You are here: HomeNews2015 11 13Article 393776

Ghana signs prisoner-transfer deal with UK

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Damion 8 years ago

Oh, then the nayele, the cocaine lady will be back to her house in east legion soon...coz they won't put her in saw am. She is someone's precious

• Ben 8 years ago

EI MAHAMA!

• Cabin crew 8 years ago

She'll be in BA First Class, wearing gold-plated handcuffs, and trying to decide which passport to use. Will she need a visa? Will they roll out the red carpet at Kotoka IA? Has the housegirl snorted her stash?

• Nyansapor2 8 years ago

Cocain trade is no joke. It involves presidents of nations and people in top positions such as National Security, IGP, Ministers and MPs; it is therefore no surprising that Cocaine addict John Kufuor signed that bogus prisone ...

• bhono holland 8 years ago

HHHHHM MAHAMA CONFUSED HE HAVE NO IDEA WHAT HE IS DOIN .MAY GOD BLESS GHANA

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

EX PRES KUFFUOR TARGET WAS ASIA N SOUTH AMERICA COUNTRIES WHERE JAIL CONDITIOÑS ARE HARD NOT LUXIRIOUS WESTERN WORLD. THIS SHOWS HOW MAHAMA IS PLAIN STUPID

• Nyansapor 8 years ago

Serving in a UK Prison is a pride. Prisoners there live good lives far better than an average Ghanaian who is not in prison. This deal is a further punishment for convicts. Nsawam and other prisons are not even good for anima ...

• jerry 8 years ago

WHATS IN IT FOR GHANA?MAHAMA WHY ARE YOU SELLING GHANA PEOPLE SO CHEAP?

• Big Man 8 years ago

Fools! A person's nationality is what they travelled with. FYI she didn't travel with a Ghanaian passport hence she wasn't a Ghanaian at the time of her arrest. a little brain work doesn't hurt.

• KENKEYNATUS 8 years ago

you are the capital ignorant FOOL. What does it take to renounce or deny citizenship acquired from another country? Wise up.

• Maame Grace 8 years ago

You fool and ignorant pig this is a criminal who has 3 passports but non of the other countries went to vist her but Ghana so where should she be sent to Kwasea read and analyse begfore you speak.Dumbass.

• Naadu 8 years ago

Are you preparing grounds to transfer the cocaine lady to have her freedom in Ghana?

• ABINCHI 8 years ago

THEY SHOULD BE SENT TO KIRIKIRI PRISON IN LAGOS FOR THEM TO SUFFER SMALL ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng,london 8 years ago

The fact is it is less expensive to keep ghanaian prisoners in Ghana than it is in the UK.It is a way for the UK government to decongest its prisons and to reduce the cost of running them.That ghanaians abroad want ghanaians ...

• Nii Akwei 8 years ago

So true.

• Kwabena Ohemeng,london 8 years ago

serve their prison sentences in Ghana is not true.[line6]

• Jasmine 8 years ago

So, if someone perpetrates acts in contravention to the laws in the UK, they would prefer to ship him to Ghana knowing these crooks will go home and never serve their prison terms, just because UK authorities believe it saves ...

• Johnny 8 years ago

Would they seek the consent of such a prisoner before he/she is exchanged?I am more concern with the Ghanaian prisoner since this question logically applies to him,no British would prefer to stay in Ghana prison.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

That is a good question and you are right,no British will prefer to stay in Ghana prison,that is the reason why this agreement,it is not because of Ghanaians because no Ghanaian prisoner in the UK will like to come and be in ...

• mohammed salley sinare 8 years ago

its less expensive to keep ghanaian prisoners in Ghana, and much more expensive in uk. uk is doing this in the interest of them but not interest of ghana, its also going to open the ways to deport more ghanaians back home,

• Jasmine 8 years ago

There's absolutely NO need for any prisoner transfer deal for very extremely corrupt Ghana, the most corrupt country in West Africa, one of the most stupid countries in Africa since 1966.

Sometimes I doubt that some Weste ...

• Rufus, UK 8 years ago

This law was done by your Npp to enable them bring back all the NPP drug dealers back to Ghana including Nana Addo cousins, tnx

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

No Rufus! It was to bring Mahana's girlfriends and couriers.

• Rufus, UK 8 years ago

This law came to force in 2007 Npp government

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Please,let us stop being liars here,there was no law passed like that by the NPP government,they tried to make parliament pass that law but realizing many people were against it,they listened to concerns of Ghanaians and did ...

