You are here: HomeNews2015 12 29Article 403911

Only graduates must be allowed in parliament – O.B Amoah

Read Comments Comments (202)

• ADE 8 years ago

THIS HAS BEEN OVERDUED.HOW CAN GHANA AT THIS AGE STILL SEND MIDDLE SCHOOL LEAVES OR CERT A TEACHERS OR O LEVEL HOLDERS TO PARLIAMENT? MOST OF THEM CANNOT TALK IN PUBLIC LEAVE ASIDE PARLIAMENT.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE........
    Under mahama leadership look at all these corrupt and embezzlement sagas: gyeeda, sada, isotope, akonfem to Burkina, bribing judges, woyome, bus redesign etc....Monthly Welfare ...

• AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago

The NPP must dissociate themselves from this stupid comment from an educated fool like O. B. Amoah. What is this big nose caricature telling Ghanaians. Look, about 90 percent of our parliamentarians are 1st degree holders and ...

• BABY FACE. 8 years ago

IS HE THE SON OF NKRUMAH'S OHENE DJAN?.THE NOSE LOOKS LIKE OHENE DJAN'S NOSE.HEY IN GHANA SO WE HAVE MORE ALLOTEY JACOBS.

• Namoale 8 years ago

Another BUSH-Parliamentarian speaking through his 'nostrils'! Why not fill the Assembly with his family members.
    In the next Gen. Election, the Aburi-Nsawan constituency must do the right thing; denied him a RETURN to parlia ...

• OYOKOBA 8 years ago

The Osei Tutus, Komfo Anokyes, Yaa Asantewas, Naa Gbewaa, Tetteh Quashies, Togbes, Naas, Nenes, Awulas, etc who established kingdoms and Ghana, never held a pen, but did awesome job than today's pen robbers many of whom have ...

• J T 8 years ago

you will be foolish to think those times are now. Amoah has a point but i think first degree is too high.- at least O level to me is fine with a pass in the English Launguage. Why English Language? Because that is the laungua ...

• the truth 8 years ago

Agbesi Kwesi, well said!!!

• fairplay 8 years ago

You may be damp right

• Aj 8 years ago

Agbesi.I can understand your points, it's shouldn't come from such a privilege lawyer like him,because l don't no which type of education he is talking about so our forefathers who were able to form as a chieftaincy systems t ...

• aikins 8 years ago

The most are from ndc.

• adams 8 years ago

Please, go and read the constitution on who qualifies to be in parliament.

Author:-Esther K, LONDON...
    The level of corruption and thievery among Mahama's relatives, members of NDC Government is such that, is it better for Ghana go into into Civil war than to allow EC and NDC to steal the people's ...

• Akhnaton 8 years ago

You are just sick in the head. U think a civil war is like eating fufu. Wishing a whole civil war for your idol, the certificateless rabble-rouser to become President. In the fig of your imagination

• PREKESE. 8 years ago

APUTOO WHAT HAS MAHAMAH DONE WITH HIS COMMUNICATION DEGREE.HE IS MORE THAN A CERTIFICATELESS PERSON.WHAT DEGREE DID NKRUMAH HAS BUT HE WAS ABLE TO UPLIFT THE NATION TO A STANDARD THAT BENEFITS ALL OF US .TELL ME WHAT HAS YOUR ...

• bont 8 years ago

stupid ashantis.you will be the first to die or runaway

• PTP. Accra 8 years ago

Thank you. This is how some Ghanaians think. They don't understand the world.
    Fools, timid and cowards

• Adam 8 years ago

Old soldier , I hope you and Esther k will be amongst the dead. Stupid boy , she's in London enjoying and telling people like you to propagate her stupidity. Why don't you come down and burn yourself like others did to show h ...

• JOHN SAIBU 8 years ago

Old Soldier. NOW We KNOW WHO YOU ARE.YOU CANNOT HIDE ANYMORE SO BE WISE. This is your only warning.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

The constitution has defined the requirement for MPs. The only additional should be the ability to read, speak and understand English Language to a level expected of an MP, bearing in mind the nature of the work. This is beca ...

Author:-Ewuntomah Braimah... This problem of fraud in NDC is a trade mark. it started when NDC prevented filling of nomination to compete with Mahama. It has reflected most of the primaries. and they call themselves Democrati ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 8 years ago

Thanks for your comments

• oppong london 8 years ago

ghana has two phds and professors as leaders ,who performed woefully .dr limann and professor jea mills couldn,t do anything for ghana.the best way is to read and write and understand it not chew and pour or buy degree to be ...

