is dearth of knowledge about people of the north and northern extraction culminating in incessant abuse and ridiculing of northerners, here u are talk ...

• Sakis Justice 8 years ago

Npp will champion Arabic

• Igp 8 years ago

Nana Ghana does not need Arabic to survive economic hardships. Akuffo Addo take control of your political campaigns and watch or dictate what your surrogates go out and say. Its a slippery slop. Ghana does not need one religi ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

This Bawumia guy seems to be a distraction for the party!!

• inercycl 8 years ago

We seem to throng to China for everything we need including aid/ loans.So why not introduce
    Mandarin into our educational curriculum rather than Arabic. Or is our new political discourse going to be based on religion. You go ...

• SOLI NEI YA, Gung biliya yilli, Tamal 8 years ago

Why do you people envy Arabic? Remember twi or what do you call that limited vocabulary language? I mean the asanteman language does not come one thousandth way near Arabic. So Bawumia may be right priorotising arabic. Look B ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

How would promoting Arabic culture (language) better our cause.Our students are not performing well academically by foreign standards as a result of their inadequate mastery of English. And now Arabic? It will serve no useful ...

• Amen 8 years ago

Please please, please. Ghana has values as well

• Steve 8 years ago

I can't believe he's championing this agenda . Where are we going with this ? Ghanaians wake up.

• NDC-MAN 8 years ago

DON'T ALLOW ISLAM TO RULE GHANA OOOO, LOOK AT NIGERIANS,ARABIC IS EVERYWHERE AND HAD NOW GIVEN BIRTH TO BOKO HARAM.THE LITTLE CHANCE OPEPE NNE GETS,WILL TURN IT INTO A SUICIDE BOMBS. THIS NPP PEOPLE.YOOO

• ERICUS-KOROZO . 8 years ago

My people are now promising everything for Ghanaians. These people are confused because thry have nothing again since aJDM gas finished all the developmental works.. Corruption is reduced to lowest level.. Nana and Bawumia a ...

• prince Hamid 8 years ago

my God help nanna to come on power and save us from poverty in this country Ghana

• Johnson Adjei 8 years ago

This man Bawumia just to get money from Saudis, Arabic in Ghana. Just fuck off Bawumia, Ghana is known for his English language. From colonial days to the present Ghana, nobody has brought up this stupid remarks, Arabic in Gh ...

• Nanaana 8 years ago

This idiot and his paymaster, the evil dwarf has no message.

• Fish 8 years ago

Confused and clueless Bawumia at it again

• @@@@@@@@@ 8 years ago

I THINK NPP,S ARE GOING MAD.

• KURD 8 years ago

AN NDC MAN BOUGHT PREPAID CREDIT 50GHC AND FINISHED THE NEXT DAY,HE WAS CRYING, KWASIA
    I TOLD HIM TO GO AND ASK MAHAMA.
    OUR PRESIDENT IS ONLY COMPASION ON TERRORIST BUT NOT GHANAIANS

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Why promotion of Arabic language in a predominantly Christian Society. Is the best Science and Mathematics Books on the Shelves in Arabic?. Arabic is the language of the ISIS and Al-Qaida's.What impact will it have on Educati ...

• Yeheshua 8 years ago

Clearly u lack knowledge. To think Arabic is de language of terrorists is just a stupid thing to say. When did is is cane to prominent, when did did AL qaeda cane to be? Arabic is spoken by hundreds of millions of people ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

I did not say only 2 peoples in the world speak Arabic. And the mention of Isis and Al-Qaida does not mean the Arabic language is limited to those two terrorists groups.I also asked if the best Mathematics and Science books o ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

For lack of vision, my people perish.

Bawumia lacks vision andhe wants people in the Zongos to perish.

• kojo nzo ekangaki 8 years ago

Bawumia always building castle in the air....

• Yeheshua 8 years ago

Clearly bawumia was speaking to a gathering of Muslims. He will champion Arabic studies throughout the country for Muslims. Even if it's for every Ghanaian it's not for religious purpose. Those of you gushing out silly comm ...

• COMPUTER STUDIES 8 years ago

A BIT DISSAPOINTED,

NOT SURE WHO TO VOTE NOW.

• Yeheshua 8 years ago

See who is telling someone to be civilized.