• Rufus, UK 8 years ago

This law was sign in 2007 by the NPP government

• CAPTAIN OCQRAH. 8 years ago

IT WAS SIGNED IN 2007 BY THE NPP GOVERNMENT,WELL SAID!.WAS IT USED BY NPP GOVERNMENT?.RUFUS UK,PLEASE STOP THIS DIRTY AND CHEAP POLITICS.NPP IS THAT AND NDC IS THIS IS NOT HELPING GHANA.HMMM,HAVE YOU READ NEXT YEAR'S BUDGET?. ...

• KT 8 years ago

In 2007?... Wise up!

• Odikr@ 8 years ago

The Minister in the picture is Grant Shapps.
    He is the Minister responsible for International Development(DFID).
    Whilst in Ghana a Solar Energy initiative was signed to help change lives for millions of Ghanaians.

• Kwabena 8 years ago

It's about time this is done to stop either citizens no they just can't abuse the laws of either country's . Especially Ghanaians who go to UK and think because the British colonised us it's their right to abuse their laws an ...

• Johannes B Awotwe 8 years ago

In the UK, they'll serve the full sentence, but in Ghana, they'll be pardoned by our presidents, or be helped to run away by out prison guards, or lousy human rights actists woud go every length to have the prisoners freed.

• Dorcas keta 8 years ago

Stupid ghanaian leaders.u want to transfer the prisoners to ghana so that u can starve them.a few prisoners we have we can't even take care of them. And u are bringing them here to do what

• Efo 8 years ago

What is the financial benefits of this agreement to the government?

• Eddie 8 years ago

There are lapses in this agreement. How much was Ghana Paid? We are sell out.
    THis means all the west Africa Refugees will be send to Ghana for a small amount which is wrong,just like the EU giving Greece and Turkey,and Leba ...

• Antwi Maxwell 8 years ago

The least that we have here we can't even care for them so why do we bother ourselves to bring those outside into Ghana so, let them deal with them there so that we care for those here .

• Abdul salifu 8 years ago

Next 4 yrs of mahama he will sell ghana to Chinese or UK government let us vote ndc out in 2016 before they sell ghana.To let mahama ndc win again ghana is DOOM .

• Rufus, UK 8 years ago

This law was sign in 2007 by Npp

• NDC AND IT'S FOOLS ARE DESTROYING GHA 8 years ago

I AM SURE,NDC MPS SUPPORTED IT BEFORE IT WAS SIGNED.AND IT WAS NOT USED BY NPP DURING THEIR TIME BUT RATHER IS BEING USED BY NDC,SO WHAT IS YOUR POINT NOW.DON'T DISTURB OUR EARS WITH YOUR PEA-NUT BRAIN WITH DIRTY POLITICS,OKA ...

• Paa alex 8 years ago

You are right my brother l am thinking the same way you think

• all die be die 8 years ago

wickedness because prison in Europe is like heaven to compare that with African prisons

• Newsite Bansah 8 years ago

This agreement will only benefit the UK because no Ghanaian prisoner in the UK will ask to be sent to a prison in Ghana. Whereas UK citizens jailed in Ghana will be in a hurry to transfer back to the UK.

On the other hand ...

Then Nayele should be sent back to entertain Ibrahim Mahama in her prison cell. Wow!This is the best news of the day so far.

• Ghana 8 years ago

Are we being fooled here? This is purely an immigration policy to just transfer people detained in the UK to are seeking asylum or fighting their removal to be transferred to Ghana immediately. In my opinion it has got nothin ...

• Lord Lucan 8 years ago

Good!

Why should Ghanaian criminals who elect to perpetuate their wickedness whilst residing as guests of the UK expect their host country to maintain and support them in a life style during incarceration under conditions ...

• UZZAH 8 years ago

John Mahama will sign anything to please the whiteman. What a useless president we have. This will benefit Britain & not Ghana. Kick this stupid akunfem thief out, he is destroying our country. Pepe ni abua fu!

• CONTEMNOR 8 years ago

They are building a modern prison in Jamaica because they just want to deport asylum seekers back to their country. It costs UK government £17000 per person per annum hence its cheaper to send them back home. Got it? They a ...

• sowah 8 years ago

I agree with you bros. You see i always say we are not strong with our bargaining powers when it comes with the west. You send ministeres and MPs to EU or world events and they are interested in selfies and food they serve th ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

How many British Citizens are in Ghana Prisons,if any.

• NDC AND IT'S FOOLS ARE DESTROYING GHA 8 years ago

THIS IS THE QUESTION.

• Georgee 8 years ago

So Nana Akuffo Addo was right after all and was not acting in favour of Hon. Amoateng. Or you want Nayele to gain her freedom NDC?

• KT 8 years ago

If it was passed in 2007, why blaming NDC?