• Joe UK 8 years ago

We need people who can contribute to debates intelligently. Most of your parliamentarians are just book people.
    Copy and pass graduates.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

This OB Amoah himself behaves like he is yet to enter the classroom which makes him more illiterate than those he thinks should not be in parliament,his idea is just stupid born out of ignorance which alone shows he does not ...

• aikins 8 years ago

Corney why are you planning to go there on the ticket of ndc at Ho? I'm just asking.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

My friend,MP in Ghana is the last thing I will dream of doing,I don't want to be slave to people,I don't want people to be knocking on my door every morning or evening just because I'm their MP.

• Alhaji A Brutus Germany 8 years ago

The Chinese dont speak English in parliament but look at how fast they arecapturing the whole world

• Sankofa 8 years ago

You do not have to speak English to represent your constituents.

The ability to think critically and be responsive to the interests of your constituents is of paramount importance.

You only need fluency in a local langu ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

Sankofa, English is the language used in Parliament. Parliamentary business is in English and all bills and agreements are written and presented to the house in English and that is the need to be able to speak, read and under ...

• TARANTULA 8 years ago

Most of the people who found it wise to vote for this idiot, did not benefit from secondary, much more, higher education but yet the man turns around to insult their 'intelligence' by telling them that they are not capable of ...

• PoooPooo 8 years ago

Former British whoever was of course a white not a black African baboon!
    Infact minimum entry should be a master degree since the IQ of Ghanaians is too low.

• Pilolo 8 years ago

Some cannot even read or write properly let alone speak eloquently. How can these illiterate kumasiano MPs and the rest who are even worse pass sensible bills/laws

• Diasporan 8 years ago

English is the official language of Ghana. It is the language of education, the media and commers. It is, therefore, axiomatic that English must be the official language of parliament. It is hard to fathom how an MP can fu ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

No matter how much you hate Ashanti's , they are the wise people in ghana.
    When the Ashanti's were fighting with the whites where was the other tribes. You fools , they were there supporting the whites. The Ashanti Kingdom ...

• KOFI Dangq 8 years ago

It's your stupid believe,Ghana is not in Ashanti kingdom

• PILOLO 8 years ago

continue to spew rubbish and show your ashanti ignorance. The Ashanti tribes were killing other tribes so it was just common sense for them to join the white man to defeat their enemies who came to steal their properties and ...

• KAPO 8 years ago

Naagoode, t)) baba. Medaase woat3 barima ba kese3.

• Close Observer 8 years ago

YOU ARE AN IDIOT FOR ENGAGING IN TRIBAL DISCRIMINATION. You could have made your point without indulging in TRIBAL DISCRIMINATION. THERE ARE ILLITERATES IN EVERY TRIBE.

• Agyenim Boateng 8 years ago

I have now discovered why these guys in the NPP are killing themselves. Even though education is very important ,it gives security nobody can deny that fact, but let us not also forget that learning makes the wise , wise and ...

• Rastafara"I" 8 years ago

the havoc jj did, ts because of his low education

• JH. New York 8 years ago

l don't agree with you.It's not b'cos of education. He had not plans and the Vision to be a leader.His aim was to Clean the System and not to be the leadership he was not prepared.It was partly the mistake of Mj Boakye Gyan

• Adwen 8 years ago

JJ Rawlings came to "Clean the System"? Is the current system NOT worse off than the one you people claim he came to clean? Corruption being practiced now is over a million times worse of than in 1979. People were killed, bea ...

• the truth 8 years ago

Wow. Elitism at is highest apogee. When is this ever going to end?

Who said gaining a university degree makes one wise?

• Original Ghanaba 8 years ago

Too later. You should have told your Rawlings long time ago. Useless idea. We have too many educated illiterate graduates.

• adanko 8 years ago

WE HAVDE CHEAPENED PARLIAMENT AND THE PRESIDENCY! PEOPLE WITH NO BUSINESS SENSE WANT TO RULE GHANA. WORSE OF ALL EVEN ASSEMBLY MEN AND WOMEN WANT TO BE CALLED HONOURABLE! HONOURABLE MY FOOT!

• obroni 8 years ago

Democracy doesn't work like that, I think you need some education on democracy.
    in fact I think a literate illiterate like you who knows facts but doesn't understand them (like you) is more useless than someone who understan ...

• Godman 8 years ago

O.B Amoah,You have got it wrong this time and u have to come again.
    Who voted for you? all degree holders?
    That is why this country can't grow with honest people! Your Mother bread sell had degree? what did your father has?

• Osofo 8 years ago

Most of them who claim to be highly educated rather exhibit ignorance in parliament.

