You are here: HomeNews2016 01 02Article 404762

Revert to 4yr SHS system – Private SHSs to gov’t

Read Comments Comments (69)

• ZOOBIE-ZOOBIE 8 years ago

only dead goats decide without any evidence

• Ben 8 years ago

Why are Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Gambia doing it for 3 years and we Ghanaians think 3 years is too long?

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE........ 8 years ago

Western nations who have better quality of education mpo have 4yrs in high school before tertiary. So why do we have 3yrs in gh? Keep the kids innschool and let them learn. The 4th HR will prepare them.For tertiary...poly or ...

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

In reality quality education depends basically not on more years in school but instead the quality, meaning depends on the teachers'capabilities to teach with great experience in the basic/primary school education.

Theref ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

is education a right or privilege?
    im a humanitarian so i will consider education a ight. now, is QUALITY EDUCATION a right or a privilege? well, this is where the business of education comes in. you have universities and gr ...

• Soomui 8 years ago

I can safely presume that the long and short of all that you have said above sums up to the fact that we do not have quality educational institutions and neither do we have quality teachers. I agree with you.

In this case, ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

I'm a product of the 3 years and I've been able to compete with people from around the world to the highest educational level in my field.

The main problem is QUALITY of teaching/supervision and not QUANTITY--the number o ...

• perii 8 years ago

Are you aware that in Ghana and the country you mentioned students finish school or do less years in school before going to University as compare to UK and the rest of Europe where they use their own language and have better ...

• NANA FOR VICTORY 2016 8 years ago

Let's maintain the current 3 years until there's the need to change it. Ex-prez Kfuor changed to 4 yrs and we began to enjoy the fruits of the policy but as soon as the NDC came to office they reverted to 3yrs and the Hypocri ...

LET SHS FOR 3 YRS BE FREE FOR ALL GH KIDS AND LET THEM GRADUATE WITH 3 YRS SHS DIPLOMAS. THESE 3 YRS DIPLOMAS CAN ONLY BE USED FOR POLYTECHNICS IN GH. LET THE 4TH YRS OF SHS BE PAID FOR BY THE STUDENTS. THOSE WHO GRADUATE CAN ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

It is not dumsor that will defeat NDC rather the fact that that they are all empty shells with no common sense talk less any empathy for the misery of the people. Since the days of Solomon the qualities of successful leadersh ...

• KKB 8 years ago

Hi Nana For victory 2016 or what ever your real name is, I would like to know how you could claim that 'Ex-prez Kfuor changed to 4 yrs and we began to enjoy the fruits of the policy..?'How many years did it take before the 4 ...

• Mensah 8 years ago

Is the current system doing Ghanaian kids and the country any good? You have students who have gone through this system and supposedly passed the WASSCE who are enrolled in teacher training colleges who can't even write a sim ...

• Mensah 8 years ago

Why do politicians send their children to private schools and universities abroad if the system is ok. The biggest hypocrites of all. Most of them went through the O and A level system. Our politicians don't trust our ed ...

EDUCATION IN GH: LET SHS FOR 3 YRS BE FREE FOR ALL GH KIDS AND LET THEM GRADUATE WITH 3 YRS SHS DIPLOMAS. THE 3 YR DIPLOMAS CAN ONLY BE USED FOR ADMISSION TO POLYTECHNICS IN GH. LET THE 4TH YR OF SHS BE PAID FOR BY THE STUDEN ...

• Kuuku 8 years ago

When did Nigeria,Gambia and Sierra Leone become the standard bearer that Ghana has to emulate? USA, Japan and Europe with better facilities have four years of high school education. if you have Atta Mills or Mahama as your pr ...

• TRUTH STANDS 8 years ago

They just want surplus students to supplement budget. Anyway theirs can be different

• Nyatefetor 8 years ago

This just an attempt to boost their income >33% per student. Their would be no plus to students training by spreading the same course content over four years.

