You are here: HomeNews2016 01 06Article 405496

Why Mahama sacked Military Chiefs

Read Comments Comments (102)

• GG 8 years ago

WEEL DONE

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

no wonder they were insubordinate and rebelled , thats what happens when you sacrifice professionalism in favor of political bias. these ndc foot soldiers are politically more powerful than their generals . i have always said ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

1. We've had so many scandals in 2015; the CHRAJ scandal, Judicial scandal, DVLA, AMERI, West Blue, MMT bus branding...GYEEDA, SADA, AKONFEM ETC....MAHAMA IS A USELESS ASSHOLE! IF U KNEW YOU COULDN’T DELIVER AS PRESIDENT. W ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-OBAA YAA....
    Good deeds deserve a big push while incompetency deserves a change.
    Koku, why should the international community continue to waste their resources on sorry a** regime like one in power right now?

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

I will be so happy if mahama can sack himself then I will be praising my God more and more.

Author:-.USMAN.....
    There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum held in Westminster, Central London after a heated exchange between Ghana’s President John Mahama and former Niger ...

• NDC Foot Soldier 8 years ago

oh, what a corrupt president Mahama is

• TOLLY. 8 years ago

LIARS I THINK THERE WAS SOMETHING BIGGER THAN THAT.WERE THEY TRYING TO REMOVE HIM FROM POWER?.THERE IS SOMETHING IN THE PIPE-LINE COMING.

• United Ghana 8 years ago

I share your sentiments. NDC treat Ghana like it's their own property and the only ones entitled to opportunities in the country.

• KAAJI 8 years ago

Stupid mahama, is there no Akan in the military who has all it takes to occupy the position of the aforementioned names.
    Tribalism will kill mahama. We shall form Akan COUNTRY and take care of our natural resources governed ...

• We need Regional autonomy now! 8 years ago

Totally agrees with you KAAJI.

Its about time the Akans of ghana rise up and demand more automony for their regions where the bulk of THE resources sit.Demand to keep locally raised taxes and share some governing powers wi ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

i believe the only way to achieve this is through total unconditional independence for the Akan nation. All these unhappy marriages and foolish compromises have denied us progress and development

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER.. 8 years ago

THEY HAVE THE SAME DIRTY IDEAS LIKE YOU.IAM AN AKAN BUT I DON'T SUPPORT THAT STUPID IDEA.OUR PROBLEM IS CORRUPT MAHAMAH AND HIS LOOTING NDC BRIGANDS BUT NOT TRIBALISM.

• Johnson Tunu 8 years ago

I don't understand how a sane person can be advocating violence everyday as a future course for Ghana. Please, Akans, speak out energetically against this madness!

• Sani 8 years ago

it's the same akans who are die-hard supporters of this ndc murderers.

• blackbarnes 8 years ago

ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
    COURSES INCLUDE: ...

Author:-Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE....
    1. We've had so many scandals in 2015; the CHRAJ scandal, Judicial scandal, DVLA, AMERI, West Blue, MMT bus branding...GYEEDA, SADA, AKONFEM ETC....MAHAMA IS A USELESS ASSHOLE! IF U ...

• nokofio 8 years ago

This daily guide reporter is sick in the mind. Don't people go on retirement when they reach a certain age. Shouldtthey be retained till thou kingdom come. The reporter is stupidly ignorant.

Author:-KINGCR8IVE BRIGHT....
    Why Mahama the thief has been allowed to run Ghana aground all these years is what I am trying to understand. Who born dog! An empty headed idiot like that taking all other Ghanaians for fools ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

Daily Guide must learn the military ranks

• Nana 8 years ago

We told you that Mahama is very competent! Big shame unto you Mahama! You will dig your own grave.

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

Ha, ha, ha!!

Fantastico, Mr President!
    Say that too when I arrive.

• Taniba 8 years ago

The president must sack himself rather , a useless one indeed.

• brito 8 years ago

So npp in power never change military hierachy?Are you so desparate that everything is noe pokitics,are you sure you love Ghaba?

• NANAÖ MOTHER !!! 8 years ago

Read your comment again .You need free education.NDC fool!!.

