You are here: HomeNews2016 01 21Article 409420

Endure killer taxes, no alternatives – Mahama

Read Comments Comments (104)

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

November is not far away; we'll endure it until we kick you out.

• VR 8 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE FUNNY FOLGES ; THE WANT EVERYNTHING BUT DO NOT WANT TO PAY

• OPIO 8 years ago

ghanaians are lazy

• DAUDA 8 years ago

REALLY IT IS TIME THE PRESIDENT CRACK THE WEEP

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the nex ...

• EDI 8 years ago

YOU GHANA PEOPLE ALL STUPID YOU ALL GOING TO RE-ELECT THIS DUMMEY DISPITE THE FACT THAT HE TELL YOU PUBLICLY ENDURE HIS KILLER TAXES

• daladam 8 years ago

SO GO OUT THERE AND RE-ELECT THIS FOOL SO HE CAN RAISE MORE TAXES AND FEES AND VAT ON YOU THAT IS WHAT YOU GHANA FOLKS WANT IS IN NOT?

• edi 8 years ago

WE HAD IT WITH YOUR TAXES AND YOUR DUMSOR AND VAT HIKE AND TAX HIKES AND COST OF EVERTHING FROM WATER TO ELECTRIC AND EVERYTHING GOING ELSE THAT IS GOING UP.STOP DESTROYING GHANA AND COMMIT TREASON AGAINST US
    LEAVE OFFICE ...

• sam 8 years ago

GHANA CANNOT AFFORD MAHAMA STUPIDTY AND ON THE JOB TRANING MAHAMA TIME IS UP HE HAS TO STEP DOWN WE HAD IT WITH HIM IN GHANA

• SAY IT LOUD 8 years ago

AS HE IS TALKING THEN HIS LOOTINGS TOO SHOULD COME TO AN END.YOU CAN'T STEAL THE MONEY AND ASK PEOPLE TO REPLACE WHAT YOU HAVE STOLEN.NANIAMA,STOP THE NTAFOUR WAY OF SUPPORTING BLINDLY.YOU THINK PRESIDENCY IS LIKE ZONGO CHIEF ...

Author:-Mahmoud....
    In any civilized democratic country the Minister of Interior and the Police Chief would have left office long ago because; they failed miserably in the discharge of their duties to mother Ghana and its pe ...

• Aluta Continua! 8 years ago

The V8 owners are ministers and politicians that don't pay for the petrol they use.
    Bring back the monies stashed outside.

• WILD FIRE 8 years ago

SAY WHAT YOU LIKE, AT THE END OF YOUR TENURE, YOU WILL KNOW WHAT THE PEOPLE TOO WANT. BUT PLEASE LET US ENSURE A FAIR PLAY IN THE ELECTIONS. SHOW TO THE WHOLE WORLD THAT TRUE AND GOOD ASSEMBLY OF GOD MEMBERS DO NOT RIG ELECTI ...

• DAUDA 8 years ago

YOU EITHER PAY OR QUIT

Author:-OFOSUAA....
    HIGHEST TAXES, HIGHEST LOANS, HIGHEST REVENUES, INFLUX OF CRUDE OIL MONIES YET NDC HAS MANAGED TO DESTROY GHANA .....JESUS CHRIST THIS IS THE MOST USELESS GOVT EVER IN AFRICA AND THE WHOLE WORLD

• KKK 8 years ago

really he is taking as a president

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

HE SHOULD STOP DISGRACING THE PRESIDENCY OR HE THINKS IT IS LIKE ZONGO PALACE WHERE THE CHIEF WILL SAY ANYTHING AND HIS SUBJECTS WILL SAY YEEWA.

• MR OBJECTIVE 8 years ago

THE KILLER-TAXES WILL RATHER KILL YOU,mr president.

• me 8 years ago

if u want us to pay more taxes and more more utility bills then u have got to pay us more money and we give them back through tax

I don't blame their complaints. Corruption has drained the coffers and now no money. That is Africa for you. If you tackle the real problems there would be less taxes. This govt has chosen the easy way.

Author:-SAMY.....
    Let Ghanaians teach John Mahama and his notorious NDC a lesson. John Mahama can not take Ghanaians for any unwanted ride. What was this stupid John Mahama thinking when he and his corrupt NDC decided to acc ...