• asi 8 years ago

Ob amoah koraaa doesn't talk so well his too dull

• Akhnaton 8 years ago

The so called highly educated are the best of thieves and the worst role models

• Nana 8 years ago

Thank yu my brother God richly bless yu

• Johnny 8 years ago

Which Degrees is OB talking about?Is it the one from Kokonte,Cassava,Lapiwaa Universities?Acquisition of a degree now is so easy such that there are a lot ppl who are not intelligent holding some.Kweku Baako,Kwesi Pratt,Kwame ...

• KY 8 years ago

HE IS JSS LEVER.

• Ohene 8 years ago

we need people who can think and analyse issues on the floor, not those who walk out on debate. If a motion is to be debated you guys leave the floor, even if it is 274against one, we can say the motion was challenged.

Th ...

• Okando 8 years ago

Than this time only graduates should vote for parliamentary candidates.

• IB 8 years ago

With all your degrees, you sat and allowed these corrupt activities happen in Parliament. At-least, my illiterate mother in the village would asked serious questions on moral grounds about these criminal deals that you the g ...

• Kwaku Gbloenawo 8 years ago

If the stupidity exhibited by our parliamentarians is anything to go by then graduates must be banned from entering parliament. Who said academic knowledge is equivalent to wisdom? We need people with common sense to be in pa ...

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

At least,THINKING in the RIGHT DIRECTION !! Too many IDIOTS in Parliament who don't understand ANYTHING being debated on. Since we see being an MP as a way to REGULAR INCOME WITHOUT the necessary INPUT,the IDEA is A GOOD ONE! ...

• Che Andrew 8 years ago

O.B Amoah is such a dumb thinker he does not deserve to be in parliament. How many of these useless lawyers and graduates sit though parliamentary debates? They either boycott in bulk, or go about doing their private business ...

• asi 8 years ago

Idiot can u name them

• Tempo10 8 years ago

We need a mix of school and house sense. The so-called graduates have failed Ghana. Look at how Ghana is planned by Town and Country planning officers, they were graduates with very poor planning skills no provision for recr ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

IF EVEN THERE ARE FOOLS AMONG LITERATES, YOU CAN IMAGINE WHAT WE WOULD GET FROM ILLITERATES. Don't talk as if illiterates are wise and educated people are not. A bad government like the NDC flourishes because of illiterates w ...

• Yaw Boakye 8 years ago

Very sorry for you commints, can you tell us how many folish graduates we have in our society? We lean knowledge from school but not wisdom.

• Amidini 8 years ago

Some degree holders can't perform well and others without degree can perform more better than masters holders

• Che Andrew 8 years ago

Sometimes I just cannot believe what comes out of the mouths of these NPP chaps. The very constitution they copiously quote everyday was composed by "market women, veranda boys, and butchers" in 1992 when these book-long guys ...

• Stevie 8 years ago

Shallow mlnd there is difference between wisdom and education.The greatest of all, the U.S doesn't set standards.Remember some great men like Peter Jennins,Bill Gates and many others did not have college diplomas but have mad ...

• MIKE 8 years ago

OB AMOAH HAS ALWAYS BEEN A LIABILITY TO HIS PARTY AT ANY TY OR RADIO DISCUSSION. HE HAS NEVER SAID ANYTHING TO IMPROVE HIS PARTY'S FORTUNES. HE GOES TO PRESENT HIMSELF A DECENT PERSON. WHEN HIS OPPONENTS HITTING HIS PARTY HE ...

• Tetteh Sai 8 years ago

GHANA'S PARLIAMENT IS USELESS AS THE USELESS DEAD GOAT MAHAMA.WHAT DID THEY DO WHEN THE TESTED COCAINE TURNED INTO SODA AND OTHER THINGS? BOGUS HOUSE.

• member 8 years ago

Those who signed the $52 million dollars deal for you and your friend
    Wayome are Teachers, Middle school and Market women with no certificate. What have you the graduate offered our country. Judgements debt. You can even ...

• Paulp 8 years ago

I believe that parliamentarians need to be taken through certain courses like simple accounting procedures, the art of debating, ethics, morality, walkout procedure etc. Tools to make them actively participate in debates and ...

• Kwabena. 8 years ago

Please,it was a very lively discussion on the size of Parliament, the level of education of MPS and the hybrid system.Many agreed, others disagreed and asked for experience and knowledge because of the intellectual load. No i ...

• kwesi abban 8 years ago

first parliament did not have enough
    degree holders but it was more effective and dynamic more than the current legislature. nonesense

• Nana will lose again 8 years ago

Political intelligence is different from Book or Academic intelligence. Some illiterates are even far more politically intelligent than some graduates, masters and doctorate degreee holders. Some illiterates know how to bring ...

