Ghana is second most corrupt African country – Report

Read Comments Comments (160)

• mike isigabor 8 years ago

I know I am a Nigerian use to be living in Ghana

• KB 8 years ago

WHAT A PRESIDENT! WHAT INCOMPETENCE!

• Kwasia 8 years ago

It's Ghanaians not the president!!! Look at yourself!

• edi 8 years ago

in mother Ghana?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

GHANA'S MEDIA, CORRUPT & STUPID!! LOOK AT THE WAY MAHAMA WAS INTERVIEWED IN GERMANY. THE QUESTIONS WERE UP TO THE POINT AND IT FOUND MAHAMA SHAKING AND SWEATING. IT WAS PURELY ON THE ECONOMY AND THE MAN POINTED OUT TO HIM THE ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Well this goes beyond incompetence as its only a symptom , the root cause is plain simple evil wickedness mixed with the retrogressive forces of his Islamic background. Corruption another symptom is part of the strategy to we ...

• Diasporan 8 years ago

Why don't you "matimihu" people break away, form your own country and keep your wealth. Show me one country in the world with no regional dispanities.

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE! 8 years ago

The corruption perception index by the Transparency International stated about 71 percent of people living in Ghana say corruption has increased over the last twelve months.

• NOT SURPRISED 8 years ago

And why won't Ghana win gold in corruption? Here we have a rogue party)NDC) founded with stolen state funds by the Lebanese bastard son of a prostitute(JJ RAWLINGS) who made Ghana HIPIC and now led by a corruptly, corrupt pro ...

• ANOKWARE ASA 8 years ago

What are you talking about? The whole nation breeds on corruption. Everybody expects and demands bribes in our corruption riddled society, from trotro drivers and their aplankes to chiefs and those in responsible positions. O ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

Asshole,your stupid and skewed write-ups is a key player in the corruption industry. Educate your brain about the word CORRUPTION. Fool!
    Stupid man from unwanted sperm of mentally derailed man born by a prostitute woman!

• STOLEN VERDICT 8 years ago

NDC DAYS ARE NUMBERED !

• ARABA STAMP 8 years ago

Vote ndc out. 2016 will be the battle between Mahama,s bought security capos vrs the might and power of the people. I dreamt and Mahama was in the hague with charles taylor and Laurent Gabo.

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE! 8 years ago

AFRICAN GOVTS MUST ASK THEMSELVES HOW THIS INFORMATION WILL IMPACT THE FLOW OF FOREIGN INVESTMENTS INTO THESE CORRUPT NATIONS. IM NOT BRINGING MY MONEY TO GH TO BE INVESTED BECOS WE ALL KNOW WHAT WILL HAPPEN. AFRICANS HAVE RE ...

• Simon 8 years ago

Exactly

• They Say They Say 8 years ago

Yeah soon as one gets a good position in a gov't or an institution, all the long lost cousins, school mates, village members who have nothing to do with you will show up for favors and if you are not able to help them, they t ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

If Tsikata and his stupid harlot of a wife information had been released earlier, Ghana would have beaten South Africa to the number one slot.

• kwaku NYU 8 years ago

Aboa who is supposed to combat it?

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Isn't that obvious! Of course, the bogus survey was done at Kukurudu headquarters hence this colorful and much-expected report before the yahoos in here. South Africa was only throw in there to flimflam our suspicion. However ...

• Boris Bukari 8 years ago

Your pseudonaname even suggest you are are not objective. If people have met corrupt officials in their transactions and have found them corrupt what is your problem?.

"pseudonaname," eh! What word is that? Swahili?

• tka 8 years ago

Kwasia k3k3 wait when they sell Ghana yiu go blame it on Akufo Addo. Gyimiii

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA BREAKING ALL SORTS OF NEGATIVE RECORDS INCLUDING OUTDOING THE LATE GEN KUTU ACHEAMPONG

• EC GH WAR2016 8 years ago

What do you expect if you have a thief President leading a country Ghana?

