You are here: HomeNews2016 01 03Article 404830

Group: Taxing fuel 'lazy' revenue raising means

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Yaw 8 years ago

Indeed, we don't have leaders who can put on their think cup. Always wanting to raise more revenue but not deal with wasteful expenditures. Useless government.

• kk 8 years ago

every article yaw will give a comment with insult..yaw do you have a responsible parents at all.you could still make sense without insulting

• sole looser 8 years ago

Are you stupid or something? Everything Yaw said is true...this government does not think one bit. Lazy brains like you are the reason this country had been subjected to this unjust treatment by a stupid president.

• Charles ,T , Spintex 8 years ago

Blame the majority in parliament who use their numbers to pass most of the useless bills.

• Joe 8 years ago

You don't know a bit of what is going on in the world today. Don't sit in Ghana and make those statements. The largest oil producer has increase fuel by 100%. So shut up your mouth.

• M'AKA 8 years ago

WE CAN NEVER LOVE THOSE NDC OAFS WHO ARE CHEATING US AND MAKING US LEAD HOPELESS LIVES. WHILE WE DON'T HAVE THE POWER TO KILL THEM, WHICH OF COURSE WE WOULD DO WITH FURY, WE GIVE THEM FLAK!!!

• edi 8 years ago

AND ALSO A STUPID MAN THAT LL HE DOES IS RISING GHNA PEOPLE TAXES AND COST OF EVERYTHING

• Yaw 8 years ago

What's insulting about my comments? That government shouldn't always go for the option of borrowing and raising taxes but also address wasteful expenditures. A government that fails to follow this basic logic is useless

• roxy 8 years ago

Yew ,you are the best . Thumb up for you.

• gretchy NZ 8 years ago

Yaw my friend has his opinion like everyone else.However if you cannot see what the sitting Government has done with monies that keep disappearing not to be traced,there would'nt need to be tax on petroleum or any other commo ...

• Akosua 8 years ago

Everywhere in the world petrol prices went extremely down, why are they increasing in Ghana? There's no insult in saying the truth!

• Joe 8 years ago

Where in the world have you been? Yes crude is down but the largest crude producer has also increased petrol. Am here and I know what am saying. Don't sit in Ghana and say you know all. Please.

• roxy 8 years ago

KK, put on your thinking cups.

• Nyansasem 8 years ago

You got it wrong bro. They are very smart. By raising taxes on fuel, they get instant money to buy crude and gas to power our plants to give us light so we won't have much dumsor in 2016, an election year. It is all about re- ...

• roxy 8 years ago

Owesome

• NOTHERN GHANA 8 years ago

During K4 era, he laid down programmes such as NHIS, school feedin, free maternal health care,Metro mass
    transport, mass spraying etc.dat imparted positively on the social welfare of the ordinary Ghanaian. You cannot say the ...

• M'AKA 8 years ago

the mpepeffo and ewe/trokosis have made us slaves in our own country. they steal the ghana's money and then tax us to replace it. mahama syarted it when he inflated the price of the embraer 190 aircraft ghana bought from braz ...

• Ghost of Atta Mills 8 years ago

Ma'ka or what ever you are, know that not every ewe supports NDC, likewise not every akan supports npp. Around this time I expect evaluation of personal abilities than tribal or ethnic affiliations. Let wise up

• Royal 8 years ago

Well said. You are a sensible person. I'm a Fanti and support NPP and the fact that NPP don't get 0 in any of the polling station in the Volta Region shows that there are some Ewes who supports NPP no matter how small the num ...

• joe 8 years ago

O YES,ITS A LAZY WAY OF RAISING REVENUE,I WANT JOHN MAHAMA ALL NDC MEMBERS IN HIGHER POSITIONS,LIKE MINISTERS,DEPUTY MINISTERS,PALIAMENTARIANS AND ALL THOSE WHO HAVE BENEFITED ONE WAY OR THE OTHER THAT THEY SHOULD ALL BEAR IN ...

