You are here: HomeNews2016 01 17Article 408317

‘Ghana should be hailed for hosting ex-detainees’

Read Comments Comments (84)

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Ghana belongs to the Akans and Africa to the Africans,not Arabs ,Lebanese , Islam or any other occupational retrogressive ,corrupt forces.For those in doubt see events around the bond of 1844 and agreements of 1871 which were ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

If Osagyefo accepted them, he will have conditioned it on something big and beneficial for Ghana, like ending dumsor immediately. Nkrumah was too intelligent to be compared to Mahama and evil Hannah Tetteh.

• KERKERLI 8 years ago

WHY HAS YEMEN REFUSED TO ACCEPT THEIR OWN NATIONALS IF THEY ARE OF LOW RISK AS MAHAMA WANTS US TO BELIEVE. THIS GUY IS SO STUPID AND WANTS TO BRING RELIGION INTO THIS SECURITY MATTER.

• ed 8 years ago

PEOPLE LIKE HIM AND MAHAMA ARE THE TRADERS THAT LIVE IN GHANA MR SANA LOYALTY IS TI GITMO CONVICTS AND NOT GHANA WE CAN SEE IT BY THE WAY HE BEAHVE

• MENSA 8 years ago

Mustafa sanah ,mahama ,Hanna tetth and Ghana imam are supporters of the radical Muslim terrorist and therefore they must be arrested immd and drag into court to explain their treason against Ghana people

• edi 8 years ago

they clearly have hidden agenda to stand with terrorists against us cant you see this Muslim Mustafa
    behaver and talk? this muslim man cant be trusted he is
    double talking here

• Wells 8 years ago

God Help Us. This President have wholeheartedly invited these people to hit Ghana. It is not a matter of when but rather how. I hope the security authorities will not only focus on the two but all Hotels sports stadiums, mall ...

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

I guess you are not abreast with world events, there is war in Yemen. I think you are the one invoking religion .

• Alhaji Suleimana 8 years ago

How many citizens of Yemen have you seen in abroad seeking asylum? Is there no one to receive them? Where are their parents living that they will travel from to visit them, that they them selves can not live with them there? ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Ghanaians who supported Mahama will one day live to regret about the terrorists in our midst. Let people read about their recent activities in Syria and Iraq. Only two terrorists formed a cell in Sudan where Bin Laden had a h ...

Author:-John Salifu....
    No one in right frame of mind will support this NDC folks who lack basic intelligence. They cannot think. They just lack this ability or is it that their IQ is that low?
    It simply doesn't make sense ...

• KERKERLI 8 years ago

MAHAMA SHOULD EITHER SEND THEM TO BOLE OR LIVE WITH THEM IN CANTONMENTS SO WE KNOW THEY ARE NOT ANY SERIOUS THREAT TO THE NATION.

• Stoway 8 years ago

You see Nana as Attorney General sign the pact that allows detainee transfer and by that US called on Ghana to accept the two who selected Ghana as their choice.
    Now if Ghana rejects them, then the signal we are sending out ...

• Analyst 8 years ago

Try to reason well my brother. The terrorists you are referring to in Syria, Iraq, Sudan, Nigeria etc, I don't think that you are saying they were ex-detainees of the US from Guantanamo bay. Nobody can dispute the danger terr ...

Author:-THE PATRIOT....
    NDC members should admit to themselves (privately) that Nana is absolutely spot-on. We all know that Lordina has the last say on contracts and appointments. I hate to see Nana make such a valid point. ...

• Mobert Rogabe 8 years ago

..hosting them therefore is an act of compassion... that act of compassion should be in the US and NOT in Ghana. Now analyse that!!!

• Maka a maka 8 years ago

Ok. So those two guys were wrongfully detained and therefore the wrongfulness should be reversed. The question is whose responsibility to correct the wrongful detention? Is it not the one who detained them? Can somebody pleas ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

DID U ASK YOURSELF WHY?....

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

He calls two terrorist gentelmen! These two are 100% terrorist, who have admitted being trained as Al Queda's terrorist, what else? It is ridiculous trying to potrail them as islamic missionaries, or repented . In a world of ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

WHY DON'T AMERICA KEEP THEM IF THEY ARE NOT TREAT TO THEIR SECURITY.

• Queenie 8 years ago

Why am i not surprised that this man will applaud accommodating these two people?

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

Distinguished writer has said a lot but said nothing which can help solve the problem. If USA cannot vouch for their criminals WHY should Ghana hosts the 2 men in the first place! They must go back home

• VVIP 8 years ago

THE GOOD PEOPLE AND THOSE WHO LOVE THIS NATON WILL CRITICISE, FOR YOU AS A BIG FOOL WILL SUPPORT MAHAMA FOOLISH IDEAS BECAUSE YOU ARE A THIEF LIKE HIM.

• Ab 8 years ago

most people perpetrating evil against the country go by names like ativor, issah, Ibrahim, atimbila, ametepe, anyidoho n the likes. NDC always capitalise on weak n narrow-minded people like northerners, ewes, illiterates,vill ...