That USELESS CUNT PRESIDENT MAHAMA

• Socrates 8 years ago

What has Mahama to do with this?

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

This report isnt reliable. we were cheated. looking at recent developments we should have bn first in corruption...

• Sam 8 years ago

Lol you are right

• Big Mama 8 years ago

Hahahaaa, couldn't stop laughing bro..lol you were cheated..you should have been first.

• DerDieDas.@KÖLN 8 years ago

The legacy of Atta Mills to John Mahama are: ghana rank 2nd corrupt nation in africa, highly incompetnce, Creat loot & share, mismanagement, dumdumsor, collapsed economy, paying: gh media, individuals & organizations to cover ...

• NDC party 8 years ago

The stupid fool incompetent mahama . U see ? ???

• bkg USA 8 years ago

God will punish Nkrumah tik3si3 at ok fm for helping ndc party n stupid incompetent mahama to spoiled the image of Ghana, he should wait and see what will happen to him

• Ali 8 years ago

Can't stop laughing. Even Nigeria beat Ghana? We must all buy gloves and begin to fight corruption starting at MAHAMA's office.

• shamu 8 years ago

Ghana should have been number one in the world.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

Shamu, I think the survey was taken before Anas exposed the judicial corruption scandal. Had it been taken after the exposure, Ghana would have had no challenger in Africa and would have definitely beaten South Africa to the ...

Corruption watchdog, Transparency International (TI) has ranked Nigeria among the most corrupt countries in Africa.

The list is topped by South Africa and Ghana is also featured along with Sierra Leone and Liberia.

The ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

If Burkina Faso had been without Campaore much earlier, she would have risen above its current ratings for being a more honest country in Africa.

I hope she captures the higher ranking she deserves in a short time from no ...

• MOST UNFORTUNATE 8 years ago

Very disappointing

• Gyato 8 years ago

Mahama and his cronis are bringing our Nations name in the Gutters

• Akora 8 years ago

71% of the respondents plus the other 27% of non-respondents are all corrupt including those who did the interview. Move on!

• Koo Nimo 8 years ago

Thank you. Ghanaians love to point fingers instead of checking themselves!

• ISSA ABONGO 8 years ago

THESE ARE THE OPINIONS OF THE VOTERS AND JOHN MAHAMA THINKS HE IS SHOULD BE LOVED BY GHANAIANS AND VOTED FOR AGAIN IN 2016. THE NATION IS SINKING FAST AND IT WILL TAKE VOTING THIEVING, CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT JOHN MAHAMA AND ...

• mannie's 8 years ago

This is very alarming and we have a president who claims to be working in the interest of Ghanaians whilst they (ndc politicians) who have access to the states funds are stealing left, right, center. Ohhhh what a sad case for ...

• Sarfo Acheampong 8 years ago

That's 100 %true

• kwasi 8 years ago

HE DEMAND YOU RELECT HIM OR HE WILL CALL YOU ALL STUPID OO

• Nyamekye. 8 years ago

Generalisation indeed. The above text is not specific. It is a wake up call for all.

• Tibaa 8 years ago

GHANA.

• Oko Djan Mubarak 8 years ago

How nice. No one including Mahama is surprised because he sits and eats corruption

• chief 8 years ago

Its stealing and thievery not corruption...100 billion borrowed in 7 years and yet no jobs for our youth.

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

WHEN A NATION THAT CLAIMS TO HAVE EDUCATED PEOPLE DO NOT USE SCIENCE,TECHNOLOGY, INNNOVATION AND CREAITIVITY TO PROPEL ECONOMIC GROWTH, THE ONLY ALTERNATIVE FOR ITS SO CALLED NOISY EDUCATRED IS TO ENGAGE IN MANIPULATION, EMBE ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

We are all complaining n what are we doing about it my fellow Ghanaians n anytime i read or hear about the corruption my heart bleeds n even make me hate my own country, lets stop the tribal bigotry n take action now !!