• KELI 8 years ago

MY USELESS KROBOMAN,SETH TEKPE,YOU ARE AS USELESS AS YOUR OWN PEOPLE WHO ONLY KNOW HOW TO INDULGE IN SEX,UPON ALL THIS LEVIES YOU TAKING SINCE YOUR USELESS GOVERNMENT CAME INTO POWER,I HAVE NOT SEEN A SINGLE DEVELOPMENT IN WH ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Because when you have a government who can't think outside the box, and other means of generating revenue it lead to higher taxes. Incompetent government indeed.

• omanba 8 years ago

The government has sold the fate of ghanaians to the IMF and the World Bank and the poor in the country should expect no mercy from them.The government has betrayed ghanaians,especially the majority poor.And Mahama is telling ...

• B.SIMON 8 years ago

Actually J Mahama and his lazy government always waists Ghanaians monies without making any better impart on roads maintenance.

• kk 8 years ago

KK or whatever u called urself, go 4k ur Ewe or pepeni mother of urs. If u think Yaw said something wrong. Aponkye because of plp like u that is why GH is still going backwards. Send me ur number n I will deal with ur punk a ...

• aikins 8 years ago

That wants to be retained as president? or he is just trying to be wicked to us, or he think he is doing a good job, or he is more concern about how to corrupt us to fill his bank accounts in Dubai so Ghanaians can go to h ...

• Kofi Portophy 8 years ago

Mahama is simple incompetent.

• FAB3WOSO 8 years ago

MAHAMA CAME INTO POLITICS ONLY TO STEAL TO ENRICH HIMSELF OTHERWISE WHY DID HE, AS A VICE PRESIDENT INFLATE THE PRICES OF AIR CRAFTS GHANA BOUGHT FROM BRASIL? AN INFURIATED PREZ MILLS, AN HONEST MAN WHO UNFORTUNATELY JOINED T ...

• FAB3WOSO 8 years ago

MAHAMA CAME INTO POLITICS ONLY TO STEAL TO ENRICH HIMSELF OTHERWISE WHY DID HE, AS A VICE PRESIDENT INFLATE THE PRICES OF AIR CRAFTS GHANA BOUGHT FROM BRASIL? AN INFURIATED PREZ MILLS, AN HONEST MAN WHO UNFORTUNATELY JOINED T ...

• Mohammed 8 years ago

The most insensetive government in the history of ghana. And you are still looking for second term in office. Commot there. Useless government.

• Mohaimi 8 years ago

The dead goat government will kill us all. Why increase petroleum prices when at this time, the product is at its lowers in price on the world market in history of the commodity.

• manu 8 years ago

IF YES, THEN USE YOUR COMON SENCE.WHOM ARE YOU CREATING THW REVEUE FOR? AS A PRESIDENT YOU DON'T PUT YOUR FOOT DOWN AND TAKE DECISION WHAT YOUR MINISTER WILL SAY WHEATHER GOOD OR BAD, U FOLLOW. YOU HAVE MADE ME REGRET VOTINF ...

• Moshie Kokonte 8 years ago

Very easy for Seth Terkper and Mahama to raise fuel prices since ministers, parliamentarians and other government officials do not have to pay for petrol. They are not going to feel the effect of this wicked act.

• HP & Canon 8 years ago

Quality toner and Ink refill at Abeka-New Fadama.
    We also repair HP and Canon photocopiers and printers.
    Call: 0244523451

• Y B 8 years ago

Health Campaign
    Complete health living organization (NGO) present, Health screaming exercises for communities, Churches and individual at reduced rate.
    This program covers Liver functioning. Heart, Kidney, Pancreas, Lungs, ...

• Elorm-Berne, Switzerland 8 years ago

Mahama is simply lost. He has no clue what to do to take Ghanaians out of the quagmire he himself has plunged us into. Incompetence all over the place.

