You are here: HomeNews2016 01 09Article 406470

‘Accepting ex-Gitmo convicts reckless, unpatriotic’

Read Comments Comments (121)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

I AM APPEALING TO THE PEACE COUNCIL , CHRISTIAN COUNCIL, MUSLIM COUNCIL AND THE SO CALLED COUNCIL OF STATE TO CONSIDER THIS SIMPLE SCENARIO AND MAKE A JUDGEMENT!! --- IMAGINE WE ARE IN A 100 METRE RACE CONTEST AND WE HAVE FOU ...

• MR USA. 8 years ago

MAHAMA IS USELESS AND UNTHINKABLE HUMAN BEING.HOW COULD A PRESIDENT DOES THAT WITHOUT THE CONFIRMATION OF PARLIAMENT.

• Joseph 8 years ago

Mark my word. These two will begin training Ghanaians muslims in terrorism endeavor.

• sam 8 years ago

MAHAM HAD NO AUTHORITY OR JUDICIAL POWERS TO ALLOW THIS CONVICTED TERRORISTS TO ENTER GHANA MAHAMA AND HIS FAT MINISTER HANNA TETTH MUST BOTH BE DRAG TO COURT TO EXPLAIN THEIR TREASON AGAINST GHANA PEOPLE

• mensa 8 years ago

we cannot allow such dummy and naive leader to get away with such stupidity

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33)....
    I AM APPEALING TO THE PEACE COUNCIL , CHRISTIAN COUNCIL, MUSLIM COUNCIL AND THE SO CALLED COUNCIL OF STATE TO CONSIDER THIS SIMPLE SCENARIO AND MAKE A JUDGEMENT!! --- IMAGINE WE ARE ...

• ATM 8 years ago

If that's what you think, then they're welcomed. I'm a Moslem but I don't support them to stay in Ghana for many reasons. Every refugee from war torn countries are welcome to Ghana but not people from Guantanamo bay. This is ...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

USA paid Ghana 200 million.

Who took the money? and what is NDC doing with the money?

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-ADANKO....MAHAMA's PICTURE ON THE BUSES.....
    Don't go far to punish an innocent person. Mahama is the brain behind it.Asiedu Nketia brought the idea and supported byNDC national council. It is a way to get money for ...

• GHANA 8 years ago

Do not bring Moslem refugees to Ghana. Look how they are destroying Europe. Rapes of girls every day.

• AMEN 8 years ago

so what is Ghana doing in Mali?

• Warrior King 8 years ago

Just send then to Saudi Arabia Immediately. They will know what to do with them. Do we still keep $2mil if they die of malaria?

• The wise man of Ghana 8 years ago

THAT IS HOW THAT GOAT MAHAMA PAY GHANIAN'S, HE THE MOST STUPID ANIMAL I NEVER SEEN, EIISH MAY MAHAMA DIE SOON... IF YOU ARE READING THIS SAY AMEN.

• yaw 8 years ago

We thank God so much that mahama got a camp for them in volta region

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

Oh God help us!! If the story is true the Voltarians should not vote for John Mahama for he is supporting terrorits activities. Voltarians are very powerful and for that reason Mahama cannot kill them. The ex-Gifmo convicts s ...

• ADWOA LONDON 8 years ago

Whether Mahama was paid or not for accepting these xguatano convicts or not the actions of Ghnaian government shows clearly that they put money and their own interest first before the nation. How on Earth can Ghana accept the ...

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

LOOK JUST SHUT THE FUCK UP BECAUSE YOU DON'T HAVE ANY EVIDENCE. ALL LAIRS LAIRS LAIRS ALL OVER AGAIN YOU SATANIC GANG OF ACID BOMB KILLERS KILLING NORTHENERS GHANA BELONGS TO ALL OF US. JUST SHUT THE FUCK UP AGAIN NPP GAN ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

You are so stupid that you don't even know what danger is. Well, let those sensible people who value their lives voice out and you shut-up, because we don't want to hear from a fool like you.

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Forgive my comments I am plain and stupid and an Idiot

• ken 8 years ago

yo this isn't about politics so please be .....

• NOTHERN GHANA 8 years ago

8 reasons why we shd vote NDC out.
    1. Scandals and corruption
    2. Unstable currency
    3. Unstable power supplies –
    undermining both industrial and domestic venture
    4. Many industrial action and
    demonstrations due to econ ...