• Ataa Kanfla 8 years ago

But how can such persons put across their ideas in the house? We heard somebody say "trees under schools". This and many more are what we want to avoid.

• IB 8 years ago

And person who said that is a graduate of Legon and had lived in the UK for many years. Can you imaging therefore!!!!!!

• obeng mireku 8 years ago

this guy has a nose bigger than his brian

• Mr Apreko 8 years ago

That the most stupid suggestion I have heard since independence.What specific contributions have these graduates made to national development? Have not corruption and misuse of government resources increased since Rawlings br ...

• Kofi UK 8 years ago

What an idiot. This shows this man has not got a clue about politics. Even a president is the highest position of the land but requires no qualification. Don't forget that John Major and Callaghan were Prime Ministers in UK b ...

• PIOTO 8 years ago

Ghanaian graduates find a difficult way of saying simple things in English.Apart from that, everything that is suggested is theory, things that won't work practically. I totally disagree with anyone disenfranchising people on ...

• PIOTO 8 years ago

Jerry Rawlings has no degree and don't forget there are people like him in the army who are far more knowledgeable than the so called theorists that the universities are churning out. He was the best president Ghana ever had ...

• Wisa 8 years ago

I agree with OB but some people will insult him on this platform

• Sammy 8 years ago

It doesn't matter who voted for him or not. He saying the truth. At least a graduate is good. Well said .

• Pilolo 8 years ago

People are insulting OB just because they have no class one cert let alone degree. We need better people in parliament not this fools who just rubber stamp.

• Yaw Panin 8 years ago

I the prevailing condition,we need a civil war to awaken us to face realities of our nation

• PIOTO 8 years ago

It look as if you have the love of the country at heart. Especially, the children, mothers and the OAPs. You must be arrested for your comment.

• T. blay 8 years ago

Hw can an MP say it an saw whiles
    he want to say u need to witness . what english is dat .

• Jojo 8 years ago

Hon OB Amoah are you please together with your collegue Hon Ken Agyapong are graduate?
    There is different between wisdom, vision , morality and knowledge.
    You only had knowledge on one of the numerous trades or professions ...

• Anthony 8 years ago

If what OB Amoah is proposing makes sense, which I think it does, then only graduates should lead political parties or stand as independent and run in the presidential elections. My MP spoke maybe three times on the floor all ...

• STILL FAMOUS (MAJEED) 8 years ago

Is not the matter of having first degree but the matter of being competent. Someone can have first degree or any, but lack the skills of leadership while an HND holder can have such skills and can lead outstandingly. Therefo ...

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 8 years ago

THE QUALITY OF GOVERNMENT AND PARLIMENT WORK REQUIRES A HIGHER INTELLECT TO DELIVER QUALITY WORK FOR THE STATE

• ogyam 8 years ago

Can we consider using our ghanaian languages instead since parliamentarians are supposed to talk sense there especially when it comes to thinking about the welfare of the people

• OPANINPA 8 years ago

Nationa all over the world (except africa) use their native language to run their nation. However, the brainwashed African is so enamoured with the language of his slave-master, he uses that language for everything. let me as ...

• RSM. Tony 8 years ago

Graduates my foot, what can u do with ur hand as MP?parliament need technocrats not thieves like u.

• AAA 8 years ago

Eeeee OB, by extension, tell your evil dwarf, no law certificate no Presidency!!!! We cannot allow wee smokers and people who lie about their qualifications into the flagstaff house.

• STILL FAMOUS (MAJEED) 8 years ago

It is not the matter of having first degree, but the matter of being competent.Someone can have first degree or any, but lack the skills of leadership while an HND holder can have such skills and can lead outstandingly. There ...

• thinker 8 years ago

This stupid MP called O. B. Amoah must first asked himself what he has achieved for his people of Aburi/Nsawam and the people of Ghana as a whole?
    Does he know better than the Europeans and the Americans?

• KIK 8 years ago

You are just full of shit.Wisdom is the underlying factor that serves as the basis of every endeavor in life and that comes from GOD and not from any man made institution.Wake up man.

• Koo Nimo 8 years ago

If one cannot read and write how can that person take part in debate in Parliament or follow what is going on. It is time to call a spade a spade and not let persons who sit in parliament for 4 years and behave as if their m ...

• asi 8 years ago

A serious graduate should not even go nearer to parliament he is supposed to be out there exhibiting his practical skills n knowledge to solve the country's problems he Will only be lazy n do just nothing in parliament.I prop ...

• Alhassan Iddridu 8 years ago

O.B Amoah you are an MP not by virtue of your qualification or your certificates but by choice.