• NDC HAS DESTRYED GHANA. 8 years ago

BUT MPS FROM NDC SUPPORTED BEFORE IT WAS SIGNED IN 2007,AND IT WAS NOT USED UNTIL NDC'S TIME.THIS CRIMINAL PARTY IS DESTROYING GHANA.EVEN THE ONE THEY ARE EXPECTING TO BE FREED BY BRITISH GOVERNMENT WAS NOT HOLDING GHANA PASS ...

• Gambo 8 years ago

If it was pass in 2007 did they use them? All African leaders are rejecting this offers only Ghana is accepting it.Grow up Ghana they jx accept it without given them a clause this people will ship every ghanaian to you stupid ...

• Danger London 8 years ago

The ghana govt should only agree if the British government will build us a prison.it cost soo much to keep prisoners in uk. The Jamaicans agreed to this proposal with new prisoners. Ghana should do the same. Ghanains ...

• yaw asante opoku 8 years ago

this was signed in 2007...where was Mahama by then?...lol oh Ghana

• chief amankwa 8 years ago

what a bad deal for the prisoner ..
    if its a Chinese or Asian prison that is ok

• ed 8 years ago

THE MAJORITY OF GHANA OPPOSE SUCH MOVE

• mensa 8 years ago

they wont transfer any Israeli even to their best ally the usa.we have ndc sold out to the u.k ?

• Martin 8 years ago

This is a win win for the British government. Unlike Ghana, the British government spends tones of money for the upkeep of prisoners. A British citizen incarcerated in the hellhole of Ghanaian prisons will get to go home and ...

• Frank 8 years ago

The NDC is bringing the Cocaine Queen back to enjoy her Freedom. Eeeeiii.. !!!!!! NDC ..!!!!!!!!

• JOHN MENSAH 8 years ago

This agreement makes no sense. Ghana prisons are congested. Ghanaians serving the prison sentences in the UK will be happier in the UK prisons than Ghana prisons. How many UK citizens are prisoned in Ghana? But there are hund ...

• Ayi 8 years ago

The issue is UK as a developed country is doing all the practical means to save and cut their deficit. In doing this they explore every avenue whether small or large to save.

The reverse is our government who will not make ...

• Medicus Germany 8 years ago

The exchange of prisoners between UK and Ghana IS REDICULOUS!Then, what is the use of the the conviction? Freedom! Liberty! Back to a country where lawyers judges can be bought below their salary? Don't make fool of yourself. ...

• FJB-UK 8 years ago

The implication of this decision means Ghana needs to provide more resources to improve prison service infrastructure but let wait to hear from the Govt whether UK Govt has special package to implement this move . if not this ...

• Obrefo 8 years ago

They will do anything to please this girl to keep her silence. She was the drug queenpin for you know who at COCOBOD and one of the brothers of the president. They're scared to death, this girl might sing. You watch, this gir ...

• Zargon 8 years ago

Why would you allow more criminals among us? They are Ghanaians so what?? Have you not seen Ghanaian killing a Ghanaian before? Mahama I support u on most things but this dea no way. How? Why?

• Adequate London 8 years ago

So why now? Hahahahahaha I can see Nayele Ametefe Ruby walking free. What a waoo

• AGBEVE 8 years ago

How many Ghanaian prisoners in UK and how many UK prisoners in Ghana prosons ?,,,,,

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 8 years ago

++

• Hazor 8 years ago

Folks in UK should start crying and mourning and grieving because your president John Dramani Mahama has sign with UK to repatriate you folks to Ghana.Folks,for this Mahama wickedness to turn all of you to call your relatives ...

• Eric Lomo Germany 8 years ago

Total madness, Well I believed they are sending them back with their taxes money which they have been paying for those countries, because Ghana is already suffering in a whole lot of things which I don't think the Ghana gover ...

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Nothing new, some individuals are just going to make SOME GOOD BRIBERY MONEY.

THIS IS GHANA.

• Salamatu 8 years ago

When will Mahama start thinking? This is a cheap ploy to free Nayele the drug pusher. Once they come back to Ghana, they will be free at the airport after paying some money to some corrupt idiot. Is this what democracy is ...

• Maame Jayne 8 years ago

Shame on this dead goat government

• musah Manchester 8 years ago

Ghanaians are convicted in UK bcos they don't have papers.Hope this govt has jobs and good life for all the prisoners UK deport home.What a daft idea

• Pieroo 8 years ago

Just for NDC gurus to always pick Naa Ayele to go and Fuck her Oh Mother Ghana

• Malo 8 years ago

This is very bad mahama

• ALHAJI 8 years ago

MAHAMA AZAAAAA HMMMMM EEEEEI GHANA AND MAHAMA FOR NDC,EC,NAYELE VVIP HMMMMM