You are here: HomeNews2015 12 07Article 399077

Electricity, Water up 69.2 and 67.2%

Read Comments Comments (85)

• albie 8 years ago

my main concerns are that all of ghanaians are paying their electricity and water bills. leaving the rest of us to pay the high bills. go check some areas(i wont name but u and i know) they havent seen an electric and water b ...

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

THE IMPRESSION SHOILD NOT BE CREATED THAT THE INCREMENT IS AS A RESULT OF PUBLIC CONSULTATIONS. WE ARE ALL NOT AS NAIVE AS POLITICAL PARTY SUPPORTERS

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Oyiwa, so Forbes too confirms we shall go to war as we are 100% sure NDC will rig the elections with election engineering , propaganda , corruption , bloated register , hegemony mixed with northern tribalism. Now that the dum ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

GHANA'S MEDIA, CORRUPT & STUPID!! LOOK AT THE WAY MAHAMA WAS INTERVIEWED IN GERMANY. THE QUESTIONS WERE UP TO THE POINT AND IT FOUND MAHAMA SHAKING AND SWEATING. IT WAS PURELY ON THE ECONOMY AND THE MAN POINTED OUT TO HIM THE ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

All discernible Ghanaians know that NDC doesn't have what it takes to solve the challenges facing Ghana. P/NDC usurped power from Liman and wasted 20 years of our national life without any tangible results before NPP came and ...

• kwami 8 years ago

Ghana people were the last people in line when god gave brains to the human race

• JOJO 8 years ago

i hate your comment but its true, example are the so call pastors and look at the people that follow them.

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

Was it not these buffoons that told us there would be no increment this year? in fact we Ghanaians are too cold ooo

• Okunka 8 years ago

Yes, not all are paying! I am sure Ministers, Deputy Ministers and high party functionaries do not pay utility bills.

• MONA 8 years ago

I feel so worried about the turn of events in Ghana. Lets tread cautiously. there is serious discontentment in the citizenry, a decoy for political confusion. Better Ghana is not been felt at all. I am afraid for my party,s f ...

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

mAHAMA is a demon handed down directly from hell to Ghanaians. TUC must also take part of the blame for going out to negotiate a 10% increment in salaries for workers. what an INCOMPETENT president!!!!!

• DerDieDas.@KÖLN 8 years ago

President Mahama himself is a Master criminal, look at his mouth he's a weed smoker. He's more corrupt than his Ministers. He is using d state Asset for his own personal business. He bought a private Jet and name it after his ...

• Wal 8 years ago

ever increasing

• NII Bi 8 years ago

Power Barges Owned by Armed Robbers
    The Power Barges have been arranged by these armed NDC robbers to take our hard earned income away to fund their greedy stupid deeds.

• Nzema K 8 years ago

Is the figure 59.2 or 69.2

• Ben 8 years ago

The useless PURC has done it again! Another appendage of government keep supporting the incompetence of the utility companies.

• Adune 8 years ago

Madness, what services have they being rendering that marries such stupid increases.
    Government of insane performance and corruption.
    You better reduce the services rather.

• Osman 8 years ago

One day God will listen to our prayer and change this incompetent government for us.

• JEFF K (US) 8 years ago

Osman, God will never come down to change this thieves.. You've got to do it yourself.. Don't you get it?? DAMN!!!

• Amina 8 years ago

Scandalous, outrageous. Of course they do not pay light bills, phone bills or water bills. They even get fuel free for their family and friends.

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

Is part of better Ghana agenda, Ghanaians are suffering businesses are dying high cost of fuel plus high cost of electricity and water, high tuition, allowances for teacher and nursing training cancelled, school feeding progr ...

• Yoself 8 years ago

This makes no sense, how can you justify price hikes for something that is not available regularly enough for people to use? It is like making people pay for bread, without having any to show for it.

• sam 8 years ago

STUPID GHANA PEOPLE WE NDC DEMAND YOU VOTE FOR US AGAIN SO WE CAN RAISE YOUR TAXES AND HIT YOU WITH MORE RATE HIKES

• edi 8 years ago

you want us to vote for you again?
    you must be out of your mind.
    THIS IS WHAT HAPPEN WHEN A NORTHENER RULE A COUNTRY,HE DESTROY IT

• ndewin 8 years ago

your stupid southern father was trapped from a tree cafe.

• kwami 8 years ago

MR EDI IS 100% RIGHT THEY ALL VILLEGERS THAT CANT THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX

• vote them out 2016 8 years ago

Increase when the power goes off for over 24hrs, only in GH,my people let us be patient, by this time next year, the mahama incompetent govrt we see today, we shall them no more INJ.just as pharaoh never listen to advise of l ...