• JOHNSON-MADRID 8 years ago

A suitable ghanaian language must be used as our official language. E.T Mensah is fluent than many graduates in parliament . What about former president JJ ? JJ was fluent than Kufour . The is isue is not graduates MPs. Some ...

• sea blue 8 years ago

Intelligent & Smart enuff to be in GHANAs PARLIAMENT.He is just in a WRONG place.Are we now to Elect ppl familia with our Problems in our Communities AND CAPABLE OF SOLVING THEM or JUST DEGREE HOLDERS who are eager to ENRICH ...

• nana 8 years ago

O B. you are almost righ, but most people at various responsible positions are all graduates. But what do we see. Things are not working well because some of such graduates are senseless and idiots. Simply educated illiterate ...

• Ajaho 8 years ago

Amoah you are damm wrong

• aikins 8 years ago

Don't forget they speak English at our parliament.

• kb 8 years ago

We don't need MPs who will not read contracts, Bills , etc on the floor. They are too many anyway!

• Ajaho 8 years ago

Degree means nothing.

• Ajaho 8 years ago

Most of this Corrupt Ministers are all graduates who have messed the Country

• Ajaho 8 years ago

Omane Boamah, Okodjeto all this guys are Legon product What do we see Coruption

• Chris Kwame Awuyah 8 years ago

Qualification to be eligible for Ghana’s parliament
    With all due respect, Hon. Amoah ought to rethink his arbitrary benchmark of a university degree as minimum criterion to be in Ghana's parliament. There is presumption th ...

• Alhassan Iddridu 8 years ago

O.B Amoah did your party NPP consider this when NPP appointed Jake a cabinet minister? What is his (Jake) highest qualification? Where were you (O.B)

• King solo 8 years ago

O b amoah , what have u so call graduate achieve for de nation Ghana, ur big head no sense in it, even we illiterate are wiser than u,idiot

• Souljah 8 years ago

Idiot!

• Kbee 8 years ago

Ei OB is you bring this, NDC will not get parliamentarians oh. People like Afotey Agbo will be disqualified with their Form Four Living Certficates oh. Oyiwa, NDC will suffer papaaapa.

• FIIFI, LONDON 8 years ago

SERIOUSLY, THIS IS LONG OVERDUE. THERE ARE SOME BASIC INTELLECTUAL QUALIFICATIONS WHICH HEED TO BE ATTAINED TO UNDERSTAND PARLIAMENTARY PROCEDURES AND ARGUMENTS. ITS COME TO A SITUATION WHERE WEALTH IS THE BASIC QUALIFICATION ...

• NA 8 years ago

This is a bad idea. Should Ghanaians be able to read, write and speak English before they are able to vote? Voters pick people who can govern. Obtaining a degree does not translate into being capable of governing. Being educa ...

• SANTA 8 years ago

O.B. AMOAH's STATEMENT REEKS OF THE ELITISM WHICH HIS PARTY STANDS FOR - LEFT TO THEM ALONE, EDUCATION WOULD BE THE PRESERVE OF A FEW... NO WONDER THEIR PARTY HAS ITS ROOTS IN THE "INTELLIGENTSIA"
    WHAT DOES THE CONSTITTUTION ...

• thinker. 8 years ago

foolish, foolish ,foolish man talking of degree.where are your parents. idiots. Parliament, majority Carrie's the vote.so what at all is he goat talking about. so without degree u can't construct road,schools, etc.black man.

• Victor Baidoo, SA 8 years ago

O. B Amoah, what are you asking for? The non-degree holders sometimes perform far better than those holding 2nd and even 3rd degrees. Kutu Acheampong, Afrifa and J.J Rawlings were non-degree holders (some of them did not even ...

• Naa Shika 8 years ago

Civil war??????? re-think

• IB 8 years ago

Meant "the MP who said trees under schools" let me correct myself before the Queen's people attacks me......Hahahaha

• Ras 8 years ago

Nonsense!Where from this?

• Kay boy 8 years ago

So that the graduates can go there and steal? Why not only PhD? There should be a respect for all cuz your graduation doesn't mean u are a sensible. The best family for this yr is not a graduate ,where were the graduates. Do ...

• NANA USA 8 years ago

OB l support your ideas there must be entry requirements not just anybody bcos he's rich or the area is npp or NDC then he shd go.Again if you have not done political science you must stay away. Back to the government presid ...

• PARKA 8 years ago

IT IS OK TO BE A UNIVERSITY GRADUATE BUT LET ME TELL YOU THAT SOME EXCEPTIONAL PEOPLE DON'T NEED TO BE GRADUATE TO HOLD POSITIONS. INSTEAD OF O B AMOAH, USING HIS UNIVERSITY KNOWLEDGE IN FINDING OUT WHY AND HOW NON-GRADUATES ...

