You are here: HomeNews2015 12 23Article 402781

Exposed: Kumasi Rattray Park costs KMA $4.4M

Read Comments Comments (81)

• Betsy 8 years ago

So, assuming the Assembly makes GHC17,000 in revenues on "some" weekends or let's say conservatively GHC30,000 (about $7,500) per week, how long before the $4.4 million is paid off? And this does not include operating costs.

• joe 8 years ago

52 weeks a year, it would be paid off in 2 to 5 years

• don`t care © !!! 8 years ago

all the regions deserve a modern amusement center; 4 the seek of our children...the benefits outweigh the cost....except the present one is build @ a wrong place...due 2 bigotry politics, most in that region will Poo/Poop it ...

• OSEI 8 years ago

AT FIRST IT WAS NO PERFORMANCE NOW OVER INFLATING:

• OSEI 8 years ago

CORRECTION

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-NOKWARE...
    You better come out now or never. 2016 is turning or boiling point in Ghana. You are the QUEEN BEE or the Queen mother. If you are not careful, you will ignite the burning bush.
    Have you heard of Justic ...

• METCHEEEEEW 8 years ago

What do you mean by wrong place? This project wasn't the dream of your government it was the dream of the assembly and go back to read the story. They used internally generated funds and World bank funds, does your MMDCE has ...

• ghananiba 8 years ago

It is a good project but unfortunately in this country, our finishing touches always leave a lot to be desired. The surrounding areas outside look so unkempt. The Assembly will do well to tidy the outside perimeters. Thank ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

at this rate if you factor in the interest rates you will need more than 1000 weeks or a little less than 20 years to pay back , check your arithmetic

Ivor Greenstreet said directly to President John Mahama and Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur that: “You don’t care”.

“Nobody is feeling your better Ghana”,

In the full glare of the President, Vice Presid ...

• AsemAsa 8 years ago

And so you are suggesting we do nothing because of cost... let me tell you this ,that the world will end some day and all debt becomes bad debt or irrelevant, so do what can to benefit our generation wai.

• GH talking 8 years ago

JOe... You must work for the mathematics department of NDC University...

2 to 5 years??

17000 cedis some weekends. You know what.... lets say the make 25K cedis a week. 25K cedis at FX of 3.8 is approx. 6500 dollars a w ...

• Luther King 8 years ago

Wired thinking. Is it only the payback period? U forgot that part of the 4.4m will come back to govt as tax. The project is going to create employment for ppl working there, family's are going to have a state of the art recre ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

"But project cost remains unknown until now with some assembly members agitating over City Mayor’s refusal to furnish them with how much the assembly has spent on it".

In the light of the above statement, are you saying ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

Ignorance and utmost stupidity are the main reason Ghana remains backward.

Are you telling us that a project that costs $4.4 million with 17,000 cedis cash flow per week will be paid off in 2 to 5 years? Do you know the ex ...

• EFO 8 years ago

MAHAMAN CORRUPTION LEGACY ON THE RISE DAY-TO-DAY

Author:-BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, T ...

• PRINZY@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

Boys Abrë: The President utterances really show he's tire. Nothing is working under his gov't. Corruption, Incompetence, Mismanagement, & Over infilating project, have become his lagacy. He has reverse the Economy from 14% t ...

• pk 8 years ago

What about the amusement and leisure it provides which are invaluable. A descent play park for kids to look forward to on weekends. Just amazing. Play is healthy and priceless. The park is an asset and Kumasi residents should ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

OUR KIDS IN NORTH AND VOLTA LIE ON THEIR BELLIES ON THE FLOOR TO WRITE AND LEARN YET MASSIVE LOOTING IS GOING ON DAILY...Whilst It Is The Paramount Duty Of Every Govt To Ensure The Security Of Its Citizen, When U Come To Ghan ...

• Esi 8 years ago

Seriously speaking what kind of legacy are we leaving for our kids!

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

Ndc voters and leadership think support for a political party simply means DO-ME-I-DO-YOU...But this is sheer stupidity of the highest level bcos its Ghana that ends up the loser and our kids who even end up the worst losers ...

• David 8 years ago

Are you a quantity surveyors? What is your benchmark against which you are measuring relative cost.
    Just screaming everything as expensive is getting stupid

• nana yaw 8 years ago

I'm no Ndc sympathizer but I gotta give it up for dis man...He's doing some great work in kumasi

• YB 8 years ago

Please don't say what you don't know. Better come to Kumasi and ask. The man has made many lives miserable in Kumasi. Many have lost their jobs and capital because whatever project he embarks is informed by cosmetic politicki ...

• SANTROFI 8 years ago

IF THE COST OF THE PROJECT WAS NOT MENTIONED,WHY THEN THE HEAD LINE?MISCHIEF OR INSANITY?

• Okyere 8 years ago

I agree with u, the sound like there's a corrupt deal inside

• Carol 8 years ago

Kojo bonsu has his heart in the right place. Provided all he is doing is paying for itself in the long run not bleeding Ghana dry.This is a progressive individual who wants to leave a legacy to the asante people. He needs to ...