• npp nima 8 years ago

may be Bawumia does not know what to say again

• manus 8 years ago

IS BAWUMIA SAYING NPP WILL TURN GHANA INTO ISLAMIC STATE?

• Gumb Nabiiga 8 years ago

Bawumia is thinking of championing arabic for our youth to learn how to read the satanic verses n start engaging in jihad on streets wit bombs exploding arnd kwame nkrumah circle n markets squares.for what good has come arabi ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

IT IS GOOD TO LEARN ALL CULTURAL STUDIES IN THE WORLD, BUT, ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT THING FOR ANY EDUCATED IS TO USE TECHNOLOGY, SCIENTOFI INNOVATION AND CREATIVITY TO PROPEL ECONOMIC GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT IN THE COUNTRY.

• Whatever 8 years ago

And then he tries to placate with such a promose. Sekwaterekwa se obema wo biribia, tie ne din. For politics, Bawumia shuns arabs and went a step further to embarrass their benefactors. that sums him up.

• Samuel Owusu 8 years ago

NPP is the last party I will ever vote for. Before Kuffour came, they were complaining about increses in fuel prices, but what happen when Kuffour assummed the leadership of the country, fuel was increased almost 100%.
    All ...

Has Bawumia been sniffing cocaine with his boss lately? Where from this studying Arabic idea if not from a confused and hallucinating mind.

• J A Y 8 years ago

Oh Bawumia's cheap talk don't be deceiving people don't be saying what you can not do, you are joking

• Kanitinka 8 years ago

NPP should be careful if Bawumia is going to promote Arabization of Ghana than you are not be better than NDC who have brought the two Gumt.returnees to Ghana.

• ghanaman 8 years ago

NEXT TIME., BAWUMIA IS GOING TO DE CLEAR GHANA ISLAMIC REPUBLIC, THIS WHAT STUPID DESPERATE GOOD FOR NOTHING, NPP IS LEADING GHANA INTO NPP HAVE NOTHING GOOD FOR OUR PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY, I HAVE SAID ON THE PLATFORM ON SEV ...

• OKESSE 8 years ago

Arabs and Islam are dangerous entities in this world . Bawumia this one de3 not not not

• fairplay 8 years ago

When you are desperate for power you say all kinds on nonsense. Those who have studied Arabic what can they use it for in Ghana. Please Bawobawo stop this deception of your Muslim brothers.

Bawumia Balawu Buluu wants to keep our Zongo communities suppressed, poor, and unemployed.

Bawumia is where he is today because he studied the English language, not Arabic!

Am listening all the schools that he attende ...

"Am listing"

You see how stupid the NPP is? Arabic studies and when you are done who is going to employ you? Think about it carefully?

If NPP wants to exacerbate the already bad employment situation in the Zongos, then this is the way ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 8 years ago

No need to officially promote Arabic in Ghana. We should focus on our own languages and English, the language of the global economy! And some French as the countries surrounding us are francophonie. The Muslin Bible is alread ...

• worfa kokoor 8 years ago

This is real stupidity. When we are unable to promote the study of our local languages, we are talking about a very unnecessary foreign language.
    Is it to promote Islamic culture?
    For the first time I am realizing the da ...

• Jumping kid 8 years ago

Yes,yes,yes!!! This is what each n everyone in e economy want to hear nt I will fixed dumsor n still dumsor alive, nt e 2 akayeders into the economy without any one notice n nt even cared abt the people in the economy so has ...

• man for all season 8 years ago

Mr.Bawumia why, you know that is particular Arabic language that brought calamity in Nigeria where some Muslims groups formed a Boko haram ,And more than 3000 peoples lives claimed.Be careful.

• kwesi freeman 8 years ago

This guy is plainly stupid. Does he think that Ghanaians equally stupid as he is? He wants Ghanaians to become Muslim? How can a so called a learned guy think like this? Our own languages self is not being taken serious and y ...

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Bawumia is a worthless serial liar. This loudmouth served the NPP administration of President Kufuor, as did Serial Loser Nana CIA (Clueless Incompetent Akufo-Addo). Not once did these two elephant- riding serial liars do any ...

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah. Atanta GA 8 years ago

Spare us this balderdash,you liar and con man.Look what you are causing.As if your lies and fabrications
    are not enough to tilt the country into civil war .Do you have to cap it with this
    timing bomb ? Yankuri Alahaji,Ghana ...