• PARKA 8 years ago

HAHA

• Mensah 8 years ago

90% of political appointees are graduates.What intellectual benefits have we gained as a nation from them.OB,you're a graduate;what did Ghana gain from you when you were a minister of state.

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

FRITZ BAFFOURS VIEW WAS REASONABLE,THAT IS,IT HAS TO BE LEFT TO THE POLITICAL PARTIES TO SELECT VERY GOOD AND INTELLIGENT PEOPLE TO REPRESENT THEIR CONSTITUENCIES IN PARLIAMENT,

ON GRADUATES,THAT IS SIMPLY WRONG AND OUT OF ...

• EMILE NY USA 8 years ago

OB you performed poorly in school lucky boy to graduate look here WE figure out JERRY RAWLINGS HE speaks english better than you and most professors and very intelligent look here most American best legislators are social wor ...

• ATINGA 8 years ago

DONT YOU KNOW THAT YOUR SO-CALLED GRADUATES,DOCTORS AND PROFESSORS ARE THE WOES OF OUR DEAR COUNTRY GHANA! THEY ARE THE THIEVES AND COORR--UUUP--TTTT PEOPLE. THEY ARE NOT HONEST TO THEMSELVES. SO WHAT IS THIS MORON PROPAGATIN ...

• Sankofa 8 years ago

With such fools as Amoah in parliament is it any wonder that the House isnot particularly effective in promoting good governance?

How can you deny the majority of our people who are not graduates the opportunity to represe ...

• ALI 8 years ago

I AGREED WITH YOU. SOME OF THEM CLAIMED TO DEGREE IN BASIC CHILD EDUCATION WHICH THEY CANNOT GO FOR THE CERTIFICATE. I WILL PLEAD WITH THEM TO GO AND RE-WRITE THEIR REFERRER PAPERS SO THAT THEY CAN COLLECT THEIR CERT.

• The truth 8 years ago

Stop that book book natter

• Abbey osu 8 years ago

He is saying these when si call high educated are rather failing the country.

• Ike London 8 years ago

Not all educated folks are intelligent. Look at someone like Mahama he is educated fool thief corrupt and incompetent.

• inercycl 8 years ago

Then only degree holders should be allowed to vote because they might understand the issues at stake.Problem in our economy is not who is able to bla-bla the most in parliament, but rather who makes sense of what they say.Whe ...

• Jojo 8 years ago

WHO ARE THESE GRADUATES WHO SHOULD CONSTITUTE THE PARLIAMEBT OF GHANA.

GHANA HAD MANY OF THESE GRADUATES IN PARLIAMENT,KUFFOUR,KYERAMATAN APPRAKU,MARFO,HACMANN,NDOUM BARTELS,OCQUAH,EFFA DARTEY, PROFESSORS, BAFFOUR, KUFFOUR ...

• members. 8 years ago

if graduates should only go to parliament ,then graduates should only VOTE TOOO, its unfortunate people only think of them selves, shame unto u oooooo.Ghanaians

• Bulldog 8 years ago

Poor Africans always hiding behind education and not the content or quality of your character. Pity Ghanaians having a former minster talk this trash. Majority of Ghanaians don't have degrees. This is showing disrespect to ...

• truth 8 years ago

book knowledge. Don't insult him. Elect folks with wisdom not knowledge.

• perii 8 years ago

Go an tell this to the British people and they will tell you John Major was a failure.that is the problem we had and still have most of the people who went to the first parliament were semi illiterates and poor people who wer ...

• Mr Ibrahim Cocaine Mahama 8 years ago

The educated class have failed us over and over again. Let us try farmers and others. Morover, they can't do any worse. The educated class have failed us over and over

• Bright Boadu 8 years ago

THIS MAN MUST BE SERIOUSLY STUPID. DOES HE KNOW AND UNDERSTAND THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN AN INTELLECTUAL AND ACADEMICIAN? MR.O B AMOAH IS COMPLETELY NAIVE AND AN IGNORANT GRADUATE. YOUR OPINION IS TOLERABLE BUT USELESS , NONSE ...

• me 8 years ago

Every job must have standards and, parliament being the highest law making body in Ghana must set up one. I believe that we even must raise it to only masters degree holders minimum.

• Kwasi 8 years ago

So OB is not aware that there are thousands of graduate who cant not put simple words together to form a single meaningfull sentence,

• Sagba 8 years ago

I'm very, very sad to hear silly things coming from a man who call himself "Honourable"......Only NPP members that can insult Ghanaians this way......I hope Ghanaians are taking notices of their utterances come 2016 general e ...