Papa kufour's good governance

• seth 8 years ago

GOD BLESS FORMER PRESIDENT JOHN AGYEKUM KUFFOUR.

• Salifu Dagarti 8 years ago

These fools will never listen to good advice. These "YENTIE OBIARA " fools are destroying everything.

• ZOOBIE-ZOOBIE 8 years ago

makes no sense... only to certify egotistic dead goats

• Thinking about money 8 years ago

Only thinking about your money-business man. If you care to know;most English speaking countries in Africa practice same-why Only Ghana needs change. Several factors account for the faking standard of education including par ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE........ 8 years ago

When will u stop comparing gh to mediocrity? Smh

• King Hassan II 8 years ago

Very unfortunate comment. Why can you make such a comparison? Look beyond Africa for best practices. Africa has nothing good to reckon with. Think outside the BOX my brother.

• DKB 8 years ago

Saint and King Hassan that is the problem with our people. They do not strive to be the best. They will rather compare themselves to other low achievers so they beat their chest thinking they are better than them. I can't und ...

• Kay 8 years ago

What has any African country achieved that we can be proud of. Common lights we cant produce n keep comparing us to African countries.

• Che Andrew 8 years ago

First team soccer for all first year students and their teachers so they do not have the time to study? Second term athletics for all first year students and their teachers so they do not have time to study? This is lazy argu ...

• Agyaaku 8 years ago

It is politics that is killing Ghana. The four year duration was good but for reasons known to the powers that be, it was reverted to three years without testing the system.

• Rev. 8 years ago

Alex arthur's arguments aren't sensible at all. The private schools are motivated mainly by greed. How many of these schools even have fields for soccer or other games as they want the world to believe.the private schools are ...

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Hmm, ask again ooh

• DKB 8 years ago

Review please who do you expect to pay for the maintenance of the computers in the school and the cost of the replacement computers? Where you expecting them to give the computers to the students to take home because they pai ...

• abinkyi bolar 8 years ago

u re big liar i know a student who did 4years but failed drastically.what are you saying?if your head die it die you can do 100 years you will still fail

• kb 8 years ago

Hoping the rest of the Educational system will be bold and call a spade a spade! Speak up GNAT, CHASS, GES, MOE, Council of State, etc!!

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Those "revolutionaries" (NOT academicians who converted the GCE to the so-called SSS/SHS did so out of hatred for education. They claimed they wanted graduated needed for Ghana's economy - carpenters, masons, butchers, hairdr ...

• TRUTH STANDS 8 years ago

They just want surplus students to supplement budget. Any they can make theirs different

• usa 8 years ago

Go away

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

I see no need for the Grade 9 BECE at all. Elementary school must end at Grade 8,, and the SSS be 4 years,, just as the global standard. Total pre-university education must be 12 years; not 13 years

• perii 8 years ago

Who set that global standard of 12 years UK has 13 years they still do two years A' level before going to University.On the continent students in some countries go to university at a later age.I don't think you're well inform ...

• Asem se be 8 years ago

John Mahama is doing politics with our children's future whilst he sends his children to Leicester University. If we do not rise n change the status quo , things ll never change. Rawlings did the same . Accountability Pro ...

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

JJ Rawlings created the monster called NDC and this NDC has destroyed every good thing in Ghana. Now they have specialized in organized crime, stealing from state coffers at the least opportunity. WOYOME. SADA, SUBAH, WATERVI ...

• Badohu ayivor korshi 8 years ago

There is no where on earth where people attend secondary school for four years. Don't say anything simply because you must say something

• abinkyi bolar 8 years ago

are u telling us the games u mentioned are more important than the academics?why do u use full two years for sports when u know very well that when is time for exams they re not going to play games on the paper.?what are u ta ...

• Paa Nii 8 years ago

We must revert to the former O- and A-Level system. The best system ever and accepted all over the world. All these SHS,SSS and whatever are thrash and below standard. How can one get 7 ones and not get his first choice??? Th ...