• Susubiribi 8 years ago

You are a fool you speak from your stomach, take them to your house so that the whole world will hail you, mutherfucker, you are an ass sucker, go and suck Mahama's ass. Ghana won't bow down for no nation, we are sovereign co ...

• juliet Addo 8 years ago

I wish the 2 men are sent back so that the American government deport all ghanaians without proper documentation to Ghana,I believe America can do this easily.

• Nana Ajena 8 years ago

This juliet Addo never make sense.

• Stoway 8 years ago

Juliet Addo is spot on. Let Ghana reject the two and see the foreign policy implication with America.
    All those who lied for Asylum in the US and are Ghanaians would have their files revisited and returned to Ghana. If the ...

• COME AGAIN 8 years ago

The news this morning is that 28 people are dead following an ISIS/Al Qaida terrorist attack on a hotel in Burkina Faso. Digest that and determine yourself whether we deserve praise for being foolish.

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

Why should Ghana show generousity to America. Ghana does not owe USA. We want John Mahama to have 2 terms in office but I afraid this scandal will minimize his success in the forthcoming élections. The 2 men must be returned ...

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

The Bible says that the love of money is the root of all evil. President John Mahama has become an evil man because of his love for money. He can even sell the flagstaff House for his personal pocket.

they could just leave Ghana and move to the middle-east... they'll surely feel at home there. Ghana shouldn't be their base..

• yann 8 years ago

In Ghana now our days it seems the so called educated folks are the most stupid ones

...aint that a bitch!

• MRS. REBECCA AKUFO-ADDO 8 years ago

Some fellow Ghanaian are refusing to reason . We should not condemn the hosting of fellow human beings on our land. Let's reason with them as human beings and imbibe our positive cultural traits in these brother. let's call o ...

• Efo Nii Ghanaba 8 years ago

What a stupid dumb statement!!! God have mercy on Ghana if these are who we have as leaders!

• Don Cross. 8 years ago

Man, listing we will be Proud with your Ass and is better for u to tell that careless President of Ghana to return them to State's and if US can not protect them how can we Ghanaians Lol.

• TEE 8 years ago

MAHAMA IN TOWN PERIOD. LISTEN TO PEOPLE LIKE YOU MAKE ME SICK, I AM SURE YOU MIGHT BE A EWE OR NORTHERNER

• Cool 8 years ago

YOU ARE SUCH A RUDE IDIOT-. SHUT THE FUCK UP

• Cool 8 years ago

THEY HUFF ANF PUFF YET AFRAID OF TWO TRAUMATIZED PERSONS. COWARDS

• Omnbapa 8 years ago

My brother you have spoken well and very intelligent guy, with compassion.

Ghanaian are hypocrites and brainstormed by few dangerous political opponents to believe that the president is insincere to ghanaian.

Many Ghana ...

• Nana Ajena 8 years ago

Kwasia man u called a terrorist gentleman. Oh some elders

• OPERATOR KO 8 years ago

Interesting points...so if there was no trial or conviction, the two are essentially free men being held against their will.
    Why not send them back to Yemen? Why must they be globe trotting every two years? Why has the world ...

• Okonkobaba 8 years ago

Mr Mustapha has said i t all. The two former detainees are now free because they are not who they are not and so let's give them peace and love.Every human being deserves a chance. You all should read the scriptures again and ...

• slimmart1 8 years ago

If by your reasoning these men are 'free' because they weren't found of any crime in the US, then why are they being held in detention here in Ghana? Why were they ever brought to Ghana in the first place and not sent to thei ...

Ok. So those two guys were wrongfully detained and therefore the wrongfulness should be reversed. The question is whose responsibility is it to correct the wrongful detention? Is it not the one who detained them in the first ...

• k man 8 years ago

Brilliant comment!

• Takinta power 8 years ago

These two gentlemen have the right to stay here in Ghana if they will. Please dear Ghanaian don't disturb President Mahama and his government. its part of life. This really proof that Ghana is most peaceful n God fearly coun ...

• slimmart1 8 years ago

THE BIBLE ALSO SAYS "MY PEOPLE PERISH FOR LACK OF WISDOM". RIGHTLY SO, IF WE HAVE PEOPLE LIKE YOU TRYING HARD TO 'THINK'. OBVIOUSLY YOU AREN'T TRYING HARD ENOUGH.

But with one stroke of a pen Mahama has destroyed that peace. Because many Ghanaians now live in fear for their lives and the lives of their kids and those of their kiths and kins.

Ghanaians appear to be loving their neigh ...

• Last warrior 8 years ago

YOU hail them as you are in power,GHANAIANS ARE NOT FOOLS,even in the UK you loose your citizenship and not b allowed to enter if you are found fighting for any terror group

• M.OSMAN 8 years ago

Thank you for this wonderful piece.We need more objective minded people like you and not "the munafiquuns" like Mustapha Hamid who pretend to be muslims only when they are among the muslims.