• Larbi-Teshie 8 years ago

Parliament is no more needed in Ghana. They are not there for the people of Ghana. It is a useless entity they are only rubberstamping. They have to be ashamed of themselves for approving this new tax.

• KWADWO 8 years ago

VERY TRUE, SPREAD THE TAX NET ,THAT IS BETTER THAN TAXING FUEL

• Sylvanus Joe Agorkpah 8 years ago

we shd bear in mind that we all h
    ave MPs in the parliament who take decision on our behalf so if a bill or law or proposal is endorsed by parliament, it means we are all involved hence we shd insult our MPs for their own pa ...

• obiba Broke 8 years ago

You voted for this lazy ndc government so shut up and deal with mahama the thief and his criminal organization

• Cb 8 years ago

The youth of Ghana should rise up against the high cost of living in Ghana....we've been taken for granted for far too long...we need a massive demonstrations across the country to show our displeasure.....long live Ghana

• Nana Brefo US 8 years ago

Finance minister does not know what to do. He should have honourably resigned for his own good. Your policies are continually failing but seem to be fooled by people who do not know anything about economics hmmmm Ghana!!

• XXX Files 8 years ago

This finance minister is just a puppet!

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

No finance minister will succeed under thieve John Mahama and the ndc CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE GOVERNANCE. It's like fetching water with a broken pot . Wayome and all the other thieves are free because we have thieves in power. ...

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Day 3 folks of the 311 daily countdown to the end of the lazy buffoon prez on Nov 7.....he feels emboldened to put tax on petroleum in the year of elections hoping Alata Ashawo will help him rig elections with the bloated reg ...

• justice Dompreh 8 years ago

more jobs should be created for the youth to undertake.This will employ more to the government. TO PREVENT ROBBERY.BY JUSTICE

• lshmael 8 years ago

lnfact we dont have to hurry to increase petrol prices anytime government need money,critical review should make please dont do things wickedly because you the leaders dont suffur to get money.You choose to serve us but now w ...

• somewherein.USA 8 years ago

John Mahama is a big fool

• lshmael 8 years ago

i dont understand we go for loan because we have not and yet you increase taxes and prices of petrol why

• Francis 8 years ago

What an Xmas gift! Increase of petroleum products, increase of road toll, increase of utility bills and then using these tax payers money to brand buses. What a mess! Are our leaders excuse me sensible?
    We need to revisit c ...

• Apuu 8 years ago

mahama and his administration think ghanaians are all that fools, no wonder becouse mahama said ghanaians have short memory

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

Taxing fuel 'lazy' revenue raising means. What about excessive borrowing. If you allow incompetent thieves lie their way into government, that's what you get. They will continue to create,loot and share with impunity because ...

• B@Meat 8 years ago

All this aa fallin on deaf ears. How do u tell a dead goat to open/close its eyes? Im not surpris at dis, very soon dey will start taxin de number of times u open& clos ur eyes.

• National Agenda 8 years ago

Not only are they incompetent BUT also CAPITAL LAZY FOLKS.

• Nyansasem 8 years ago

The government is flat out broke, and the fastest way it can raise money is to increase taxes on a product we have to buy. Where is this money going? Well, you all should know. It is going to buy crude and gas so you and I wi ...

• KKO 8 years ago

That is why we all have to come together to kick them out! The incompetent Mahama has started a lot of projects in the rural areas. He is taxing petroleum products to reek in loads of funds to finish or bring these projects, ...

• MONA 8 years ago

Wrong focus breeds wrong ideas. Wrong ideas breed wrong policies. Wrong policies bore haphazard and insensitive decisions.The multiplier effect of these negativism are hardship and gnashing of teeth by the majority of persons ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

No

• kk 8 years ago

Ghanaians wake up n throw this bunch of NDC criminals away nkwaseasem kwa

• YAHAYA M. IBRAHIM 8 years ago

SABOTAGE NKOAAA. ONE TOUCH WIN FOR MAHAMA

• k.b 8 years ago

Yahaya are you a Ghanaian? Or you're one of the criminals, I wonder human being like you yahaya defending this wickedness mahama and his ndc government is doing to Ghanaians. God have mercy on us.