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

I wholly agree with you Carol. If what the writer says is true, then Kojo Bonsu has done a good job and must be commended. For the project to be touted as the est in West Africa speaks volumes. At least the structure is there ...

• Kweks 8 years ago

This park is beautiful. Money well spent. We need more projects like this in Accra to beautify this crappy city

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 8 years ago

I guess this is another example of the benefits of colonialism, first there was George Bush highway, now Rattray Park, neo-colonialism is the order of the day in Ghana, thanks to NPP & NDC the two leading neo-colonialist part ...

• max france. 8 years ago

even if it cost more than that , it is a good project rather than fmr. pres, pictures posted on buses for ghc. 3.6mll.well done mr. mayor.

• K K 8 years ago

Charcoal Seller,
    No one stops you from building your own edifices wherever you want.

The use of Rattray's name is strategic. That name will most likely to attract UK tourists who will spent pound sterling there.

George ...

• kofi,london 8 years ago

-Thanks KK . Some Ghanaians are just stupid.They just criticise for crticising sake.

• My Opinon 8 years ago

Charcoal Seller is right, why name the park after some foreign citizen who never contributed a "Dime" to this project. Yes George Bush highway may make sense 'cause of the 100% funding from the US government through Mr Bush, ...

• Ike London 8 years ago

NDC LOOTING BRIGADE EVERY WHERE THEY STEAL.GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL .

• Kwasi Poku 8 years ago

What are our Priorities as a country? The other day I saw a picture of school children sitting on cement blocks, using same as tables and studying under wooden sheds. What are our priorities, my people?

• Asante 8 years ago

NPP, solve your problems and go to the villages and campaign and stop these useless propaganda because it will not win you power.
    Now every project is not good. Why? Go to Kumasi and check how the people are enjoying the par ...

• K K 8 years ago

Not sure you're "Asante". Are your so envious you had to borrow such majestic name that fits you not?

• Yaw Amofa 8 years ago

$4.4 million is peanuts if we want development in this bloody country. Only fools will be sighting we need cladsrooms, hospital beds etc. Why we spent our entire GDP on education and health? If citizens have good recreation, ...

• Ghost of Atta Mills 8 years ago

I think you will need to review your thesis. If politicians tell you they are spending "the entire GDP on education and health" and you believe them then you have a problem. How many schools do we have in Gh, compared to the ...

• METCHEEEEEW 8 years ago

Why do you use the names of those you hate and envy to your bones but unfortunately the names exposes you that it doesn't fit you , because of your shallow mind and thinking. Who told you to use Yaw Amofa such a majestic name ...

• The truth 8 years ago

Kk being Asante means what? Tribalistic people. How do u people see yourselves? That you own Ghana or what?

• Asante 8 years ago

Why do you have to think that all Asantes are NPP. Is Akuffo and his henchmen Asantes?
    Naniama

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 8 years ago

HMMMMM MAHAMA THIEF HERE THIEF THERE,OOOH GHANA ASEM NIE??

• Dr Tony 8 years ago

Do you want to keep your business at the top?
    Do
    you want to obliterate your competitors? We
    offer
    solutions that will keep your business growing
    from strength to strength.We enable you to
    Increase your wealth tremendou ...

• Real package 8 years ago

TRAVEL AND WORK IN MALDIVES ,PANAMA AND CHINA
    DO YOU DREAM OF WORKING OUTSIDE GHANA AND EARN 1,350USD PER MONTH ,DO YOU WANT TO BE A TOUR GUIDE ,WORK IN THE HAROUR AND GO TO SCHOOL AT THE SAME TIME ,WE HAVE JUST ARRIVE ...

• Me 8 years ago

Great wise Kufuor; I admire your intelligence
    kufuor will not make reference to Nana, rather h
    intelligently chooses to say the NPP because Nana is
    not the right person even if Mahama is to go. kufuor
    doesn't say ghanaian ...

• Nana Antwi 8 years ago

At 17,000 cedis income some weekend's it will take 18years to recover the cost of the Park. If it were a loan at 28% interest it will take 24 years. So Millennium Mayor2, is this your wisest investment option - a recreation p ...

• KAAJI 8 years ago

You and Otumfuo just came for your stomach .That is the reason for your appointment.You guys will soon your smoothest level

• Quality Toner Refill 0244523451 8 years ago

Canon ir 2016 copier in a very good condition for sale.
    We also have the following printers
    Canon MF 7330 (IR 2020)
    HP laserjet P1102
    HP laserjet P1006
    HP laserjet 2420
    Call 0244523451

• KOFI 8 years ago

FOR RENT:SHORT/LONG
    2&1 ROOMS WITH A/C.,SLIDING GLASS WINDOWS,SARELLITE/CABLE TV LINK ETC. IN TANTRA HILLS

CALL: 026 471 6238

• Ernest 8 years ago

Whoever designed the above headline has no business in journalism. Thrash, thrash, thrash!

• Marquis 8 years ago

The headline is not in consonant with the contents. Bad journalism. As if Kojo is been led to the slaughter.