• Obiba rBroke 8 years ago

Ndc government has dragged ghana,s name on the mud for far too long, any bad thing in Africa now is associated with Ghana. Corruption, Bribery .World dirtiest country. Flying Cash to soccer players the ...

• zztop 8 years ago

All ghanians are corrupt and see the country as corrupt. We give and take bribes everywhere. Noko fiiioo. Corruption is a way of life in Ghana. Stop blaming govt. Most corruption is outside govt.

• Nima Boy 8 years ago

Hhhhhhhhmmmmmmmmmmmmm Africa how did Mali lost all the wealth ?

• HARDCORE 8 years ago

Did I hear these NPP apologists accusing the Prez Mahama over this ranking? This evil seed of corruption was planted by the Corrupt Kuffuor government. NPP corrupted every department of this nation when they were in power. ...

• Odwanfunu Mahama 8 years ago

tweaaa

• de Saint 8 years ago

your moda abowa ne ba kwasia kwaa

We have beaten Nigeria. Way to go Ghana!

• ex-cpl Atia Naagode 8 years ago

2nd to None instead

• OYIWA 8 years ago

From this report, one can safely infer that within the West African sub-region, Ghana now under President John Dramani Mahama is the numero uno, the absolute frontrunner of everything corrupt, this side of the Sahara.
    Ghana ...

• slow 8 years ago

Incompetence plus indecision equals destruction....the bane of Ghana ' troubles

• KING LOMOTEY 8 years ago

This survey proves that Afrobarometer has not been successful in making a difference when it come to fighting corruption in Ghana. Might have to take a look at how they operate.

• Bony 8 years ago

Do you think this affect only Mahamah?

• NATIONAL SECURITY OPERATIVE, GHANA. 8 years ago

Mahama & his ministers are v corrupt. I know a lot of ministers who couldn't even afford a bicycle tire b4 2012 but now has mansions, filling stations and tipper trucks.
    Their spending is far more than Their pay .
    During th ...

• Baba 8 years ago

Fake report.its because Ghana is publicly branding itself as such why the tag.go to other African countries and see what goes on there. How many countries did what Anas did and aired for the whole world to see?

• Ethel 8 years ago

I would not have doubted the Survey.....but to say S. AFRICA is the most corrupt in Sub Saharan African is laughable......Where is Togo.... Cameroon.... Liberia.....etc

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

With what data .....???????

• Ghanaian To The Core 8 years ago

After June 4th and December 31st Ghana stands to ask 'where am I?'

• kwasi 8 years ago

Manama legacy corruption

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Aputor....

Ghana is a dishonest nation. Religion has made us worst of. We need to return to traditional religion.

People don't fear the Gods of Christians and Muslims.

They are afraid of our local shrine Gods.

• Photosy 8 years ago

It is obvious to me that this organization TI do not know what the are talking about. I have been around and if truely Ghana is second to South Africa, turn the tables around to see the real facts, South Africa is one of the ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

So

• YAW OWUSU 8 years ago

Mahama's NDC Seat of Government is the most Corrupt Institution in Ghana today. It is filled with thieves from Mahama to the cleaner. They even pay people to lie that when it is Black say it is White. If Mahama's lead incompe ...

• Jack and Jill 8 years ago

Will your noise change the NPP who's presidential candidates were only TWO but it rose to EIGHTEEN candidates in 2004 with each paying a non-refundable amount of 50,000 ghc then. Where did they got the money? Who is more corr ...

• Aljazeera News.................... 8 years ago

Christians council is corrupt

• Queen 8 years ago

THANKS TO INCOMPETENT, CORRUPT MAHAMA.THIS MAN HAS THE NERVES, THE AUDACITY TO STAND FOR PRESIDENT AGAIN.

• Cpc 8 years ago

Are we not all corrupt, look at problems in NPP. Who on earth is causing these problems and why ? The one or group who are doing this are doing it with somebody's cash.