• kofi kanokwere 8 years ago

Ignorance is a disease. Daily Guide is always speculating. If the changes had anything to do with the dismissal of the army recruits,it's rather the chief of army staff who would hv been given the sack because he has direct r ...

• LAW 8 years ago

Look at this dirty paper

• Obiba 8 years ago

Daily Guide you liar ; You know nothing ,pls stop the nonsense always making issue out of nothing

• intro 8 years ago

the chief of naval staff was a good person his people love him soo much see the type of building he was building the number of project he av done av never hapen before in the navvy, he is a good leader,

• Nyame bekyere 8 years ago

who told you we like him never make dat mistake again ok

• revolution 8 years ago

mahama has lost d votes of many naval personnels for appointing dis man as CNS bcos he is not worth of it go n see d mess he has Created at Wnc halting all d works of d former Foc what show he can do d work biekro was doing m ...

• Speedy Gonzalez 8 years ago

This tabloid called daily guide must stop misinforming Ghanaians.It is not their job to misinform,whipping up ethic sentiments is not only unprofessional but also a national security threat.

• kobe smart 8 years ago

...just take a look at your NDC footsoldiers' copybook grammar. The army recruits felt they had a natural right to enter the army even without the required training because they felt politically they were protected; or perha ...

• Speedy Gonzalez 8 years ago

K.Smart,whatever happened to the alleged NDC foot soldiers does not give the daily guide the right to misinform.Creating fear and ethnic tension is a risk,we must treasure the peace we are enjoying and protect it.Look at the ...

• NANAÖ MOTHER !!! 8 years ago

What Peace ? Peace my foot. Do you think Peace stand for only not giong into a war? When your president and NDC is stealing everything fron ghanaians ? and you are saying we have Peace?.Answer me you idiot.Fuck off with your ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You are 100% right. I was shocked to hear that 500 recruits refused to train because they felt the training is too hard. When did recruits stop following orders? All because they are Ndc fool soldiers. This useless ndc propag ...

• mahama 8 years ago

foolish comment

• brito 8 years ago

Where is this ethnicity thing by Daily guide sending us,you want to divide the country clearly,are you sure you will write those stupid things when you are in power?Be ready to pay for this,stupid journalist and editor.Blay's ...

• Ibrahim... 8 years ago

Hehe,,, we are closely monitoring and for the ambassadorial job he rejects it. Be carful mr president. Those guys will be sack again if u bring them back,

• KB 8 years ago

Media men in this country are so very useless

• Ali 8 years ago

That's why it took foreign journalists to report the AMERI robbery. We seem to disagree with everything our own journalists publish, blaming bias and ethnicity. NDC people never accept any truth. Even the bus re-branding was ...

• williss 8 years ago

one who is backing dis stupid reshuffle is idiot dat mack wayongo but his time is near

The new Chief of Defence staff is the immediate past Chief of Air Staff (COAS)Air Vice Marshall Sampson-Oje.That is a promotion and not a sacking.The recruit issue has nothing to do with this new appointments.This happened m ...

• saint 8 years ago

Ghanaweb is lying.. am a military personell n d chief of defence staff have not sacked.. he has been given an ambassadorial position which is yet to b confirmed within d week

• saint 8 years ago

we should b careful of d news we put on d net bcos it can trigger something bad.. Don't believe dis news folks.. d CDS has not been sacked.. am really really disappointed in dis article

• Al-Hajj A A A-Rashid(OH. USA) 8 years ago

I don't know where Daily Guide got it's information from but I want the Daily Guide to check their facts. Samson Oje is an Old Tamascan that means he is a product of Tamale Secondary School..It used to be the Gov't Secondary, ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

It is on record that the last school Sampson Oje joined the Military was Navrongo Secondary in the early '70s. He attended TAMASCO from Form One to Five and moved to Navrongo Secondary for Sixth Form, from where he joined the ...

• Tibaa 8 years ago

To be a Navacan, a Navropio

• Al Hajj AAARashid(OH.USA) 8 years ago

Ghanaman, yes I can agree with you but you have over diced your compliments of Oje as regards his Championship in the 100m and 200m. Oje was good but he was never a champion.

