You are here: HomeNews2015 12 15Article 401035

Cut number of MPs by half – Kan Dapaah

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Kabonga 8 years ago

I support you 100percent

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

No, support him by 1 million percent. We don't even need 105 MPs. 20 MPs will be more than enough. Papa Jerry had no MPs before the 92 constitution but performed far better than the constitutional period. What do most of the ...

• NB 8 years ago

They can`t even read thru a contract or do background check. Employing these people is just a ploy to syphone Money meant for our children and hospitals away to the crooks who even dont attend Parliament.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

AUTHOR: NDC-------
    If presidency was just borrowing to build bridges, construct roads, and schools then any IMBECILE can become president, but Mahama and his government can't use their brains to transform the economy to crea ...

• True True 8 years ago

Brilliant suggestion! A whole lot of waste, I mean human waste in our parliament. Then also most of the deputies are unnecessary - just job for the boys. May be, Ghana needs a hOT revolution to streamline rough edges!

• OBRONIBA FITAFITA 8 years ago

These MPs just pass through open door process which allows them free access to our coffers and control of fate without first being investigated for past wrongdoings. They spend lots of money to win seats with intent to enrich ...

• Pilolo 8 years ago

Kwasia if the money is not enough who forced MPs to campaign and make promises? It is only fools who will spend money they don't have. MPs in Ghana do nothing apart sharing money here and. This fool should give us a break. No ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE(OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: VOICE OF REASON------Apart from being incorruptible,Akuffo-Addo has the brains,he has the passion,he has the pedigree,he has the panache,he has the diplomacy,he has the gravitas,he has the love for country to make gh ...

• EH 8 years ago

WE NEED UNIGOV WITH 100 MPS. 10 FROM EACH REGION WITH ACCRA, ASHANTI AND NOW WERSTERN REGION BEING THE INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL HUBS HAVING 11 MPS. VOTING WILL NOT BE ON PARTY PLATFORM, SELL YOURSELF YOUR HONESTY AND COMPETE ...

I am wondering, is in the constitution that the MP attends funeral also?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Yet the fools will insult, fight and even kill on their behalf. They shall still vote for them and complain of unemployment and DUNSOR. That is why sometimes I say Ghana is not matured for Western style of Democracy.

• Isaac Clifford Ayifah 8 years ago

Thank you! Very intelligent person!

• ALI 8 years ago

THEY HAVE PROJECTED THEMSELVES LIKE THAT.

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

No

• vci 8 years ago

You are spot on Mr Dapaah. That was why it should not have been increased from to 200 to 275. It simply increases the tax burden. Am sure we can reduce the deficit by your suggestion

• Al Hajj A A A -Rashid. 8 years ago

I don't think we need more than 50 MPs. Five from each region. Period!

• Moshie Kokonte 8 years ago

50 is even too generous. How about 2 from each region making a total of twnety. I bet they will be more productive than the battalion of MPs we have right now.

• kutsii 8 years ago

I agree with intoto. 13 MPs for Gt Accra , 12 for Ashanti, and 10 MPs each for the rest of the 7 regions all totalling 105. The most annoying thing is that most of the MPS are bench warmers and 'they' also milk the state fr ...

• OPANINPA 8 years ago

SO THEY NATION MUST PAY FOR YOUR FUNERAL DONATIONS? THIS COULD ONLY COME FROM KAN DAPAAH, EX-NPP MP.

• Kojo, Cape Coast 8 years ago

A good one there.

• Alfred 8 years ago

Indeed, you are an honorable personality who thinks about Ghana.Very good suggestion and worthy of consideration.However the current salary level of MPs is relatively better and still far higher than the national average fo ...

• Mensah 8 years ago

Good start-I totally agree with you on the nujber of MPs. Its going to be tough cutting back on this number. Which constituencies will go? Which politician is bold enough to attempt this? The best for us now is to CAP it. Mak ...

• Yaw Nantwi 8 years ago

I will mobilize signatures for your suspension. I suspect you are saying this because Nana Addo is going to win parliament by a landslide and will beat Kufour in the number of Parlimentary seats. You want to cut his glory, so ...

• MARTIN KWABENA ARMOO 8 years ago

LOOK AT ANOTHER FOOLISH MAN; HOW MANY CHILDREN GO TO SCHOOL WITHOUT SCHOOL UNIFORM AND LEARNING MATERIALS, TALKING ABOUT SCHOOL UNDER TREES, HOSPITAL BEDS, MATERNITY WARDS, TO MENTIONED A FEW AND YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT INCREAS ...