• Martin Amadu 8 years ago

These are NPP people or these are the results from the NPP era

• Close Observer 8 years ago

Foolish follower, you need to have your face washed with sea sand. Your foolish attitude is killing Ghana. VOTE CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT MAHAMA OUT IN 2016.

• son of man 8 years ago

Well done Mahama!Stupid Idiot.

• Martin 8 years ago

Pls this caption is
    misleading. This is not what the survey said. Go back to GII for the real explanation of the research

• jeff 8 years ago

corrupt leader Mahama, over to you.lol

• Sam Walker 8 years ago

Why u can purscute corrupt ppl in Gh

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

It's trickle down corruption. From top management to the worker cleaning the street. To worsen the situation, the government is not making any fruitful efforts to combat the situation.It is a cycle of corruption to the point ...

• 2nd or 1st ? 8 years ago

2nd or 1st ?

• Joe 8 years ago

Mahama did you read this? This is not NPP saying this. Now what do you say? Useless government.

• Yaw 8 years ago

This report lacks the needed credibility. What percentage of government officials make up the survey sample? Every facet of the Ghanaian society is corrupt so why paint the picture as if ONLY government officials are solely c ...

• the crusader 8 years ago

ALL THESE BECAUSE OF THESE NOTORIOUS MISMANEGERS CALLED THAT ndc F ULL OFT HE CHIKATAS agambires mehames nkonfen xtcs and that lovely trans.boss.not talking of that pentecost guy zoomlion the forken moulds yayomes kwame pepe ...

• Ndcrooks 8 years ago

Ndcrooks governing style =russia, turkie, mafia, south africa.is about time now to stand up and act against this bloody corrupted government.lets save our beloved country ghana from this mafia ndcrooks.

• Bozango 8 years ago

This is what happens when lip-servicing is all what we want from our leaders and presidents.

And this is what Dr Nkrumah predicted for Ghana when he went in exile!!!!

• nana appia 8 years ago

shameful report. mahama n his guyz u see wat u caused am da nation. am for change now. mahama must go now.

• David 8 years ago

mahama is not the judge that takes bribe. mahatma is not the headmaster or the police man that takes bribe. mahatma does not make kululu with secondary school admission. ghanaians are corrupt and hypocrites

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

F U and mahama

• naa 8 years ago

But mahama is d president dat goes borrowing left,right ND center. Time will tell.

• David 8 years ago

corruption is a cultural think in ghana

• ktz 8 years ago

The New Free Press is extremely concerned that despite calls for Our President to be wary of the antics of his family members, nothing seemed to have changed in the attitude of his family members to state properties .

Mrs ...

• Atsutse 8 years ago

THE MOST CORRUPTED PRESIDENT IN AFRICA IS MAHAMA. HE BORROWS MONEY AND SHARE.

• Papa 8 years ago

Why not, when u have corrupt mahama and corruptly corrupt ndc in power what do u expect?

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

NDC turned out to be the useless party of all times, whiles Ghanaians sleep in darkness their incompetent president and his Brigade are looting like crazy. Their strong hold are among the most poorest in Ghana. AFRC/PNDC/NDC.

• raster 8 years ago

shame to most stupid useless wickedman aseidu nketia&his mahama useless govt now you see ghana & want new term?

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Where from this so called polls? Some people in Ghana know nothing more than the fabricated stories from oppositions newspapers.

• Sebuse 8 years ago

Mr President your government has won us a 'crown of disgrace' come out with your response, this was not said by NPP

• truth 8 years ago

Christians are number one. On Sunday everybody is holier than thou. If as a christian your child fails to get into Wesley Girls High & some money exchange hands because you attended the same school with the head of the school ...

• Obrefo 8 years ago

We've eventually beaten our junior bully sister, Nigeria. We're not surprised at all because we've an incompetent leader, who has intentionally created an enabling environment for an unprecedented corruption and looting to th ...

