You are here: HomeNews2016 01 26Article 410779

‘Hike in water tariff will lead to alcohol consumption’

Read Comments Comments (50)

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

Rubbish

• Anokwa 3tw3 y3d3 papaapa 8 years ago

It is a done deal. it is obvious mahama days are numbered together with his bunch of criminals.
    we will change atopahene like the way he changes school girls

• NOTHERN GHANA 8 years ago

The Auditor General has said that under this government we have 47,000 Ghost Names.
    During the npp regime under
    president Kufour, ghost names were reduced to 3,800. And it was on the verge of total eradication. But what do ...

• KOFI YAROO 8 years ago

NOTHERN GHANA WILL NEVER DUMP JM FOR CHEEPANZEE ,WHAT CHANGE HAS A CHEEPANZEE HAS, KEEP YOUR OLD EVIL SCAM CHEEPANZEE IN REGION

• Freeman 8 years ago

We're all more closely related to Chimps and Monkeys than god or the devil. Be nice to each other. And respect the Chimps and the Monkeys among us!

• mRNA + tRNA 8 years ago

If consumers have that enough money to buy alcohol, then they can afford to buy water

Good night and good luck!

• obibenyaw 8 years ago

Nonsense

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Mr. Multiple Monikers, go get yourself a life, Haba!

• SARPONG 8 years ago

We have clueless President and his administration who cannot think outside the box.

With this government, the only way it knows how to raise revenue is either to increase taxes or go for loans.

For a country that collec ...

• mRNA + tRNA 8 years ago

Did you do economics in college? Find yourself a teacher to explain the subject Economy to you, then come here to make your comment! Even the developed nations depend on taxes or loans for developmental projects in their coun ...

• Jordys 8 years ago

Exactly!

Alcohol is no synonyme for water...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Oh Ghana! In fact, there are too many bogus organizations in that country of ours. Unbelievable!

• Nana 8 years ago

Weird! Is water and alcohol substitute goods. Do consumers derive the same satisfaction from water and alcohol?

• Nana 8 years ago

Weird! Is water and alcohol substitute goods. Do consumers derive the same satisfaction from water and alcohol?

• OMG 8 years ago

This argument does not hold water.

• legs 8 years ago

Has lots of beer though. If water is ore expensive than beer ??

• The Future Force 8 years ago

This is pure pure nonsense! Whoever said this is very silly and foolish.

• SUSUNYA 8 years ago

There may be nothing wrong with that. After all, that is what the Germans do.
    This may happen, if water is more expensive than beer so say beer and NOT ALCOHOL.

• Abdul 8 years ago

Haha, well, I'm sure that wouldn't be new to some of my Ghanaian friends. They only need to change their identities from Ghanaians to Irish. Cheers!!!!!

• Akon 8 years ago

There are too much foolish talks in the country. Why? Any stupid person just opens the mouth and spew filth. Ah Ghana!

• SENKOAAH 8 years ago

IF YOU HAVE FOOLISH AND WICKED LEADERS,YOU ALWAYS HAVE FOOLISH TALKS COMING FROM STUPID PEOPLE.IN A SHORT TIME WE ARE GOING TO SHARE ENTRANCE TO BUY BOTTLED WATER FROM THE MALLS WITH HARD-CORE TERRORISTS FROM YEMEN SO DON'T W ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

That will not happen

• david O 8 years ago

Very hard to believe. This assertion is totally flawed.

• Akora 8 years ago

The association must know that no right thinking person will replace water with alcohol just because water tariff has been increased.

• Godfred 8 years ago

sorry for them but they should not judge ghanaians because our interest is not their interest.

• AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago

“O you who have believed, do not ask about things which, if they are shown to you, will distress you….A people asked such before you; then they became thereby disbelievers.” (Qur’an 5:101-102)

Such a passage hardly ...

• Freeman 8 years ago

No truth in god! Read Evolution to find out.

• Morris capetown 8 years ago

Oh sachets water is abt 2 be 3p oh ama ghana cant u shake urself like akua nigeria to prove how matured u are whn it comes 2 democratic games,granting ndc for the 3rd term is boko haram cos now tht al qaeedas a around

• Nana K. Akropong 8 years ago

a bottle of beer more expensive than a sachet of pure water so where lies your logic?

• KP 8 years ago

People are not seeing this and if someone complains about this you will see those that are being fed by this incompetent defending it. What amazes me more is when I see the so called celebrities and even chiefs endorsing the ...

• Ken Kweku Agyeman 8 years ago

Such analogies are flawed.
    Alcohol can never be a substitute for water.
    All and sundry must acquaint themselves with their flaws and always be responsible for their actions

• GHANA FIRST 8 years ago

This article is too poor to be understood. What volume of water is in this equation writer? How can you give price without what is being paid for and expect readers to understand your article? Please rewrite this article bett ...

• kwesi tarkwa 8 years ago

This water sachet producers are complaining,those times that they were smuggling water from GWL they were happy but I bet you some of them are still STEALING FROM GWL AND ECG

• monto 8 years ago

Water & alcohol are not the same. No matter how u drink ,u will Still need water.

• SD 8 years ago

Nonsensical and useless deductions

• North 8 years ago

Funny assumption. Ghanaians should be serious.

• Dan 8 years ago

Unintelligent statement, the deference between water and alcohol is clear, if you choose to drink alcohol instead because water tariffs are high, so be it. Clearly water tariff is high, but please don't say people would resul ...

• Kofi Charlie 8 years ago

What a silly and nonsensical deduction by drunkards in that association! When would some of these our so-called group leaders display simple logic by just think a little bit harder! Water rates has gone up and beer is cheaper ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

A minister decided that a visual demonstration would add emphasis to his Sunday sermon.

Four worms were placed into four separate jars.

The first worm was put into a container of alcohol. The second worm was put into a ...

• Murphy 8 years ago

Monto, u r right. How can u compare water to Alcohol? Alcohol takes bitter while water takes good. No matter how much u take Alcohol u will still need water. so spare us with ur comparison, ok. please

• Crackadoodledooooo 8 years ago

This is so illogical. This article makes no sense.

• Gangstalicious 8 years ago

At least Ghanaians will now be drunk and forget about dumsor. It's all a plot ????????

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Ghanians shouldn't be fooled this time by Mahama's shaky ways. If NDC gives you money take it. You don't have to vote for them, after all you are the only one who knows who to vote for.

• spyky 8 years ago

nonsense,just wake up from your bed just spit out rubbish.how does alcohol replace water in quenching our thirst. Infact the citizen is going crazy in these country of ours.

• Nana Pee 8 years ago

Take an election 2016 Survey: www.surveymonkey.com/r/VB9DKXQ

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

IS ALCOHOL WATER AND EVEN THEN WHERE IS THE AVERAGE GHANAIN GOING TO GET THE FUNDS TO DRINK EVEN A BOTTLE OF BEER.

DO YOU PEOPLE WANT TO TELL GHANAIANS TO GO AND FRINK APETHESHI.

PURELY RUBBISH:

LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

This is what happens when a low iq greedy buffoon rigs elections to become president.The sad thing is that he is on course to rig the 2nd time bcos the rigging machinery is still intact unless we all clamour for a new registe ...

• Gideon 8 years ago

keep drinking dia all liquid

• Enough is Enough 8 years ago

Nonesense talk how can alcohol be taken instead of water? We will drink water straight from the taps after all the sachet water does not go through any special treatment before packaging. Who is forcing you to package water ...