• Francis Kay 8 years ago

The so called security expert's comments on loser and electoral register must be tackled. He must be educated to know the difference between the previous and current ecowas register. ......that hypocrisy of Annan

• Earl Jones 8 years ago

Ghanaians need not worry at all. Now that the market for power provision has been opened, the competition will bring prices down.

Now all Ghanaians need to do is to make sure the government does not block anybody entering ...

• NII Bi 8 years ago

The Power Barges have been arranged by these armed NDC robbers to take our hard earned income away to fund their greedy stupid deeds.

• Staph 8 years ago

Public Utility and Regulatory Commission is one of the useless entities in the whole country. Always making the tax payer pay more for the utilities whiles they cant recover the debt owned by government institutions. Increasi ...

• DEADGOATMAHAMA 8 years ago

Oh Mr Mahama! The fact is we Ghanaians r not surprised at all. Kum yen preko.

• KUKRUDU-USA 8 years ago

NANA .GOODMORNING ! I BEG TO SAY THIS INCREASE IS VERY INWARD LOOKING,IDIOTIC AND OUTRAGEOUS !HAVE YOU EVER HEARD OF DUMSOR ? ,HERE YOU ARE YOU CANT PROVIDE LIGHTS TO THE PEOPLE AND YOU TO INCREASE IT TOO JUST BECAUSE YOU CAN ...

• APEETOO 8 years ago

FOR SUCH A ROTTEN USELESS GOVT ORGANISATIONS?

• NANA YAA 8 years ago

Price of petrol in Atlanta, Georgia is $1.79 a gallon. That means it's less than 8 Ghana CEDIS. Where did Ghanaians go wrong? Well, it serves u guys well for putting party politics ahead of your own well-being.

• Osman 8 years ago

I see myself n my entire family dying in my Homeland Ghana as a result of vampires ruling the country. We all saw how Sepp Blatter abused the soccer world with impunity but where is he today? Is he dead? Ah! Our leaders shoul ...

• bryt dolla 8 years ago

Mahama and co. them a moders for letting our mothers and father they suffer like this, them a moders waaaaaaaaaaa . if them like make them do am 100 percent. NDC go pay NPP go pay PPP also go pay

• Eric K.B Asante Ghana .Takoradi 8 years ago

What a Country how possible that what you increasing is none existent yet you increase waw.this is murder God will faithfully judge you all K.B Tema

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

If only the NDC could have cut down on the thievery by the president and his cohorts, government could still have subsidized utility in Ghana without widening the budget deficit. The $1.5 million John Mahama paid his brother ...

• COJO P 8 years ago

Kumi preko is back eiii Ghana.

• cha 8 years ago

Yes NDC edey be kekeeeee- . mahama knows how to give Ghanaians nice christmas gift

• biggy 8 years ago

This nana yaa is a fool, she is in bed with ecg to cheat us. She has a percentage any time there is an increase, stupid woman

• issaka futa of beaverton 8 years ago

Economic malaise : higher rents low wages low sales little or no savings and top of all tariff increase over 60% for both water and hydro power..Who is really benefiting from this national plunder; for the independence of Gha ...

• onipa nua 8 years ago

Presiden Mahama behind the increased

• Amaah 8 years ago

Yes good to have this increament

• reflex 8 years ago

ur headline figure is different from the details. which should we take?

• JOJO 8 years ago

only in ghana will authorities fail the people but yet still justify it in other ways.69% increase are we all bill gates.

• Kof 8 years ago

Better Ghana agenda

• Ibrahim... 8 years ago

Eiiiiii Oman Ghana,,, dumso nd still increasing

• DAVID OSEI 8 years ago

WAKE UP GHANA... ARE GHANAIANS SO DUMB THAT THEY CAN'T SPEAK UP? IF THE ELECTRICITY AND WATER CORPORATIONS ARE READY TO HIKE RATES ANYTIME THEY WANT, THEN THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE TO DELIVER.
    GHANAIANS SHOULD LET THESE CO ...

• Nams 8 years ago

Obasanjo v Mahama:
    Obasanjo had openly accused the Ghanaian President and his government of financially contributing $12m to Goodluck Jonathan’s campaign. He also accused President Mahama of blackmailing and collecting br ...

• indianpowers black maginic rituals 8 years ago

Indian spritualist in ghana call for all spritual help 0244908520

• me 8 years ago

The rich will become richer whiles the poor poorer under the national demonic cult.