• YAHAYA M. IBRAHIM 8 years ago

CORRUPTION OR .NO CORRUPTION WE WILL VOTE FOR HUMBLE MAHAMA.NPP CAN TAKE ALL SOCIAL MEDIA TO SABOTAGE MAHAMA BUT THEY WILL STILL LOOSE MASSIVELY IN 2016. OPERATION 7MILLION VOTES FOR MAHAMA

• DEDLIVE 8 years ago

BE TRUTHFUL .BAD IS BAD AND GOOD IS GOOD . TOO MUCH BAD BY THE NDC

• Colonel 8 years ago

Very stupid article. If the park even cost $5M so what ? Some journalists must stop this sensationalism .

• Adam 8 years ago

So what?

• Kwadjo 8 years ago

I dey feel ghana waa. Massa this be corporate chop chop rough. fire burn you all

• The truth 8 years ago

Good job done by the assembly, the cost befits such a park .Ghanaians like complaining about cost too much. I don't mean to say that costs which are inflated shouldn't be scrutinized but if any good development is provided, p ...

• dedehene 8 years ago

Enemies of progress will say anything to undermine national development. Shame on you all.Happy Holidays

• STEFAN 8 years ago

My name is STEFAN,and I
    base in USA...
    My life is back!!!
    MY STORY
    After 2 years of Broken marriage,
    my wife left me with two kids .
    I felt like my life was about to end i
    almost committed suicide, i was emotionally
    d ...

• NURU 8 years ago

At least it's a far better investment providing employment to many and serving various purposes as well as beautifying the Ksi. Meanwhile 3.6 million cedis is being paid by government for putting faces of presidents on 116 ca ...

• HMMM the crusader. 8 years ago

Hmmm KOJO KANING BA KSI YE YENYINAA DEA SO FOLLOW NOT THIS CORRUPTION IFECTEDGUYS AND SELL YOUR DIGNITY THE OKANING PRIDE STAY FOCUS AND GOD BLESS YOU.AMEN

• DerDieDas.@KÖLN 8 years ago

Mahama corruption lagacy has yielded food and the results are: Ameri deal, Kumasi Airport, Rattary Park, MetroMass Bus reblanding, Sada, Geeda, Wayomi c50 Million. All of the above money stolen could have save ghana from what ...

• Justice 8 years ago

Incompetence in this government is too much....Politicians must be called to order...They have the evil mind to contract loan and share amongst demselves but not to bring ideas to create businessess to sustain de economy...o ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

But what should have been the cost? NPP will never tell you. What matters to them is criticism and opposition to everything good thing.

NPP, the party of NO! NPP, the Obstructionists!

• Cojo, Germany 8 years ago

Oh Ghana!! why not use the park to honour our proud patriotic ghanaians? It's shameful.

• Odeneho Nana-Osei 8 years ago

If you go to london or England there is no projet that is name after ghanaian or assanttee kings.so if ther is a projett in Kumasi,we have too name it after one of the kings in Asante,not Captain Rattray from scottish.

• Odeneho Nana-Osei 8 years ago

If you to london or england,you will not see any projet name after any Asante King,so if there is a projet in Kumasi, we have to name it after one of the Kings of Asante kings,and not a scottish captain?.The colonial days are ...

• Konta 8 years ago

Please don't expect anything more. I b the civilized world parks and recreation are free to the public including museums. It is for our children and adults. This is the best project ever happened in Ghana

• Konta 8 years ago

It worth it. Have you travel led overseas before

• Aba 8 years ago

The city is spending this for park where kids share one item. Visit the schools and see how many kids are sitting on one chair. We Know the money came from the Rattray family so stop lying to the people. What about pictures o ...

• JJ 8 years ago

Trainee thiefman trained by No1 Comander in Thief and mentor Ibrahim Mahama

• BLACK STAR COAST 8 years ago

IN NO WHERE IN,THE WESTERN WORLD,THESE EUROPEANS SHALL NAMED,ANY SPECIAL PLACE,OR THING,WITH AN AFRICAN NATIVE NAME,

• David 8 years ago

Have we all suddenly become quantity surveyors because of election. We scream at cost as if we the people in charge are not legit

• pk 8 years ago

The first of its kind in the sub-region. Well done KMA boss and team. Advertise abroad. People may choose Kumasi Rattray over more distant amusement parks.

• Kwaku Mensah, Sibinso, Ghana 8 years ago

The truth is this bull-shit Mahama administration must be thoroughly audited before things get out of hand and before next year's election. This is absolutely looting spree and it's unacceptable. Eeei boi, everyone in this go ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Why can we not appreciate the good work been done for our great city-OSEIKROM? How much is this money and what had been done there. I have not seen it but I think that a good work is done there.

• National Agenda 8 years ago

NDC is only doing "Inflate and Chop Projects" at the detriment of the ordinary Ghanaian. Kwadwo Bonsu is a wicked person.

• kofi Prince 8 years ago

Eeii Tarkwa Nsuaem Municipal Assembly,yooo