You blockhead', this is not about Islam or Christianity. Neither is it about NDC or NPP. It is about security in the country which, even without the two fellows, is stretched enough. With the two internationally unwanted fell ...

• Jacke Jones, VA 8 years ago

Is US embassy in Accra willing to give Ghanaians who are suffering from the hardships and corruption under this useless Ayigbe-Ntafo NDC visas to US because of compassion?

• elhaj 8 years ago

foolish animal jacke jones
    is va your stupid country

• peter 8 years ago

Did u hear what happened in Burkina Faso? With these guys here do u think we are far from that? Wise up!!

• Mensah 8 years ago

were they captured on the battlefield or were they taken from their living rooms, kwasea like you

• Cantin 8 years ago

To say that accepting these two guys is a courageous decision is laughable probably because you are also a Muslim otherwise the decision by the Government to accept them is nothing than foolhardiness. See what has happened i ...

• Adelaide 8 years ago

This guy should be picked immediately since this his post is inciting war. What does he think by saying this two gitmo detainees should be killed by the security forces as they bribed to do this. We are a country with differe ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

If Jerry Rawlings chased indigenous Ghanaians out of the country looking for freedom, that does not mean we should admit terrorists into the country in return. If the countries that detained them feel the two are peaceful peo ...

• Margaret 8 years ago

Why didn't America reason with and accommodate them on humanitarian grounds. You think for yourself. These are not just ordinary citizens. If America has cleared them then America should keep them. Why should Ghana take t ...

• elhaj 8 years ago

these two gentle men need our help to start new life in ghana
    please stop the noise and come together to help them.
    ghanaians are everywhere in the world looking for money even in yemin.
    treat them like one of us please an ...

Those Ghanaians across the world were not picked up from battlefields !!! That is the difference.

• Whatever 8 years ago

Lying, cruel NPP needs to be ashamed of themselves

• Whatever 8 years ago

It is only backward, self centered, inward looking greedy party like the NPP who would be against good gestures

• Zip UP 8 years ago

Is Ghana Now Termed As A Jail For International Aggravated Criminals ( Terrorist ) Or What? Some Body Should Tell Us Where Lies The Sense Of Humour In This Scenario, Otherwise It Is Just Another Dumping Place As Usual, At A ...

• wanane 8 years ago

you are simply stupid

• Indigenous 8 years ago

Please can you kindly read and contribute in a form of debate or opinion or comments instead of insulting fellow citizens who are trying to show compassionate Love to their country (Ghana ) by channelling their opinions and c ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

Mahama must go to where his investment is.

• sam de sam 8 years ago

I think ghanaians are becoming too touchy n too politiking.God could bless ghana bcos of these detainees,n we are just making noise over it every where.

• Atoapoma Abransamadu 8 years ago

Another crazy man!

• ABDALLA AL-TOURE 8 years ago

i don,t think it was good idea for Ghana to accept them.

• geri 8 years ago

This is wisdom. Listen petty politicians!

• Adama d'Gharty 8 years ago

All the ex-Taliban terrorist sympathisers living in Ghana want to see is to open our borders to recent international terrorism as initiated by our President Mr J D Mahama and his lacklustre interior ministry. Any of the West ...

• Margaret 8 years ago

These people were not picked up in the football field. They were picked up in the battle field so why do you have compassion for. These people are ruthless and don't have compassion on the people they attack. You will have ...

• Seidu yoggu 8 years ago

This is a very good idea, infact the word, ghana. Is a very big n must respect it.

• ZoRRo 8 years ago

Yes, hail the stupid country that accepted two known terrorists, who would not normally get visas to visit the country !

• Kwasi Boateng 8 years ago

On what terms and conditions were they allowed into our country. It is grossly a shallow thought to suggest someone be hailed for making such dangerous decision.

• Theo 8 years ago

Shut up you idiot! Only Mustafa and Mahama think so, because the two of you are sympathizers of extremists and terrorists. Mahama, and his cohorts who made the decision to resettle those two terrorists in Ghana are useless, h ...

• TOWER 8 years ago

YOU CAN ONLY WRITE THIS NONSENSE IF YOU ARE A DIE-HARD AND STUPID MUSLIM DEVOID OF ALL SENSES AND SENSITIVITY NEEDED BY THE HUMAN BEING.

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

Ghanaians seem to be naturally fools when it comes to facing facts over many matters of politics both national and international just like the present issue of the GITMO guys in Ghana now, which had been thrown into foolish p ...

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 8 years ago

What terrorists are Ghanaians referring to? Shame unto those whipping those stupid sentiment.Is Ghana a true Christian country when one listened to the statements the so - called Christian council and and Catholic Bishop con ...

• George 8 years ago

Well said papa, we should know that we are not living in isolation.

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

If they were wrongfully detained America should compensate them financially and give them somewhere to live in the US ... they won't be a threat to them ...