• Nana Amoateng 8 years ago

Stop announcing your ignorance.
    Do you know that this government has more revenue that all past governments combined.
    Over 200 billion ghana cedis. less than 15 billion has gone into infrastructure. This government takes ...

• OPIO 8 years ago

MAHAMA DO NOT DECENT FOR THEM

• jOHNS UK 8 years ago

LAZY GHANAIANS ; WANT EVERYTHING FREE FROM THE GOVT

• KKK 8 years ago

it pains to be reading such things from people who want to live in Heaven but do not want to work for it

Author:-Close Observer.....
    26 Years of useless rule. The NDC has no solution to the problems they have caused. Anytime they come to power, they send us back many years.
    VOTE THE CLUELESS, NO VISION, IDEAS STARVED AND PROMI ...

• sid 8 years ago

Yes wayome gyeeda Sada other judgement debts given out freeeeeeeeeeee

• KayD 8 years ago

Mahama is sick,sick,sick and sick in the head.

• Brimah seidu USA 8 years ago

Hopeless.

• jOHNS UK 8 years ago

KUFOUR TOLD US SO

• read i 2 dye 8 years ago

for ghanaians not KILLERS...saying all this shit cuz he pays NO TAX....nov 7....reshuffle this he-goat...100

• VR 8 years ago

IF OYU WANT DEVELOPEMENT AT ALL COST ENDURE IT

• TD 8 years ago

Ok! Time will tell

• Me 8 years ago

What does the government do with monies from export and what are the policies of the government about the natural resources? Mind you, no 3rd world country can develop with taxes but natural resources and humans.

• Afia Sika,Gomoa Nkran 8 years ago

Mr.President, where are the monies collected at the many toll pay points on our roads ? If we manage our scanty resources wisely, Ghanaians would be prepared to pay taxes? Why is only thirty percent of the population paying t ...

• AK 8 years ago

Please give us a break do you know the price of petrol in U S A $1:54 which is abut 5:00 Ghana cedis why should Ghanains pay 3X of that when average Ghanian earn 6x less than average average American, is not how much you earn ...

• Tetteh Sai 8 years ago

The useless dead goat president has lost ideas to rule.If this is his better Ghana agenda,then........?

• Yaw 8 years ago

Government officials should show us how much fuel they buy in the V8 they drive to even unofficial duties. How much utility bills they pay in the offices they sit to work. How much utilities they pay in their various homes. M ...

• pages 8 years ago

a big fool elected as a president,
    ignorant Ghanaians siding wyt him...
    WTF

• Zargon 8 years ago

So in a country where 30% pays tax!!! What a shame and yet you blame govt when they go off and borrow. People deliberately dodge taxes especially hotels, catering etc. Yet they are the once who make the most noise- I support ...

• Yawa 8 years ago

Create, loot, and bribe voters

• VVIP 8 years ago

YOUR PARENTS AND FAMILIES ARE EVEN GOING TO VOTE AGAINST YOU, BIG THIEF, BIG FOOL.

• paps 8 years ago

The country is already on the ground corruption corruption corruption not high taxes stop the corruption

• Akpene 8 years ago

That's right. Come to Denmark and you will understand better.No mercy for the cripple for paying tax.For a country to move on you need to pay your tax.

• Ibrahim 8 years ago

Would u seat at home without working and be paying tax? How many ghanaians work in the govt sector? Think......

• Yakubu Tema 8 years ago

You are a fool, how can u compare Denmark to Ghana, think before u type.

• Biney, Elmina 8 years ago

This is Blay's contribution to NPP. Reporting half truths and outright lies.

• Akpene 8 years ago

You,ll understand better when you visit Denmark. No mercy for the cripple for tax.

• Ibrahim 8 years ago

Massa stop worrying as with Danmark, are we in Danmark, when did u even travel to Danmark, people are going through hardship, u are seatin somewhere tlking abt Danmark... Ayigbe woman that travel... She want everybody to know ...

• worried man 8 years ago

Without no respect for his own people. Instead talking diplomatically with words that can cool people mind rather he is using his arrogantly words to burst people mind and head

• Fiifi 8 years ago

Yes, Mr Prez you're right in saying we need to raise money from the people through taxation. That's t income side of the equation a one thing that is said in finance or accounting is you can't control income. What you can con ...

• Fiifi 8 years ago

Pardon my typos

• Jaguar 8 years ago

No wonder you are a dead goat.Wabon papa Mahama.You dont have any alternative apart from killer taxes,keep on killing.Nonsense.