• Komla 8 years ago

O.B. point well noted. But please in terms of percentage ratio what is the prove that 1st degree holders are helping mother Ghana that the so call certificate A etc. Even the Norway Prime Minister is a pupil teacher but his d ...

• LETTRUTHPREVAIL 8 years ago

Reflection of NPP thoughts!
    Something similiar was proposed by the UGCC arm chair politicians, when Nkrumah and the masses were fighting for Independence for this country that they were elites and a common man without educa ...

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

This sounds like the same story the UGCC was propagating at independence.
    Lawyers to rule the country. Except for Dr Nkrumah who was not a lawyer, all the other 5 were lawyers.

I find this suggestion very discriminatory a ...

• Ekow Jones 8 years ago

The educated people have failed the country very badly. We have ministers with first degrees, masters, PHDs and Profs what have they achieved? Our uneducated women at the market, fishermen and the farmers are mo ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

That would effectively have eliminated empty-heads like barber ET Mensah, who had the guts to even accept positions as a Minster of State. Any wonder some of the MPs are agitating for a local language as a medium of communica ...

• KUSASI 8 years ago

BRO FRITZ IT IS TRUE JOHN MAJOR DID NOT HAVE A DEGREE BUT HE HAD A PROFESSIONAL BANKING QUALIFICATION. BUT U SHOULD ALWAYS REMEMBER THAT THE QUALITY OF EDUCATION IS ALWAYS HIGHER IN THE UK THAN OUR PART OF THE WORLD. U LIVED ...

• The Don 8 years ago

OB something come again wai. then u must as well advocate for people with doctorate and those who have attained their professor should come to parliament what an idea. What do u in parliament as OB Amoatemaa. absolutely noth ...

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

OB has one eye as an MP but u are allowed to be an MP in Ghana , US or Britain dont hv one eye MP

• jam 8 years ago

Yes, that's why u hear jokers like Kwame Jokoto aka efiewura wanting to be in parliament. Aaaah may God help Ghana

• DON 8 years ago

GHANA IS GOING DOWN BECAUSE ANY UNDUCATED PERSON CAN SAY ANY ROT IN THE HOUSE WITHOUT UNDERSTANDING THEN THEY ANNOUNCE STUPID THINGS ON FM IN TWI TO CONFUSE THE PUBLIC

• Don't talk 8 years ago

We cannot Ghana money for you O.B to chop. Degree without thinking is null.See ur baloon noise.

• Joe 8 years ago

If comedians even want to go to parliament, what good quality are we going to have? Parliament is a serious business and not for popular people. The voters should not look at just the party affiliation but the quality one br ...

That's what the Ghanaian who cannot read and write any of his own local language, yet calls himself educated know how to do best;distinctions and nothing else! I had said Several times on this forum that, academic paper Degre ...

• Igp 8 years ago

The presiding Premier of India did not complete high school. Look at his profile for the records. Amoah you are an example of a low information MP who does not do his homework before speaking. Amoah you are a useful idiot in ...

• HMMM the crusader. 8 years ago

WHAT HAVE THE BOOKLONG SO FAR ACHIEVED FOR THE NATION? APART FROM THE DIRTY DEALS AND THE DUBIOUS CONTRACTS ? IS LEGON EXP.NOT PRODUCING PEN CROOKS? WE NEED BRAINY AND PETROTICS TO BUILD GHANA NOT COPPY CUTS IDIOTIC ALIBABAS ...

• Joe Mcking, UK 8 years ago

If you want to be a lawmaker in GH, it will make sense to have a degree which by reference would mean one's ability to read and understand English, the official language. There are many that have never opened their mouths sin ...

Joe Mcking,if one has Uni Degree; is good but it does not make Sense that all our MP's should have a Uni -qualification.If an MP has a English language barrier

Joe Mcking,if one has Uni Degree; is good but it does not make Sense that all our MP's should have a Uni -qualification.If an MP has a English language barrier,why do you think the person should be not be allowed to express ...

..should not be allowed to express...

• FUFUO DADESEN 8 years ago

''GRADUATE'' THE NEW EUPHEMISM FOR LEARNING TO LIE PROPERLY AND BE DYE-IN THE-WOOL PARTISAN- CORRUPT......REPRESENTATION AND MAJORITY RULES!!!!!....ASSHOLE

• kuku 8 years ago

the problem with parliament and the people are one in the same... everyone has an opinion and everyone is a critic, but there's no one actively planning for anything and even worse no one putting anything into action. lets be ...

• Bilal Adams 8 years ago

I cannot doubt the negative intentions of O.B. Amoah. He definitely knows how this can be exploited to malign his party, that had already been branded as elitist. Yet, he chose to say this at this wrong time. God redeem the N ...