• MARTIN KWABENA ARMOO 8 years ago

HE IS NOT THINKING OF WHAT HE CAN DO THE GHANA BUT HOW MUCH HE CAN GIVE TO MAKE HIMSELF KNOWN AS A GOOD MAN TO MAKE HIM POPULAR

• Jizzimaramzy 8 years ago

Well,I agree with you but I think funeral s and things are lauxery. They should be paid from your own pocket not the tax payer's money.

• Jizzimaramzy 8 years ago

Funeral and other donations are not part of the constitution

• Titus 8 years ago

if you're doing the right thing would they be chasing you people. it is your own unachievable promises that you made during your campaigning. dont blame them blame yourself there is no smoke without fire.

• Kk 8 years ago

I'm surprise that salary of MP shall be considered on the bases of number of funerals in his/her constituency and the number of people that he/ she makes donation to and not on works of MP. For numbers in constituency Ghana' ...

• LA 8 years ago

I don't think it is always necessary for an mp to go for funerals because he represent the constituency. He was elected to improve the livelihood of the people not for funerals. But yes agree totally the number to be cut.

• agbogba 8 years ago

TWEAA DOUBLE MPS SALARIES INDEED.I THOUGHT U WERE GOING TO SAY IT SHOULD BE FACTORED INTO THE PAYMENT OF SALARIES OF TEACHER TRAINEES.TWEAA MPS

• John 8 years ago

Well said.useless constitution where all the powers are vested in the presidency.our costitution needs total overhaul.

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

MP's qualification should matter more than the money they have to bribe delegates. And our delegates most of whom are illetrates and begged who will take a little to sell their conscience.

• Isaac Clifford Ayifah 8 years ago

For this one alone, I love you!

• Martin Luther King Snr 8 years ago

u know all this and u did not advice kuf on creating constituencies and districts on fuel stations

• YAW 8 years ago

I ARE WITH THE REDUCE I ON, ANYWAY. BUT DO WE NEED PARLIAMENT AT ALL? THE LAW CAN BE PASSED BY DISTRICTS AND SIGNED BY THE PRESIDENT. PARLIAMENTARIANS ARE SEEKING THEIR OWN INTEREST AND NOT GHANAIANS.

• TRUTH 8 years ago

we need only 100 MPs

• Question to all mps and gov. 8 years ago

Am here in the states and i tell u what the so called goverment workers here drive their own vehicle to work and spend time developing their communities not going there for funeral, paying drivers while they can. Drive them s ...

• CONAN 8 years ago

In the first place did we vote for our MP's to attend funerals or for making laws and policies that may enhance our standard of living.

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

why did you not tell Kufour to reduce his number of ministers?

A serious matter, when reduced to partisan politics, does not benefit us the electorate.

• KO 8 years ago

I wholeheartedly agree with Mr. Dapaah. Why we 275 MPs does not make sense. We should reduce the numbers to not more than 150. He is right most of them do not make any contributions to debate but we are wasting money on them ...

• Kyerempe 8 years ago

You've enjoyed your tenure as an MP. And you've now seen the light. Hypocrite!

• Chuks, Tudu 8 years ago

Different voice from when you were in there; hypocrite.

• Maame Fosua 8 years ago

We need quality MPs not Nii Ashie Moores and "trees under schools". Our parliament is a joke. Let's go for quality and not quantity.

• Man 8 years ago

i don,t trust you a bite you are too corrupt kan i now you personally stop talking corruption i no you in some west African country you don,t deserve any position in Ghana stop the noise with your int accountancy job

• Stepof, Bronx NY 8 years ago

To cut down the mps is okay but to increase their monthly pay is useless. Who told them to go to funerals. Ken l thought you were a sensible person but for to talk about funerals and not anything concerning the country, pleas ...

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

The whole Canada has 338 members of house of Commons which is (MPS ) in Ghana, Canada land is 20 times bigger than Ghana and more richer than Ghana, common sense or wisdom demands that you cut your coat according to your siz ...

• naa seidu 8 years ago

See him.....

• Omanbapa 8 years ago

Hon. Kan, l think you have a very good point to share with ghanaian, but let me first stop over and ask you where were you during npp 8 yrs in office, was reduced or increased and we can't do the same thing in old fashion way ...

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago 8 years ago

Yes i agree with you 100%.Ghana do and should not have more than one hundred Mps.For a population of less than 30 million,what do we need 275 MPs for?This is just a waste of public funds.Well if the MPs choose to spend their ...

• ATTAH BOATENG 8 years ago

NO ONE CAN STOP CORRUPTIONE IN GHANA