In the 70s the 100 and 200m champions in the No ...

• Dr. Alidu Bakari (GA. USA) 8 years ago

Alhaji, how could you have forgotten someone who was in the same House with you? After Munkaila Z.Y the guy you are referring to is SALIFU BRAIMAH popularly known then as "WICKED". Yes he was a Gonja from Salaga or Kpembi...l ...

• nana kojo 8 years ago

The media should be very careful of what they put out here

• Norsimi Adaak 8 years ago

This is stupid report. How can the president sack a navy commander because army has dismissed its recruits? The army recruits are for the Army and have nothing to deal with navy commander. Even though the CDS is the overall b ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

Even though the guy was a navy man, he was still the chief of defense staff meaning head of all three armed forces so the head of the army reports to him

• ASEMPA 8 years ago

Blackbarnes stop disturbing us with your fake MBA / MSC degrees. Swindlers and fraudsters.

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

The NDC is very many light years ahead of NPP in terms of National Security, perhaps from its military background. Look at how efficiently and promptly the Heads of the Security and Defence Forces are regularly changed. Not l ...

• Olalaaa 8 years ago

Lier JB Dankwa was NOT even in his sixties, get ur facts straight OK.

• kofi 8 years ago

congratulation, Matsebi Maxwell Tei-Nagai. Am proud of you. Ayeekooo

• Edem Kofi 8 years ago

If you mahama want the Navy to vote for you, then bring back our man Real Admiral BIEKRO MAWULI or else forget about our vote.

• Edem Kofi 8 years ago

Please bring back Real Admiral BIEKRO MAWULI and have out vote

• Bennoo 8 years ago

I wonder the kind of stomach politics daily guide always does. Blowing national security issues out of prop because of politics. Please lets reason up as ghanaians because whether foot soldiers or ndc boys, this is national s ...

• Mr Bond 8 years ago

I can't believe what I have just read that Ghana has presidential jet and president Dramani Mahama abandon the jet that tax payers bought for him to travel to rent plane from his brother is irresponsible and extravagant and f ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Only in Ghana.

• qathafi 8 years ago

Silly reportage. who informed ghanaweb that the recruits were ndc? silly editors

• KBI 8 years ago

He that is unrighteous, let him be still more unrighteous. He that is filthy,let him be more unrighteous.
    He that is righteous , let him be still righteous. He that is Holy let him be still more holy.
    You cannot stand sti ...

• Ghanata old student 8 years ago

congrats Mantsebi Nagai
    all GOSANs are proud of you.

• agbogba 8 years ago

Tribalistic govt.

• Abui 8 years ago

Daily Guide, know everything

• aa 8 years ago

inaccurate infor, please daily guide always cross check your infor before going public

• Olalaaa 8 years ago

Waw, hand picked NDC foot soldiers, no wonder they rebelled against their superiors, corrupt recruitment to join the military, please put Ghana first no party because national security is not a joke, is a serious business a ...

• citizen observer 8 years ago

Our journalist must put a little bit more effort into their work before putting stories out because we all depend on them to give us authentic, verified and trustworthy news.it isnt fair to write anything at all and put is ou ...

• citizen observer 8 years ago

pls daily guide get the facts, learn the ranks, no one was sacked, the changes were routine planned with good reason long before the recruits issue.
    you say the recruits were foot soldiers, i wonder how you know that.in mili ...

• Abena-Malta Airport 8 years ago

Mr Samson Oje!!Congratulations!!!

• RSM..@@rmy 8 years ago

That Quashi is the one meddling waters in GAF

• Jenny 8 years ago

No more merit but tribe and food we eat

• Jenny 8 years ago

What matter is not tribe but good governance Maaaaaaaama

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

We must know that no condition is permanent. Soldier go, Soldier come.

• Steve.OH 8 years ago

The president may have reasons for removing the CNS, but there's no disputing the fact the he's the best the Navy has had. He's father, a good man and very resourceful. The Navy has seen immense development under his leaders ...

• Steve.OH 8 years ago

The president may have reasons for removing the CNS, but there's no disputing the fact the he's the best the Navy has had. He's father, a good man and very resourceful. The Navy has seen immense development under his leaders ...