• adanko 8 years ago

Oh. OB why do you want to destroy the NPP with this most divisive and irresponsible statement? Invariably what you are saying is that non degree holders have no sense. Are implying that kweku baako cannot be an effective MP? ...

• Sam 8 years ago

You're dead wrong! You don't need bachelor's degree to be a parliamentarian. Some diploma and certificates holders are wiser and more intelligent than some PhD holders.

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

STUPID. THE MIDDLE SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE(STANDARD 7 )-1940 TO 1970 IS HIGH IN QUALITY THAN TODAY'S BOOKLONGS

• ato kwamina U.S 8 years ago

What language does China,France and Russia speak in their parliament?yet they are more developed than us,we should sometimes speak our local language to confuse the Whiteman

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

HAVING ONLY GRADUATES AS MP WILL WORSEN THE SLAVE MENTALITY OF GHANIANS, BECAUSE MOST GRADUATES STOP THING AS SOON AS THEY GET THE CERTIFICATES!! THE PHD ONES ARE DISASTROUS MOSTLY!!!!

• Free Voter 8 years ago

The problem is about the voters and not the parliamentarians.

• Mark croffie 8 years ago

I started to read the comments but u have stopped. Who is a graudute?An African graudute thinks in someone's else language and is that smartness for parliament???funny to be black is like a curse , a graduate is obtains a cer ...

Even if one is going to the Moon, (excuse my word)English is required up to O'Level or SSS Level.So why is that Knucklehead O B Amoah think an MP should have Uni Degree to enter Parliament.Some Ghanaian Uni Scholars want the ...

• Unclefi 8 years ago

This is a very polite and beautiful way of saying that many Ghanaians are dumb and that being a graduate offers a bit of hope that the man in parliament stands some chance of knowing what is going on in the house.

• Barnes 8 years ago

My 100% support for that!!!!

• David, Lapaz 8 years ago

Being a graduate doesn't mean u will offer better idea.We work with common sense.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Being a graduate does not confer wisdom.

• Yaw 8 years ago

You are stupid

• Owuraku 8 years ago

One do not need to speak and write English to be came an MP. We have our own dialect and I think English should be abolish from Ghana parliament and schools in general as first language. Look India, China, Malaysia they were ...

• ato kwamina U.S 8 years ago

Apostle kojo sarfo has a vision than all members of parliament

• Agyapa 8 years ago

Does this man know the number leaders in the advance world that had no university education? This man should encourage free education up to university standard instead of trying to insult deep knowledgeable people of the whol ...

• The Advocate 8 years ago

If you can pay what? people are in parliament but cannot make any meaningful input and is attributed to their educational background. l support the idea for quality legislation.

• The Advocate 8 years ago

It is not every graduate that has good pass. Some even have Third Class and they want to lead Ghana. ebee!

• slimmart1.. 8 years ago

Being educated does not make one wise. And that is reflected in the statement by this O.B. AMOAH character who calls himself an MP. He is a complete idiot with a warped sense of self-importance. In other words, he is saying t ...

• Valor 8 years ago

Is anybody suggesting that OBA is in the 2020 brigade? Watch out!

• Freddie 8 years ago

These type of comments is very typical of the Nasty people's party so no wander.

• PAUL ORLEANS LINDSAY 8 years ago

TOTAL IRRESPONSIBLE STATEMENT

• ning prampram 8 years ago

yes somebody like e.t mensah he speak english like prampram laguege

• mabel 8 years ago

U are a fool what happened when the chiefs were ruling?there is difference b/n knowledge and wisdom any fool can acquire knowledge.dont u now degree are sold in ghana?

• Isa 8 years ago

THEN GHANA WOULD BE HAVING ALL THIEVES IN PARLIAMENT.

• douglas 8 years ago

intelligence is not a replication of high education. some of you MPs have master but can't take decisions to this country well. better think of how u can correct the shame and corrupt acts that u mps can't make active laws t ...

• Steve 8 years ago

You are idiot, and only idiot people like you can talk like this.

• Lucky -ny 8 years ago

Most of the Graduates we have now can't even speak GOOD ENGLISH.

• Hans Antwi 8 years ago

I stand with Barfour

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

Nonsense and Stupidity.

• moses 8 years ago

graduates in stlien

• jah1. 8 years ago

A LIFE DOG IS BETTER THAN A DEAD LION,SEE THEM FIGHTING FOR POWER AND KNOWING NOT THE HOUR.

• goodman 8 years ago

Say only intelligent people should be allowed in parliament not graduates one can be graduate and same a fool.