• Anokware ke ke 8 years ago

To Mahama and his Cronnies, they canT DO without killer Taxes since they CANNOT manage our Numerous RESOURCES because of STEALING & LOOTING.They pretend as if things are sooo bad in the world market BUT In reality keep Borrow ...

• Adjetey 8 years ago

Daily Trash is being the usual calculating disingenuous tabloid it is. Did they not already report on this earlier? Why make this reportage look as if that is the response of the President after the demo? Tell the truth about ...

• agyeman 8 years ago

What is Mahama talking about. He is the alternative to the taxes he has wickedly imposed on Ghanaians after wasting our taxes on the 2012 elections. He will never be forgiven. He note that the people's anger is rising and he ...

• Kwaku Jimmy 8 years ago

Let him make his decision as a right n takes our decision as a previlage. We will vote u out when our decision become a right.

• Better Ghana no matter what 8 years ago

Don't worry useless and clueless Prez, ur time is soon over and then you go down in the history of Ghana as the most stupid, most corrupted and most clueless Prezi of the 4th Republic. At least you have achieved that. All wha ...

• Bobby, Denmark 8 years ago

The most stupid president ever, is the alternative to the killer taxes.

• seidu mumuni 8 years ago

so, our president is intentionally punishing us? de money he used to pay Akua donkor's ticket to Italy, can't he use such monies to build roads? how many times has he taken trotro himself. so under his regime our living condi ...

• Williams 8 years ago

The prudent use of the money is the burning issue cos u can't tax the poor kayaye to brand buses, and share them to ur cronies.

• Kwamea 8 years ago

Mr president you do not know anything please pack your belongings and leave the flagstaff house which is meant for critical thinkers not people like you

• Ametsitsi 8 years ago

Mr. Prez,among other things, we elected you to make judicious use of the country's resources. But you have rather recklessly mismanaged our resource: Gyeeda Woyome, Isofoton , Waterville, Sada, buses branding, etc. and now we ...

• nsem pii 8 years ago

So how can people pay taxes without jobs?.Mr President.

• tetteh-tsu TEMA 8 years ago

Mahama is a curse so whatever he does with this country let us accept it and move on. There is no Money and u have enough to brand cars with ur pictures, come on, what do u take Ghanaians for. U are taxing us so as to get eno ...

• george 8 years ago

suffer today and enjoy tomorrow

IF WE SUFFER TODAY AND DIE TOMORROW THEN WHERE IS THE ENJOYMENT.COWARDS STAND ON YOUR FEET AND FIGHT FOR YOUR RIGHT.DON'T LISTEN TO THIS DECEIVER AND PRETENDER WHOSE STOMACH IS BECOMING BIG SINCE HE BECAME PRESIDENT DUE TO HI ...

• Kwampong, Tema 8 years ago

Who caused the present economic predicament? Mr. President, you have presided over corruption, thievery, and incompetence over the years and sunk the economy of this nation. you then turn round to tell us the decision of impo ...

• Owuahen Acheampongo 8 years ago

Mahama,you and your economic team have failed,you were warned but you will not listen,bad attitude as a President.You now want to tax Ghanaians to death,God will surely hammer you.

• adanko 8 years ago

EVEN THE LITTLE TAX WE PAY IS NOT WELL ACCOUNTED FOR THAT IS WHY PEOPLE WHO HAVE DO NOT WANT TO PAY MORE> YOU AND YOUR NDC PEOPLE ARE CHOPPING MORNEY ROUGH ROUGH TOO MUCH! WE NEED A CHANGE. POOR MANAGEMENT IS THE CAUSE OF ...

• Gilly 8 years ago

Funny, who are those driving the V8's? They are the very people who don't buy fuel.. Haaaaaahaaaa

• K. OWUSU, ATL 8 years ago

It is fair to ask IF MAHAMA PAYS INCOME TAX?? How much SALARY DOES President MAHAMA EARN a YEAR?? The problem is not the DUMB POLITICIANS but THE DUMB CITIZENS WHO VOTE THEM TO RULE!!!!!!!(as someone once said)

• Georgee 8 years ago

Then it is like the legendary lizard going to chew pepper and the frog suffering for it. After the looting Ghanaians are to suffer for it. Why?