• Asante Mensah, From Heaven 8 years ago

President Mahanadi don't have sympathy for Ghanaians. What government is this?

• Yaw Luxuriau Mensah 8 years ago

Well if it is a lazy method but could bring some revenue to the nation, what is wrong with that?

• Banahene 8 years ago

God will punish u for the insults on the government, when prices are going down non of u guys came out to congratulate the government, u 'll get roti in opposition in Jesus's mighty name

• k.b 8 years ago

Banahene, another criminal fooool, God will punished you instead, , aboa funu. You will rot in jail with your criminal mahama and his wicked ministers

• KOO 8 years ago

This Mahama government knows only the tax and spend method.People are earning lesser than they did eight years ago but are being asked to pay more taxes.Businesses are collapsing under the many tax regimes introduced by this ...

• OKESSE 8 years ago

If the govt had invested in agric by putting money there there wouldn't be these senseless taxes . If govt had put money in manufacturing from the beginning, they won't go for IMF loans and impose Wicked tax on Ghanaians. Lea ...

• Ghanaba. 8 years ago

MPs should be careful the way they approve taxes for NDC white colour thieves. I mean the rogues who create loot and share. They will only get the revenue and use the resources any how. We should resist any fuel price hike. ...

• Cephas Asam 8 years ago

Ndc's next means of revenue generation is to tax ghanaians to pay for the sun and the air we use

• Chief 8 years ago

Now taxes are more than the price of the crude. Who can buy petrol at more than 3.50 ghc per litre and diesel at more than 3.30 per litre?

• Oldboy 8 years ago

Kindly suggest a more acceptable means of raising revenue for development. Criticizing wont solve the problem.

• Chief 8 years ago

How are other countries doing it? How was it done in the past. You have to look at the spending side as well. Are we overpaying for infrastructure development. Are we abusing the national purse?

• Tony Blay 8 years ago

If you read through most of the comments on this forum, you wld realize that all the people insulting and somehow using inappropriet languages are people that are not presently living in Ghana and therefore have no idea how t ...

• Niii 8 years ago

l
    Ofosu Ampofo said in 2008 that every party gets two terms and should get off the neck of Ghanaians. Now Ghanaians are lucky the NDC has enjoy it's two terms and looted Ghana so fellow Ghanaians let us boot them out come No ...

• Adjei 8 years ago

Study the global business environment and you will find that it is the current trend now. Governments aim is to pursue the greater good. Surely if everybody in Ghana drinks Akpeteshie before meals. God forbid, Ghana governmen ...

• kofi amo 8 years ago

it only this government who doesnt of think of how to curb expenditure rather solution creating looting and sharing on the expense of poor society. mr president sack yourselve

• OKESSE 8 years ago

Hardworking Govt invest our taxes in agriculture, manufacturing, research, These high Taxes is coming from a lazy and not forward looking govt. high taxes brings inflation, depreciation of our currency. And eventually make wo ...

• efo 8 years ago

Any mentally retarded person can also govern an African state. Only secure patrons in the west or east and set up the clientele systems. Grease the engine thru corruption buy key pastors,judges, chiefs, and bingo. With a doci ...

• Queen 8 years ago

I don't understand why that STUPID FOOL seth terkper is still at post.He doesn't know what he's doing

• ogass 8 years ago

The president don,t know what is going on in the world, now petrol price are low, he is increasing price what stupid president we have in Ghana.

• dela 8 years ago

if u sign useless contract where do u expect to get money for development.

• eugene 8 years ago

USA has road/fuel tax but right low The low price filling station is charging $1.70 or 6.35 cedi for 4 liters(gallon)

This must be the Better Ghana, Mahama was singing about. Oh boy, are we safe?