• Prof Botswana. 8 years ago

Ghana you should think of making your curriculum to be practical to make your graduate more competent and competitive internationally

• Sam 8 years ago

Because of politics. These are the same peple who said they will reduce the price of petrol drastically but rather increased it drastically. Akromfuor NDC.

• asem 8 years ago

These people are playing politics with our education. At the end of the day, most of them have their children educated abroad. Who are they toiling with? the poor Ghanaian who will say " Nyame bey3."

• Raymond Abiwu 8 years ago

Our Ghanaian leaders are Fools for destroying our educational system.
    3 year SHS is just not enough
    Seat up and analyze how poorly the students perform in their final exams.
    We as a country cannot compare our educationa ...

• Eddie One 8 years ago

Four years would be better off. The problem is that, no one wants to continue the other's project, thinking that he wouldn't get all the credibility. That is their limitations

• Joe 8 years ago

NDC intension to destroy Ghana's education is the key to getting followers. They believe the more uneducated people we have in Ghana the more they can brainwash them to follow them. If you look across the country, majority ...

• Esinam. 8 years ago

Yes, the 4 year shs is better,let us go back to it to help the students perform better.

• kate 8 years ago

you are a young woman if you have 2 children and you are to pay their school fees for 4 years then you see how difficult it is.This private schools are cheat.

• Alhassan Iddridu 8 years ago

It is a good call and I hope our leaders will heat to it.The duration is very short for the SHS students.

• Obiba OK 8 years ago

It is better we go back ro 4 years. why. Look at computerised placement system. First years reported from 1st December. They didnt do anything. Now our MPs cannot speak good english (schools of trees). Sports is very importan ...

• Enigma 8 years ago

I wholeheartedly support the request by the private SHS to revert to the four years so as to improve students performance at the WASSCE. Indeed he current three-year system is not sufficient for the completion of the volumino ...

• Rob 8 years ago

This is too much of common sense for the people running Ghana now. Ghana ranked last in the world in standardized math and science tests.

• kate 8 years ago

i believe you only want parents to pay you more money for their kids.3Years good for me as parent.my children did 3 years and they are all doing well where ever the go.stop this extortion.

• Frank 8 years ago

Pls politicians it time we think deep into the future than a mere political gains. Per what we are experiencing now the three years policy wouldn't help because the wastage of the duration(years). First years for this academ ...

• Marcus chris Lawson 8 years ago

Indeed the academic standards in my assessment has fallen so deep to the point that the quality of graduates being produced do not fit for even higher certificates
    No doubt so much cheating and copy and pate long essays and ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

It's not the number of years, but the quality of the education.

I'm a product of the 3 years and I've been able to compete with folks from around the world to the highest level of education in my field.

Also, I never at ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 8 years ago

Ridiculous! Is a whole term EVER given to soccer/athletics? No classes at all? Aren't soccer/athletics in the afternoon, after a full slate of classes? That's what it was in our days!! What's gone wrong???

• Sylvester Mensah 8 years ago

The government feels too ashamed to accept that.

• Ericus-Ericus 8 years ago

NDC do things just for politics of it but NOT for the good of people of Ghana.

• nana@ 8 years ago

Is whole term used for soccer and another whole term used for athletics, if you that why don't abolish the extra curriculum activities and concentrate on academic work.

• Oldboy 8 years ago

Students can stiil fail even if it is 10 years

• Gertrude 8 years ago

Tell the kids to stop whatsApping and facebooking at school. It distracts them. We all did 3 years but did not have whatsApp and Facebook during our time so we devoted all our time to our studies.

• Paul, uk 8 years ago

In UK, the children spend 6 years in the primary school, 5 years in high school (secondary school) and 2 years in college ( sixth form). If they pass their exams, they go to university at the age of 18 years. Suffice to say t ...

• Josh 8 years ago

Lousy analysis. You mean one whole term is used for soccer and another for Athletics? Few are capable of critical logical analysis in this country given whayviboften see on this forum

• Kay 8 years ago

Operation New voters register
    For free and fair elections