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

Vote Mahama OUT from Office like the DEVIL runs from the Church Alter.If this Destruction of Ghana,Damage and Decay was Caused by some terror Group, Ghana will be at war by Now,Instead Mahama has caused this unspeakable bott ...

• Danny 8 years ago

I don't have any problem about taxes,,,but my question is,,, what are they doing to justify the taxes being taken,,...

• Opoku Richard 8 years ago

So the road toll that the government are receiving it,why dont He use that money to pay contractors
    And Also the trotro drivers,are they not using fuel.Awwww African my poor continent with visionless leaders

• tk 8 years ago

It is a good idea for those using v8 to pay more, but put firm measures in place and make trotro and buses pay tax free fuel.if you do that it will not affect the masses

• ato kwamina U.S 8 years ago

I once remember in your campaign in the western region before Ghanaians voted for you and Atta Mills,you promised to resolve these problems but now you implementing them,killer taxes have been killing Ghanaians for far too lo ...

• Edem 8 years ago

Clearly this guy is wicked and insensitive.His day of shame is around the corner.What a wicked character yet in 2008 you questioned the kufour administration on similar charges .God must speak in 2016

• Salifu 8 years ago

stupid man ...ur tym will by all means come ...Nov is just 10 .months away from now

• Kwaku Mensah, Sibinso, Ghana 8 years ago

This dummy President has no idea about Economics. You are OUT come this November. You will see your exit out of the Jubilee House put up by sensible government.

• adako 8 years ago

Mr President what is the sense of buying V8 trucks with government money if want to punish individuas who owe V8 trucks?

• sid 8 years ago

What happened to the loans meant for roads n other development?*

• save ghana 8 years ago

lazy mind like mahama. even an SRC president can run Ghana with such lame ideas. you r bankrupt in mind. however, you have skilled urself in stealing.

• ekow asiedu 8 years ago

Mr. President If 70% of the people are not paying taxes what are you doing about it ?
    I do not believe you are really up to the job !!

• Frederick Kofi Tawiah 8 years ago

you the the president, John Mahama, joker.you and your NDC government loot the nation and you put levy on us. shame

• NIIBI 8 years ago

"And so the only way you can raise money really is through the tax system and the only way you can do that is through indirect taxes."
    Who taught the president ECONOMICS FROM o'LEVEL TO UNIVERSITY? and if no one did who is h ...

• BRIMAH ISIFU ,USA. 8 years ago

Disappointed.

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Mr President,you don't understand the Concerns of Labour.May I pls explain.Labour and the good people of Ghana Says, there are "alternatives".(1)If Reckless Abrogation of Contracts
    awarded by a predecessor which gov't end up ...

• Ali Mahama 8 years ago

Wabodam Papa. We should pay these Killer Taxes for u to buy Mahama Camboos and other Goodies to distribute to your foot soldiers to entrench your self in power. Sorry we are Clever than u Yentua.

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

Ghanaweb is so incompetent and biased, they have repackaged old news to make the president look insensitive. Rubbish

• Last warrior 8 years ago

Thank you my brother for your comment for the few who have made up their mind they will help these greedy leaders to deceive GHANAIANS whiles they enrich themselves for our children to suffer.one lov

• Whatever 8 years ago

As for daily Guide and and the NPP crooks it works on behalf of, they can never say exactly what the president says except to misrepresent and distort what he says in a negative way. Daily liars

• CHANGE IS COMING 8 years ago

Mahamah, we shall see on 7th Nov 2016. Dont rig the elections, beware.

• Shameless People 8 years ago

Bullsh**

• foy 8 years ago

Nonsense

• Korsi J. Gbodjor 8 years ago

Ghanaians want good roads, street lights, good sewer systems, free education, good sanitation, parks and recreation centers, good transit system BUT do not want to pay taxes. Where is the money going to come from? Honestly, h ...

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

How do you plan on tackling government fraud and abuse? We could save billions of cedis if your government had been managing it well and prosecuting people. You don't create job by heavily taxing people. Too much tax is a job ...

• OKESSE 8 years ago

Yes Mahama needs more money from the poor to steal the election.

• ghanaian 8 years ago

Read the book of Daniel and you will know how God described the raiser of taxes for his people, and you will know.

• ghanaian 8 years ago

Daniel 11:20 read it and you will know what God did to the government that raises taxes for his people.

• Tampulma man 8 years ago

government can tax people if only workers salaries are increase.

• koo 8 years ago

mahama wo yere ne wo maame tw3 kankan