• Etse Dugah 8 years ago

The raise is too too too much. What is happening in Ghana? Will salaries be adjusted to march that? People can't pay ooooh? They must increase the prison yard for I tell you most of us will go to jail for inability to pay bil ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

If you want to know what Mahama is using Ghana money for you read this:
    "Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg

There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global Afr ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

If the Story is true,what audacity has Gen Obasanjo got to question Mahama.And is Obasanjo without blemishes or any different as a former president of Nigeria?.After all,which African leader was Clean!.I think President Maha ...

• Kwaku, ksi 8 years ago

If this is how PURC will go selfishly on the basis of increasing utilities then war are very closed at her door steps. Greedy woman

• Abubakari. Shaibu 8 years ago

Why everything going up,This nation we need big help, May Allah help us,amen

• isaac a. arthur 8 years ago

its a worry if the civil servant is considered.

• Ben 8 years ago

Why should the public pay for the incompetency of the utility companies?

• Mensah 8 years ago

God save Ghana for we are dying

• chief K 8 years ago

Mahama u will kill Ghanaian workers. How much have u adjusted the salaries ?

• Uncle Sam 8 years ago

We have been told already that we Ghanaians have short memory we will been shouting here and there in less than two weeks we all forget about it please let me think the way forwallrd how to start paying and the stop ? the noi ...

• Uncle Sam 8 years ago

We have been told already that we Ghanaians have short memory we will been shouting here and there in less than two weeks we all forget about it please let me think the way forward how to start paying and the stop ? the noise ...

• Matete 8 years ago

Hopefully with this increment which is un believably huge Ghanaians will see much improvement in daily electricity supply.

• Char 8 years ago

He hee the mongoose that led saying we have a barge now we have the Dubai temporary power now - yup but wait till you get the bill (you no pay you CUT off ) - the government will keep trying to pay the leases and fuel for the ...

• B.B. 8 years ago

Oyiwa. Edey be k3k3

• sea blue 8 years ago

COLLAPS¨!collaps! and bam COLLAPS agn!who say MAN no dey in GHANA? man dey Charlie BUT MAHAMA for kill us before he cummut for 2016!!!!!!

• Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

Why won't majority steal water and electricity and many more.This is common arithmetic.Hype in everything.You have opened the floodgates for curruption.Why kill a fly with a sledgeharmmer.We have to borrow to make ends meet.A ...

• King 8 years ago

It is senseless and immoral.Ghanaians are choked with too many hardships. The suffering is too much.We are in hell.Real hell.

• samansaman 8 years ago

Hit the Streets for MAHAMA TO RUN for Shelter.

• Abanga 8 years ago

Edey bee k3k3! So this is all our prize for voting such a fool for president! Come early, 2016

• akata 8 years ago

Since ndc came to power, electricity tarrifs have gone up by over 150% yet, there is nothing to show for. This govt makes me sick to the core. If they win the next elections , we are sure doomed.

• Philip Okumah 8 years ago

This is evil, witchcraft, and unthinkable. What kind of incompetent government is this. Ghanaians are dying. Our leaders must be a bit considerate. God help Ama Ghana.

• kofi 8 years ago

WATCH OUT NPP ,MAHAMA IS ABOUT RIGGING DE ELECTION.

• kofi 8 years ago

GHANAIANS WISE UP N VOTE THIS INCOMPETENT GOVERNMENT OUT

• mahamudu Ali 8 years ago

Wicked, wicked, wicked. God if you are really alife, do not spare these cheats. Ndc, prc leadership should be punished. They are wrecking ghana. Burdens are mounted on the citizenry and mahama is so happy doing that.

• patriot 8 years ago

That nana yaa gyantuah is very stupid. She dasnt noe hu,she talks bla bla with dat stupid arrogance of hers,she s d same person who sed she wnt allow d govt to increase utility tarrifs but new c her supporting her fellow arme ...

• patriot 8 years ago

And den u find a weak lie to cover ur incompetence by saying d cost of drugs we use to process d water is now expensive. U think we r odwanfunu like mahama abi?so u r telling us odwanfunu tons.na u mahama de3 if u r to die to ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

These hikes highlight the extents to which the Regulatory Commission deprives the people of their honest Services.What actually has the Commission Controlled from its inception.I had said on this forum some time past that,the ...

• truth 8 years ago

we thank them. God bless them

• akosua mercy 8 years ago

increase of

• Prince Kay 8 years ago

I think the monopoly of the GWCL & ECG is what is causing the authorities to find loopholes to play with the lives of Ghanaians.
    Renewable energy tho high cost can still help us, lets think of solving the problems my making ...

• Azuwia 8 years ago

Check your figures please

• john 8 years ago

The rate or Tarrif has increased from GHC0.42/Kwh to GHC1.09/Kwh an increase of 2.5 times or 250% increase.
    What bs is this?