• Kojo 8 years ago

You forgot to add
    9. Importation of terrorists

• Ena eda ho no 8 years ago

All that Mahama knows is if they raise objection, give it some time it will die out. In Twi, "ehuru a ebedwo" and it is true with Ghanaians allow them some time to brag about a case, soon it dies out. Mahama and Hannah Teteh ...

• truth 8 years ago

destroy their national security & smart ass politicians allow this. By the way my 86 years old mom is alive let not these so call.....

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

John Mahama has become a threat to the national interest of Ghana.

There is no prudence in Mahama's decision-making capability.

• sam 8 years ago

FOR TREASON AGAINST GHANA

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

Kotoka and Afrifah sold Ghana to the CIA and now we have Mahama treating us like trash.

Mahama is disappointing.

• Eddie 8 years ago

Mahama is wrong and is not too late to take a wise decision to return them to America.We can not even feed our own people and we are taking in more expensive convicts

• Apuu 8 years ago

you are right but this mahama administration lack wisdom to rule and they dont think of ordinally ghanaians but their selfished intrest on their can loot and shere.wicked mahama

• man for all season 8 years ago

Ghana we now in trouble which is much serious than power crisis Osama bin Laden's brother in Ghana.

• Mensah 8 years ago

and his actions has proven his stupidity over and over again; who in his right mind will make this decision unless they are so greedy for money

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Our Nana Addo ugly Who art in Ghana Loser be your name Thy defeat come again Your free education be done by NDC As it is in your promise Give us this day our all die be die plan And forgive us our supreme court verdict As we ...

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Excuse my comments. I AM AN IDIOT and STUPID

• Kwaku Yeboah , Accra 8 years ago

Kwasea bi ba Wo maame (ur mom) TW3
    U will be crushed in a deadly accident and DIE .
    Aboa !

• NDC 8 years ago

KOFI
    Are you coming from Achimota forest,please submit yourself to the police.How many times do you want me to advise u about your drugs taken.Don't come to my house again

• Kojo 8 years ago

What at all does mahama want ??? He had my vote in 2012 but not in 2015. He is just not good enough to b prez of this country .. I won't vote for u john

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

Fooool

• Appiah nkoranza 8 years ago

One wonders what at all is wrong with this government. Common sense should tell them that the peace we enjoy in Ghana even with our economic hardship far outweighs the monetary gains they're looking forward to get. God will p ...

• KKK.US 8 years ago

Was this decision brought first to parliament for discussion? What was the place of the opposition and its leader? Ghanaians are weak in thinking and we have a lot in parliament today.

No wonder Ghana cannot go forward. Ev ...

• Tuff 8 years ago

The government did not tell the opposition about it. The did it behind the opposition and without the knowledge of the opposition.

• u can kiss JM ass ok??? 8 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

• daladam 8 years ago

TO LIVE WITH MAHAMA TRIBE ND HIS FAMILY STUPID MAN MAHAMA

• kutsii 8 years ago

Go way u there, Egbert. It is reckless like the manner in which u drink alcohol and chew red meat. Look at u r tired face like a 70 year old man. Stop the alcohol which makes u hallucinate. Nonsense

• Muller 8 years ago

Go on licking mahama s ass for petty squables. Ur time is near. Pray that ur stupid przident succeeds in rigging this election or I can assure u that u n ur kind will become refugees in ur own land.

• Miss Etweba 8 years ago

I thought npp believes in terrorism as their posture has shown in their deliberations.
    They've been threatening the EC and the government all along so why are they scared of just two men.
    They ain't see nothing yet. ...

• ATM 8 years ago

Good on you

• Miss Etweba 8 years ago

I realised how senseless my comments are. Forgive me. Ghana is important than NDC n NPP.

• Prof. Issifu, USA 8 years ago

Now European and American students who used to do study abroad in Ghana are shunning Ghana. My own students who enrolled in my 2016 summer abroad course to Ghana have started withdrawing from the course upon hearing the news ...

• apuuu 8 years ago

NO OFFENSE ACCEPTING EX GITMO CONVICT IS GREEDY CORRUPTION AND INCOMPETENCE` apuuu

• Kk 8 years ago

So,Incompetent is the only English word u guys know? Some of u re so stupid fools.

• cudjoe 8 years ago

The word incompetent is being used soo many times and u r getting bored. That's how many are vexed with ur incompetent or if u like senseless or better still useless..

