You are here: HomeNews2015 11 16Article 394159

Gov’t must end impasse over research fees – Lawrence Tetteh

Read Comments Comments (43)

• PRINZY BONN_@Germany 8 years ago

BUDGET: Ghana at reverse gear under The Mahama Ndc gov't according to analyse. From 2008 ghana without Oil had GDP growth of 14%. And now ghana with Oil GDP growth has reverse to 3.4%. The National Debt as from 2008 has incre ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-Foolish JJ Rawlings...
    The problem with Ghana is the youth.Those politics are doing shady deals to benefit their families.Asiedu Nketia is a multi millionaire .His company has the sole contract to supply cement to t ...

• Brofo 8 years ago

Churches must pay tax.... pastors and churches must be auditered..... church members are poor but pastors are rich, ride in good cars and buy properties overseas with the poor church members money. Lawrence Tetteh, this is wh ...

• Bony 8 years ago

How can a poor member give money for him to buy a car? Are u in their pocket. The workman is worthy of his meat, you just have hatred towards churches and pastors in general. Dr Tetteh is an Economist by profession. He has se ...

• Brofo 8 years ago

Maybe you are right, I hate some churches and pastors, especially when the ordinary member gives offering and tithes after which they are told to have faith and be hopeful..... churches dont care for the sick and the poor any ...

• Bony 8 years ago

Some churches do care for the poor. As I m writing Dr Steve Mensah, Pastor Ashimolowo and others are in Techiman and rural areas giving free medical care, surgery for hernia, food, bibles, cutlass, other items check it on Fac ...

• Tokugawah 8 years ago

Dr. Tetteh must be a magician as well as the accounts of his church in London state that he and other Trustees do not receive remuneration or benefits from the church. What does he live on? 2014 was not a great year for takin ...

• Bony 8 years ago

I believe you checked the charity Commissions site for his annual returns. It is in the public domain. As a trustee he can claim costs whiles on duty for the charity such as fuel or lunch. It would interest you to know he als ...

• Tokugawah 8 years ago

"Dr" Tetteh does make money from his church. The accounts of churches are prepared from bank accounts and so only banked cheques plus a little cash they choose to bank are accounted for. Charities Commission do not have the ...

• TULA 8 years ago

Please this so called 'Dr Tetteh' is not an Economist ; in which organisation did he work as an economist both in Ghana and abroad ;Is his doctrate an HON degree or an written disSertation degreev ;the man is just a dubious ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

But can't u witness what is going on in most of our churches? Pastors leading flamboyant lifestyles? You don't have to be in someone's pocket to know how poor they are.And it takes little to notice how filthy rich thes ...

• JESUS IS THE ONLY WAY 8 years ago

Brofo, if churches must pay taxes then government must pay rent to the churches that built hospitals and public schools.

• Sam 8 years ago

Universities in Ghana should diversify the sources for research fund, instead of always relying on government. In developed countries, yes government gives funds for specific researches, not just dolling money off to universi ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

ALL GHANAIANS SHD COME ON BOARD TO KICK NDC OUT OF POWER TO RESTORE GHANA JUST LIKE BUHARI DID TO NIGERIA....NDC ARE NOTHING BUT THIEVES INVADING OUR ECONOMY...STOP TRIBAL POLITICS AND SAVE GHANA NOW PEOPLE OF GHANA

• Musa D. 8 years ago

Unintelligent people will join you to kick ndc out.

• blackboy 8 years ago

So Ofosua, are u really happy with the economy now? Maybe u are part of the looters cos reasonable people l know in NDC keep telling me that enk)yie koraa.

• Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

Sam , I second your point. I didn't understand the research fees/fund at first but my younger sister who's a banker in Ghana explained it to me. They're misrepresenting this "research fees/fund" to the public. The explanation ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Hmmm. Do our lecturers carry out researches and publications as done elsewhere? If government should pay lecturers money for researches, then they must be audited to find put what researches were carried out, what publication ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

Exactly my point. Everyone in the employ of the government thinks the govt owes them yearly raises regardless of their performance on the job. Very sad really!!

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

WE HAVE ALLOWED NDC TO PLAY DIRTY TRIBAL POLITICS TO DESTROY GHANA AS NDC PAID DUBIOUS JDGT BEBTS TOTAL OF OVER ONE BILLION DOLLARS, SADA SUBAH GYEEDA 8.7 BN GHC OVEREXPENDITURE TO WIN ELECTION 2012, ETC NOW LOOK AT OUR MISFO ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Stupid comments which did not address at all the serious issues raised in the news piece. One would have thought you NPP people would come out with your solutions to the issues raised, which, of course, preceded the Mahama re ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

CY ANDYK STUPID FOOL, DONT U SEE THE LINK, NDC HAS CHOPPED ALL THE MONIES LEAVING THE BONES SO WHO DO U BLAME FOR LACK OF MONEY TO SOLVE ISSUES WHICH WERE NON ISSUES UNDER JJ AND JAK.....NDC LOOTED SO MUCH AND NOW THEY ARE SU ...