• BONESHAHER 8 years ago

A plaque must be given to Mahama,and the title should read as follows"Mahama the head of a corrupt African Nation".

• TT 8 years ago

I don't think u and I should be pointing fingers. Corruption is everywhere even in our homes women sometimes hide yesterday soup and claimed its finished, take more money for another soup when the previous day's one can be ea ...

• Quality Toner Refill 0244523451 8 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink Refill at Abeka.
    We also repair Printers and Photocopy machines.
    Call: 0244523451

• daniel 8 years ago

oh mama ama ghana secon in coruption of africa mr mahama oh ghana

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

This is disgusting

• Whatever 8 years ago

We all know this is part of NPP propaganda part of it grand design. Even when a sitting president says corruption is as old as Adam, Ghana was no where near the top ten as terrible as it was at that time

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Since when did Ghana started to fight Corruption?.

• rashed 8 years ago

Very sad

• Iwan 8 years ago

This is more like the most influential ghanaian survey. Go ask npp nbongies and make it sound ghanaian.

• mubotu 8 years ago

if the findings is accurate and no bias than all the useless politicians should go for mental check-up may corruption has become a disease in Ghana.

• Jay 8 years ago

The problem is simply simple! Get to the eduacation sector and train the expertise in various fields of the global venture and stop appointing lawyers as your rulers who will steal dump the money in offshore banks and prepare ...

• Sky-blue 8 years ago

Hey guys ' corruption is as old as Adam'....former prez ku4

• Mugu Yaro 8 years ago

We the good people of ghana already knows this its not new under this criminals leb by the chief himself JDM.God save ghana from this evils

• Cash 8 years ago

NDC has done a good job by making Ghana the second most corrupt African country. With these facts at hand, I hope the President will change his way of doing things in Ghana. First, I expect him to be honest himself. I hate to ...

• MalcolmX 8 years ago

TI relies on perceptions because there is no no tangible means of measuring corruption. Corruption is a secretive activity and TI itself is very careful when making conclusions from its surveys which focuses on perceptions of ...

• senyo 8 years ago

The most corrupt president ever lived.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 8 years ago

Were you in Ghana in 2012 elections? Did you see how mahama spent Ghanaians money to become president of Ghana at all cost? 2012 general elections cost Ghana alone over 20 billion cedis

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

We do not need corruption any-more and that is the fact must people have to see it in down-town Ghana.

• Salvatore Ponti 8 years ago

THE FISH ROT STARTING FROM THE HEAD.

• Benony Aboagyi 8 years ago

This isn't new information. At least everyone in ghana knows this.

• apuuuu 8 years ago

Why should it be surprised to many if the head of fish is bad the hole fish is incompetent blame the society and it leaders apuuuu

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah. Atanta GA 8 years ago

You couldn't wait to Jump on the president.Yes ,say it president Mahama is the most corrupted Ghanaian.So if I may ask you ,K B and all those hate mongers: will corruption end when or if he is out of the picture ?My mother wa ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

what u don't understand perhaps kwame is that corruption is a drink brewed from the top. The lesser it is at the top,the lesser it is at the bottom. People look at what those on top are doing and do the same at the bott ...

• Haddasha Owusu 8 years ago

Is this also the doing of NPP? As out people say "Oyiwa".

• Pele Pele 8 years ago

Check this out mahama and Ndc. They're referring to you mahama. Foolish man.

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

Not Surprised

• Enemies Of Progress 8 years ago

Ghana is not recorded anywhere as the second most corrupt country. Negative anti-patriotic, hungry and selfish people (mostly NPP) have cooked up this story in the never-ending pull-him-down agenda. We have problems yes but t ...

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

President John Mahama is only interested in corruption, stealing, lying, mismanagement, incompetence, misappropriation of funds, having children with 13 different women etc. What kind of man is this? He is also very wicked an ...