• Whatever 8 years ago

Ghana traditionally has been a home for those who are seeking refuge from wars and conflict. The Yemeni who is this country has no history of criminal record so how can he be an ex convict. He suffered unlawful detention, tha ...

• KKO 8 years ago

You are as stupid as your idiotic president! These are individuals that have been labelled "dangerous" by America and more resourceful European countries. Why should Ghana that can't even catch local armed robbers agree to ta ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

After sleeping over this issue, I am looking at other reasons WHY.
    Yes Gh has been receptive to people fleeing war, from the Lebanese, Nigerians ( during the Biafran war, Chad, during the famine in the early 1980s, Liberia a ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

It is definitely some mischievious person/people raising the issue of Terrorism to Africans.
    Most of us are oblivious to what has been going on in the world bcos it is not around them.
    .... or perhaps getting the scarecro ...

• Rastaman 8 years ago

This story about the Gitmo guys make us look like hypocrites. When we [as Ghana] receive financial aid from America we do not complain, but when we have to do them [USA]a favour we complain that they [USA]created the mess in ...

• Patience Efua. 8 years ago

US does no favors...ever!!!

• Kojo 8 years ago

Mr. Whatever, if they have no criminal history why are they not being kept in USA or their home Yemen, but Ghana? Or you want to imply Americas and Yemen don't appreciate the value of "human resources"? please do make use of ...

• Owusu Agyemang 8 years ago

Are you a Security Expert or just saying it for political sake? As a lawyer, I hope you understand the words you used-"hypocritical and unpatriotic" Its bad to use such words. Your utterances should be polite. No wonder, you ...

• Jay 8 years ago

Remember my brother, mahama runs this country on the voice of the people and the voice of the people runs through this paliament and the paliamentarians are the voice of the people and npp supposed to be here on this critical ...

• Nkrekete 8 years ago

Sorry
    Was the issue of accepting to host these ex-Guants discussed in Parliament? Please be careful how you decide to comment on very sensitive national and public issue. Thank you.

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

Garbage

• Solomon, Argentina 8 years ago

Mahama is a money conscious because of 200 million dollars you accept this people.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

John Mahama can do anything to get cash into his personal pocket. He even planned the murder of president Atta Mills to become president and then steal state money into his personal bank account.

• Emma 8 years ago

That is the point, George. If Mahama can kill Mills to become president, then what else can't he do??? Those Ghanaians who did not have foresight and voted for this guy, beware now.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

John Mahama pocketed some cool US$200million to have the two deadly terrorists settled in Ghana.

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

according to reports here in the USA, countries who take gitmo terrorists get paid 200 million dollars

• Kate 8 years ago

Counsel your words...... Logically how can alkaida alshsbab etc turn against us when we are offering them refuge, even assuming the two were their members. Gh and 55 other nations including the U.S. took some of the detainees ...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

There are not detainees in from Guantanamo in America.

No state governor will allow it.
    They got sent to Ghana because Ghanaian government is run by fools

• mrkay 8 years ago

i wonder where all of you people come from. look at what the country is going throuhmgh and all u can think of is NPP and NDC. are you ashamed of yourself. keep up with the good works by campaigning for them nd they will appr ...

• God have mercy 8 years ago

Ghanaians re so much disappointed in NDC n Mahama's administration as a whole. Our lives re in danger now but we seek for God's protection. There's no need to vote NDC to power again. They re of no use to the country. Even we ...

• GHANA 8 years ago

Are they in Kokrobite, Nima or other islamist places. Check the Mosques and the Imams.

• paa 8 years ago

Letv your presidential hopeful and his vice comment on this.

• Sunday 8 years ago

let me educate you fellow Ghanaian, first of all thy were convicted thy are only suspect ,we are not there enemies we will provide them with shelter which America will pay for all that so please sleep nothing will happen

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

No governor wants them in their state because they know they are dangerous.

Ghanaians are stupid that's why they were set there

• Tutugyagu 8 years ago

The average Ghanaian is peaceful and not that stupid. It is our government that is stupid. How many Arab countries are out there to accept their fellow Muslims or compatriots back to their countries but refused?. Why American ...

• MIKY DARLING 8 years ago

John Mahama is really a dangerous man.God will surely ditch him and hs family

• Geofrey Skilling 8 years ago

Guys, check this link below on what the Republicans in the US are saying about Iraqi & Syrian refugees & the potential impact on the US.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/refugee-program-decried-iraqis-terror-related-arrests-1458 ...