• Goddy 8 years ago

Check your facts well. How could a navy Chief be sacked for dismissal of army recruits whilst the Army Chief remains at post? Does it make sense?

• TT 8 years ago

So why the NAVY commander if there was a problem with ARMY recruits? CNS Bierkro is a good man of all standards; see the development he brought to the navy; the building projects, a new naval training command, New accommodati ...

• Maamesh 8 years ago

TT God bless u for speaking the truth. He is the best CNS seen in decades. Humble, God fearing and also sort justices. God will vindicate him to the shame of his detractors.Amen

• kuku 8 years ago

consolidating power b4 elections

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

This is junk journalism, it is sad when our irresponsible journalists put out garbage. Please, don't think you will be spared after you create tension that gets out of hand.

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER.. 8 years ago

IT IS NOT JUNKY JOURNALISM BUT THE TRUTH IS HIDDEN.MAHAMAH BAD GOVERNANCE CAN LEAD TO A COUP AND HE DOESN'T TRUST THOSE GUYS.

• Bill 8 years ago

No Comment ......President knows the reason why....

• Onipa 8 years ago

No northerner will ever be a president apart from Dr.Bawumia. By the look of things I can see they're capable of being a vice-prez but not the main. First of all we gave Dr.hilla limam the privillege to lead Ghana but he was ...

• Dzodinawo James 8 years ago

why did our president Mahama did that to the Chiefs staff of the military officer's.

• Richman 8 years ago

U wanna lose weight,ask me how? Am a certified fitness personal trainer and a physiotherapist. Book sessions with me and get a free diet plan and a workout program.
    Call 0268705547

• Afia Sika,Gomoa Nkran 8 years ago

Daily Guide give Ghanaians a break. Why do you always associate Political and governmental issues with tribes and ethnicity. Find something else to talk about and stop this now for you guys are not doing any good to either th ...

• Bonsu 8 years ago

Poor journalism, please remove your political colours n report as its. If anyone should be sacked for de recruits saga den dat should be de army chief not de navy. Please get facts n stop being mischievous.

• darlenechanz 8 years ago

The media reporting this should stick to the truth rather than politicizing everything ,if u don't know the truth make enquiries,conduct ur investigations,and come out with the fact rather than seating in ur office and making ...

• Anamzooya 8 years ago

Lailllaha illalahu, oooi, my heart bleeds for Gh, Ghanaweb plz dix platform ix gradually radicalizing our beloved citizens, it's abt time u start screening da comments posted here. we can't blame it on illiteracy since dos ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 8 years ago

TIME FOR COLLECTION, DAY AND NIGHT

• kojo 8 years ago

ZPlease the changes is not about the recruit otherwise it is the the army commander who should be sacked but he is still there so stop the false information .If u want fact check from a good source

• NOKWARE 8 years ago

Blame jj rawlings for coming back. We would be better off if rawlings had not come back. Practicing civilian rule from 1982 to date would have been a nice experience. Look what jj rawlings has bequethed to Ghanaians

Oh Manama, you listened to your childhood friend and did evil to Ghana navy by removing Biekro as CNS. You have lost it. This is to your own down fall. Mark it on a wall.

• Nyame bekyere 8 years ago

who told u we like dis cds he must go. He is the worse of all cds past.

• Mahamaba 8 years ago

Stupid mahama,wht has biekro done to e sacked recruits,army commanderen rader is in n navy commander is going out ar u out of ur mind,with all dis u want vote from soldiers apuuuuuu nonsense no soldier will vote for u jimiiii ...

• London@ 8 years ago

What is wrong with President! He has no sense of direction or knowledge on what people are actually doing in the army. This is political because he replaces good people changing Ghana and defending the country with useless pe ...

• London571 8 years ago

Biekro!!! why change someone who has been such significant impact and change to the naval staff and Ghana
    We need good men like him in Ghana
    Biekro MUST COME BACK!

• mahama 8 years ago

the report about the sacked recruits was false, Ghanaians know how to comment on some matters please

• Emma 7 years ago

toaso