• brito 8 years ago

My brother,we are thieves destroying mother Ghana,students pay three cedis every term for library but the question is, do the headmasters buy the books?And monitors to see to it that the books are purchsed?Ghana is bleeding,i ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

THIS IS NOT THE NDC JJ FOUNDED, NO WONDER ATTAMILLS AND JOHN MAHAMA NEVER WANTED TO CELEBRATE JUNE 4TH....IT IS BCOS THIS NEW NDC REALLY PLANNED TO CREATE LOOT SHARE AND WEEP WHEN CAUGHT....WELL NANA ADDO WILL COME AND DEAL W ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

THIS IS NOT THE NDC JJ FOUNDED, NO WONDER ATTAMILLS AND JOHN MAHAMA NEVER WANTED TO CELEBRATE JUNE 4TH....IT IS BCOS THIS NEW NDC REALLY PLANNED TO CREATE LOOT SHARE AND WEEP WHEN CAUGHT....WELL NANA ADDO WILL COME AND DEAL W ...

• Rogue Lawyer 8 years ago

what have they able to come out from the previous paid research allowance given to them?
    lazy people just want to milk but hate to work.

you latter days politrick pastors, better use your pulpit for soul winning than c ...

• opoku 8 years ago

Ghrist! The phrase should be "worth its salt"

• Ken Ntiamoa 8 years ago

But yours should be "Christ" and not "Ghrist." OK?

No heart feelings. You are right, though. Our journalists should go back to school for some serious training.

Ken

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Pastors are the number 1 thieves.

• ATO 8 years ago

AND THE GREATER ACCRA REGIONAL MINISTER IS CAMPAIGNING WITH HUMMER. WHAT ELSE IS TO GO WITH IT.

• Chicago Guy 8 years ago

Shut up Kroboman cousin on u

• Nii 8 years ago

In as much as teachers deserve research fees,are teachers really researching? Day in day out teachers are agitating over fees but look at the quality of students being churned out. Do the teachers really deserve that money? T ...

• GENERAL IDI AMIN DADA OF GHANA !!!!!! 8 years ago

Hey Tetteh, fuck you ok, have u not stolen 10% of the gullible's meager income???? Have you not robbed everything that the poor owes in the name of your European "Jesus"? Have u ever earned a real, decent hard work income bef ...

• ss 8 years ago

THANK YOU MAMA FOR BRINGING MY HUSBAND BACK TO ME +27836972245 After being dumped and cheated by many spell casters , I lost the trust and the hope to get my husband back, it was this when I found MAMA the woman of miracles,s ...

• Bush 8 years ago

Nana addo if voted into office will suspend all Ghanaians indefinitely and bring Benins as acting Ghanaians

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

AUTHOR: STEVOO-------
    GOD ISNT STUPID LIKE US, WE REAP WHAT WE SOWED,,,,WE SOWED FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, ALMOST ONE BILLION DOLLARS....WE SOWED WOYOME 45 MILLION DOLLARS, WE SOWED WATERVILLE 46 MILLION DOLLARS, ISOFOTON $325,4 ...

• Noo 8 years ago

I am an academic but still believe that the way Research is gone about in Ghana is useless.
    What percentage of research is ever DEVELOPED? Note that in progressive countries it is never research per se but R&D; i.e. Research ...

• esther 8 years ago

University Lecturers and polytechnic Lectures would not sit unconcerned for the Government to scrap the annual payment of Book and Research Allowance to them.What the Government should be worried about is the payment of EX GR ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

esther, where are the publications? What have we benefited from those research? Conditions of service? What have you to show for production out of that research so far? If you can not produce then you should be fired! ...

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

So what research work by these people has benefitted Ghana? I don't know, I am just asking a serious question

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

ITS SAD WHEN ONE LEARNS OF PROFESSORS AND LECTURERS AT OUR UNIVERSITIES IN GHANA ASKING THE GOVERNMENT TO PAY THEM OF RESEARCH ALLOWANCES.

WHAT A HELL WE ARE.

DO WE EVEN HAVE DYNAMIC INDUSTRIES, MANUFACTURING FIRMS AND ...

• Jojo 8 years ago

THE EDUCTED IN GHANA STILL CONTINUE TO CHEAT THE COCOA FARMERS AND UNSKILLED MINE WORKERS ON THEIR TOIL, SWEAT AND HARWORK THE GOVERNMENT EARMS ITS FOREIGN EXCHANGE TO SRRVICE NATIONAL BUDGETS AND EASY LIVING OF THE SO CALLE ...

• boss 8 years ago

Seriously, you are speaking to SHS students and talking about university research allowance for lecturers. Its like speaking ablitu theories in quantum physics to class lone students. Mr Rev Minister, cant you speak to them a ...