• Joe Bee 8 years ago

Ghanaians Break My Heart-Mugabe..

I am not only broken hearted or ashamed but am scared for the very first time in my life.

Considering how our greed and personal interests can put the lives of innocent citizens in da ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Especially when the US is saying that Ghana accepted the terrorists (or are the refugees?) for a promised reward. Chances are these rewards are for individuals and not even to the people of Ghana.

• Mr Walter 8 years ago

Dis guy called Kofi is mad

• Bill 8 years ago

Have not head that the Amricans have charged these men at all. They were detained wrongfully and they are from a country at war. If Mr. Faibile were to be detained for false accusation of stealing should we call him a thief a ...

• slimmart1.. 8 years ago

BILL, YOU MAKE NO SENSE. IF THEY HAVE BEEN WRONGLY DETAINED, WHY NOT SEND THEM BACK TO THEIR OWN COUNTRY, YEMEN? OR LET THEM STAY IN THE USA? WHY SHOULD THEY BE SHIPPED TO A DIFFERENT COUNTRY CALLED GHANA? IS GHANA AN EXTENSI ...

• Gabriel 8 years ago

it is a heartless, incoderate and selfish decision the government took. It is greedy and unpatriotic act. Manama acted like a five year child

• this is Treason 8 years ago

Money root of all this

• Kwaku Bio 8 years ago

Egbert Faible is among the numerous journalists who were being paid by the Kuffuor administration for licking their ass. Your dream will never come to pass.

• OH POOR GHANA 8 years ago

MORE WILL COME AND JOINED THEM BY SEA, LAND AND AIR . GHANA HAS BEEN SOLD FOR $200 MILLION DOLLARS .

• LETTRUTHPREVAIL 8 years ago

Dear Lord, the father of mankind.
    Forgive us our foolish ways
    Reclothe us in our rightful mind
    Those are parts of the first stanza of a methodist hymnal.
    Our foolish way is, we don't love mankind, to the extent that we do ...

• KINDER 8 years ago

MAHAMA struck the deal with the Americans in order to use the bloated VOTERS' register without the Americans interfering ;this explains why US is silent on the VOTERS' REGISTER

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

God has exposed John Mahama and his incompetent CRIMINALS WHO CAN KILL FOR POWER. It's up to Ghanaians to get rid of them as soon as possible else Ghana will be doomed for many years. Ghanaians deserves much better government ...

• Solomon, Argentina 8 years ago

People remember that Osama is not from Afghanistan, but ask your self why American fight against them? Is because that is where Osama hide him self, people we are all Ghanains, believe it or not if this guy do something again ...

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

.I John Mahama,...... .....having been elected to the high office of President of the Republic of Ghana do (in the name of the Almighty God swear) (solemnly affirm) that I will be faithful and true to the Republic of Ghana; t ...

• Tutugyagu 8 years ago

The opposition parties should take advantage of this gargantuan flaw by the NDC govt, let the masses understand the gravity of situation and how reckless the NDC govt is and the need to get NDC out and return the Gitmo convic ...

• Kate 8 years ago

I doubt whether this can win votes.

• Tutugyagu 8 years ago

Kate, in any country, this should cast some doubts on the competence and judgement of the government. A lot of people are outraged and the opposition should seize the opportunity to educate the citizenry of the potential dang ...

• Emma 8 years ago

This is not time for politics. There are over 20 million people at risk. The right thing needs to be done, by sending these guys back. It is up to the opposition if they want to capitalize on the issue, but to me it is a matt ...

• NSUOSUNSUM 8 years ago

There are a lot of bone heads in the house what do you expect?Then again what is the position of the NPP,CPP,NDP ,and so on. Ghana people wake-up and kick this fucky bald heads out of the house,This guys don't care of you,onl ...

• Tutugyagu 8 years ago

where are the university students.They all turn cowards lately. Back in the 80s and 90s , even in Rawlings regime during the revolution, University students arose and demonstrated against the military govt. I expect the stud ...

• Kwaku Stephen 8 years ago

All my prayers is to be killed rubbish mahama by Ghana gods.

• Obournana 8 years ago

Is this cheap popularity or what? Every person in Ghana behaves they are the only intellectual and know better than the government. What are we experiencing as a country? Foolishness is taking over the minds of so called inte ...