• Mankind 8 years ago

Before everyone goes wild about the survey, it would be important to understand what it means. When a survey reports a high perception in a country it simply means the respondents perceive corruption to be so. If , for exampl ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

From one of the dirtiest nation to now one of the most corrupt.

• Akuamoah Boateng Sarpong 8 years ago

this is a lie. TI u lie bad.

• steven 8 years ago

We should have been first.what is happening in the admissions of our various nursing training colleagues endorse the research.Not the politicians alone.No money no admission in nursing training ,WHY?

• Paul Kwaw 8 years ago

oyiwaa! corruption! ghana ranked second! no! ampa se katasehye ne proyer na ahye ghana ma sei!

• DAGADOO 8 years ago

From your own limited research? Stop worrying our ears this way.Please!!

• tan90sin90cos90. 8 years ago

Ex-resident kuffuor said CORRUPTION WAS THERE DURING ADAMS REGIME.

• dawun 8 years ago

I am not surprised

• Socrates 8 years ago

If you live a country where journalists don't know the difference between poor management decisions and corrupt dealings, why would perception of corruption not be high? Where people think the presidency responsible for judic ...

• nana 8 years ago

Wow I am surprise that Ghana is not number one...

• Papa 8 years ago

TWEAAAAAAA

• asem 8 years ago

if u hav mahama as ur president, what do u expect?? he himself is corrupt. birds wit de same feathers.........

• Michael K. Tettevi 8 years ago

Corruption creates and increases poverty and exclusion. It makes the poor poorer. Do not take corruption light. Do not take it easy.

• Kofi K 8 years ago

Vote NDC out

• Kwashiga 8 years ago

When the head is rotten everywhere else is rotten. When thePresident is himself corrupt, the whole country becomes corrupt.

• yaw 8 years ago

This is why mahama should understand that if not corruption he will never be The President of Ghana. This echo what Nana Konadu is been saying.Shame on ndc 4 this hardship on Ghanaians.

• King kong 8 years ago

100 billion in 7 yrs and you Ghanaians are going about like is normal. Lmao How big is Ghana for a government to borrow such a crazy amount of money without no accountability to it citizens. BURKINA FASO The youth demanded t ...

• NiiBi 8 years ago

Who can deny this after the Anas exposé

• Kwasi Emmanuel Germany 8 years ago

So when will my fellow Ghanaians stop pointing fingers and change as a whole nation? they are taking about the country been corrupt, and others pointing fingers at the president, so if the president is evil thus that means th ...

• amoro. mpuse 8 years ago

IMF/WORLD BANK that has brought this worse type corruption in the third world is ends up in civil war like cote d'ivoirie, Liberia, Sierra Leone and DRC nobody is corrupt. These undemocratic financial institutions brought int ...

• amadu dramani 8 years ago

No wonder if.u hav incompetent leaders to.be precise. de president nd his people. the opposition also in a chaos situation in terms of transparent nd unity to bring out de expected ones of Ghanaians.

• Ernest blamo daanmua 8 years ago

I'm not surprised bcos if u have idiot like to lead them b4 we will remove him in 2016 Ghana will be first in the world

• Poulus A 8 years ago

We need to go beyond the perception and take a close look our own attitude of giving bribe to get our way through or to win favour. How many of us are honest enough and ready to face realities if paying our way through will ...

• kwame 8 years ago

Ebeeeeiiiii! Ghana 2 nd most corrupt nation in Africa? na where de Nigeria.

• Abe Turkson 8 years ago

Too many greedy bastards in the country

• Gordon Yeboah, USA 8 years ago

Corruption at ghana's churches,chiefs palace, police station, education office,port,POST OFFICE,LICENCE OFFICE,banks,hospitals,PARLIAMENT,GFA,NADMO,CEPS.In fact is rotten long ago

• Divine Ansah 8 years ago

Ghana not number 2 but 13 after South Africa

• Mr.Green 8 years ago

I personally think we just can not change, we have corrupt blood running our body