• Tutugyagu 8 years ago

1. They are not just two. More will be arriving
    2. It is not the number of gitmo convicts in the country right now that matter.It is the guts and principle of accepting them into the country, when their own country (Saudi Ar ...

• Eric Antwi Boasiako 8 years ago

Is very shameful and painful that you guys are not saying the right thing, this president is a very evil wicked master blind punishing innocent people in Ghana for no reason because he don't give a fuck about nobody in Ghana ...

• vic 8 years ago

how on earth do you, a president of a country get up one day and decide to import killer bees and set them free to sting and kill its citizenry. who voted for such an idiot ,a nonentity with followers like asiedu nkatsiah and ...

• PHUCK DIZSHITT 8 years ago

A VISIT IN THE DARKNESS OF NIGHT WITH SOME SERIOUS JUJU WILL MAKE THESE USA REJECTS RUN BACK TO GITMO.LETS FUCKING SCARE THEM OUT OF GHANA.

• Joojo U.S.A 8 years ago

I am a Ghanaian Citizen based in the U.S.A, and I am very concern about the security of my people in Ghana, but I think Mahama is not doing the right thing that is why he has accepted these people without thinking about the s ...

• Emma 8 years ago

This is a matter of serious national concern and every Ghanaian irrespective of religious, political or tribal affiliation should pressure the govt to send these people back to where they rightfully belong, America, period. I ...

• slimmart1.. 8 years ago

GHANAIANS, PLS THINK .IF THEY HAVE BEEN WRONGLY DETAINED LIKE SOME PEOPLE ARE SAYING, , WHY NOT SEND THEM BACK TO THEIR OWN COUNTRY, YEMEN? OR LET THEM STAY IN THE USA? WHY SHOULD THEY BE SHIPPED TO A DIFFERENT COUNTRY CALLED ...

• DO GOOD 8 years ago

The men who negotiated for these criminals to live in Ghana have pocketed huge sum of US DOLLARS in their foreign bank account.
    The president is ignorant and does not care about the country.

• ANTHONY K ADJEI KTUMI E/R 8 years ago

GHANAIANS SHOULB BE PROUD OF PEACE THAT IS PREVAILING NOW AND LET US BECAREFUL WITH THE GOTINEMO CONVICTS

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Let the Mahama administration bring this terrorist to Ghana and we shall use our "Kokroboti power" to show him the door.

• Afia Sika,Gomoa Nkran 8 years ago

There's no decision that can not be reconsidered or revoked. On behalf of all Ghanaian women,children and posterity yet to be born, I entreat his Excellency Mr.President passionately to let the two men go back to wherever the ...

• Angmor Philip. 8 years ago

Does president Mahama think at all? The decision to accept the ex_convicts is highly senseless and criminal. Our president and his elders are "educated - illiterates ". No wonder, the president is a Muslim so don't be surpri ...

• Angmor Philip. 8 years ago

The president is not normal. He is completely mad.

• asante 8 years ago

This is one reason ashantis don't like ndc party .you guys lack common sense.''agwene nko na Nyansanko''..

• Joe Bee 8 years ago

Ghanaians Break My Heart-Mugabe..

I am not only broken hearted or ashamed but am scared for the very first time in my life.

Considering how our greed and personal interests can put the lives of innocent citizens in da ...

Let me be very clear, the USA, and the other powers don't care about poverty Ghana or anywhere else. For every penny they give, they take $100. That's how they have always operated. To them, and the other western powers, our ...

What im wondering is, when were these negotiations made? Why are we just hearing of it now?
    The United states has they resources to accomodate these detainees, if they're sending them away, that means they don't want them o ...

• Joseph Quarcoo... Columbus OH. 8 years ago

Ghanaians talk too much. I will be happy if they SHUT UP. Eeeiii WHY? Just 2 Gitmo guys and the whole ccountry is falling apart. Has ATAA ARYEE not done worse thingsthan these 2 guys. Are FULANI HERDSMEN not doing worse. Let ...

• Tutugyagu 8 years ago

do you understand what 'suicide' bombing is? Ataa Aryee is a walk in the park compared to what these extremist are doing in their teritories. How many ghanaians have been beheaded in broad day light?
    Has any hotel been bom ...

• TOWER 8 years ago

....OTHERWISE HOW COME THEY COME TO SUCH A WEIRD DECISION!

• Nana Onsurotuo I 8 years ago

You are only a lawyer not a security expert please shut up.